DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is in response to the election filed on 11/18/25.
Election/Restrictions
3. Applicant's election with traverse of Species 4, figures 7A, (directed to all claims) in the reply filed on 11/18/25 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “there exists considerable overlapping subject matter between all of Figs 7 and 8. Thus, any field of search for one invention would necessarily overlap with the field of search for the other invention. Hence, it would not be a serious burden on the Examiner to examine all figures 7 and 8 as they are closely related and the difference limited to the type of rectifier used. claims presented in this case. Moreover, restriction in this matter would be contrary to current USPTO policy. More specifically, maintaining a restriction between the species would impede the examination process and further contribute to the overall backlog of applications at the USPTO. In view hereof, there would not appear to be any burden, let alone a serious search and examination burden, if restriction were not required. If the search and examination of an entire application can be made without serious burden, the examiner must examine it on the merits, even though it includes claims to independent or distinct inventions. See MPEP 803 (emphasis added).”
This is found persuasive. The requirement mailed on 11/18/25 has been withdrawn.
Drawings
4. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore,
“a DC source” and “a DC-to-DC converter” (in claims 5 and 15)
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Double Patenting
6. Claims 1-6, 8-9, 11-16, and 18-19 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,081,014 (hereafter, 014’) in view of Wei et at. (US 20100177452).
Regarding claim 1: 014’ disclsoes a power supply system to provide power to a load connected between first and second connectors, the system comprising: a power source that produces a power output; a power converter that configured to receive the power output and convert it into a direct current (DC) output and provides the DC output between the first and second connectors; a filter connected to the rectifier and between the connectors and that is configured to smooth the DC output; and a fault clearing source connected to the first connector that is configured to provide a clearing voltage to the first connector when a ground fault occurs on the first connector (i.e. see claim 1),
but does not specifically disclose wherein the clearing voltage includes an identifiable characteristic.
Wei et al. disclose a power system comprising the clearing voltage (i.e. from 34) includes an identifiable characteristic (i.e. provided by 34) (i.e. ¶ 30 and 36-41).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to modify the circuit of 014’s invention with the system as disclose by Wei et al. to provide a protective circuit with the lowest power ratings for the additional components.
Regarding claim 2: 014’ disclsoes the limitation of the claim(s) as discussed above, but does not specifically disclose the identifiable characteristic is a frequency, a square wave, a sinusoid, a pulse, or other distinctive and detectable pattern.
Wei et al. disclose a power system comprising the identifiable characteristic is a frequency, a square wave, a sinusoid, a pulse, or other distinctive and detectable pattern (i.e. provided by the capacitor 38 and/or resistor 36). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to modify the circuit of 014’s invention with the system as disclose by Wei et al. to provide a protective circuit with the lowest power ratings for the additional components.
Regarding claims 3 and 13: 014’ disclsoes wherein the fault clearing source is a battery (i.e. see claim 2).
Regarding claim 4: 014’ discloses wherein the fault clearing source receives power from the second connector (i.e. see claim 3).
Regarding claims 5 and 15: wherein the power source is a DC source and the power converter is a DC to DC converter (i.e. see the rejection of claim 5 below).
Regarding claims 6 and 16: 014’ disclsoes the limitation of the claim(s) as discussed above, but does not specifically disclose the power source is an AC generator and the power converter is a rectifier configured to receive the AC power from the generator and converts it into a direct current output and provide the DC output between the first and second connectors.
Wei et al. disclose a power system (i.e. figure 6) wherein the power source (i.e. 18) is an AC generator and the power converter is a rectifier (i.e. 12) configured to receive the AC power from the generator (i.e. 18) and converts it into a direct current output (i.e. from 12) and provide the DC output between the first (i.e. 20) and second connectors (i.e. 22).
Regarding claim 9: 014’ disclsoes the limitation of the claim(s) as discussed above, but does not specifically disclose the fault clearing source is connected between the first connector and a ground.
Wei et al. disclose a power system comprising wherein the fault clearing source (i.e. source of 34 that includes 36, 38, 40) is connected between the first connector (i.e. 20) and a ground (i.e. ground).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to modify the circuit of 014’s invention with the system as disclose by Wei et al. to provide a protective circuit with the lowest power ratings for the additional components.
Regarding claim 11: 014’ disclsoes power supply system to provide power to a load connected between first and second connectors, the system comprising: a power source that produces a power output; a power converter configured to receive the power output, convert it into a direct current (DC) output and provide the DC output between the first and second connectors; a filter connected to the rectifier and between the connectors configured to smooth the DC output; and a first fault clearing source connected to the first connector configured to provide a first clearing voltage to the first connector when a first ground fault occurs on the first connector (i.e. see claim 1),
but does not specifically disclose a second fault clearing source connected to the second connector configured to provide a second clearing voltage to the second connector when a ground fault occurs on the second connector; wherein at least one of the first and second clearing voltages includes an identifiable characteristic.
Wei et al. disclose a power system comprising a second fault clearing source (i.e. lower source includes 36, 42, 38) connected to the second connector (i.e. 22) configured to provide a second clearing voltage (i.e. from lower 38, 42, 38) to the second connector (i.e. 22) when a ground fault (i.e. ground fault) occurs on the second connector (i.e. 22) (i.e. ¶ 30 and 36-41);
wherein at least one of the first and second clearing voltages (i.e. from upper and lower source of 34) includes an identifiable characteristic (i.e. provided by 34).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to modify the circuit of 014’s invention with the system as disclose by Wei et al. to provide a protective circuit with the lowest power ratings for the additional components.
Regarding claim 14: 014’ disclsoes the limitation of the claim(s) as discussed above, but does not specifically disclose the first fault clearing source receives power from the second connector and the second fault clearing source receives power from the first connector.
Wei et al. disclose a power system comprising (i.e. figure 6) wherein the first fault clearing source (i.e. upper source includes 36, 38, 40) receives power from the second connector (i.e. 22) and the second fault clearing source (i.e. lower source includes 36, 42, 38) receives power from the first connector (i.e. 20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to modify the circuit of 014’s invention with the system as disclose by Wei et al. to provide a protective circuit with the lowest power ratings for the additional components.
Regarding claim 18: 014’ disclsoes the limitation of the claim(s) as discussed above, but does not specifically disclose the fault clearing source is connected between the first connector and a ground.
Wei et al. disclose a power system comprising (i.e. figure 6) wherein the first fault clearing source (i.e. upper source includes 36, 38, 40) is connected between the first connector (i.e. 20) and a ground (i.e. ground) and the second fault clearing source (i.e. lower source includes 36, 42, 38) is connected between the second connector (i.e. 22) and ground (i.e. ground).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to modify the circuit of 014’s invention with the system as disclose by Wei et al. to provide a protective circuit with the lowest power ratings for the additional components.
7. Claims 7 and 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 12,081,014 (hereafter, 014’) in view of Wei et at. (US 20100177452) and further in view of Loder (US 2020013319).
Regarding claims 7 and 17: 014’ discloses the limitation of the claim(s) as discussed above, but does not specifically disclose the rectifier is a two stage active rectifier.
Loder discloses a power system (i.e. figure 2) comprising the rectifier is a two stage active rectifier (i.e. 242, 244).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to modify the circuit of 014’’s invention with the power system as disclose by Loder for reducing the thermal stress may ensure lower voltages across the components in the electrical power system.
8. Claims 10 and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 12,081,014 (hereafter, 014’) in view of Legatti (US 6525914).
Regarding claims 10 and 19: 014’ discloses the limitation of the claim(s) as discussed above, but does not specifically disclose the ground is an airframe ground.
Legatti discloses a protection system having the ground is an airframe ground (i.e. Col. 4, lines 6-24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the circuit of 014’’s invention with the system as disclose by Legatti, because an appliance or tool having three lines would normally have its metal housing or frame connected to the ground line such that arcing to the metal housing or frame would be detected by the ground fault current interrupter circuit.
Claim Objections
9. Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 18 recites “ground” should be replaced with “the ground”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
11. Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 11 recites the limitation “the rectifier”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-10 and 12-19 are rejected due to their dependency of claims 1 and 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
13. Claims 1-2, 4, 6, 9, 11-12, 14, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wei et at. (US 20100177452).
Regarding claim 1: Wei et al. discloses a power supply system (i.e. figure 6) to provide power to a load (i.e. 16, 32) connected between first (i.e. 20) and second connectors (i.e. 22), the system comprising:
a power source (i.e. 18) that produces a power output (i.e. output of 18);
a power converter (i.e. converter of 12) that configured to receive the power output (i.e. output of 18) and convert it into a direct current (DC) output (i.e. from 12) and provides the DC output between the first (i.e. 20) and second connectors (i.e. 22);
a filter (i.e. 26, 28) connected to the rectifier (i.e. 12) and between the connectors (i.e. 22) (i.e. 20) and that is configured to smooth the DC output (i.e. function of 26, 28); and
a fault clearing source (i.e. source of 34) connected to the first connector (i.e. 20) that is configured to provide a clearing voltage (i.e. from 34) to the first connector (i.e. 20) when a ground fault (i.e. ground fault) occurs on the first connector (i.e. 20);
wherein the clearing voltage (i.e. from 34) includes an identifiable characteristic (i.e. provided by 34) (i.e. ¶ 30 and 36-41).
Regarding claims 2 and 12: (i.e. figure 6) wherein the identifiable characteristic is a frequency, a square wave, a sinusoid, a pulse, or other distinctive and detectable pattern (i.e. provided by the capacitor 38 and/or resistor 36).
Regarding claim 4: (i.e. figure 6) wherein the fault clearing source (i.e. from source 34) receives power from the second connector (i.e. 22) (i.e. ¶ 30 and 36-41).
Regarding claims 6 and 16: (i.e. figure 6) wherein the power source (i.e. 18) is an AC generator and the power converter is a rectifier (i.e. 12) configured to receive the AC power from the generator (i.e. 18) and converts it into a direct current output (i.e. from 12) and provide the DC output between the first (i.e. 20) and second connectors (i.e. 22).
Regarding claim 9: wherein the fault clearing source (i.e. source of 34 that includes 36, 38, 40) is connected between the first connector (i.e. 20) and a ground (i.e. ground).
Regarding claim 11: Wei et al. disclose a power supply system (i.e. figure 6) to provide power to a load (i.e. 16, 32) connected between first (i.e. 20) and second connectors (i.e. 22), the system comprising:
a power source (i.e. 18) that produces a power output (i.e. output of 18);
a power converter (i.e. converter of 12) configured to receive the power output (i.e. output of 18), convert it into a direct current (DC) output (i.e. from 12) and provide the DC output between the first (i.e. 20) and second connectors (i.e. 22);
a filter (i.e. 26, 28) connected to the rectifier (i.e. 12) and between the connectors (i.e. 20) (i.e. 22) configured to smooth the DC output (i.e. function of 26, 28); and
a first fault clearing source (i.e. upper source includes 36, 38, 40) connected to the first connector (i.e. 20) configured to provide a first clearing voltage (i.e. from upper 36, 38, 40) to the first connector (i.e. 20) when a first ground fault (i.e. ground fault) occurs on the first connector (i.e. 20); and
a second fault clearing source (i.e. lower source includes 36, 42, 38) connected to the second connector (i.e. 22) configured to provide a second clearing voltage (i.e. from lower 38, 42, 38) to the second connector (i.e. 22) when a ground fault (i.e. ground fault) occurs on the second connector (i.e. 22) (i.e. ¶ 30 and 36-41);
wherein at least one of the first and second clearing voltages (i.e. from upper and lower source of 34) includes an identifiable characteristic (i.e. provided by 34).
Regarding claim 14: (i.e. figure 6) wherein the first fault clearing source (i.e. upper source includes 36, 38, 40) receives power from the second connector (i.e. 22) and the second fault clearing source (i.e. lower source includes 36, 42, 38) receives power from the first connector (i.e. 20).
Regarding claim 18: (i.e. figure 6) wherein the first fault clearing source (i.e. upper source includes 36, 38, 40) is connected between the first connector (i.e. 20) and a ground (i.e. ground) and the second fault clearing source (i.e. lower source includes 36, 42, 38) is connected between the second connector (i.e. 22) and ground (i.e. ground).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
15. Claims 3, 5, and 15 are rejected under U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Wei et at. (US 20100177452).
Regarding claims 3 and 13: Wei et al. disclose (i.e. figure 6) comprising the fault clearing source (i.e. 34) having a capacitor (i.e. 38) to discharge a voltage to the DC bus line or connector (i.e. 20) instead of a battery. Wei et al.’s capacitor (i.e. 34) is an equivalent structure known in the art. Therefore, because the capacitor and battery were art-recognized equivalents at the time the invention was made, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute the capacitor for a battery to have the same voltage provided and easier to replace.
Regarding claims 5 and 15: Wei et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the power source is a DC source and the power converter is a DC-to-DC converter. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify Wei et al.’s invention to have the power source is a DC source and the power converter is a DC-to-DC converter as an alternative configuration to achieve different power source. Since, applicant has not disclosed that the power source is a DC source and the power converter is a DC-to-DC converter. solve any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the power source of Wei et al.’s invention.
16. Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Wei et at. (US 20100177452) in view of Loder (US 2020013319).
Regarding claims 7 and 17: Wei et al. disclose the limitation of the claim(s) as discussed above, but does not specifically disclose the rectifier is a two stage active rectifier.
Loder discloses a power system (i.e. figure 2) comprising the rectifier is a two stage active rectifier (i.e. 242, 244).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to modify the circuit of Wei et al.’s invention with the power system as disclose by Loder for reducing the thermal stress may ensure lower voltages across the components in the electrical power system.
17. Claims 10 and 19 are rejected under U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Wei et at. (US 20100177452) in view of Legatti (US 6525914).
Regarding claims 10 and 19: Wei et al. disclose the limitation of the claim(s) as discussed above, but does not specifically disclose the ground is an airframe ground.
Legatti discloses a protection system having the ground is an airframe ground (i.e. Col. 4, lines 6-24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the circuit of Wei et al.’s invention with the system as disclose by Legatti, because an appliance or tool having three lines would normally have its metal housing or frame connected to the ground line such that arcing to the metal housing or frame would be detected by the ground fault current interrupter circuit.
Allowable Subject Matter
18. Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Nguyen Tran/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838