DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on 1/5/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-7 and 12-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2, lines 2-3, “a” before “default” and “lower” should be --the--, respectively. Claim 4 has a similar issue.
Claim 3, line 4, --the-- should be inserted before “adjusted”
Claim 5 “single-level cell” should be --a single-level cell--. Claims 12 and 16 have a similar issue.
Claim 16, line 3, before “to”, insert --configured--.
Claim 19:
at line 4, “that adjusted size” should be --that the adjusted size--.
At lines 5-6, “a default bit density” should be --the default bit density--.
Dependent claims 4, 6, 7, 13-15, 18 and 20 do not overcome the deficiency of the base
claim and, therefore, are objected for the same reasons as the base claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
7. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “processing device” in claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 1, 8, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narasimhan et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0356357 A1) in view of Heller et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2016/0335001 A1).
As to claim 1, Narasimhan teaches a method comprising:
receiving a size of an update file from a host using wireless communication (see e.g. Figs.3 and 5C and associated text, e.g. [0045]- an operating system of an information handling system may receive a firmware update via a wireless connection and [0048]- Firmware update location information may, for example, include a logical block address for the firmware update, a cylinder head sector for the firmware update, a device path to the memory on which the firmware update is stored, such as a device path of a hard drive, one or more non-uniform memory access (NUMA) nodes at which the firmware update is stored, a size of the firmware update),
selecting an amount of memory for the update file based on the size to reallocate (see e.g. [0046]- a memory may be selected for storage of the firmware update. For example, an OS of the information handling system may select a memory for storage of the firmware update, [0047]-If a system memory is selected, an OS firmware update driver may request an allocation of memory for storage from an OS memory manager and may store the firmware update in the allocated memory, and [0057]- the OS may determine whether storage of a firmware update on a system memory, such as a system main memory, across one or more reboots is supported. The OS may further determine whether there is sufficient space available on the system memory to store the firmware update; if, at step 514, a determination is made that storage of the firmware update on the system memory is supported, the OS may, at step 516, obtain a memory allocation of one or more portions of the system memory, such as one or more NUMA nodes, for storage of the firmware update from an OS memory manager) and programming the update file using the memory reallocated (see e.g. [0057]- At step 518, the OS may store the firmware update in the allocated memory and may update location information for the firmware update in a firmware memory).
Narasimhan does not specifically teach selecting the amount of memory to reallocate from a default bit density to a lower bit density than the default bit density or using the memory reallocated to the lower bit density.
In an analogous art of allocating memory, however, Heller teaches selecting an amount of memory to reallocate from a default bit density (e.g. TLC) to a lower bit density than the default bit density (e.g. MLC or SLC) and using the memory reallocated to the lower bit density (see e.g. [0025]- SLC may typically be programmed at 100 MB/sec, MLC at 60 MB/sec, and TLC at 30 MB/sec. In this regard, the storage device may analyze the data stream for the bandwidth, and determine, based on the bandwidth, whether to use the TLC blocks as SLC blocks or as MLC blocks. For example, in response to determining that the bandwidth for the data stream is 80 MB/sec (one example of throughput), the data storage device may program the TLC blocks as SLC blocks (since SLC blocks can be programmed at 100 MB/sec). As another example, in response to determining that the bandwidth for the data stream is 50 MB/sec, the data storage device may program the TLC blocks as MLC blocks (since MLC blocks can be programmed at 60 MB/sec) and [0028]- in response to determining to write to the section of memory at the bit(s)-per-cell different from the designated bit(s)-per-cell, writing to the section of memory at the bit(s)-per-cell different from the designated bit(s)-per-cell).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Narasimhan to incorporate/implement the limitations as taught by Heller in order to provide a more efficient method/system of configuring memory to store large amounts of data for the purpose of optimizing performance.
As to claim 1, Narasimhan teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions that, when executed by a processing device (see [0016] and [0085]), cause the processing device to:
receiving a size of an update file from a host using wireless communication (see e.g. Figs.3 and 5C and associated text, e.g. [0045]- an operating system of an information handling system may receive a firmware update via a wireless connection and [0048]- Firmware update location information may, for example, include a logical block address for the firmware update, a cylinder head sector for the firmware update, a device path to the memory on which the firmware update is stored, such as a device path of a hard drive, one or more non-uniform memory access (NUMA) nodes at which the firmware update is stored, a size of the firmware update),
select an amount of memory for the update file based on the size to reallocate (see e.g. [0046]- a memory may be selected for storage of the firmware update. For example, an OS of the information handling system may select a memory for storage of the firmware update, [0047]-If a system memory is selected, an OS firmware update driver may request an allocation of memory for storage from an OS memory manager and may store the firmware update in the allocated memory, and [0057]- the OS may determine whether storage of a firmware update on a system memory, such as a system main memory, across one or more reboots is supported. The OS may further determine whether there is sufficient space available on the system memory to store the firmware update; if, at step 514, a determination is made that storage of the firmware update on the system memory is supported, the OS may, at step 516, obtain a memory allocation of one or more portions of the system memory, such as one or more NUMA nodes, for storage of the firmware update from an OS memory manager) and program a first portion of the update file using the memory reallocated (see e.g. [0057]- At step 518, the OS may store the firmware update in the allocated memory and may update location information for the firmware update in a firmware memory).
Narasimhan does not specifically teach selecting the amount of memory to reallocate from a default bit density to a lower bit density than the default bit density or using the memory reallocated to the lower bit density.
In an analogous art of allocating memory, however, Heller teaches selecting an amount of memory to reallocate from a default bit density (e.g. TLC) to a lower bit density than the default bit density (e.g. MLC or SLC) and using the memory reallocated to the lower bit density (see e.g. [0025]- SLC may typically be programmed at 100 MB/sec, MLC at 60 MB/sec, and TLC at 30 MB/sec. In this regard, the storage device may analyze the data stream for the bandwidth, and determine, based on the bandwidth, whether to use the TLC blocks as SLC blocks or as MLC blocks. For example, in response to determining that the bandwidth for the data stream is 80 MB/sec (one example of throughput), the data storage device may program the TLC blocks as SLC blocks (since SLC blocks can be programmed at 100 MB/sec). As another example, in response to determining that the bandwidth for the data stream is 50 MB/sec, the data storage device may program the TLC blocks as MLC blocks (since MLC blocks can be programmed at 60 MB/sec) and [0028]- in response to determining to write to the section of memory at the bit(s)-per-cell different from the designated bit(s)-per-cell, writing to the section of memory at the bit(s)-per-cell different from the designated bit(s)-per-cell).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Narasimhan to incorporate/implement the limitations as taught by Heller in order to provide a more efficient method/system of configuring memory to store large amounts of data for the purpose of optimizing performance.
As to claim 16, Narasimhan teaches a system (see Fig.1 and associated text) comprising: a plurality of memory devices and a processing device, operatively coupled with the plurality of memory devices (see e.g. [0030]-[0035]), to:
receive a size of an update file from a host using wireless communication (see e.g. Figs.3 and 5C and associated text, e.g. [0045]- an operating system of an information handling system may receive a firmware update via a wireless connection and [0048]- Firmware update location information may, for example, include a logical block address for the firmware update, a cylinder head sector for the firmware update, a device path to the memory on which the firmware update is stored, such as a device path of a hard drive, one or more non-uniform memory access (NUMA) nodes at which the firmware update is stored, a size of the firmware update),
select an amount of memory for the update file based on the size to reallocate (see e.g. [0046]- a memory may be selected for storage of the firmware update. For example, an OS of the information handling system may select a memory for storage of the firmware update, [0047]-If a system memory is selected, an OS firmware update driver may request an allocation of memory for storage from an OS memory manager and may store the firmware update in the allocated memory and [0057]- the OS may determine whether storage of a firmware update on a system memory, such as a system main memory, across one or more reboots is supported. The OS may further determine whether there is sufficient space available on the system memory to store the firmware update; if, at step 514, a determination is made that storage of the firmware update on the system memory is supported, the OS may, at step 516, obtain a memory allocation of one or more portions of the system memory, such as one or more NUMA nodes, for storage of the firmware update from an OS memory manager), and
program a first portion of the update file to the memory reallocated (see e.g. [0057]- At step 518, the OS may store the firmware update in the allocated memory and may update location information for the firmware update in a firmware memory).
Narasimhan does not specifically teach selecting the amount of memory to reallocate from a default bit density to a lower bit density than the default bit density or using the memory reallocated to the lower bit density, wherein the default bit density is a triple-level cell, quad-level cell, or octo-level cell to the lower bit density or wherein the lower bit density is single-level cell.
In an analogous art of allocating memory, however, Heller teaches selecting an amount of memory to reallocate from a default bit density (e.g. TLC) to a lower bit density than the default bit density (e.g. MLC or SLC) and using the memory reallocated to the lower bit density (see e.g. [0025]- SLC may typically be programmed at 100 MB/sec, MLC at 60 MB/sec, and TLC at 30 MB/sec. In this regard, the storage device may analyze the data stream for the bandwidth, and determine, based on the bandwidth, whether to use the TLC blocks as SLC blocks or as MLC blocks. For example, in response to determining that the bandwidth for the data stream is 80 MB/sec (one example of throughput), the data storage device may program the TLC blocks as SLC blocks (since SLC blocks can be programmed at 100 MB/sec). As another example, in response to determining that the bandwidth for the data stream is 50 MB/sec, the data storage device may program the TLC blocks as MLC blocks (since MLC blocks can be programmed at 60 MB/sec) and [0028]- in response to determining to write to the section of memory at the bit(s)-per-cell different from the designated bit(s)-per-cell, writing to the section of memory at the bit(s)-per-cell different from the designated bit(s)-per-cell), wherein the default bit density is a triple-level cell, quad-level cell, or octo-level cell and wherein the lower bit density is single-level cell (see e.g. [0015]- a group of memory cells in the storage device may be assigned as single-level cells (SLC), whereby a single bit (logic “0” or logic “1”) is stored in a respective cell. As another example, another group of memory cells in the storage device may be assigned as multiple-level cells (MLC), whereby two bits are stored in a respective cell (e.g., logic “00”, logic “01”, logic “10” and logic “11”). As still another example, a group of memory cells in the storage device may be assigned as triple-level cells (TLC), whereby three bits are stored in a respective cell (e.g., logic “000”, logic “001”, logic “010”, etc.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Narasimhan to incorporate/implement the limitations as taught by Heller in order to provide a more efficient method/system of configuring memory to store large amounts of data for the purpose of optimizing performance.
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claims 2-7, 9-15 and 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
11. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zhou (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0100406 A1) discloses a hard disk control method and a related device that includes converting a data storage mode of a first sub-area in a first storage area from a first mode to a second mode. Liang et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0401515 A1) discloses systems and methods for adapting garbage collection (GC) operations in a memory device to a pattern of host accessing the device.
/CHENECA SMITH/Examiner, Art Unit 2192
/S. SOUGH/SPE, Art Unit 2192