DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 7-9, and 15-16 of the current application 18/405,492 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2, 6, 7, 9, 10, and 16 of copending Application No. 18/405,818.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding claim 1, co-pending Application 18/405,818 discloses A method performed by a first cell of a first satellite, the method comprising (Claim 16: method of a first satellite):
performing a connection establishment procedure with a user equipment (UE) (Claim 16: transmitting, to a UE);
after performing the connection establishment procedure, decreasing a value of a cell service timer, that indicates a time during which a communication service can be provided in the first cell, according to a decrement interval (Claim 9: first satellite service timer indicating a time during which communication services can be provided by the first satellite, where the first SAT service timer is decreased according to a first decrement interval); and
in response to determining that the cell service timer is below a threshold, triggering a handover procedure (Claim 9: in response to the decreased first SAT service timer that is less than a first threshold, triggering a handover procedure).
Regarding claim 3, co-pending Application 18/405,818 discloses The method according to claim 1, further comprising, in response to determining that the cell service timer is below the threshold, transmitting second information, that indicates performing a frequent measurement procedure instead of an intermittent measurement procedure, to the UE when configuration information of the intermittent measurement procedure and configuration information of the frequent measurement procedure are signaled to the UE in the connection establishment procedure (Claim 6: “receiving, from the first cell of the satellite, variable measurement configuration information; and in response to the decreased first cell service timer that is equal to or less than the first threshold, performing variable measurement procedures instead of general measurement procedures based on the variable measurement configuration information, wherein a measurement periodicity for the variable measurement procedures is shorter than a measurement periodicity for the general measurement procedures”).
Regarding claim 7, co-pending Application 18/405,818 discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein the handover procedure triggered by the first cell is performed on a UE basis or a cell basis (Claim 7: “transmitting a handover initiation message including information on the second cell to the first cell; and receiving a handover command message from the first cell”).
Regarding claim 8, co-pending Application 18/405,818 discloses A method of a user equipment (UE), the method comprising (Claim 9: “A method of a user equipment (UE)”):
receiving first handover configuration information from a first cell, the first handover configuration information including information on a first cell service timer that indicates a time during which a communication service can be provided in the first cell of a first satellite (Claim 9: “ receiving, from a first satellite, first handover configuration information including information on a first satellite (SAT) service timer indicating a time during which communication services can be provided by the first satellite”);
decreasing a value of the first cell service timer according to a decrement interval (Claim 9: “decreasing the first SAT service timer according to a first decrement interval”); and
in response to determining that the first cell service timer is below a threshold, transmitting a handover initiation message to the first cell (Claim 9: “in response to the decreased first SAT service timer that is equal to or less than a first threshold, triggering an inter-satellite (inter-SAT) handover procedure”).
Regarding claim 9, co-pending Application 18/405,818 discloses The method according to claim 8, wherein the first handover configuration information further includes at least one of information indicating the decrement interval, information indicating the threshold, or information indicating a handover scheme (Claim 2: “the first handover configuration information further includes at least one of information on the first decrement interval or information on the first threshold”).
Regarding claim 15, co-pending Application 18/405,818 discloses A user equipment (UE) apparatus, comprising (Claim 9: “user equipment (UE)”):
a processor (Claim 9: (UE) also see [Fig. 3] UE comprises processor 310); and
a memory storing one or more instructions executable by the processor (Claim 9: (UE) also see [Fig. 3] memory 320 connected to processor 310),
wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to
receive first handover configuration information from a first cell, the first handover configuration information including information on a first cell service timer that indicates a time during which a communication service can be provided in the first cell of a first satellite (Claim 9: “receiving, from a first satellite, first handover configuration information including information on a first satellite (SAT) service timer indicating a time during which communication services can be provided by the first satellite”),
decrease a value of the first cell service timer according to a decrement interval (Claim 9: “decreasing the first SAT service timer according to a first decrement interval”), and
in response to determining that the first cell service timer is below a threshold, cause a handover initiation message to be transmitted to the first cell (Claim 9: “in response to the decreased first SAT service timer that is equal to or less than a first threshold, triggering an inter-satellite (inter-SAT) handover procedure”).
Regarding claim 16, co-pending Application 18/405,818 discloses The UE apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the first handover configuration information further includes at least one of information indicating the decrement interval, information indicating the threshold, or information indicating a handover scheme (Claim 10: “the first handover configuration information further includes at least one of information on the first decrement interval or information on the first threshold”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hong et al (US 20220086715 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hong discloses
A method performed by a first cell of a first satellite, the method comprising ([0006] base station/network node such as satellite (base station is a cell of a satellite)):
performing a connection establishment procedure with a user equipment (UE) ([0203] and [Fig. 12]-[Fig. 13] UE receives configuration information from a base station at S1210 (perform connection establishment procedure));
after performing the connection establishment procedure, decreasing a value of a cell service timer, that indicates a time during which a communication service can be provided in the first cell, according to a decrement interval ([0221], [0230], and [Fig. 12]-[Fig. 13] configuration information may include a trigger condition which may be a timer or counter value (decreasing a value of a cell service timer that indicates a time for a communication service for the first cell)); and
in response to determining that the cell service timer is below a threshold, triggering a handover procedure ([0221], [0230], and [Fig. 12]-[Fig. 13] trigger condition which may be a timer or counter value that corresponds to when a UE is to have a cell change, where the base station may perform a handover operation when this cell change is meant to occur (when timer decreases too much, handover operation is triggered)).
Regarding claim 2, Hong discloses
The method according to claim 1, wherein performing the connection establishment procedure comprises ([0203] and [Fig. 12]-[Fig. 13] UE receives configuration information from a base station at S1210 (connection establishment procedure)):
transmitting first information indicating a handover scheme to the UE, wherein the first information indicates a satellite triggering scheme among the satellite triggering scheme or a UE triggering scheme, and wherein ([0203] and [Fig. 12]-[Fig. 13] UE receives configuration information (first information) from a base station at S1210 (connection establishment procedure); [0221], [0230], and [Fig. 12]-[Fig. 13] configuration information may include a trigger condition which may be a timer or counter value that corresponds to when a UE is to have a cell change (satellite triggering scheme or UE triggering scheme)):
when the satellite triggering scheme is used, the handover procedure is triggered by a satellite ([0006] base station/network node such as satellite (base station may be a satellite); [0221], [0230], and [Fig. 12]-[Fig. 13] base station (satellite) may configure the UE with a timer or counter value that corresponds to when a UE is to perform a cell change (triggered by a satellite); [0231] both UE and base station can trigger the cell change operation), and
when the UE triggering scheme is used, the handover procedure is triggered by the UE ([0205]-[0206], [0215], and [Fig. 12] the UE is configured by the base station so that when a triggering condition occurs, a handover procedure is performed (UE performs handover); [0231] both UE and base station can trigger the cell change operation).
Regarding claim 3, Hong discloses
The method according to claim 1, further comprising, in response to determining that the cell service timer is below the threshold, transmitting second information, that indicates performing a frequent measurement procedure instead of an intermittent measurement procedure, to the UE when configuration information of the intermittent measurement procedure and configuration information of the frequent measurement procedure are signaled to the UE in the connection establishment procedure ([0258] a measurement threshold (e.g. RSRP threshold; i.e. indicates performing a frequent measurement) is configured in the measurement configuration information (configured in the connection establishment procedure), where condition information for a measurement threshold is configured so a measurement is triggered based on different events occurring, where the measurement is triggered when the condition is satisfied; [0268] trigger condition for measurement threshold may include timer value (cell service timer below threshold)).
Regarding claim 4, Hong discloses
The method according to claim 1, wherein triggering the handover procedure comprises:
determining a target cell for the UE as a second cell ([0215] when the cell change event is detected, the UE will handover to the target cell (determine target cell for UE)); and
transmitting a handover request message to the second cell ([0230] the base station performs a handover operation for the UE when the requests a handover to another base station).
Regarding claim 5, Hong discloses
The method according to claim 4, wherein the target cell is determined based on reception quality information received from the UE ([0212] event A4 triggers a measurement threshold where event A4 indicates that the quality of the target cell is better than a threshold (target cell determined based on quality information)).
Regarding claim 6, Hong discloses
The method according to claim 4, wherein:
the first cell is configured by the first satellite based on earth fixed beam (EFB) ([0234] earth fixed beam (based on EFB) may be used to cover an area with a cell or satellite beam provided by one satellite (first cell configured by the first satellite)); and
the second cell is configured by the first satellite or a second satellite ([0234] one specific area (where the second cell may be in that area) is covered by a cell or a satellite beam provided by one satellite (first satellite configures second cell as well)).
Regarding claim 7, Hong discloses
The method according to claim 1, wherein the handover procedure triggered by the first cell is performed on a UE basis or a cell basis ([0231] both UE and base station can trigger the cell change operation).
Regarding claim 8, Hong discloses
A method of a user equipment (UE), the method comprising ([0202] and [Fig. 12] method for a UE):
receiving first handover configuration information from a first cell, the first handover configuration information including information on a first cell service timer that indicates a time during which a communication service can be provided in the first cell of a first satellite ([0203], [0221], [0230], and [Fig. 12]-[Fig. 13] UE receives configuration information from a base station at S1210, where the configuration information may include a trigger condition which may be a timer or counter value (indicates a time for a communication service for the first cell));
decreasing a value of the first cell service timer according to a decrement interval ([0203], [0209], [0221], [0230], and [Fig. 12]-[Fig. 13] configuration information may include a trigger condition which may be a timer or counter value, where the timer value indicates execution start time of the cell change and duration information (decreasing timer according to a decrement interval)); and
in response to determining that the first cell service timer is below a threshold, transmitting a handover initiation message to the first cell ([0213], [0221], [0230], and [Fig. 12]-[Fig. 13] trigger condition which may be a timer or counter value that corresponds to when a UE is to have a cell change, where the UE performs the cell change when the trigger condition is satisfied (when timer decreases too much, handover operation is triggered); [0230 UE requests a handover to another base station (UE transmits handover initiation message to the first cell)).
Regarding claim 9, Hong discloses
The method according to claim 8, wherein the first handover configuration information further includes at least one of information indicating the decrement interval, information indicating the threshold, or information indicating a handover scheme ([0203], [0209], [0221], [0230], and [Fig. 12]-[Fig. 13] configuration information may include a trigger condition which may be a timer or counter value, where the timer value indicates execution start time of the cell change and duration information (decreasing timer according to a decrement interval)).
Regarding claim 10, Hong discloses
The method according to claim 9, wherein:
the handover scheme is classified into a satellite triggering scheme and a UE triggering scheme ([0203] and [Fig. 12]-[Fig. 13] UE receives configuration information (first information) from a base station at S1210 (connection establishment procedure); [0221], [0230], and [Fig. 12]-[Fig. 13] configuration information may include a trigger condition which may be a timer or counter value that corresponds to when a UE is to have a cell change (satellite triggering scheme or UE triggering scheme));
the first handover configuration information indicates the UE triggering scheme ([0205]-[0206], [0215], and [Fig. 12] the UE is configured by the base station so that when a triggering condition occurs, a handover procedure is performed (UE performs handover));
a handover procedure is triggered by the UE when the UE triggering scheme is used ([0205]-[0206], [0215], and [Fig. 12] the UE is configured by the base station so that when a triggering condition occurs, a handover procedure is performed (UE performs handover); [0231] both UE and base station can trigger the cell change operation); and
the handover procedure is triggered by the first satellite when the satellite triggering scheme is used ([0006] base station/network node such as satellite (base station may be a satellite); [0221], [0230], and [Fig. 12]-[Fig. 13] base station (satellite) may configure the UE with a timer or counter value that corresponds to when a UE is to perform a cell change (triggered by a satellite); [0231] both UE and base station can trigger the cell change operation).
Regarding claim 11, Hong discloses
The method according to claim 8, further comprising receiving, from the first cell, intermittent measurement configuration information and frequent measurement configuration information, wherein ([0258] a measurement threshold (e.g. RSRP threshold; i.e. indicates performing a frequent measurement) is configured in the measurement configuration information (configured in the connection establishment procedure)):
an intermittent measurement procedure is performed based on the intermittent measurement configuration information when the first cell service timer exceeds the threshold ([0258] a measurement threshold (e.g. RSRP threshold; i.e. indicates performing a frequent measurement) is configured in the measurement configuration information (configured in the connection establishment procedure), where condition information for a measurement threshold is configured so a measurement is triggered based on different events occurring, where the measurement is triggered when the condition is satisfied; [0268] trigger condition for measurement threshold may include timer value (cell service timer exceeds threshold)); and
a frequent measurement procedure is performed based on the frequent measurement configuration information when the first cell service timer is equal to or below the threshold ([0258] a measurement threshold (e.g. RSRP threshold; i.e. indicates performing a frequent measurement) is configured in the measurement configuration information (configured in the connection establishment procedure), where condition information for a measurement threshold is configured so a measurement is triggered based on different events occurring, where the measurement is triggered when the condition is satisfied; [0268] trigger condition for measurement threshold may include timer value (cell service timer below threshold)).
Regarding claim 12, Hong discloses
The method according to claim 11, wherein:
a measurement periodicity for the intermittent measurement procedure is set longer than a measurement periodicity for the frequent measurement procedure ([0117]-[0118] the base station transmits downlink signals, where the UE measures them and reports the results to the base station (frequent measurement procedure with a shorter measurement periodicity) and the report may include up to four CSI-RS (limited periodicity); [0255] UE measures mobility information (intermittent measurement procedure) for reporting the history of the mobility to the base station (mobility history occurring over a long period of time; i.e. longer measurement periodicity)); and
a measurement reporting periodicity for the intermittent measurement procedure is set longer than a measurement reporting periodicity for the frequent measurement procedure ([0117]-[0118] the base station transmits downlink signals, where the UE measures them and reports the results to the base station (frequent measurement procedure with a shorter measurement reporting periodicity) and the report may include up to four CSI-RS (limited periodicity); [0255] UE measures mobility information (intermittent measurement procedure) for reporting the history of the mobility to the base station (mobility history occurring over a long period of time; i.e. longer measurement reporting periodicity)).
Regarding claim 13, Hong discloses
The method according to claim 8, further comprising:
receiving a handover command message from the first cell ([0203] and [Fig. 12]-[Fig. 13] UE receives configuration information (first information) from a base station at S1210 (connection establishment procedure); [0221], [0230], and [Fig. 12]-[Fig. 13] configuration information may include a trigger condition which may be a timer or counter value that corresponds to when a UE is to have a cell change (handover command message from first cell, where the configuration information commands the UE to handover at a specific time)); and
performing a connection establishment procedure with a second cell based on the handover command message ([0215] for handover, the UE performs a random access operation on the target cell (performs a connection establishment procedure)),
wherein second handover configuration information, including information on a second cell service timer, that indicates a time during which communication services can be provided by the second cell, is received from the second cell in the connection establishment procedure ([0083]-[0084] the UE receives a random access response message including information about a timing alignment command (second handover configuration information including information on a second cell service time indicating a time during which communication services can be provided)).
Regarding claim 14, Hong discloses
The method according to claim 8, wherein:
a handover procedure triggered by the handover initiation message is performed on a UE basis or a cell basis ([0231] both UE and base station can trigger the cell change operation);
the first cell is configured by the first satellite based on earth fixed beam (EFB) ([0234] earth fixed beam (based on EFB) may be used to cover an area with a cell or satellite beam provided by one satellite (first cell configured by the first satellite)); and
a second cell is configured by the first satellite or a second satellite ([0234] one specific area (where the second cell may be in that area) is covered by a cell or a satellite beam provided by one satellite (first satellite configures second cell as well)).
Regarding claim 15, Hong discloses
A user equipment (UE) apparatus, comprising ([0264] and [Fig. 17] shows a UE):
a processor ([0264] and [Fig. 17] UE includes a controller 1710); and
a memory storing one or more instructions executable by the processor ([0263], [0288], and [Fig. 17] UE includes memory unit with software code that is to be executed by the processor),
wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to
receive first handover configuration information from a first cell, the first handover configuration information including information on a first cell service timer that indicates a time during which a communication service can be provided in the first cell of a first satellite ([0203], [0221], [0230], and [Fig. 12]-[Fig. 13] UE receives configuration information from a base station at S1210, where the configuration information may include a trigger condition which may be a timer or counter value (indicates a time for a communication service for the first cell)),
decrease a value of the first cell service timer according to a decrement interval ([0203], [0209], [0221], [0230], and [Fig. 12]-[Fig. 13] configuration information may include a trigger condition which may be a timer or counter value, where the timer value indicates execution start time of the cell change and duration information (decreasing timer according to a decrement interval)), and
in response to determining that the first cell service timer is below a threshold, cause a handover initiation message to be transmitted to the first cell ([0213], [0221], [0230], and [Fig. 12]-[Fig. 13] trigger condition which may be a timer or counter value that corresponds to when a UE is to have a cell change, where the UE performs the cell change when the trigger condition is satisfied (when timer decreases too much, handover operation is triggered); [0230 UE requests a handover to another base station (UE transmits handover initiation message to the first cell)).
Regarding claim 16, Hong discloses
The UE apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the first handover configuration information further includes at least one of information indicating the decrement interval, information indicating the threshold, or information indicating a handover scheme ([0203], [0209], [0221], [0230], and [Fig. 12]-[Fig. 13] configuration information may include a trigger condition which may be a timer or counter value, where the timer value indicates execution start time of the cell change and duration information (decreasing timer according to a decrement interval)).
Regarding claim 17, Hong discloses
The UE apparatus according to claim 16, wherein:
the handover scheme is classified into a satellite triggering scheme and a UE triggering scheme ([0231] both UE and base station can trigger the cell change operation);
the first handover configuration information indicates the UE triggering scheme [0221], [0230], and [Fig. 12]-[Fig. 13] configuration information may include a trigger condition which may be a timer or counter value that corresponds to when a UE is to have a cell change (satellite triggering scheme or UE triggering scheme; [0231] both UE and base station can trigger the cell change operation);
a handover procedure is triggered by the UE when the UE triggering scheme is used ([0006] base station/network node such as satellite (base station may be a satellite); [0221], [0230], and [Fig. 12]-[Fig. 13] base station (satellite) may configure the UE with a timer or counter value that corresponds to when a UE is to perform a cell change (triggered by a satellite); [0231] both UE and base station can trigger the cell change operation); and
the handover procedure is triggered by the first satellite when the satellite triggering scheme is used ([0205]-[0206], [0215], and [Fig. 12] the UE is configured by the base station so that when a triggering condition occurs, a handover procedure is performed (UE performs handover); [0231] both UE and base station can trigger the cell change operation).
Regarding claim 18, Hong discloses
The UE apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the processor further cause the processor receive, from the first cell, intermittent measurement configuration information and frequent measurement configuration information, and wherein ([0258] a measurement threshold (e.g. RSRP threshold; i.e. indicates performing a frequent measurement) is configured in the measurement configuration information (configured in the connection establishment procedure)):
an intermittent measurement procedure is performed based on the intermittent measurement configuration information when the first cell service timer exceeds the threshold ([0258] a measurement threshold (e.g. RSRP threshold; i.e. indicates performing a frequent measurement) is configured in the measurement configuration information (configured in the connection establishment procedure), where condition information for a measurement threshold is configured so a measurement is triggered based on different events occurring, where the measurement is triggered when the condition is satisfied; [0268] trigger condition for measurement threshold may include timer value (cell service timer below threshold)); and
a frequent measurement procedure is performed based on the frequent measurement configuration information when the first cell service timer is equal to or below the threshold ([0258] a measurement threshold (e.g. RSRP threshold; i.e. indicates performing a frequent measurement) is configured in the measurement configuration information (configured in the connection establishment procedure), where condition information for a measurement threshold is configured so a measurement is triggered based on different events occurring, where the measurement is triggered when the condition is satisfied; [0268] trigger condition for measurement threshold may include timer value (cell service timer below threshold)).
Regarding claim 19, Hong discloses
The UE apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the processor to ([0263], [0288], and [Fig. 17] UE includes memory unit with software code that is to be executed by the processor):
receive a handover command message from the first cell ([0203] and [Fig. 12]-[Fig. 13] UE receives configuration information (first information) from a base station at S1210 (connection establishment procedure); [0221], [0230], and [Fig. 12]-[Fig. 13] configuration information may include a trigger condition which may be a timer or counter value that corresponds to when a UE is to have a cell change (handover command message from first cell, where the configuration information commands the UE to handover at a specific time)); and
perform a connection establishment procedure with a second cell based on the handover command message ([0215] for handover, the UE performs a random access operation on the target cell (performs a connection establishment procedure)),
wherein second handover configuration information, including information on a second cell service timer, that indicates a time during which communication services can be provided by the second cell, is received from the second cell in the connection establishment procedure ([0083]-[0084] the UE receives a random access response message including information about a timing alignment command (second handover configuration information including information on a second cell service time indicating a time during which communication services can be provided)).
Regarding claim 20, Hong discloses
The UE apparatus according to claim 15, wherein:
a handover procedure triggered by the handover initiation message is performed on a UE basis or a cell basis ([0231] both UE and base station can trigger the cell change operation);
the first cell is configured by the first satellite based on earth fixed beam (EFB) ([0234] earth fixed beam (based on EFB) may be used to cover an area with a cell or satellite beam provided by one satellite (first cell configured by the first satellite)); and
a second cell is configured by the first satellite or a second satellite ([0234] one specific area (where the second cell may be in that area) is covered by a cell or a satellite beam provided by one satellite (first satellite configures second cell as well)).
Conclusion
The following is prior art made of record and not relied upon but is not considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure:
US 20160323800 A1 to Ulupinar et al teaches a method that utilizes control signaling and a handoff trigger for a user terminal handoff procedure with satellites ([Fig. 7] Ulupinar).
/A.J.C./
Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478