DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species B, corresponding to claims 1, 2, 6-8, 16 and 20 in the reply filed on 16 March 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 3-5, 9-15 and 17-19 are withdrawn from further consideration and claims 1, 2, 6-8, 16 and 20 are examined on their merits.
Claim Objections
The claims contain minor informalities.
In claim 1, the language “… and an auxiliary support structure configured to [[provide]] support [[to]] the first [[flanges]] flange and the second flange …” should be changed for brevity and clarity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a) NOVELTY; PRIOR ART.—A person shall be entitled to a patent unless—
(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention; or
(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sander; Fiona M. et al. (US 20170035427 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sander discloses a system (¶ [0003], tissue anchors and methods; ¶ [0039] As shown in FIG. 1, tissue anchor 10; ¶ [0045] Referring now to FIGS. 6A and 6B, a tissue anchor 50);
comprising: a radially expanding tubular framework having a first end region, a second end region, a medial region positioned between the first end region and the second end region, and a lumen extending from the first end region to the second end region (¶ [0045], a tissue anchor 50 comprises an anchor body 52 … a lumen or central passage 58 of the body 52);
wherein the first end region comprises a first flange and the second end region comprises a second flange (¶ [0045], FIGS. 6A and 6B … double-walled flanges 54); and
an auxiliary support structure configured to provide support to the first flanges and the second flange when the stent is in an expanded state (¶ [0045], a plurality of tethers 56 which extend through a lumen or central passage 58 of the body 52 through the flange region and which then extend outwardly over the central saddle region 60 before passing back into the interior of the body … the tethers may be locked in place, typically by a locking device 64, such as crimping pledgets).
Regarding claim 2, Sander discloses that the first flange and the second flange are configured to atraumatically engage a bodily tissue (¶ [0007], alternative or improved tissue anchors and methods for their deployment and use, where the anchors can provide firm attachment of tissue while minimizing the risk of necrosis and other damage to the tissue; ¶ [0045], double-walled flanges 54, as shown in FIG. 6B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sander; Fiona M. et al. (US 20170035427 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Sander discloses a method (¶ [0003], tissue anchors and methods for their use in fastening adjacent tissue layers in medical procedures; ¶ [0024], methods for approximating tissue; ¶ [0025] The methods … for holding a wide variety of adjacent tissue layers together);
comprising: forming an anastomosis in tissue (¶ [0051] Referring now to FIG. 11 … This system 100 is particularly useful for connecting a wall of the gallbladder to an intestinal wall … other anastomotic connections … or any part of the gastrointestinal tract; ¶ [0056] Referring now to FIGS. 12A-12E, deployment of the stent 150 to attach gallbladder wall GBW to an intestinal wall IW will be described);
deploying a radially expanding tubular framework into the anastomosis (¶ [0056], Initially, an endoscope E will usually be trans-orally introduced so that it is within the intestines and can image the gallbladder to locate a target site for the anastomotic connection, as illustrated in FIG. 12 A; ¶ [0057], FIG. 12B … The needle 126 may then be advanced through the walls to form an initial penetration; ¶ [0060], FIG. 12E, after the penetration P has been expanded, the outer tubular member 136 will be advanced so that the stent 150 is located in the expanded penetration);
the radially expanding tubular framework comprising a first end region, a second end region, a medial region positioned between the first end region and the second end region; and a lumen extending from the first end region to the second end region (¶ [0045], a tissue anchor 50 comprises an anchor body 52 … a lumen or central passage 58 of the body 52);
wherein the first end region comprises a first flange and the second end region comprises a second flange (¶ [0045], FIGS. 6A and 6B … double-walled flanges 54); and
deploying an auxiliary support structure around the deployed radially expanding tubular framework (¶ [0045], a plurality of tethers 56 which extend through a lumen or central passage 58 of the body 52 through the flange region and which then extend outwardly over the central saddle region 60 before passing back into the interior of the body … the tethers may be locked in place, typically by a locking device 64, such as crimping pledgets).
Sander discloses all features of the claimed method but not in a single embodiment. This rejection modifies Sander by modifying the method of Figs. 12A-12E with the implantable tubular framework of Figs. 6A-6B. A skilled artisan would have been able to deliver the implant of Figs. 6A-6B through a tissue wall by penetrating the wall and then delivering the implant of Figs. 6A-6B into the resulting opening. One would be motivated to modify Sander’s embodiments since Sander calls for making anastomotic connections through multiple tissues (¶ [0051]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Sander’s embodiments in order to use Sander’s implant in a specific surgical operation.
Claims 6-8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sander; Fiona M. et al. (US 20170035427 A1) in view of Van Dam; Jacques et al. (US 20120296257 A1).
Regarding claims 6, 8 and 20, Sander lacks a spring. Van Dam discloses implantable devices and methods for treating biliary disease comprising a stent having a tubular portion and a lumen (¶ [0024], [0027], [0060] A device 420 forming the passageway may be left in the patient for a short period of time … The device 420 may also be left in place permanently; ¶ [0073] As shown in FIG. 11, an alternate embodiment of the conduit device 1120; ¶ [0075] Turning now to FIG. 13 … The spring 1352; ¶ [0078], tubular portion 1530 of the conduit 1520 … FIG. 15A); and
an auxiliary support structure comprising a proximal flange retention member, a distal flange retention member (¶ [0078], FIG. 15B and FIG. 15c show other embodiments in which the retaining feature 1522 comprises an element 1558 in a spiral configuration that resembles a corkscrew, with a variable outer diameter); and
a spring coupled between the proximal and distal flange retention members (¶ [0075], FIG. 13 … The spring 1352 may be formed by tightly coiling a wire-shaped material, such as Nitinol, other SMA material, stainless steel, titanium, or other suitable material so that it forms a coil as shown in FIG. 13A);
wherein the spring has an unstretched length less than or equal to the foreshortened length of the stent (¶ [0075], This coil 1352 shares characteristics with an extension spring: if tension is applied at the ends of the component, the coils are caused to separate, and this results in the spring creating a compressive return force F. When no external tension is applied to the coil, the gaps between the individual winds of the coil are minimal, and these gaps may be maintained by residual compressive forces imparted to the material during manufacturing as shown in FIG. 13B).
To clarify, this rejection cites two of Van Dam’s embodiments. Figs. 15B(1) and 15B(2) describe flange retention members and Figs. 13A-13D describe a spring. A skilled artisan would have been able to combine these embodiments by attaching the retention members of 15B(1) and 15B(2) to the spring of Figs. 13A-13D, and then arrange the spring and flange retention members inside Sander’s stent.
Van Dam reinforces a gastric stent against leaks or displacement (¶ [0062], These additional retaining features serve to secure the tissue of the gallbladder wall and the connected lumen (e.g. the wall of the duodenum) and prevent leaks even as the structures undergo relative motion). One would be motivated to modify Sander with Van Dam’s spring to reinforce Sander’s implant against leaks since Sander calls for delivering the implant between the gallbladder and intestines (¶ [0051], This system 100 is particularly useful for connecting a wall of the gallbladder to an intestinal wall). Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Sander with Van Dam’s spring in order to more securely fasten a gallbladder implant.
Regarding claim 7, Sander lacks flange retention members comprising a second diameter. Van Dam discloses proximal and distal flange retention members comprising a second diameter (¶ [0078], FIG. 15B and FIG. 15c show other embodiments in which the retaining feature 1522 comprises an element 1558 in a spiral configuration that resembles a corkscrew, with a variable outer diameter).
Sander and Van Dam are silent regarding a difference between first and second diameters. The difference between the flanges’ first diameter and the retention members’ second diameter is interpreted as a result-effective variable, subject to experimentation and testing. A result-effective variable is a parameter which achieves a recognized result. These results are obtained by the determination of optimum or workable ranges of said variable through routine experimentation. The difference in diameters determines how much the retention members will overlap the flanges, and also affects how easily they can fit inside a delivery tool.
Too low
The retention members will be at risk of falling into the tubular framework
Optimized range
The retention members will fit easily inside a delivery tool and adequately anchor the stent
Too high
The retention members will be too unwieldy both during deliver and after deployed in the patient
Therefore, it would have been obvious to adjust the difference in diameters in order to adequately anchor the stent and to avoid complicating the surgical procedure. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A,B). Also see in re Boesch and Slaney, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Double Patenting
The following patents are relevant to the claimed invention:
Tuck; Daniel et al. US 11730614 B2
Tuck; Daniel et al. US 12245959 B2
Phan; Hoang et al. US 9888926 B2
Binmoeller; Kenneth F et al. US 10952732 B2
Folan; Martyn G. US 11678970 B2
Folan; Martyn G. US 12551328 B2
Folan; Martyn G. US 11304795 B2
Folan; Martyn G. US 12064333 B2
Each patent claims a stent, implant or tubular device. However, none of the cited references claims an auxiliary support structure. Therefore none of these references are cited in a double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bynon; Anne Nina et al. US 5667523 A
Robinson; Timothy et al. US 5891193 A
Clerc; Claude et al. US 20090187240 A1
Binmoeller; Kenneth F. et al. US 20170035428 A1
Stangenes; Todd et al. US 20170252195 A1
Gray; Jeff et al. US 20180078745 A1
Kringle; Mark et al. US 20180092732 A1
Walsh; Michael et al. US 20180280166 A1
Reisin; Carina R. et al. US 20200268537 A1
Tel 571-272-2590
Fax 571-273-2590
Email Adam.Marcetich@uspto.gov
The Examiner can be reached 8am-4pm Mon-Fri.
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Adam Marcetich/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781