DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 07/15/2024, 09/26/2024, and 12/03/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 36 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 36 recites “a first network element and a second network element”, in line 2. However, claim 6 (from which claim 36 depends) already establishes a first network element and a second network element. A such, it is unclear if the first network element and second network element recited in claim 36 are the same as, or different from, the first network element and second network element recited in claim 6.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claim 1 of prior U.S. Patent No. US 11902723 B2. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 6, 8-9, and 21-28 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. US 11902723 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reasons:
Regarding Claim 6:
Reference (US 11902723 B2) Claim 1
Instant Application (18/405449) Claim 6
An apparatus comprising a control system configured to synchronize two or more network elements, the control system comprising:
An apparatus comprising a control system configured to synchronize two or more network elements, the control system comprising:
a first port configured to receive a first local time information from a first network element;
a first port configured to receive a first local time information from a first network element;
a second port configured to receive a second local time information from a second network element;
a second port configured to receive a second local time information from a second network element;
a processor configured to compute, from the first local time information and the second local time information, one or more global time values;
a processor configured to compute, from the first and second local time information, one or more global time values;
and a third port configured to transmit the one or more global time values to the first network element or to a third network element different from the first and second network elements;
And a third port configured to transmit the one or more global time values to the first network element or to a third network element different from the first and second network elements.
wherein the first local time information and the second local time information each comprise two respective local time values, said local time values being associated with a same time stamp extracted by each of the first and second network elements from respective sequences of optical frame templates and loaded optical frames received thereat.
As can be seen above, claim 6 of the instant application is anticipated by claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 11902723 B2.
Regarding Claims 8-9, claims 8-9 of the instant application are anticipated by claims 2-3 of U.S. Patent No. US 11902723 B2.
Regarding Claims 21-24, claims 21-24 are drawn to the method of using an apparatus the same as claimed in claims 6-9. As such, claims 21-24 are anticipated by claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. US 11902723 B2.
Regarding Claims 25-28, claims 25-28 are drawn to a method reciting a broader subset of features corresponding to using an apparatus the same as claimed in claims 6-9. As such, claims 25-28 are anticipated by claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. US 11902723 B2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 6, 8-9, 21, 23-25, 27-28, and 30-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Volpe et al. US 10164759 B1 (hereinafter Volpe).
Regarding Claim 6, Volpe teaches an apparatus comprising a control system configured to synchronize two or more network elements (Fig. 4A, network device for reliable precision time; Col. 18, line 17 – Col. 23, line 40), the control system comprising: a first port configured to receive a first local time information from a first network element (Fig. 4A, Port 0 receives time stamped time info from Provider 0; Col. 18, line 17 – Col. 23, line 40); a second port configured to receive a second local time information from a second network element (Fig. 4A, Port 7 receives time stamped info from Provider 1; Col. 18, line 17 – Col. 23, line 40); a processor configured to compute, from the first and second local time information, one or more global time values (Fig. 4A local processor (450) calculates clock offsets and delay, is synchronized to both trees (412 and 414) to generate a network time for the recipients; Col. 18, line 17 – Col. 23, line 40); and a third port configured to transmit the one or more global time values to the first network element or to a third network element different from the first and second network elements (Fig. 4A, port 2 for providing network time to Recipient 0; Col. 18, line 17 – Col. 23, line 40).
Regarding Claim 8, Volpe teaches the apparatus of claim 6 wherein the control system is configured to compute a sum of the received first local time information and the received second local time information (Col. 32, lines 36-45).
Regarding Claim 9, Volpe teaches the apparatus of claim 6 wherein the control system is configured to compute a difference of the received first local time information and the received second local time information (Col. 17; lines 39-55).
Regarding Claims 21 and 23-24, claims 21 and 23-24 are drawn to the method of using an apparatus the same as claimed in claims 6 and 8-9. As such, the limitations of claims 21 and 23-24 correspond to limitations of claims 6 and 8-9, and are therefore rejected for the same reason(s) of anticipation as stated above.
Regarding Claims 25 and 27-28, claims 25 and 27-28 are drawn to a method reciting a broader subset of features corresponding to using an apparatus the same as claimed in claims 6 and 8-9. As such, the limitations of claims 25 and 27-28 correspond to limitations of claims 6 and 8-9, and are therefore rejected for the same reason(s) of anticipation as stated above.
Regarding Claim 30, Volpe teaches the apparatus of claim 6 wherein the processor is physically integrated into one or more of the two or more network elements (Col. 19, lines 22-35).
Regarding Claim 31, Volpe teaches the apparatus of claim 6 wherein the processor is configured to compute a communication delay between the first network element and the second network element (Col. 16, line 4 – Col. 18, line 16; Fig. 3); and wherein the control system is configured to transmit the communication delay to the first network element and the second network element (Col. 16, line 4 – Col. 18, line 16; Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Volpe.
Regarding Claim 29, Volpe teaches the apparatus of claim 6 wherein the processor comprises a distributed processor having parts located at a computer (Col. 19, lines 8-21; Col. 44, lines 1-13).
Volpe does not explicitly teach parts located at different computers. However, it is held that a mere separation of parts, such as dividing a single component into two or more, is considered a matter of routine engineering (MPEP 2144.04). As such, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, separating the parts of the processor of Volpe into two or more separate computers would have been a matter of obvious engineering choice.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 32-35 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 36 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DAVID W LAMBERT/Examiner, Art Unit 2634