Claims 1-40 are presently pending in this application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-11, in the reply filed on July 17, 2026, is acknowledged.
Claims 12-40 are hereby withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method of producing a supported rare earth catalyst (claims 12-23) and to a nonelected method for the borylation of hydrocarbons (claims 24-40), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on July 17, 2026.
Claims 1-11 are presently under consideration by the Examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because below Figure 44 therein, “Scheme 45” should be amended to recite “Figure 45”; see paragraph [0055] of Applicants’ Specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 is indefinite because “CG” therein is not defined. For examination purposes, “CG” will be interpreted as “a capping group”, as recited in Applicants’ claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Basset et al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0171475).
Regarding claims 1, 2 and 5-7, Basset et al. teach a catalyst comprising a suitable support and an organometallic complex or coordination compound including at least a dehydrogenation metal. In these embodiments, the dehydrogenation metal of the organometallic complex or coordination compound may be grafted to a selected site of the suitable support. Examples of the suitable support include a molecular sieve material including one or more of a zeolite, clays, alumina, silica, porous silica, and mesoporous silica, where exemplary zeolites include faujasite, LTL, ferrierite (FER), mordenite (MOR) (“metal oxide support”; “metal oxide support is a zeolite base…”). The molecular sieve material may exhibit a total pore volume of higher than 60% micropores having pore sizes ranging from about 0.3 nm to about 2 nm (about 3 to 20 Å) and should also have at least about 0.05 mmol/g to about 1.5 mmol/g of Brønsted acid sites (“metal oxide support having Brønsted acid sites”). Examples of the organometallic complex or coordination compound include those containing a metal and a ligand, where lanthanum (La) is an exemplary metal. See paragraphs [0033]-[0035] of Basset et al.
The teaching of “one or more of a zeolite, clays, alumina, silica…” is considered to read upon the claim limitation “silica/alumina” support, as recited in claim 2.
Further regarding claim 1, and also regarding claims 3 and 4, Basset et al teach that the metal of the organometallic complex or coordination compound is grafted to a selected site of the suitable support (“catalyst is bound to the Brønsted acid sites on the metal oxide support”), wherein the selected site (a) may be inside or substantially inside and/or outside or substantially outside the micropores of the support and (b) is preferably a silanol site of a zeolite molecular sieve, wherein the silanol site may have and Si-O-Si or Si-O-Al bond (Si-O-Al is considered equivalent to “Al-O-Si”). Basset et al. further teach the feasibility in active sites being inside the micropores of the suitable support, where Brønsted acids are generally naturally present (“capped silanol groups and micropores within which are the Brønsted acid sites”). See paragraphs [0036] and [0038] of Basset et al.
Regarding claim 11, Basset et al. teach, as stated above, the suitable support material may exhibit a total pore volume of higher than 60% micropores having pore sizes ranging from about 0.3 nm to about 2 nm (about 3 to 20 Å), and that the metal of the organometallic complex or coordination compound is grafted to a selected site of the suitable support, wherein the selected site may be inside or substantially inside and/or outside or substantially outside the micropores of the support. Basset et al. further teach that the organometallic complex or coordination compound may have a molecular diameter ranging from about 0.2 to about 1.5 nm (about 2 to about 15 Å). Basset et al. further teach the feasibility in the selected site being a surface spatially located outside or substantially outside the micropores of the suitable support, as well as controlling or defining the location of the active sites. See paragraphs [0035], [0038], and [0039] of Basset et al. Basset et al. additionally teach that relative diameters (e.g., diameters of the organometallic complex or coordination compound and micropores) may be selected to control and/or define the location of the active sites. For example, selection of an organometallic complex with a diameter that is greater than the pore diameter of the suitable support may further or independently provide control over the location where the metal is grafted to the suitable support. See paragraph [0040] of Basset et al. From these teachings, and given that Basset et al. teach (a) that Brønsted acids are generally naturally present inside the micropores of the suitable support and (b) the feasibility in grafting the metal outside or substantially outside the micropores of the suitable support, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to determine through routine experimentation to select the optimal location for grafting the metal to the selected site of the suitable support, such as a location about 3.5 Å from inside the micropores of the suitable support (where Brønsted acids are generally naturally present).
Basset et al. do not explicitly teach, suggest, or define the aforementioned catalyst as a “supported rare earth-catalyst”, as recited in the instant claims. However, because the catalyst disclosed in Basset et al. structurally reads upon that instantly claimed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicants’ invention to reasonably expect the catalyst disclosed in Basset et al. to suitably and effectively function as a supported rare earth-catalyst, absent the showing of convincing evidence to the contrary.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Neither Basset et al. nor the cited references of record teach or suggest the limitations of these claims, regarding the formulae representing the supported rare-earth catalyst.
Conclusion
/Patricia L. Hailey/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732 September 4, 2026