DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant's submission filed on May 19th, 2026 has been entered. Claim 2 has been canceled. Claims 1 and 3-7 remain pending in the application. Claim 1 is currently amended. Claims 6-7 are newly added. Applicant's amendments to the claims have overcome the objections to the claims and the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 previously set forth in the Final Office Action mailed December 22nd, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Okada (US 6,227,474).
Figure 1. Annotated Figure 28 from Okada
Regarding Claim 1, Okada, Figures 2-3, 28-29 and annotated Figure 1 above, teaches a fishing spinning reel comprising:
a rotor 5 rotated by a winding operation of a handle 7;
a bail support member 14 attached to a support arm 10 of the rotor 5, and supporting a bail 13;
a line roller 16 supported by the bail support member 14, and guiding a fishing line 1 to a spool 8 around which the fishing line 1 is wound and held (See Okada, Col. 8, Ln. 20-25);
a line slider 14a supporting one end of the bail 13, and guiding the fishing line 1 picked up by the bail 13 to the line roller 16; and
an attachment portion 56 at the one end of the bail 13 and disposed at a bottom portion 14ab within the line slider 14a (See Okada, Col. 16, Ln. 7-10), wherein
the attachment portion 56 is fixed to the line slider 14a, which is separate from the bail support member 14 (“the fishing line sliding portion 14a according to the eighteenth embodiment is formed separately from the bail arm lever 14”; See Okada, Col. 15, Ln. 2-4), by a fixing screw 55 from a side of a line slider 14a side (See Okada, Fig. 28, Col. 16, Ln. 7-10), and
the attachment portion 56 is sandwiched between the bottom portion 14ab of the line slider 14a and an inner surface of a head 55b of the fixing screw 55 (“indentation groove 56 is formed in one end of the bail arm 13. Protrusions 57 are formed annularly at an inner face of the head portion 55b to engage the indentation groove 56; See Okada, Col. 16, Ln. 20-25).
Regarding Claim 3, Okada is advanced above.
Okada further teaches an accommodation portion 58’ having a bottomed tubular shape, provided in the line slider 14a, and accommodating the attachment portion 56 (annular groove 58 in line slider 14a creates a bottomed tubular shape in the line slider 14a; See Figure 1 above; See Okada, Fig. 28-29, Col. 16, Ln. 20-32),
wherein the fixing screw 55 is inserted into the line slider 14a through an opening of the accommodation portion 58’ (annular groove 58 and recess 54 of line slider 14a are open in order to accept protrusion 57 on fixing screw 55; See Figure 1 above; See Okada, Fig. 28-29, Col. 16, Ln. 20-32).
Regarding Claim 4, Okada is advanced above.
Okada further teaches wherein an insertion hole 54a into which the one end of the bail 13 is inserted is formed on a side surface 14ac of the line slider 14a (See Figure 1 above), and
the insertion hole 54a has an inner diameter larger than an outer diameter of the one end of the bail 13 (insertion hole 54a must have a larger inner diameter than the outer diameter of the one end of the bail 13 in order for the bail 13 to be inserted into the insertion hole 54a as shown; See Figure 1 above).
Regarding Claim 5, Okada is advanced above.
Okada further teaches wherein the inner surface of the head 55b of the fixing screw 55 directly contacts the attachment portion 56 (“indentation groove 56 is formed in one end of the bail arm 13. Protrusions 57 are formed annularly at an inner face of the head portion 55b to engage the indentation groove 56; See Okada, Col. 16, Ln. 20-25).
Regarding Claim 6, Okada is advanced above.
Okada further teaches wherein the fixing screw 55 is screwed to a cylindrical support shaft 19’ of the bail support member 14 in a state where the line roller 16 is disposed between the line slider 14a and the bail support member 14, and the line roller 16 is rotatably supported by the cylindrical support shaft 19’ (See Figure 1 above; See Okada, Fig. 28, Col. 13, Ln. 15-17, Col. 16, Ln. 49-50).
Regarding Claim 7, Okada is advanced above.
Okada further teaches wherein the accommodation portion 58’ accommodates the attachment portion 56 and at least a part 57 of the head 55b of the fixing screw 55 (See Figure 1 above; See Okada, Fig. 28, Col. 16, Ln. 25-32).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see Pg. 4-7, filed May 19th, 2026, have been fully considered.
Regarding the objections to the Claims, Applicant has submitted acceptable amendments. Therefore, the objections have been withdrawn.
Regarding the rejection of Claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103, Applicant has amended the claim. The amendments are sufficient to overcome the previously set forth rejection. Therefore, this rejection has been withdrawn. However, a new ground of rejection has been set forth under 35 U.S.C. 102 based on the amended claim.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Okada is utilized in the current rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (See Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 above).
Regarding the rejections of Claims 3-5, the claims are dependents of rejected claim 1 and Applicant has provided no additional arguments. Therefore, these claims are also rejected based on the new ground of rejection presented above.
Regarding newly added Claim 6, the claim is a dependent of rejected claim 1, and Applicant’s arguments regarding the cited art, as it applies to claim 1, are moot. Additionally, a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 has been made for additional limitations outlined in claim 6.
Regarding newly added Claim 7, the claim is a dependent of rejected claims 1 and 3, and Applicant’s arguments regarding the cited art, as it applies to claim 1, are moot. Additionally, a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 has been made for additional limitations outlined in claim 7.
Conclusion
/T.D.J./Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/Victoria P Augustine/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654