DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s remarks received on 04/17//2026 with respect to the original independent claims have been acknowledged and are moot in view of a new ground of rejection necessitated by the corresponding amendment. Currently claims 1-20 are rejected and claims 21-26 are cancelled.
Response to Amendment
Double Patenting
3. Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Application 18/405,422 in view of Song et al (US Pub: 20130269618)’s further teaching on a plurality of bird/animal stations [abstract] and Ferriira et al’s teaching on identifying individual birds using images of feathered portion, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of all to apply 18/405,422 and Song’s animal identification and tracking technique to individual bird identification by its feather for target attribute with more accurate output.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-12 and 14-20 of US Application 18/405,422 in view of Song et al disclose the limitations of the corresponding claims of current application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-3, 11, 12, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al (US Pub: 20130269618) and in further view of Bohao (WO Pub: 2020076225) and Ferreira et al (Deep learning-based methods for individual recognition in small birds, 05/20/2020).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), Song et al teaches: A system for identifying and tracking a bird, comprising: a plurality of bird stations, each bird station configured for at least one of food, drink, bathing, nesting and shelter for birds [abstract, p0008], and comprises a respective imaging device arranged to generate respective image data by capturing a respective image which shows at least part of a foot of a bird visiting the bird station [p0038 (optical cow recognition)]; and a data processing apparatus configured to receive the image data, the data processing apparatus comprising at least one processor, and at least one memory, the at least one processor configured to generate bird tracking data for tracking a movement of the bird by [p0012, p0020]; and if the bird can be identified as being one of the plurality of different birds, generating a respective item of tracking data, comprising: respective identification information which identifies the one of the plurality of different birds [p0043]; respective location information indicative of a geographical location of the bird station [p0012]; and a respective indication of a time at which the bird visited the bird station [p0012].
Song et al does not disclose animal identification and tracking through imaging. In the same field of endeavor, Bohao teaches: processing the respective image data from at least one bird station using reference data which comprises, for each bird of a plurality of different birds, a respective set of feature descriptors derived from at least one image of a feathered portion of the bird, and respective bird identification information which identifies the bird, to determine whether the bird can be identified as being one of the plurality of different birds [page 2: lines 10-30]. Therefore, given Song et al’s tracking technique by imaging, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the two to track animal by imaging for more accurate identification.
Bohao identifies an individual animal by images of body parts and reference data. Song in view of Bohao does not identify a bird by feathers. In the same field of endeavor, Ferreira et al identifies a bird by photographing its back and wing feathers and train CNN to re-identify each bird in new images [page 1075: p02, p03; page 1081: p02]. Therefore, given Song et al’s multiple stage tracking system, Bohao’s individual animal identification using body part images, and Ferriira et al’s identifying individual birds using images of feathered portion, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of all to apply Song in view of Bohao’s animal identification and tracking technique to individual bird identification by its feather for target attribute with more accurate output.
Regarding claim 2 (Currently Amended), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Bohao further teaches: The system of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to determine whether the bird visiting the bird station can be identified as being one of the plurality of different birds by: processing the image data to generate a set of feature descriptors of the respective image [page 10: lines 5-14]; calculating a respective degree of similarity between the generated set of feature descriptors and each of one or more of the sets of feature descriptors in the reference data; and determining, based on the calculated degrees of similarity, whether the bird visiting the bird station can be identified as being one of the plurality of different birds [page 12: lines 14-28, page 13: lines 1-7].
Regarding claim 3 (Currently Amended), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 2 has been incorporated herein. Bohao further teaches: The system of claim 2, wherein the processor is configured to process the respective image data from each bird station of the plurality of bird stations to generate the respective set of feature descriptors by segmenting the respective image to isolate a part of the image representing an image of the feathered portion of the bird at the bird station from a remainder of the image, and processing the isolated part of the image to generate the respective set of feature descriptors of the image [page 7: lines 19-26, page 12: 6-13, page 13: lines 8-17]. Therefore, given Bohao’s image segmentation and processing technique and Gao et al’s bird identification by foot, the combined teaching would have made bird identification by foot segmentation obvious to a skilled in the art.
Regarding claim 11 (Currently Amended), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Song et al further teaches: The system of claim 1, wherein the reference data further comprises a respective indication of a geographical location at which the respective image was captured, and the processor is configured to identify a third subset of the reference data using an indication of a geographical location at which the image captured by the imaging device of a first bird station of the plurality of bird stations was captured, wherein the processing of the image data from the first bird station to determine whether the bird at the first bird station can be identified as being one of the plurality of different birds uses feature descriptors from the third subset of the reference data [p0012, p0013].
Regarding claim 12 (Previously Presented), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Bohao further teaches: The system of claim 1, wherein each bird station of the plurality of bird stations further comprises a respective wireless transmitter arranged to wirelessly transmit the image data from the bird station to the data processing apparatus [page 8: lines 7-16].
Claims 14-16 (Currently Amended) have been analyzed and rejected with regard to claims 1-3 respectively.
61066.. Claims 4, 5, 13, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al (US Pub: 20130269618), Bohao (WO Pub: 2020076225) and Ferreira et al (Deep learning-based methods for individual recognition in small birds, 05/20/2020); and in further view of Canning et al (EP Pub: 4470368).
Regarding claim 4 (Currently Amended), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Song et al in view of Bohao and Ferreira et al does not specify updating reference data. In the same field of endeavor, Canning et al teaches: The system of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: if the bird can be identified as being one of the plurality of different birds, update the set of feature descriptors in the reference data for the one of the plurality of different birds using at least one new feature descriptor which is derived from the image captured by the imaging device of the bird station; and if the bird cannot be identified as being one of the plurality of different birds, update the reference data to include at least one new feature descriptor which is derived from image captured by the imaging device of the bird station, and associated new bird identification information which indicates a newly assigned identity of the bird [p0017, p0086, p0092, p0096 (Feature vectors are updated in both known and unknown animal database.)].
Therefore, given Canning et al’s prescription, updating databased for both known and unknown animals/birds would have been within grasp of an ordinary skilled in the art.
Regarding claim 5 (Currently Amended), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Claim 5 has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 4 and in accordance with Bohao’s further teaching on: The system of claim 1, wherein the imaging device of a first bird station of the plurality of bird stations is arranged to generate the image data by capturing a first set of images of the feathered portion of the bird, the first bird station further comprises a second imaging device arranged to capture a second set of images, each image of the second set of images showing a feathered portion of a bird at the first bird station, the second imaging device being arranged to capture the second set of images while the imaging device of the first bird station is capturing the first set of images [page 2: lines 9-29], and if it cannot be determined that the same bird was imaged in the images of the second set of images, the processor being configured to generate an indicator which indicates that the reference data is not to be updated using at least one image in the first set of images [page 6: lines 16-19].
Regarding claim 13 (Currently Amended), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Bohao further teaches: The system of claim 1, wherein the data processing system comprises a plurality of processors, and a plurality of memories, the imaging device of each of the bird stations is configured to transmit image data to a respective processor of the plurality of processors and a respective memory of the plurality of memories, the respective processor configured to generate, one or more feature descriptors derived from the respective image captured by the imaging device, the system further comprises a data processing hub arranged to receive the respective one or more feature descriptors from the respective processor connected to each imaging device, the data processing hub comprising a processor of the plurality of processors and a memory of the plurality of memories, the processor of the data processing hub configured to process the respective one or more feature descriptors generated by the respective processor connected to each imaging device to generate the bird tracking data [page 8: lines 7-16].
And Canning et al, in the same field of endeavor, also teaches data processing hub: [p0043-p0045]. Therefore, the combined teaching would have made a data processing hub/server obvious to a skilled in the art for improving processing efficiency.
Claims 17 and 18 (Currently Amended) have been analyzed and rejected with regard to claims 4 and 5 respectively.
71066.. Claims 6, 7, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al (US Pub: 20130269618), Bohao (WO Pub: 2020076225) and Ferreira et al (Deep learning-based methods for individual recognition in small birds, 05/20/2020); and in further view of Zhou et al (CN Pub: 117288249).
Regarding claim 6 (Currently Amended), the rationale applied to the rejection of clam 1 has been incorporated herein. Bohao’s further teaches: The system of claim 1, wherein the reference data further comprises, for each bird of the plurality of different birds, a respective indication of one or more attributes relating to the bird, a first bird station of the plurality of bird stations further comprises a second imaging device arranged to capture a second image of the bird at the first bird station, wherein the second image comprises an image portion which shows a feathered portion of the bird at the first bird station, and the computer-executable instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the at least one processor to: process the image portion to obtain an indication of at least one attribute of the one or more attributes which relates to the bird at the first bird station; and identify a subset of the reference data using the obtained indication, and the processing of the image data from the first bird station to determine whether the bird at the first bird station can be identified as being one of the plurality of different birds uses feature descriptors that are limited to the feature descriptors in the identified subset of the reference data [page 2: lines 9-29; page 7: lines 6-26].
Song et al in view of Bohao and Gao et al does not identify feather. In the same field of endeavor, Zhou et al teaches: bird identification through bird feather [abstract]. Therefore, using feather as a part of identification attribute would have been an obvious alternative for a skilled in the art for identifying an animal based on its unique characteristics.
Regarding claim 7 (Currently Amended), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Claim 7 has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 6.
Claims 19 and 20 (Currently Amended) have been analyzed and rejected with regard to claims 6 and 7 respectively.
81066.. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al (US Pub: 20130269618), Bohao (WO Pub: 2020076225) and Ferreira et al (Deep learning-based methods for individual recognition in small birds, 05/20/2020), and Zhou et al (CN Pub: 117288249) and in further view of Eric (GB Pub: 2638121) and Goff et al (CN Pub: 120226058).
Regarding claim 8 (Currently Amended), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 6 has been incorporated herein. Song et al in view of Bohao and Gao et al does not identify sex or age of a bird. In the same field of endeavor, Eric teaches: The system of claim 6, wherein the one or more attributes comprises one or more of a species of the bird, a sex of the bird, an age of the bird [page 3: p05].
And Goff et al further teaches: and if the feature descriptor derived from the at least one image of the foot of the bird relates to a left foot of the bird or a right foot of the bird [page 23: p05]. Although Goff et al identifies left/right wing rather than foot, given collect bird foot as attribute described by Gao et al. It would have been obvious for a skilled in the art to collect any feature of a bird as an attribute for recognition and comparison purpose.
91066.. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al (US Pub: 20130269618), Bohao (WO Pub: 2020076225), Ferreira et al (Deep learning-based methods for individual recognition in small birds, 05/20/2020), Zhou et al (CN Pub: 117288249), Eric (GB Pub: 2638121) and Goff et al (CN Pub: 120226058); and in further view of You et al (CN Pub: 113645389).
Regarding claim 9 (Currently Amended), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 8 has been incorporated herein. Song et al in view of Bohao, Ferreira et al, Zhou et al, Eric, and Goff et al does not disclose orientation of a bird. In the same field of endeavor, You et al teaches: The system of claim 8, wherein the processor is configured to: process the image portion to obtain an indication of an orientation of the bird at the first bird station; and identify the subset of the reference data in accordance with the obtained indication of the orientation of the bird [page 6: p01]. Therefore, the combined teaching of all would have made orientation of a bird an attribute per design choice.
101066.. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al (US Pub: 20130269618), Bohao (WO Pub: 2020076225) and Ferreira et al (Deep learning-based methods for individual recognition in small birds, 05/20/2020); and in further view of Margolis et al (US Pub: 20100322483).
Regarding claim 10 (Currently Amended), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Song et al in view of Bohao and Ferreira et al does not specify image capturing date. In the same field of endeavor, Margolis et al teaches: The system of claim 1, wherein the reference data further comprises a respective indication of a date on which the respective image was captured, and the processor is configured to identify a second subset of the reference data using a date of capture of the image captured by the imaging device of a first bird station of the plurality of bird stations, wherein the processing of the image data from the first bird station to determine whether the bird at the first bird station can be identified as being one of the plurality of different birds uses feature descriptors from the second subset of the reference data [abstract]. Therefore, the combined teaching of all would have made image capturing date an attribute per design choice.
Conclusion
11. There is a new ground of rejection necessitated by the corresponding amendment presented in this Office Action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP 706.07(a).
Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
Contact
/Fan Zhang/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2682