DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to correspondence filed 05 January 2024 in reference to application 18/405,369. Claims 1-29 are pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13, 15-20, 23, 24 27, and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ravelli et al. (US PAP 2021/0125624) in view of Heikkinen et al. (US PAP 2005/0228649).
Consider claim 13, Ravelli teaches Processor for processing an audio signal (abstract), the processor comprising:
a splitter configured for splitting a time interval associated with a frame of the audio signal into a plurality of sub-intervals, each comprising a respective length (i.e. 0029, signal is processed by frames, which can be considered subintervals associated with the interval of the entire signal);
a harmonic post-filter configured for filtering the plurality of sub-intervals, wherein the harmonic post-filter is based on a transfer function comprising a numerator and a denominator, where the numerator comprises a harmonicity value (0050-54, harmonic post filter applied to frames), and
wherein the denominator comprises a sub-interval pitch lag value and the harmonicity value and/or a gain value (equation in 0054, see gain g in denominator and pitch lag); wherein the associated harmonicity value and/or the sub-interval pitch lag value and/or the gain value is different in at least two different sub-intervals of the plurality of sub-intervals (0050-51 values updated for each frame); wherein the sub-interval pitch lag value, the harmonicity value and/or the gain value are obtained based on the audio signal in each sub-interval of the plurality of sub-intervals.
However Ravelli does not specifically teach a splitter configured for splitting a time interval associated with a frame of the audio signal into a plurality of sub-intervals, each comprising a respective length, the respective length of the plurality of sub-intervals being dependent on a pitch lag value.
In the same field of audio encoding, Heikkinen teaches a splitter configured for splitting a time interval associated with a frame of the audio signal into a plurality of sub-intervals, each comprising a respective length, the respective length of the plurality of sub-intervals being dependent on a pitch lag value (0089, analysis subsegments may be generated based on the length of the pitch period.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to use pitch period to set analysis windows as taught by Heikkinen in the system of Ravelli to account for pitch changes of a signal that might happen at a time resolution less than a frame (Heikkinen 0089).
Consider claim 15, Ravelli teaches Processor according to claim 13, wherein the harmonicity value is proportional to a desired intensity of the harmonic post-filter (0055-57, alpha used to adjust intensity of the filter) and/or independent of amplitude changes in the audio signal; and/or wherein the gain value is dependent on the amplitude changes in the audio signal).
Consider claim 16, Ravelli teaches Processor according to according to claim 13, wherein the harmonic post-filter changes from a sub-interval to a subsequent sub-interval (0050-51, filter values are calculated for each frame); and/or wherein the harmonicity value and/or the gain value and/or the sub-interval pitch lag value in the subsequent sub-interval are derived using an output of the harmonic post-filter in the sub-interval.
Consider claim 17, Ravelli teaches Processor according to according to claim 13, wherein the harmonic post-filter is different in at least two different sub-intervals of the plurality of sub-intervals (0050-51, filter values are calculated for each frame); or wherein the harmonic post-filter is different in at least two different sub-intervals of the plurality of sub-intervals or wherein the associated harmonicity value and/or the sub-interval pitch lag value and/or the gain value is different in at least two different sub-intervals of the plurality of sub-intervals, the in at least two different sub-intervals of the plurality of sub-intervals belonging to the same frame.
Consider claim 18, Ravelli teaches Processor according to according to claim 13, further comprising a unit for smoothing an output of the harmonic post-filter in the plurality of sub-intervals across and/or at sub-interval borders (0050, cross fading the output).
Consider claim 19, Heikkinen teaches Processor according to according to claim 13, wherein there are at least two sub- intervals within the frame (0089, analysis subsegments may be generated based on the length of the pitch period which are more than 1 per frame).
Consider claim 20, Heikkinen teaches Processor according to according to claim 13, wherein the respective length is dependent on an average pitch (0089, analysis subsegments may be generated based on the length of the pitch period); and/or wherein an average pitch is obtained from an encoded pitch parameter; and/or wherein the encoded pitch parameter comprises higher time resolution than a codec framing and/or wherein the encoded pitch parameter comprises lower time resolution then a pitch contour.
Consider claim 21, Ravelli teaches Processor according to according to claim 13, further comprising a domain converter configured for converting on a frame basis a first domain representation of the audio signal into a second domain representation of the audio signal (0015 domain converter); or further comprising a domain converter configured for converting on a frame basis a frequency domain representation of the audio signal into a time domain representation of the audio signal.
Consider claim 23, Ravelli teaches Decoder (abstract) for decoding an encoded audio signal which comprises a processor according to claim 1 (not given patentable weight) and/or a processor (abstract) comprising:
a splitter configured for splitting a time interval associated with a frame of the audio signal into a plurality of sub-intervals, each comprising a respective length (i.e. 0029, signal is processed by frames, which can be considered subintervals associated with the interval of the entire signal);
a harmonic post-filter configured for filtering the plurality of sub-intervals, wherein the harmonic post-filter is based on a transfer function comprising a numerator and a denominator, where the numerator comprises a harmonicity value (0050-54, harmonic post filter applied to frames), and
wherein the denominator comprises a sub-interval pitch lag value and the harmonicity value and/or a gain value (equation in 0054, see gain g in denominator and pitch lag); wherein the associated harmonicity value and/or the sub-interval pitch lag value and/or the gain value is different in at least two different sub-intervals of the plurality of sub-intervals (0050-51 values updated for each frame); wherein the sub-interval pitch lag value, the harmonicity value and/or the gain value are obtained based on the audio signal in each sub-interval of the plurality of sub-intervals.
However Ravelli does not specifically teach a splitter configured for splitting a time interval associated with a frame of the audio signal into a plurality of sub-intervals, each comprising a respective length, the respective length of the plurality of sub-intervals being dependent on a pitch lag value.
In the same field of audio encoding, Heikkinen teaches a splitter configured for splitting a time interval associated with a frame of the audio signal into a plurality of sub-intervals, each comprising a respective length, the respective length of the plurality of sub-intervals being dependent on a pitch lag value (0089, analysis subsegments may be generated based on the length of the pitch period.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to use pitch period to set analysis windows as taught by Heikkinen in the system of Ravelli to account for pitch changes of a signal that might happen at a time resolution less than a frame (Heikkinen 0089).
Consider claim 24, Ravelli teaches Decoder according to claim 23, further comprising a frequency domain decoder or a decoder based on an inverse MDCT (0027, frequency time converter.)
Consider claim 27, Ravelli teaches A method for processing an audio signal (abstract), the method comprising the following steps:
splitting a time interval associated with a frame of the audio signal into a plurality of sub-intervals, each comprising a respective length (i.e. 0029, signal is processed by frames, which can be considered subintervals associated with the interval of the entire signal);
filtering the plurality of sub-intervals, wherein the harmonic post-filter is based on a transfer function comprising a numerator and a denominator, where the numerator comprises a harmonicity value (0050-54, harmonic post filter applied to frames), and
wherein the denominator comprises a sub-interval pitch lag value and the harmonicity value and/or a gain value (equation in 0054, see gain g in denominator and pitch lag); wherein the associated harmonicity value and/or the sub-interval pitch lag value and/or the gain value is different in at least two different sub-intervals of the plurality of sub-intervals (0050-51 values updated for each frame); wherein the sub-interval pitch lag value, the harmonicity value and/or the gain value are obtained based on the audio signal in each sub-interval of the plurality of sub-intervals.
However Ravelli does not specifically teach a splitter configured for splitting a time interval associated with a frame of the audio signal into a plurality of sub-intervals, each comprising a respective length, the respective length of the plurality of sub-intervals being dependent on a pitch lag value.
In the same field of audio encoding, Heikkinen teaches a splitter configured for splitting a time interval associated with a frame of the audio signal into a plurality of sub-intervals, each comprising a respective length, the respective length of the plurality of sub-intervals being dependent on a pitch lag value (0089, analysis subsegments may be generated based on the length of the pitch period.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to use pitch period to set analysis windows as taught by Heikkinen in the system of Ravelli to account for pitch changes of a signal that might happen at a time resolution less than a frame (Heikkinen 0089).
Consider claim 29, Ravelli teaches A non-transitory digital storage medium having a computer program stored thereon (0094, RAM, ROM) to perform the method for processing an audio signal, the method comprising the following steps:
splitting a time interval associated with a frame of the audio signal into a plurality of sub-intervals, each comprising a respective length (i.e. 0029, signal is processed by frames, which can be considered subintervals associated with the interval of the entire signal);
filtering the plurality of sub-intervals, wherein the harmonic post-filter is based on a transfer function comprising a numerator and a denominator, where the numerator comprises a harmonicity value (0050-54, harmonic post filter applied to frames), and
wherein the denominator comprises a sub-interval pitch lag value and the harmonicity value and/or a gain value (equation in 0054, see gain g in denominator and pitch lag); wherein the associated harmonicity value and/or the sub-interval pitch lag value and/or the gain value is different in at least two different sub-intervals of the plurality of sub-intervals (0050-51 values updated for each frame); wherein the sub-interval pitch lag value, the harmonicity value and/or the gain value are obtained based on the audio signal in each sub-interval of the plurality of sub-intervals.
However Ravelli does not specifically teach a splitter configured for splitting a time interval associated with a frame of the audio signal into a plurality of sub-intervals, each comprising a respective length, the respective length of the plurality of sub-intervals being dependent on a pitch lag value.
In the same field of audio encoding, Heikkinen teaches a splitter configured for splitting a time interval associated with a frame of the audio signal into a plurality of sub-intervals, each comprising a respective length, the respective length of the plurality of sub-intervals being dependent on a pitch lag value (0089, analysis subsegments may be generated based on the length of the pitch period.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to use pitch period to set analysis windows as taught by Heikkinen in the system of Ravelli to account for pitch changes of a signal that might happen at a time resolution less than a frame (Heikkinen 0089).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ravelli and Heikkinen as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Rajendran et al. (US PAP 2008/0027711).
Consider claim 14, Ravelli and Heikkinen teach processor according to claim 13, but do not specifically teach wherein at least two subintervals or the plurality of sub-intervals are overlapping.
In the same field of audio coding, Rajendran teaches wherein at least two subintervals or the plurality of sub-intervals are overlapping (0167, subframes may be overlapping).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time effective filing to overlap sub intervals as taught by Rajendran in the system of Ravelli and Heikkinen in order to use a well-known technique for reducing artifacts in the encoded signal.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-12, 22, 25, 26, and 28 are allowed. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Consider claim 1, the closest prior art of record, Cohen (US Patent 6,064,954) teaches Processor for processing an encoded audio signal, the encoded audio signal comprising at least an encoded pitch parameter (figure 3 with column 4, line 16 (decoder 20); D2: figure 1 (Decoder)), the processor comprising:
an LTP buffer configured to receive samples derived from a frame of the encoded audio signal (figure 1 with column 4, lines 35-36 and 17-20: "predictor circuit 340 to calculate the prediction signal from the periodic extension of output signal 40", wherein this prediction necessarily requires a buffering of the samples of the output signal 40 derived - via main bitstream decoder 300, adder 310 and IMDCT 320 - from the 160 samples of the quantized prediction error MDCT assembled out of the data carried by bitstream 150; D2: figure 1 (past synthesis derived at Decoder from received encoded audio signal) with page 3, section "B. Pitch prediction", second paragraph ("window in the recent synthesis signal history"));
a predictor configured for generating a prediction signal from the LTP buffer (figure 3 with column 4, lines 35-36 ("predictor circuit 340 to calculate the prediction signal from the periodic extension of output signal 40"); D2: figure 1 (past synthesis is processed with Delay by T) with page 3, section "B. Pitch Prediction", second and penultimate paragraph ("pitch predictor" applies "pitch period" as "time offset to the window in the recent synthesis signal history" to arrive at a "windowed, delayed synthesis signal")); and
a frequency domain transformer configured for generating a prediction spectrum based on the prediction signal (figure 3 with column 4, lines 37-39: MDCT circuit 360).
However the prior art of record does not specifically teach or fairly suggest the limitations of
“an interval splitter configured to divide a time interval associated with a subsequent frame of the encoded audio signal into sub-intervals depending on the encoded pitch parameter;
a calculation unit configured to derive sub-interval parameters from the encoded pitch parameter dependent on a position of the sub-intervals within the time interval associated with the subsequent frame of the encoded audio signal;
a predictor configured for generating a prediction signal from the LTP buffer dependent on the sub-interval parameters;” when combined with each and every other limitation of the claim. Rather in the prior art, predictions are made based on frame level parameters. Therefore claim 1 is allowable.
Claims 2-12 and 22 depend on and limit claim 1 and therefore are allowable as well.
Claims 25, 26, and 28 either require the limitations of claim 1 or contain similar limitations as claim 1 and therefore are allowable as well.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Tsutsumi (US PAP 2015/0262588) teaches subdividing frames based on pitch lag, but this disclosure is directed towards error correction.
DOUGLAS GODBOLD
Examiner
Art Unit 2655
/DOUGLAS GODBOLD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2655