DETAILED ACTION
Response to Remarks
This Office Action is considered to be fully responsive to the communications filed on 07/02/2026. Claims 1-20 are currently pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks page 7, filed 07/02/2026, with respect to the Double Patenting rejections of claims 1, 3, 7-9, and 15-16 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Applicant argues on page 7 of Remarks that the amendments made to the claims overcome the previous Double Patenting rejections. Examiner disagrees with this opinion, as co-pending application 18/405,818 does teach the claims, and a claim mapping is provided below. For more details, please see the Double Patenting section below.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pages 7-12, filed 07/02/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) rejections made, as is necessitated by amendment, under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of Hong et al (US 20220086715 A1) and Hong (US 20240205783 A1) (hereinafter referred to as Hong-5783) for claims 1-20. Applicant has amended independent claim 1 to specify that “wherein the decreased value of the cell service timer indicates a remaining time during which the communication service can be provided in the first cell”, where independent claims 8 and 15 are also amended in a similar way such that they contain analogous subject matter. Applicant argues on pages 8-12 that Hong does not teach this feature. This argument is however moot, as Hong-5783 does teach this feature, and a claim mapping is provided below. Applicant also argues on page 10 of Remarks that “in Hong, the handover operation is closer to a procedure in which the base station responds after the UE satisfies a trigger condition and performs a cell change operation or requests a handover”, and that this is different from the claimed invention where “the first cell triggers the handover procedure based on the decreased value of the cell service timer”. Examiner however disagrees with this opinion, as Hong does teach this feature, and a claim mapping has been provided below. Hong clearly shows in [0231] and [0245] that the base station (i.e. first cell) is able to trigger the cell change operation, and paragraphs [0221], [0230], [0260], and [0268] of Hong clearly shows that the timer may expire or be in an expired state (i.e. the timer decreases in value) which triggers the handover operation. Thus, Hong does teach this feature. Applicant then goes on to argue on pages 11-12 of Remarks that Hong does not teach certain features of some of the dependent claims, asserting that the claimed invention is “different” from Hong. Applicant however does not provide any further explanation as to why these claimed features are “different” from Hong. Examiner disagrees with this opinion, as Hong does teach these features, and a claim mapping is provided below. For the reasons discussed above, claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of Hong and Hong-5783. For more details about any of the above mentioned, please see the Claim Rejections section below.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 7-9, and 15-16 of the current application 18/405,492 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2, 6, 7, 9, 10, and 16 of copending Application No. 18/405,818.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding claim 1, co-pending Application 18/405,818 discloses A method performed by a first cell of a first satellite, the method comprising (Claim 16: method of a first satellite):
performing a connection establishment procedure with a user equipment (UE) (Claim 16: transmitting, to a UE);
after performing the connection establishment procedure, decreasing a value of a cell service timer, that indicates a time during which a communication service can be provided in the first cell, according to a decrement interval (Claim 9: first satellite service timer indicating a time during which communication services can be provided by the first satellite, where the first SAT service timer is decreased according to a first decrement interval); and
in response to determining that the decreased value of the cell service timer is below a threshold, triggering a handover procedure (Claim 9: in response to the decreased first SAT service timer that is less than a first threshold, triggering a handover procedure),
wherein the decreased value of the cell service timer indicates a remaining time during which the communication service can be provided in the first cell (Claim 9: first SAT service timer is decreased, and first SAT service timer indicates a time during which communication services can be provided by the first cell satellite).
Regarding claim 3, co-pending Application 18/405,818 discloses The method according to claim 1, further comprising, in response to determining that the decreased value of the cell service timer is below the threshold, transmitting second information, that indicates performing a frequent measurement procedure instead of an intermittent measurement procedure, to the UE when configuration information of the intermittent measurement procedure and configuration information of the frequent measurement procedure are signaled to the UE in the connection establishment procedure (Claim 6: “receiving, from the first cell of the satellite, variable measurement configuration information; and in response to the decreased first cell service timer that is equal to or less than the first threshold, performing variable measurement procedures instead of general measurement procedures based on the variable measurement configuration information, wherein a measurement periodicity for the variable measurement procedures is shorter than a measurement periodicity for the general measurement procedures”).
Regarding claim 7, co-pending Application 18/405,818 discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein the handover procedure triggered by the first cell is performed on a UE basis or a cell basis (Claim 7: “transmitting a handover initiation message including information on the second cell to the first cell; and receiving a handover command message from the first cell”).
Regarding claim 8, co-pending Application 18/405,818 discloses A method of a user equipment (UE), the method comprising (Claim 9: “A method of a user equipment (UE)”):
receiving first handover configuration information from a first cell, the first handover configuration information including information on a first cell service timer that indicates a time during which a communication service can be provided in the first cell of a first satellite (Claim 9: “ receiving, from a first satellite, first handover configuration information including information on a first satellite (SAT) service timer indicating a time during which communication services can be provided by the first satellite”);
decreasing a value of the first cell service timer according to a decrement interval (Claim 9: “decreasing the first SAT service timer according to a first decrement interval”); and
in response to determining that the decreased value of the first cell service timer is below a threshold, transmitting a handover initiation message to the first cell (Claim 9: “in response to the decreased first SAT service timer that is equal to or less than a first threshold, triggering an inter-satellite (inter-SAT) handover procedure”).
wherein the decreased value of the first cell service timer indicates a remaining time during which the communication service can be provided in the first cell (Claim 9: first SAT service timer is decreased, and first SAT service timer indicates a time during which communication services can be provided by the first cell satellite).
Regarding claim 9, co-pending Application 18/405,818 discloses The method according to claim 8, wherein the first handover configuration information further includes at least one of information indicating the decrement interval, information indicating the threshold, or information indicating a handover scheme (Claim 2: “the first handover configuration information further includes at least one of information on the first decrement interval or information on the first threshold”).
Regarding claim 15, co-pending Application 18/405,818 discloses A user equipment (UE) apparatus, comprising (Claim 9: “user equipment (UE)”):
a processor (Claim 9: (UE) also see [Fig. 3] UE comprises processor 310); and
a memory storing one or more instructions executable by the processor (Claim 9: (UE) also see [Fig. 3] memory 320 connected to processor 310),
wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to
receive first handover configuration information from a first cell, the first handover configuration information including information on a first cell service timer that indicates a time during which a communication service can be provided in the first cell of a first satellite (Claim 9: “receiving, from a first satellite, first handover configuration information including information on a first satellite (SAT) service timer indicating a time during which communication services can be provided by the first satellite”),
decrease a value of the first cell service timer according to a decrement interval (Claim 9: “decreasing the first SAT service timer according to a first decrement interval”), and
in response to determining that the decreased value of the first cell service timer is below a threshold, cause a handover initiation message to be transmitted to the first cell (Claim 9: “in response to the decreased first SAT service timer that is equal to or less than a first threshold, triggering an inter-satellite (inter-SAT) handover procedure”),
wherein the decreased value of the first cell service timer indicates a remaining time during which the communication service can be provided in the first cell (Claim 9: first SAT service timer is decreased, and first SAT service timer indicates a time during which communication services can be provided by the first cell satellite).
Regarding claim 16, co-pending Application 18/405,818 discloses The UE apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the first handover configuration information further includes at least one of information indicating the decrement interval, information indicating the threshold, or information indicating a handover scheme (Claim 10: “the first handover configuration information further includes at least one of information on the first decrement interval or information on the first threshold”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al (US 20220086715 A1), and further in view of Hong (US 20240205783 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hong teaches
A method performed by a first cell of a first satellite, the method comprising ([0006] base station/network node such as satellite (base station is a cell of a satellite)):
performing a connection establishment procedure with a user equipment (UE) ([0203] and [Fig. 12]-[Fig. 13] UE receives configuration information from a base station at S1210 (perform connection establishment procedure));
after performing the connection establishment procedure, decreasing a value of a cell service timer, that indicates a time during which a communication service can be provided in the first cell, according to a decrement interval ([0221], [0230], [0260], and [Fig. 12]-[Fig. 13] configuration information may include a trigger condition which may be a timer or counter value (decreasing a value of a cell service timer that indicates a time for a communication service for the first cell) that will eventually expire or be in an expired state (decrease value of cell service timer according to decrement interval), where the timer indicates a specific time for cell change to occur (UE is using the first cell prior to the specific time for cell change and then changes cells; i.e. indicates a time during which a communication service can be provided in the first cell)); and
in response to determining that the decreased value of the cell service timer is below a threshold, triggering a handover procedure ([0221], [0230], [0260], [0268] and [Fig. 12]-[Fig. 13] trigger condition which may be a timer or counter value which indicates a specific time when a UE is to have a cell change, where when the timer expires or is in an expired state (decreased value of the cell service timer below a threshold) the base station performs a handover operation for the cell change (when timer decreases too much, handover operation is triggered)).
It should be noted that Hong does teach that the timer indicates a specific time when the UE is to change cells, which does read on the claimed wherein the decreased value of the cell service timer indicates a remaining time during which the communication service can be provided in the first cell feature. However for the sake of compact prosecution, Hong (hereinafter Hong-5783) is introduced below to teach this feature.
Hong-5783 teaches wherein the decreased value of the cell service timer indicates a remaining time during which the communication service can be provided in the first cell ([0110], [0128], [0154] and [0174] handover request information includes serving cell available time information, which may be configured as a duration type (decreasing value of timer) or end time information and includes information about the remaining serviceable time of the service cell to which the UE is currently connected (remaining time during which the communication service can be provided in the first cell)).
Hong and Hong-5783 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring handovers. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hong to include the teachings of Hong-5783 where the handover request information includes serving cell available time information including information about the remaining serviceable time of the serving cell. The rationale behind this would be to efficiently facilitate handover in a non-terrestrial network ([0101] Hong-5783).
Regarding claim 2, Hong modified by Hong-5783 teaches The method according to claim 1, as is described above.
Hong further teaches wherein performing the connection establishment procedure comprises ([0203] and [Fig. 12]-[Fig. 13] UE receives configuration information from a base station at S1210 (connection establishment procedure)):
transmitting first information indicating a handover scheme to the UE, wherein the first information indicates a satellite triggering scheme among the satellite triggering scheme or a UE triggering scheme, and wherein ([0203] and [Fig. 12]-[Fig. 13] UE receives configuration information (first information) from a base station at S1210 (connection establishment procedure); [0221], [0230]-[0231], and [Fig. 12]-[Fig. 13] configuration information may include a trigger condition which may be a timer or counter value that corresponds to when a UE is to have a cell change, where both the UE and the base station can trigger the cell change operation (satellite triggering scheme or UE triggering scheme)):
when the satellite triggering scheme is used, the handover procedure is triggered by a satellite ([0006] base station/network node such as satellite (base station may be a satellite); [0221], [0230], and [Fig. 12]-[Fig. 13] base station (satellite) may configure the UE with a timer or counter value that corresponds to when a UE is to perform a cell change (triggered by a satellite); [0231] both UE and base station can trigger the cell change operation), and
when the UE triggering scheme is used, the handover procedure is triggered by the UE ([0205]-[0206], [0215], and [Fig. 12] the UE is configured by the base station so that when a triggering condition occurs, a handover procedure is performed (UE performs handover); [0231] both UE and base station can trigger the cell change operation).
Regarding claim 3, Hong modified by Hong-5783 teaches The method according to claim 1, as is described above.
Hong further teaches further comprising, in response to determining that the decreased value of the cell service timer is below the threshold, transmitting second information, that indicates performing a frequent measurement procedure instead of an intermittent measurement procedure, to the UE when configuration information of the intermittent measurement procedure and configuration information of the frequent measurement procedure are signaled to the UE in the connection establishment procedure ([0258] a measurement threshold (e.g. RSRP threshold; i.e. indicates performing a frequent measurement) is configured in the measurement configuration information (configured in the connection establishment procedure), where condition information for a measurement threshold is configured so a measurement is triggered based on different events occurring, where the measurement is triggered when the condition is satisfied; [0268] trigger condition for measurement threshold may include timer value (cell service timer below threshold)).
Regarding claim 4, Hong modified by Hong-5783 teaches The method according to claim 1, as is described above.
Hong further teaches wherein triggering the handover procedure comprises:
determining a target cell for the UE as a second cell ([0215] when the cell change event is detected, the UE will handover to the target cell (determine target cell for UE)); and
transmitting a handover request message to the second cell ([0230] the base station performs a handover operation for the UE when the requests a handover to another base station).
Regarding claim 5, Hong modified by Hong-5783 teaches The method according to claim 4, as is described above.
Hong further teaches wherein the target cell is determined based on reception quality information received from the UE ([0212] event A4 triggers a measurement threshold where event A4 indicates that the quality of the target cell is better than a threshold (target cell determined based on quality information)).
Regarding claim 6, Hong modified by Hong-5783 teaches The method according to claim 4, as is described above.
Hong further teaches wherein:
the first cell is configured by the first satellite based on earth fixed beam (EFB) ([0234] earth fixed beam (based on EFB) may be used to cover an area with a cell or satellite beam provided by one satellite (first cell configured by the first satellite)); and
the second cell is configured by the first satellite or a second satellite ([0234] one specific area (where the second cell may be in that area) is covered by a cell or a satellite beam provided by one satellite (first satellite configures second cell as well)).
Regarding claim 7, Hong modified by Hong-5783 teaches The method according to claim 1, as is described above.
Hong further teaches wherein the handover procedure triggered by the first cell is performed on a UE basis or a cell basis ([0231] both UE and base station can trigger the cell change operation).
Regarding claim 8, Hong teaches
A method of a user equipment (UE), the method comprising ([0202] and [Fig. 12] method for a UE):
receiving first handover configuration information from a first cell, the first handover configuration information including information on a first cell service timer that indicates a time during which a communication service can be provided in the first cell of a first satellite ([0221], [0230], [0260], and [Fig. 12]-[Fig. 13] UE receives configuration information from a base station at S1210, where the configuration information may include a trigger condition which may be a timer or counter value (decreasing a value of a cell service timer that indicates a time for a communication service for the first cell) that will eventually expire or be in an expired state (decrease value of cell service timer according to decrement interval), where the timer indicates a specific time for cell change to occur (UE is using the first cell prior to the specific time for cell change and then changes cells; i.e. indicates a time during which a communication service can be provided in the first cell));
decreasing a value of the first cell service timer according to a decrement interval ([0203], [0209], [0221], [0230], and [Fig. 12]-[Fig. 13] configuration information may include a trigger condition which may be a timer or counter value, where the timer value indicates execution start time of the cell change and duration information (decreasing timer according to a decrement interval)); and
in response to determining that the decreased value of the first cell service timer is below a threshold, transmitting a handover initiation message to the first cell ([0221], [0230], [0260], [0268] and [Fig. 12]-[Fig. 13] trigger condition which may be a timer or counter value which indicates a specific time when a UE is to have a cell change, where when the timer expires or is in an expired state (decreased value of the cell service timer below a threshold) the base station performs a handover operation for the cell change (when timer decreases too much, handover operation is triggered); [0230] UE requests a handover to another base station (UE transmits handover initiation message to the first cell)).
It should be noted that Hong does teach that the timer indicates a specific time when the UE is to change cells, which does read on the claimed wherein the decreased value of the cell service timer indicates a remaining time during which the communication service can be provided in the first cell feature. However for the sake of compact prosecution, Hong (hereinafter Hong-5783) is introduced below to teach this feature.
Hong-5783 teaches wherein the decreased value of the cell service timer indicates a remaining time during which the communication service can be provided in the first cell ([0110], [0128], [0154] and [0174] handover request information includes serving cell available time information, which may be configured as a duration type (decreasing value of timer) or end time information and includes information about the remaining serviceable time of the service cell to which the UE is currently connected (remaining time during which the communication service can be provided in the first cell)).
Hong and Hong-5783 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring handovers. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hong to include the teachings of Hong-5783 where the handover request information includes serving cell available time information including information about the remaining serviceable time of the serving cell. The rationale behind this would be to efficiently facilitate handover in a non-terrestrial network ([0101] Hong-5783).
Regarding claim 9, Hong modified by Hong-5783 teaches The method according to claim 8, as is described above.
Hong further teaches wherein the first handover configuration information further includes at least one of information indicating the decrement interval, information indicating the threshold, or information indicating a handover scheme ([0203], [0209], [0221], [0230], and [Fig. 12]-[Fig. 13] configuration information may include a trigger condition which may be a timer or counter value, where the timer value indicates execution start time of the cell change and duration information (decreasing timer according to a decrement interval)).
Regarding claim 10, Hong modified by Hong-5783 teaches The method according to claim 9, as is described above.
Hong further teaches wherein:
the handover scheme is classified into a satellite triggering scheme and a UE triggering scheme ([0203] and [Fig. 12]-[Fig. 13] UE receives configuration information (first information) from a base station at S1210 (connection establishment procedure); [0221], [0230]-[0231], and [Fig. 12]-[Fig. 13] configuration information may include a trigger condition which may be a timer or counter value that corresponds to when a UE is to have a cell change, where both the UE and the base station can trigger the cell change operation (satellite triggering scheme or UE triggering scheme));
the first handover configuration information indicates the UE triggering scheme ([0205]-[0206], [0215], and [Fig. 12] the UE is configured by the base station so that when a triggering condition occurs, a handover procedure is performed (UE performs handover));
a handover procedure is triggered by the UE when the UE triggering scheme is used ([0205]-[0206], [0215], and [Fig. 12] the UE is configured by the base station so that when a triggering condition occurs, a handover procedure is performed (UE performs handover); [0231] both UE and base station can trigger the cell change operation); and
the handover procedure is triggered by the first satellite when the satellite triggering scheme is used ([0006] base station/network node such as satellite (base station may be a satellite); [0221], [0230], and [Fig. 12]-[Fig. 13] base station (satellite) may configure the UE with a timer or counter value that corresponds to when a UE is to perform a cell change (triggered by a satellite); [0231] both UE and base station can trigger the cell change operation).
Regarding claim 11, Hong modified by Hong-5783 teaches The method according to claim 8, as is described above.
Hong further teaches further comprising receiving, from the first cell, intermittent measurement configuration information and frequent measurement configuration information, wherein ([0258] a measurement threshold (e.g. RSRP threshold; i.e. indicates performing a frequent measurement) is configured in the measurement configuration information (configured in the connection establishment procedure)):
an intermittent measurement procedure is performed based on the intermittent measurement configuration information when the first cell service timer exceeds the threshold ([0258] a measurement threshold (e.g. RSRP threshold; i.e. indicates performing a frequent measurement) is configured in the measurement configuration information (configured in the connection establishment procedure), where condition information for a measurement threshold is configured so a measurement is triggered based on different events occurring, where the measurement is triggered when the condition is satisfied; [0268] trigger condition for measurement threshold may include timer value (cell service timer exceeds threshold)); and
a frequent measurement procedure is performed based on the frequent measurement configuration information when the first cell service timer is equal to or below the threshold ([0258] a measurement threshold (e.g. RSRP threshold; i.e. indicates performing a frequent measurement) is configured in the measurement configuration information (configured in the connection establishment procedure), where condition information for a measurement threshold is configured so a measurement is triggered based on different events occurring, where the measurement is triggered when the condition is satisfied; [0268] trigger condition for measurement threshold may include timer value (cell service timer below threshold)).
Regarding claim 12, Hong modified by Hong-5783 teaches The method according to claim 11, as is described above.
Hong further teaches wherein:
a measurement periodicity for the intermittent measurement procedure is set longer than a measurement periodicity for the frequent measurement procedure ([0117]-[0118] the base station transmits downlink signals, where the UE measures them and reports the results to the base station (frequent measurement procedure with a shorter measurement periodicity) and the report may include up to four CSI-RS (limited periodicity); [0255] UE measures mobility information (intermittent measurement procedure) for reporting the history of the mobility to the base station (mobility history occurring over a long period of time; i.e. longer measurement periodicity)); and
a measurement reporting periodicity for the intermittent measurement procedure is set longer than a measurement reporting periodicity for the frequent measurement procedure ([0117]-[0118] the base station transmits downlink signals, where the UE measures them and reports the results to the base station (frequent measurement procedure with a shorter measurement reporting periodicity) and the report may include up to four CSI-RS (limited periodicity); [0255] UE measures mobility information (intermittent measurement procedure) for reporting the history of the mobility to the base station (mobility history occurring over a long period of time; i.e. longer measurement reporting periodicity)).
Regarding claim 13, Hong modified by Hong-5783 teaches The method according to claim 8, as is described above.
Hong further teaches further comprising:
receiving a handover command message from the first cell ([0203] and [Fig. 12]-[Fig. 13] UE receives configuration information (first information) from a base station at S1210 (connection establishment procedure); [0221], [0230], and [Fig. 12]-[Fig. 13] configuration information may include a trigger condition which may be a timer or counter value that corresponds to when a UE is to have a cell change (handover command message from first cell, where the configuration information commands the UE to handover at a specific time)); and
performing a connection establishment procedure with a second cell based on the handover command message ([0215] for handover, the UE performs a random access operation on the target cell (performs a connection establishment procedure)),
wherein second handover configuration information, including information on a second cell service timer, that indicates a time during which communication services can be provided by the second cell, is received from the second cell in the connection establishment procedure ([0083]-[0084] the UE receives a random access response message including information about a timing alignment command (second handover configuration information including information on a second cell service time indicating a time during which communication services can be provided)).
Regarding claim 14, Hong modified by Hong-5783 teaches The method according to claim 8, as is described above.
Hong further teaches wherein:
a handover procedure triggered by the handover initiation message is performed on a UE basis or a cell basis ([0231] both UE and base station can trigger the cell change operation);
the first cell is configured by the first satellite based on earth fixed beam (EFB) ([0234] earth fixed beam (based on EFB) may be used to cover an area with a cell or satellite beam provided by one satellite (first cell configured by the first satellite)); and
a second cell is configured by the first satellite or a second satellite ([0234] one specific area (where the second cell may be in that area) is covered by a cell or a satellite beam provided by one satellite (first satellite configures second cell as well)).
Regarding claim 15, Hong teaches
A user equipment (UE) apparatus, comprising ([0264] and [Fig. 17] shows a UE):
a processor ([0264] and [Fig. 17] UE includes a controller 1710); and
a memory storing one or more instructions executable by the processor ([0263], [0288], and [Fig. 17] UE includes memory unit with software code that is to be executed by the processor),
wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to
receive first handover configuration information from a first cell, the first handover configuration information including information on a first cell service timer that indicates a time during which a communication service can be provided in the first cell of a first satellite ([0221], [0230], [0260], and [Fig. 12]-[Fig. 13] UE receives configuration information from a base station at S1210, where the configuration information may include a trigger condition which may be a timer or counter value (decreasing a value of a cell service timer that indicates a time for a communication service for the first cell) that will eventually expire or be in an expired state (decrease value of cell service timer according to decrement interval), where the timer indicates a specific time for cell change to occur (UE is using the first cell prior to the specific time for cell change and then changes cells; i.e. indicates a time during which a communication service can be provided in the first cell)),
decrease a value of the first cell service timer according to a decrement interval ([0203], [0209], [0221], [0230], and [Fig. 12]-[Fig. 13] configuration information may include a trigger condition which may be a timer or counter value, where the timer value indicates execution start time of the cell change and duration information (decreasing timer according to a decrement interval)), and
in response to determining that the decreased value of the first cell service timer is below a threshold, cause a handover initiation message to be transmitted to the first cell ([0221], [0230], [0260], [0268] and [Fig. 12]-[Fig. 13] trigger condition which may be a timer or counter value which indicates a specific time when a UE is to have a cell change, where when the timer expires or is in an expired state (decreased value of the cell service timer below a threshold) the base station performs a handover operation for the cell change (when timer decreases too much, handover operation is triggered); [0230] UE requests a handover to another base station (UE transmits handover initiation message to the first cell)).
It should be noted that Hong does teach that the timer indicates a specific time when the UE is to change cells, which does read on the claimed wherein the decreased value of the cell service timer indicates a remaining time during which the communication service can be provided in the first cell feature. However for the sake of compact prosecution, Hong (hereinafter Hong-5783) is introduced below to teach this feature.
Hong-5783 teaches wherein the decreased value of the cell service timer indicates a remaining time during which the communication service can be provided in the first cell ([0110], [0128], [0154] and [0174] handover request information includes serving cell available time information, which may be configured as a duration type (decreasing value of timer) or end time information and includes information about the remaining serviceable time of the service cell to which the UE is currently connected (remaining time during which the communication service can be provided in the first cell)).
Hong and Hong-5783 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring handovers. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hong to include the teachings of Hong-5783 where the handover request information includes serving cell available time information including information about the remaining serviceable time of the serving cell. The rationale behind this would be to efficiently facilitate handover in a non-terrestrial network ([0101] Hong-5783).
Regarding claim 16, Hong modified by Hong-5783 teaches The method according to claim 15, as is described above.
Hong further teaches wherein the first handover configuration information further includes at least one of information indicating the decrement interval, information indicating the threshold, or information indicating a handover scheme ([0203], [0209], [0221], [0230], and [Fig. 12]-[Fig. 13] configuration information may include a trigger condition which may be a timer or counter value, where the timer value indicates execution start time of the cell change and duration information (decreasing timer according to a decrement interval)).
Regarding claim 17, Hong modified by Hong-5783 teaches The method according to claim 16, as is described above.
Hong further teaches wherein:
the handover scheme is classified into a satellite triggering scheme and a UE triggering scheme ([0203] and [Fig. 12]-[Fig. 13] UE receives configuration information (first information) from a base station at S1210 (connection establishment procedure); [0221], [0230]-[0231], and [Fig. 12]-[Fig. 13] configuration information may include a trigger condition which may be a timer or counter value that corresponds to when a UE is to have a cell change, where both the UE and the base station can trigger the cell change operation (satellite triggering scheme or UE triggering scheme));
the first handover configuration information indicates the UE triggering scheme [0221], [0230], and [Fig. 12]-[Fig. 13] configuration information may include a trigger condition which may be a timer or counter value that corresponds to when a UE is to have a cell change (satellite triggering scheme or UE triggering scheme; [0231] both UE and base station can trigger the cell change operation);
a handover procedure is triggered by the UE when the UE triggering scheme is used ([0006] base station/network node such as satellite (base station may be a satellite); [0221], [0230], and [Fig. 12]-[Fig. 13] base station (satellite) may configure the UE with a timer or counter value that corresponds to when a UE is to perform a cell change (triggered by a satellite); [0231] both UE and base station can trigger the cell change operation); and
the handover procedure is triggered by the first satellite when the satellite triggering scheme is used ([0205]-[0206], [0215], and [Fig. 12] the UE is configured by the base station so that when a triggering condition occurs, a handover procedure is performed (UE performs handover); [0231] both UE and base station can trigger the cell change operation).
Regarding claim 18, Hong modified by Hong-5783 teaches The method according to claim 15, as is described above.
Hong further teaches wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the processor further cause the processor receive, from the first cell, intermittent measurement configuration information and frequent measurement configuration information, and wherein ([0258] a measurement threshold (e.g. RSRP threshold; i.e. indicates performing a frequent measurement) is configured in the measurement configuration information (configured in the connection establishment procedure)):
an intermittent measurement procedure is performed based on the intermittent measurement configuration information when the first cell service timer exceeds the threshold ([0258] a measurement threshold (e.g. RSRP threshold; i.e. indicates performing a frequent measurement) is configured in the measurement configuration information (configured in the connection establishment procedure), where condition information for a measurement threshold is configured so a measurement is triggered based on different events occurring, where the measurement is triggered when the condition is satisfied; [0268] trigger condition for measurement threshold may include timer value (cell service timer below threshold)); and
a frequent measurement procedure is performed based on the frequent measurement configuration information when the first cell service timer is equal to or below the threshold ([0258] a measurement threshold (e.g. RSRP threshold; i.e. indicates performing a frequent measurement) is configured in the measurement configuration information (configured in the connection establishment procedure), where condition information for a measurement threshold is configured so a measurement is triggered based on different events occurring, where the measurement is triggered when the condition is satisfied; [0268] trigger condition for measurement threshold may include timer value (cell service timer below threshold)).
Regarding claim 19, Hong modified by Hong-5783 teaches The method according to claim 15, as is described above.
Hong further teaches wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the processor to ([0263], [0288], and [Fig. 17] UE includes memory unit with software code that is to be executed by the processor):
receive a handover command message from the first cell ([0203] and [Fig. 12]-[Fig. 13] UE receives configuration information (first information) from a base station at S1210 (connection establishment procedure); [0221], [0230], and [Fig. 12]-[Fig. 13] configuration information may include a trigger condition which may be a timer or counter value that corresponds to when a UE is to have a cell change (handover command message from first cell, where the configuration information commands the UE to handover at a specific time)); and
perform a connection establishment procedure with a second cell based on the handover command message ([0215] for handover, the UE performs a random access operation on the target cell (performs a connection establishment procedure)),
wherein second handover configuration information, including information on a second cell service timer, that indicates a time during which communication services can be provided by the second cell, is received from the second cell in the connection establishment procedure ([0083]-[0084] the UE receives a random access response message including information about a timing alignment command (second handover configuration information including information on a second cell service time indicating a time during which communication services can be provided)).
Regarding claim 20, Hong modified by Hong-5783 teaches The method according to claim 15, as is described above.
Hong further teaches wherein:
a handover procedure triggered by the handover initiation message is performed on a UE basis or a cell basis ([0231] both UE and base station can trigger the cell change operation);
the first cell is configured by the first satellite based on earth fixed beam (EFB) ([0234] earth fixed beam (based on EFB) may be used to cover an area with a cell or satellite beam provided by one satellite (first cell configured by the first satellite)); and
a second cell is configured by the first satellite or a second satellite ([0234] one specific area (where the second cell may be in that area) is covered by a cell or a satellite beam provided by one satellite (first satellite configures second cell as well)).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.J.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JAY L VOGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478