DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 09/10/2026, with respect to objection to specification, drawing, and claim 10 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection above, have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 8-11, and 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1)) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Merli et al. (US2013/0281326 A1), Claims 8-11, and 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1)) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Chamberlain et al. (US 2002/0155956), and Claims 8-11, and 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merli and further in view of May et al. (US 2021/0102108 A1) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-10,and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wagle et al. (US 2023/0323183 A1) (“Wagle” herein)
Claim 8.
Wagle discloses a wellbore fluid, comprising:
an aqueous base fluid; and a solid shale inhibitor dissolved in the aqueous base fluid as a dry solid, the solid shale inhibitor consisting essentially of a hexamethylenediamine hydrochloride. [0005,0010-0011, 0014-0029]
Wagle does not explicitly disclose the hexamethylenediamine hydrochloride having a purity greater than 90 percent.
Wage recites ¶ [0029] In one or more embodiments, after the ethylene ammonium salt has been produced, the product may be purified by any suitable means, such as by freeze-drying, recrystallization, and/or filtration steps. Such steps are known by those skilled in the art.
Accordingly, it would have been within a person of skill in the art and the before the effective filling date of the claimed invention and the examiner takes an Official Notice that a compound, as a solid product through at least a re-crystallization process, with the highest purity, such as the shale inhibitor of Wagle, would be preferred in order to prevent possible unexpected reaction within the wellbore fluid composition or in the wellbore.
Pure materials are novel vis-à-vis less pure or impure materials because there is a difference between pure and impure materials. Therefore, the issue is whether claims to a pure material are nonobvious over the prior art. In re Bergstrom, 427 F.2d 1394, 166 USPQ 256 (CCPA 1970). Purer forms of known products may be patentable, but the mere purity of a product, by itself, does not render the product nonobvious.
Factors to be considered in determining whether a purified form of an old product is obvious over the prior art include whether the claimed chemical compound or composition has the same utility as closely related materials in the prior art, and whether the prior art suggests the particular form or structure of the claimed material or suitable methods of obtaining that form or structure. In re Cofer, 354 F.2d 664, 148 USPQ 268 (CCPA 1966) (Claims to the free-flowing crystalline form of a compound were held nonobvious over references disclosing the viscous liquid form of the same compound because the prior art of record did not suggest the claimed compound in crystalline form or how to obtain such crystals.). However, in the case of product-by-process claims, if a first prior art process is improved to enhance the purity of the product produced by the process, and if the purified product has no structural or functional difference from the products produced by other prior art processes, then the improvement in the first process that improves the purity of the product does not give rise to patentability. See Purdue Pharma v. Epic Pharma, 811 F.3d 1345, 117 USPQ2d 1733 (Fed. Cir. 2016). See also MPEP § 2113.
See also Ex parte Stern, 13 USPQ2d 1379 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987) (Claims to interleukin-2 (a protein with a molecular weight of over 12,000) purified to homogeneity were held unpatentable over references which recognized the desirability of purifying interleukin-2 to homogeneity in a view of a reference which taught a method of purifying proteins having molecular weights in excess of 12,000 to homogeneity wherein the prior art method was similar to the method disclosed by appellant for purifying interleukin-2).
Claim 9.
Wagle discloses the wellbore fluid of claim 8, further comprising at least one viscosifier. [0032]
Claim 10.
Wagle discloses the wellbore fluid of claim 8, wherein the solid shale inhibitor constitutes from 0.5 volume percent to 5.0 volume percent of the wellbore fluid.[0030]
Claim 22.
Wagle discloses the wellbore fluid of claim 8, wherein:
the solid shale inhibitor has a purity greater than 98 percent; [0014-0029 and claim 1]
the solid shale inhibitor is free of 1,2-diaminocyclohexane and bis-hexamethylene triamine; (i.e. other compounds of Formula III and IV) [0011]
and
the solid shale inhibitor constitutes from 0.5 volume percent to 2 volume percent of the wellbore fluid. [0029-0030]
Since Wagle discloses the same wellbore fluid composition comprising water and a hexamethylenediamine hydrochloride , it would be a wellbore fluid with a pH within a range of from 8 to 10.
"Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties”. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant disc loses and /or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP 2112.01 (I), In re Best, 562 F2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433, Titanium Metals Corp v Banner, 778 F2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed Cir 1985) , In re Ludtke, 441 F2d 660, 169 USPQ 563 (CCPA 1971) and Northam Wareen Corp v DF Newfield Co, 7 F Supp 773, 22 USPQ 313 (EDNY1934).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SILVANA C RUNYAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1616 11/04/2026