Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
In pages 1-3 of the remarks, Applicant states that claims 1-20 were previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 ("101") as the invention was directed to an abstract idea without significantly more, and Examiner stated that the independent claims recite limitations that are processes that can be performed in the mind, and with pen and paper, respectively. Applicant states that the additional limitations present in the amended independent claims reflect an improvement in the technical field of analyzing risk posed by web browser extensions. Applicant states that paragraphs [0004]-[0007] and [0050]-[0055] provide support for the invention being directed to a qualification server, performing a different executable qualification test, and receiving a new set of results generated by the target system in response to a request. Applicant further states that Electric Power Group, as cited in the Office Action (“OA”) is distinguishable, as it directs to “collecting”, “analyzing”, and “displaying existing information”, with Applicant’s qualification server now interacts with target network service and causing target system to generate new runtime results through a vulnerability-specific operation. Furthermore, amendments now require “receiving a scanner detection” identifying a port and protocol, “selecting a qualification test”, “executing that qualification test” after the scanner detection, “transmitting a request to the identified network service”, “receiving target-generated runtime results”, and “qualifying the scanner detection using a configuration that the scanner did not test”, and requests withdrawal of the 101 rejections for claims 1-20.
Examiner disagrees with the Applicant regarding the arguments of the 101 rejections for claims 1-20, as the independent claims' limitations still fall under MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection Ill, “Mental Processes”, as the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the recited elements of independent claims 1, 18, and 20 continue to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer, as the limitations of "obtaining, by a qualification server", "identifying, from the vulnerability detection", "executing, by a qualification server", "receiving, from the target system", "determining, from the set of results", and "associating the qualification data with the vulnerability detection", even with additional limitations that require components of a system, those being the network port and protocol. In particular to the amended limitation of “obtaining […] a vulnerability detection […] identifying a network port and a network protocol […]”, the addition of the network aspects to clarify that a vulnerability detection is intended to identify issues related to the network. However, the addition of elements that describe an aspect being obtained still do not clear up the limitation that merely amounts to data gathering, as stated in MPEP 2106.05(g), “Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity”. In particular, claim limitations reciting “collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis,” where the data analysis steps are recited at a high level of generality such that they could practically be performed in the human mind, Electric Power Group v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1353-54, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1741-42 (Fed. Cir. 2016). Next, data gathering, and therefore, the elements are grouped under data gathering as an insignificant extra-solution activity, as stated in MPEP 2016.05(g), “Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity”. The amended claims of the independent claim 1, are processes that can be performed in the mind, with the aid of a computer. "Whether a claim that requires a computer recites a mental process, examiners should carefully consider the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim in light of the specification. For instance, examiners should review the specification to determine if the claimed invention is described as a concept that is performed in the human mind and applicant is merely claiming that concept performed 1) on a generic computer, or 2) in a computer environment, or 3) is merely using a computer as a tool to perform the concept". Furthermore, use of a computer as a tool to perform the mental process still falls under a judicial exception, as is the case with “obtaining” and “receiving”. As a result, Examiner maintains the rejections under 101 for claims 1-20 as stated in the previous Office Action dated May 28, 2026.
In pages 3-5 of the remarks, Applicant states that none of the references discloses or teaches each and every feature recited in the independent claims, with the prior art being Basavapatna-1 (U.S. Publication No. 2013/0191919) as used in the independent claims. In particular, Applicant states that the limitations, including added amended limitations of "executing, by the qualification server via a computer network, the executable qualification test [...]", "receiving, from the target system, a set of results [...]", and "determining, from the set of results, qualification data qualifying the vulnerability detection [...]" as not taught or disclosed by the references cited by the Examiner. Applicant states that: neither process of either Fig. 3A, process 300, or Fig. 3B, process 350, transmits a new request to a target system after receipt of a vulnerability detection, causes the service to attempt an operation, or receives runtime results generated in response to such a request, as presently claimed; an already-reported test outcome is not execution of a distinct post-detection test against the target system. Using vulnerability detection data 206 alone merely means that process 350 uses the test outcomes already included in the scanner data; and the mere optional omission of configuration data 207 from one later score calculation is not an affirmative disclosure of the claimed second-stage test of a configuration omitted from the scanner test.
Examiner states that Applicant's arguments filed July 23, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding the statement that the qualification test needs to be different from the detection test that is performed by the vulnerability scanner, with the qualification test executed after vulnerability detection, Examiner states that in the limitation of “identifying, from the vulnerability detection […] the one or more qualification tests comprising an executable qualification test that is different from a detection test”, Basavapatna-1 discloses in paragraph [0052] Fig. 2, vulnerability definition data 205 identifies one or more vulnerabilities that are threat to one or more assets of a computer system of Basavapatna-1, where detection data can specify, for each vulnerability, the countermeasures that protect against the vulnerability and a protection score for each countermeasure, corresponding to a detection test performed by vulnerability scanner to generate the detection. While detection data themselves do not execute, said data is used along with countermeasures to determine what must be done in the event of a vulnerability being present in the system of Basavapatna-1. It is the vulnerability definition data 205 that is the ‘executable qualification test’ that is performed to determine if certain vulnerabilities are present in the system of Basavapatna-1. Next, in the limitation of “determining, from the set of results, qualification data qualifying the vulnerability detection as one of requiring remediation or not requiring remediation, wherein the qualification data is based on a configuration of the target system that was not tested by the vulnerability scanner when generating the vulnerability detection”, Basavapatna-1 discloses in paragraph [0105], Fig. 3B, process 350, where the determination of whether an asset possession a certain vulnerability using vulnerability detection data 206 OR asset configuration data 207, and use of vulnerability detection data 206 only corresponds to qualification based on the configuration of the target system “not considered by” the vulnerability scanner, when the configuration data 207 is not utilized, as well as paragraph [0084], process 300 of Fig. 3 determines whether an asset possessing a known vulnerability by analyzing the vulnerability detection data to determine if an outcome identifies said vulnerability, corresponding to execution of one or more qualification tests which shown vulnerability detections showing that remediation is required. Finally, Applicant states that independent claims 11 and 20 each recite limitations similar to those discussed above with respect to allowable claim 1, and requests withdrawal of the rejections under 35 U.S.C. §§ 102 and 103. As a result, Examiner maintains the rejections under 101 for claims 1-16, 18, and 20 as being anticipated by Basavapatna-1. Claims 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Basavapatna-1 in view of Basavapatna-2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The independent claims recite “identifying, from the vulnerability detection, one or more qualification tests to perform on the target system, the one or more qualification tests comprising an executable qualification test that is different from a detection test performed by the vulnerability scanner to generate the vulnerability detection”, “determining, from the set of results, qualification data qualifying the vulnerability detection as one of requiring remediation or not requiring remediation, wherein the qualification data is based on a configuration of the target system that was not tested by the vulnerability scanner when generating the vulnerability detection”. and “associating the qualification data with the vulnerability detection”, in which the claim limitations recited amount to processes that can be performed in the mind, and with pen and paper, respectively, and therefore, are grouped under mental processes, as described in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III, “Mental Processes”. Furthermore, the amended claimed limitation of “after obtaining the vulnerability detection, executing, by the qualification server via a computer network, the executable qualification test against the network service of the target system by: transmitting, to the network service at the network port using the network protocol, a request configured to attempt an operation associated with a vulnerability identified by the vulnerability detection”, while continuing to utilize a computer network to execute a test on a system to determine a set of results from qualification data that highlights a vulnerability detection, is concerned with execution of tests to generate data to determine qualifying detections of a particular vulnerability. The generating of result data regarding vulnerabilities, constitutes the claim limitations falling within the abstract idea, specifically the category of mental processes and information analysis, with the aid of a computer. See MPEP § 2106.05(a)(II), “IMPROVEMENTS TO ANY OTHER TECHNOLOGY OR TECHNICAL FIELD”. “Merely adding generic computer components to perform the method is not sufficient. Thus, the claim must include more than mere instructions to perform the method on a generic component or machinery to qualify as an improvement to an existing technology”. This claim limitation also constitutes data analysis, as stated in 2106.04(a)(2)(III), paragraph A, “A Claim With Limitation(s) That Cannot Practically be Performed in the Human Mind Does Not Recite a Mental Process”, where a claim to “collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis,” where the data analysis steps are recited at a high level of generality such that they could practically be performed in the human mind, Electric Power Group v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1353-54, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1741-42 (Fed. Cir. 2016). This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the recited elements of independent claims 1, 11, and 20 amount to simply implementing the mental processes of ‘identifying, from the vulnerability detection, […] one or more qualification tests to perform on the target […]’, ‘determining, from the set of results […]’, and ‘associating the qualification data with the vulnerability detection’, where the data analysis steps are recited at a high level of generality such that they could practically be performed in the human mind, Electric, MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III, paragraph A, “A Claim With Limitation(s) That Cannot Practically be Performed in the Human Mind Does Not Recite a Mental Process”. Furthermore, claim 11 also reciting a system comprising a processor and a non-transitory computer-readable medium with instructions to be executed by a processor, and claim 20 reciting a non-transitory computer-readable medium. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because “obtaining a vulnerability detection from a vulnerability scanner for a target system”, and “receiving, from the target system, a set of results generated by the network service in response to the request” of independent claims 1, 11, and 20 merely amounts to data gathering, as stated in MPEP 2106.05(g), “Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity”.
Dependent claims 2-10, and 12-19 that rely upon independent claims 1, 11, and 20 are rejected for relying upon their respective independent claims. Dependent claims 2-10 depend on independent claim 1, and claims 12-19 depends on claim 11. As independent claims 1, 11, and 20 are rejected under 101, the dependent claims listed are also rejected as well.
In claim 2, the recitation of “re-performing the determining of qualification data each time a previously unseen vulnerability detection is obtained from the vulnerability scanner for the target system” is a mental process that can be performed in the mind, and therefore, the elements are grouped under mental processes, as described in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III, “Mental Processes”.
In claim 3, the recitation of “obtaining a plurality of vulnerability detections from a plurality of vulnerability scanners applied against a plurality of target systems residing in a network” merely amounts to data gathering, and therefore, the elements are grouped under data gathering as an insignificant extra-solution activity, as stated in MPEP 2016.05(g), “Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity”.
In claim 4, the recitation of “a provider vulnerability identifier identifying a type of the vulnerability detection”, “a target system identifier identifying a target system against which a vulnerability was detected”, and “a source identifier identifying the vulnerability scanner” are mental processes that can be performed in the mind, and therefore, the elements are grouped under mental processes, as described in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III, “Mental Processes”.
In claim 5, the recitation of “determining configuration data for initializing a vulnerability qualification system identifying: one or more qualification tests, and one or more provider vulnerability identifiers associated with each qualification test”, and “segmenting the plurality of vulnerability detections based on the provider vulnerability identifiers into one or more lists, wherein each of the one or more lists includes one or more vulnerability detections to be qualified using a qualification test identified based on a qualification identifier included in the configuration data” are mental processes that can be performed in the mind, and therefore, the elements are grouped under mental processes, as described in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III, “Mental Processes”.
In claim 6, the recitation of “a qualification identifier identifying a qualification test performed”, and “a qualification test result characterizing the vulnerability detection” are mental processes that can be performed in the mind, and therefore, the elements are grouped under mental processes, as described in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III, “Mental Processes”.
In claim 7, the recitation of “determining a plurality of target systems associated with a same provider vulnerability identifier”, and “performing a same qualification test on each target system in the plurality of target systems” are mental processes that can be performed in the mind, and therefore, the elements are grouped under mental processes, as described in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III, “Mental Processes”.
In claim 8, the recitation of “identifying a qualification test to perform based on matching a provider vulnerability identifier to the qualification test” is a mental process that can be performed in the mind, and therefore, the elements are grouped under mental processes, as described in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III, “Mental Processes”.
In claim 9, the recitation of “wherein the qualification data includes a qualification test result identifying the vulnerability detection as one of requiring remediation or not requiring remediation” is a mental process that can be performed in the mind, and therefore, the elements are grouped under mental processes, as described in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III, “Mental Processes”.
In claim 10, the recitation of “wherein the configuration of a target system includes one or more of: an operating system running on the target system”, “a version of an operating system running on the target system”, “a software application running on the target system”, “a version of an application running on the target system”, “a networking port open on the target system”, and “a networking protocol running on the target system” are mental processes that can be performed in the mind, and therefore, the elements are grouped under mental processes, as described in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III, “Mental Processes”.
In claim 11, the independent claim 11 discloses similar limitations present in independent claim 1 above, and as a result, is also rejected for similar reasons to claim 1 above under 101.
In claim 12, claim 12 discloses similar limitations present in claim 6 above, and as a result, is also rejected for similar reasons to claim 6 above under 101.
In claim 13, the claim discloses similar limitations present in claim 7 above, and as a result, is also rejected for similar reasons to claim 7 above under 101.
In claim 14, the claim discloses similar limitations present in claim 8 above, and as a result, is also rejected for similar reasons to claim 8 above under 101.
In claim 15, the claim discloses similar limitations present in claim 9 above, and as a result, is also rejected for similar reasons to claim 9 above under 101.
In claim 16, the claim discloses similar limitations present in claim 10 above, and as a result, is also rejected for similar reasons to claim 10 above under 101.
In claim 17, the recitation of “storing the qualification data with the vulnerability detection in one or more of a database and a file system” is a mental process that can be performed in the mind with the aid of a computer to store files, and therefore, the elements are grouped under mental processes, as described in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III, “Mental Processes”.
In claim 18, the recitation of “obtaining contact information associated with the target system against which the vulnerability detection was made”, and “transmitting a notification to a contact identified in the contact information, wherein the notification includes the qualification data” merely amounts to data gathering, and therefore, the elements are grouped under data gathering as an insignificant extra-solution activity, as stated in MPEP 2016.05(g), “Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity”.
In claim 19, the recitation of “storing intermediate results from determining qualification data in a qualification log” is a mental process that can be performed in the mind with the aid of a computer to store files, and therefore, the elements are grouped under mental processes, as described in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III, “Mental Processes”.
In claim 20, the independent claim 20 discloses similar limitations present in independent claim 1 above, and as a result, is also rejected for similar reasons to claim 1 above under 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-16, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Basavapatna et al. (US 20130191919 A1), hereinafter Basavapatna-1.
Regarding claim 1, Basavapatna-1 discloses “a method of qualifying a vulnerability detection for remediation comprising: obtaining, by a qualification server, a vulnerability detection from a vulnerability scanner for a target system, the vulnerability detection identifying a network port and a network protocol associated with a network service of the target system” ([0021] Countermeasures are utilized to remove vulnerabilities, such as applying a patch to an application or OS component. [0101] Fig. 3B, block 352, vulnerability score is identified for a vulnerability, with paragraph [0059], Fig. 2, stating that vulnerability detection data 206, can include tests from virus scans for an asset. [0037] Network port settings, including open ports, are part of configurations, and [0067] Networking protocol, including an IP address, is part of configurations.);
“identifying, from the vulnerability detection, one or more qualification tests to perform on the target system, the one or more qualification tests comprising an executable qualification test that is different from a detection test performed by the vulnerability scanner to generate the vulnerability detection” ([0079] Fig. 3A, process 300 can compare data for a given threat to configuration data 207 of Fig. 2 of a given asset to determine whether a given threat is applicable to the respective asset, corresponding to qualification test to perform on a target system which is an executable test. [0059] Outcome of the tests is also shown in vulnerability detection data 206 of Fig. 2 after being performed. [0052] Fig. 2, vulnerability definition data 205 identifies one or more vulnerabilities that are threat to one or more assets of a computer system of Basavapatna-1. The detection data can specify, for each vulnerability, the countermeasures that protect against the vulnerability and a protection score for each countermeasure, where detection data corresponds to a detection test performed by vulnerability scanner to generate the detection.);
“after obtaining the vulnerability detection, executing, by the qualification server via a computer network, the executable qualification test against the network service of the target system by: transmitting, to the network service at the network port using the network protocol, a request configured to attempt an operation associated with a vulnerability identified by the vulnerability detection” ([0084] Process 300 of Fig. 3 determines whether an asset possessing a known vulnerability by analyzing the vulnerability detection data to determine if an outcome identifies said vulnerability, and “if not, process 300 next analyzes data to determine whether any test identified the asset as not possessing or being related to the vulnerability”, where any identified tests correspond to one or more qualification tests that are identified, and generating a set of results based on qualification data qualifying the vulnerability detection. In particular, block 306 of Fig. 3A determines a risk metric for an asset and a threat from exposure factor and criticality score for the asset, assisting in generating a set of results needed for qualifying vulnerabilities. [0096] Process 300 in Fig. 3A determines criticality of an asset by user-defined rules, such as assets that have a particular IP address in a certain range should have one criticality, while assets with a different IP address range have a different criticality. In combination with paragraph [0066] stating that countermeasures are provided with network-based sensors in the network, host-based sensors in the network, or both are used at the same time.);
“and receiving, from the target system, a set of results generated by the network service in response to the request” ([0112] Fig. 3B, process 350, step 358, where a risk metric, vulnerability detection score, and countermeasure score for a vulnerability and an asset are calculated. Process 350 is performed by a network monitor, as described in paragraph [0100].);
“determining, from the set of results, qualification data qualifying the vulnerability detection as one of requiring remediation or not requiring remediation, wherein the qualification data is based on a configuration of the target system that was not tested by the vulnerability scanner when generating the vulnerability detection” ([0034] Fig. 2, Asset configuration data 207 contains both hardware and software configuration, and is separate from vulnerability detection data 206, with configuration data 207 is excluded from vulnerability detection data 205. Furthermore, in paragraph [0105], Fig. 3B, process 350, where the determination of whether an asset possession a certain vulnerability using vulnerability detection data 206 OR asset configuration data 207, and use of vulnerability detection data 206 only corresponds to qualification based on the configuration of the target system “not considered by” the vulnerability scanner, when the configuration data 207 is not utilized. [0034] Fig. 2, vulnerability detection data 206 specifies, for each asset and each threat, and whether an asset is vulnerable to a threat, which is further expanded upon in [0084], process 300 of Fig. 3 determines whether an asset possessing a known vulnerability by analyzing the vulnerability detection data to determine if an outcome identifies said vulnerability, corresponding to execution of one or more qualification tests which shown vulnerability detections showing that remediation is required. Paragraph [0023] states that sensors for detecting vulnerabilities can be host-based or network-based, as shown in Fig. 2. [0034] Vulnerability definition data 205 includes countermeasures that mitigate risk associated with the vulnerabilities, corresponding to a vulnerability detection requiring remediation based on executing the one or more qualification tests. [0071] Fig. 2, reconcilers 216 in network monitor 102 translates data using a corresponding table which maps identifiers used by a specific source to identifiers by a network monitor.);
‘and associating the qualification data with the vulnerability detection’ ([0034] Fig. 2, vulnerability detection data 206 specifies, for each asset and each threat, and whether an asset is vulnerable to a threat. [0071] Fig. 2, reconcilers 216 in network monitor 102 translates data using a corresponding table which maps identifiers used by a specific source to identifiers by a network monitor 102, which can also contain countermeasure detection data 208.).
Regarding claim 2, Basavapatna-1 discloses the limitations of claim 1 as recited above. Basavapatna-1 also discloses the limitation of ‘re-performing the determining of qualification data each time a previously unseen vulnerability detection is obtained from the vulnerability scanner for the target system’ ([0105] Process 350 can determine if a test whose outcome included in vulnerability detection data identified the asset as having a vulnerability. Paragraph [0061] states that vulnerability detection data 206 can contain only a single test, including a test finding an asset vulnerable. When a test indicating a vulnerability for an asset is received, the process of determining qualification data is performed again, and the test and its outcome in vulnerability detection data corresponds to a previously unseen vulnerability detection. Paragraph [0059] states that tests for vulnerabilities can include virus scans, from virus scanners.).
Regarding claim 3, Basavapatna-1 discloses the limitations of claim 1 as recited above. Basavapatna-1 also discloses the limitation of ‘wherein obtaining the vulnerability detection from the vulnerability scanner comprises: obtaining a plurality of vulnerability detections from a plurality of vulnerability scanners applied against a plurality of target systems residing in a network’ ([0034] Vulnerability detection data 206 shows which threats were identified, including a plurality of threats. [0058] Data aggregators receive vulnerability detection data from individual sensors in the system. The sensors correspond to vulnerability scanners of the Applicant. [0014] A plurality of assets can be used to determine how many assets are vulnerable to a vulnerability.).
Regarding claim 4, Basavapatna-1 discloses the limitations of claim 1 as recited above. Basavapatna-1 also discloses the limitation of ‘wherein each of the plurality of vulnerability detections includes: a provider vulnerability identifier identifying a type of the vulnerability detection’ ([0084] );
‘a target system identifier identifying a target system against which a vulnerability was detected’ ([0034] );
‘and a source identifier identifying the vulnerability scanner’ ([0058] Vulnerability data source(s) 212 are one or more data aggregators, and a data aggregator example is a host-based or network-based sensor, as seen in Fig. 2. Sensors correspond to vulnerability scanners of the Applicant.).
Regarding claim 5, Basavapatna-1 discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 4 as recited above. Basavapatna-1 also discloses the limitation of ‘determining configuration data for initializing a vulnerability qualification system identifying: one or more qualification tests’ ([0079] Fig. 3, process 300 can compare data for a given threat to configuration data 207 of Fig. 2 of a given asset to determine whether a given threat is applicable to the respective asset.);
‘and one or more provider vulnerability identifiers associated with each qualification test’ ([0079] Fig. 3, process 300 can compare data for a given threat to configuration data 207 of Fig. 2 of a given asset to determine whether a given threat is applicable to the respective asset. The comparison corresponds to a provider vulnerability identifier of the Applicant.);
‘and segmenting the plurality of vulnerability detections based on the provider vulnerability identifiers into one or more lists, wherein each of the one or more lists includes one or more vulnerability detections to be qualified using a qualification test identified based on a qualification identifier included in the configuration data’ ([0071] Fig. 2, reconcilers 216 translates the data using a table that maps identifiers used by a specific source to identifiers used by a network monitor 102. This includes vulnerability identifiers to map to a table. Configuration data 207 is also included in the table when data is standardized.).
Regarding claim 6, Basavapatna-1 discloses the limitations of claim 1 as recited above. Basavapatna-1 also discloses the limitation of ‘wherein the qualification data includes: a qualification identifier identifying a qualification test performed’ ([0071] Fig. 2, reconcilers 216 in network monitor 102 translates data using a corresponding table which maps identifiers used by a specific source to identifiers by a network monitor 102. The table can include tests run for vulnerability detection data 206, stated in paragraph [0059], and a test can include a virus scan.);
‘and a qualification test result characterizing the vulnerability detection’ ([0059] Outcome of the tests is also shown, corresponds to test results characterizing a vulnerability detection of the Applicant.).
Regarding claim 7, Basavapatna-1 discloses the limitations of claim 1 as recited above. Basavapatna-1 also discloses the limitation of ‘wherein determining the qualification data qualifying the vulnerability detection comprises: determining a plurality of target systems associated with a same provider vulnerability identifier’ ([0122] Fig. 4, process 400, block 402. Risk metrics are assessed for multiple assets for a particular vulnerability.);
‘and performing a same qualification test on each target system in the plurality of target systems’ ([0123] Risk metrics for each asset can be calculated, with reference to Fig. 3B, block 358.).
Regarding claim 8, Basavapatna-1 discloses the limitations of claim 1 as recited above. Basavapatna-1 also discloses the limitation of ‘wherein determining the qualification data qualifying the vulnerability detection comprises: identifying a qualification test to perform based on matching a provider vulnerability identifier to the qualification test’ ([0079] Fig. 3, process 300 can compare data for a given threat to configuration data 207 of Fig. 2 of a given asset to determine whether a given threat is applicable to the respective asset. The comparison corresponds to a provider vulnerability identifier of the Applicant.).
Regarding claim 9, Basavapatna-1 discloses the limitations of claim 1 as recited above. Basavapatna-1 also discloses the limitation of ‘wherein the qualification data includes a qualification test result identifying the vulnerability detection as one of requiring remediation or not requiring remediation’ ([0138] The ranking of threats, vulnerabilities, and threats according to the assets. [0140] Aggregate risk metric for any vulnerability or threat goes above a specified threshold, user should be alerted. Paragraph [0068] states that when an alert is sent to a user, countermeasure source(s) 214 can determine that a sensor is protecting an asset with a particular IP address, to which countermeasure source(s) correspond to requiring or not requiring remediation of the Applicant.).
Regarding claim 10, Basavapatna-1 discloses the limitations of claim 1 as recited above. Basavapatna-1 also discloses the limitation of ‘wherein the configuration of a target system includes one or more of: an operating system running on the target system’ ([0037] Operating systems is part of configurations.),
‘a version of an operating system running on the target system’ ([0037] Operating system version is part of configurations.),
‘a software application running on the target system’ ([0037] Software products are part of configurations.),
‘a version of an application running on the target system’ ([0053] Software products versions are part of configurations.),
‘a networking port open on the target system’ ([0037] Network port settings, including open ports, are part of configurations.),
‘and a networking protocol running on the target system’ ([0067] Networking protocol, including an IP address, is part of configurations.).
Regarding claim 11, Basavapatna-1 discloses the limitations present in independent claim 1 above, and Basavapatna-1 also discloses ‘One or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform the steps of:’ ([0141] Computer program instructions in a computer storage medium for execution by a data processing apparatus. [0146] computer-readable media can be on an optical disc, hard disk drives, or other types of media that correspond to a non-transitory storage medium of the Applicant.).
Regarding claim 12, Basavapatna-1 discloses the limitations of claim 11 as recited above. Basavapatna-1 also discloses the limitations present in claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 13, Basavapatna-1 discloses the limitations of claim 11 as recited above. Basavapatna-1 also discloses the limitations present in claim 7 above.
Regarding claim 14, Basavapatna-1 discloses the limitations of claim 11 as recited above. Basavapatna-1 also discloses the limitations present in claim 8 above.
Regarding claim 15, Basavapatna-1 discloses the limitations of claim 11 as recited above. Basavapatna-1 also discloses the limitations present in claim 9 above.
Regarding claim 16, Basavapatna-1 discloses the limitations of claim 11 as recited above. Basavapatna-1 also discloses the limitations present in claim 10 above.
Regarding claim 18, Basavapatna-1 discloses the limitations of claim 11 as recited above. Basavapatna-1 also discloses the limitation of ‘obtaining contact information associated with the target system against which the vulnerability detection was made’ (Paragraph [0068] states that when an alert is sent to a user, countermeasure source(s) 214 can determine that a sensor is protecting an asset with a particular IP address, to which countermeasure source(s) correspond to requiring or not requiring remediation of the Applicant.);
‘and transmitting a notification to a contact identified in the contact information, wherein the notification includes the qualification data’ (Paragraph [0068] states that when an alert is sent to a user, countermeasure source(s) 214 can determine that a sensor is protecting an asset with a particular IP address, to which countermeasure source(s) correspond to requiring or not requiring remediation of the Applicant.).
Regarding claim 20, Basavapatna-1 discloses the limitations present in independent claim 1 above, and Basavapatna-1 discloses ‘A system comprising: a memory storing a qualification module’ ([0013] System can contain a memory element, and a network monitor, where the reconciler can be stored in the network monitor, itself stored in memory, stated in paragraph [0028]. The reconciler corresponds to a qualification module of the Applicant.);
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Basavapatna-1 in view of Basavapatna et al. (US 20130096980 A1), hereinafter Basavapatna-2.
Regarding claim 17, Basavapatna-1 discloses the limitations of claim 11 as recited above. Basavapatna-1 does not appear to disclose, but Basavapatna-2 teaches the method of ‘wherein associating the qualification data with the vulnerability detection comprises: storing the qualification data with the vulnerability detection in one or more of a database and a file system’ ([0052] Risk diagnostics can be recorded in assessment records stored in data store 280. Assessment records correspond to a file system, and a data store corresponds to database of the Applicant. Assessments can correspond to qualification data of the Applicant.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Basavapatna-1 and Basavapatna-2 before them, to include Basavapatna-2’s ‘storing the qualification data with the vulnerability detection in one or more of a database and a file system’ in Basavapatna-1’s non-transitory computer-readable media performing ‘obtaining a vulnerability detection from a vulnerability scanner for a target system’. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to increase efficiency by having endpoints in a larger system store data associated with a larger system, including assessments of vulnerabilities, as taught in Basavapatna-2 [0017].
Regarding claim 19, Basavapatna-1 discloses the limitations of claim 11 as recited above. Basavapatna-1 does not appear to disclose, but Basavapatna-2 teaches the method of ‘storing intermediate results from determining qualification data in a qualification log’ ([0052] Risk diagnostics can be recorded in assessment records stored in data store 280. Risk diagnostics correspond to intermediate results from determining qualification data of the Applicant, and assessment records correspond to qualification logs of the Applicant.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Basavapatna-1 and Basavapatna-2 before them, to include Basavapatna-2’s ‘storing intermediate results from determining qualification data in a qualification log’ in Basavapatna-1’s non-transitory computer-readable media performing ‘obtaining a vulnerability detection from a vulnerability scanner for a target system’. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to increase efficiency by having a risk assessment monitor store data of various types, including configuration data, countermeasure detection, and vulnerability detection data, and data stores are utilized to retain information about various endpoints, as taught in Basavapatna-2 [0034].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Erlingsson et al. (US 11770398 B1, "Guided Anomaly Detection Framework")
Stopel et al. (US 20190121986 A1, "STATIC DETECTION OF VULNERABILITIES IN BASE IMAGES OF SOFTWARE CONTAINERS")
Brown et al. (US 20080221833 A1, "METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR DETECTING DEPENDABILITY VULNERABILITIES")
Ganesh et al. (US 20240080332 A1, "SYSTEM AND METHOD FOR GATHERING, ANALYZING, AND REPORTING GLOBAL CYBERSECURITY THREATS")
/T.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2496
/JORGE L ORTIZ CRIADO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2496