DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/29/2024 has been entered and considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim 6, the claim recites “each task in the orchestrator is designed to be idempotent, where a user needs to call an application programming interface (API) irrespective of where the failure occurred in the provisioning of the cell site.” However, “the failure” lacks antecedent basis, and claim 1 from which claim 6 depends does not appear to discuss any sort of failure. It is therefore unclear what “the failure” is intended to refer to or require. Claim 6 is thus indefinite. For the purpose of this examination, the Examiner will interpret “the failure” as not requiring that any unrecited failure occur.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-10, 13-16, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Naik et al. (US 11,544,042, provided by Applicant, Naik hereinafter). Regarding claims 1, 10, and 16, Naik teaches a method, a non-transitory computer readable storage medium (The computing device may be comprised of a memory storing instructions; Naik; Figs. 2-8; Col. 17 lines 1-30), and a management node (Computing device; Naik; Figs. 2-8; Col. 17 lines 1-30) comprising: a processor (The computing device may be comprised of at least one processor; Naik; Figs. 2-8; Col. 17 lines 1-30); and memory coupled to the processor (The computing device may be comprised of a memory coupled to the at least one processor; Naik; Figs. 2-8; Col. 17 lines 1-30), wherein the memory comprises: a container orchestrator (The computing device 301 can read the inventive instructions on the program storage devices and follow these instructions to execute the methodology of the embodiments. Such instructions (e.g., software) related to provisioning a Containerized Network Function (RAN CNF) may be interpreted as comprising a container orchestrator; Naik; Figs. 2-8; Col. 1 line 66 through col. 2 line 9; Col. 2 lines 34-40; Col. 17 lines 1-30) to automate deployment, management, and scaling of containerized network function (CNF) instances (Embodiments herein provide a system for developing and deploying a Radio Access Network Containerized Network Function (RAN CNF) that is portable across one or more of RAN hardware platforms; Naik; Figs. 2-7; Col. 1 line 66 through col. 2 line 9; Col. 2 lines 34-40); and a cell site provisioning unit (The computing device 301 can read the inventive instructions on the program storage devices and follow these instructions to execute the methodology of the embodiments. Such instructions (e.g., software) related to provisioning a RAN CNF may be interpreted as comprising a cell site provisioning unit; Naik; Figs. 2-8; Col. 1 line 66 through col. 2 line 9; Col. 2 lines 34-40; Col. 17 lines 1-30) to: receive a plurality of steps involved in provisioning a cell site for a 5G RAN (Embodiments herein provide a system for developing and deploying a RAN CNF that is portable across one or more of RAN hardware platforms. In some embodiments, the system includes a developer tool configured for extracting the DFG from the physical layer (L1) software code and providing the DFG as an input to the schedule generator for scheduling the nodes of the DFG on the one or more processing elements of the target RAN hardware platform. At least receiving such a DFG may be interpreted as receiving a plurality of steps involved in provisioning a cell site for a 5G RAN. See also “input 202” to the SDK in Fig. 2. As can be seen in at least Fig. 3A, embodiments may also include providing a Hardware Architecture Description (HWAD) file that is configured for providing a description of the at least one processing element for provisioning computing resources for execution of the RAN tasks in the DFG in a platform-independent manner; Naik; Figs. 2-7; Col. 1 line 66 through col. 2 line 9; Col. 2 lines 34-40; Col. 6 lines 53-64; Col. 8 lines 28-48), wherein provisioning the cell site comprises provisioning of a physical infrastructure layer, a container orchestration platform on the physical infrastructure layer, and a CNF instance associated with the 5G RAN in the container orchestration platform (At least the received inputs discussed above for developing and deploying a RAN CNF that is portable across one or more of RAN hardware platforms may be interpreted as comprising a plurality of steps involved in provisioning of a physical infrastructure layer, a container orchestration platform on the physical infrastructure layer, and a CNF instance associated with the 5G RAN in the container orchestration platform. At least Fig. 3A also depicts the provisioning of a portable RAN framework comprising a physical infrastructure layer, a container engine, and one or more CNF instances; Naik; Figs. 2-7; Col. 1 line 66 through col. 2 line 9; Col. 2 lines 34-40; Col. 6 lines 53-64; Col. 8 lines 28-48); convert the plurality of steps into a dependency graph of tasks, wherein the dependency graph is to represent workflows and relationships between the tasks (See at least the graph depicted in Fig. 3B, which may be interpreted as a dependency graph of tasks representing workflows and relationships between tasks. See also at least Fig. 4 depicting an example illustration of extraction of DFGs; Naik; Figs. 2-7; Col. 12 lines 10-14; Col. 12 line 62 through col. 13 line 8; Col. 14 lines 31-39); and provision, based on feeding the dependency graph as an input to the container orchestrator, the cell site by executing the tasks in an order according to the dependency graph (In some embodiments, the HWAD file 324 enables the schedule generator 214 to be portable to any DU platform as it enables the schedule generator 214 to provision the compute resources like PEs for the RAN tasks in the DFG 212 in a platform independent manner. See also at least Fig. 5 depicting a schematic representation deployment of RAN CNFs that are portable across one or more RAN hardware platforms; Naik; Figs. 2-7; Col. 12 lines 10-14; Col. 12 line 62 through col. 13 line 8; Col. 14 lines 40-54). Regarding claims 4, 13, and 18, Naik teaches the limitations of claims 1, 10, and 16 respectively. Naik further teaches the dependency graph comprises a plurality of vertices and a plurality of edges, each vertex representing a task for execution and each edge representing a path that the container orchestrator needs to take upon completion of each task (See at least the graph depicted in Fig. 3B, which may be interpreted as a dependency graph of tasks that comprises a plurality of vertices and a plurality of edges, each vertex representing a task for execution and each edge representing a path that the container orchestrator needs to take upon completion of each task. See also at least Fig. 4 depicting an example illustration of extraction of DFGs. See also at least Fig. 5 depicting a schematic representation deployment of RAN CNFs using at least DFG 212; Naik; Figs. 2-7; Col. 12 lines 10-14; Col. 12 line 62 through col. 13 line 8; Col. 14 lines 31-54). Regarding claims 5 and 14, Naik teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 10 respectively. Naik further teaches the container orchestrator is to: based on requirements of the CNF instance, provision the physical infrastructure layer by preparing a physical host computing system to configure hardware, software, and network resources (In some embodiments, the HWAD file 324 enables the schedule generator 214 to be portable to any DU platform as it enables the schedule generator 214 to provision the compute resources like PEs for the RAN tasks in the DFG 212 in a platform independent manner. See also at least Fig. 5 depicting provisioning of the physical infrastructure layer by preparing a physical host computing system to configure hardware, software, and network resources; Naik; Figs. 2-7; Col. 12 lines 10-14; Col. 12 line 62 through col. 13 line 8; Col. 14 lines 31-54). Regarding claim 6, Naik teaches the limitations of claim 1. Naik further teaches each task in the orchestrator is designed to be idempotent, where a user needs to call an application programming interface (API) irrespective of where the failure occurred in the provisioning of the cell site (Embodiments herein provide a system for developing and deploying a RAN CNF that is portable across one or more of RAN hardware platforms. Such embodiments also discuss use of an application programming interface (API); Naik; Figs. 2-7; Col. 1 line 66 through col. 2 line 24; Col. 8 lines 33-58). Regarding claim 7, Naik teaches the limitations of claim 1. Naik further teaches monitoring, by the orchestrator, the tasks to determine a progress of execution of each task (In some embodiments, the RAN monitor monitors all the activities and events on the DU hardware platform like power consumption, resource utilization on the DU hardware platform, and the like; Naik; Figs. 2-7; Col. 14 lines 12-30); and sending, by the orchestrator, the progress of each task to a monitoring platform using a common identifier associated with the cell site to establish an identity of the cell site (In some embodiments, the SDK uses the one or more platform drivers 318 to communicate with the DU accelerator platforms. Thus, the schedule generator 214 may require one or more platform drivers 318 (typically a PCIe end-point driver) to communicate with the DU platform 326. In some embodiments, the user interface 204 executes on a CNF manager and provisions deployment of L1 software, visualization of the DFG 212 extracted by the developer tool 210 from the L1 application code, invocation of the schedule generator 214, and view the partitioning of different RAN tasks on the processor elements of the DU platform 326 and visualization of performance, memory utilization and various other metrics gathered by the PRF monitor 316 during the execution of the L1 software; Naik; Figs. 2-7; Col. 14 lines 12-30). Regarding claims 8 and 19, Naik teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 10 respectively. Naik further teaches instructions to: monitor, by the orchestrator, the tasks to determine a progress of execution of each task (In some embodiments, the RAN monitor monitors all the activities and events on the DU hardware platform like power consumption, resource utilization on the DU hardware platform, and the like; Naik; Figs. 2-7; Col. 14 lines 12-30); store, by the orchestrator, the progress of each task in a database using a common identifier associated with the cell site (In some embodiments, the SDK uses the one or more platform drivers 318 to communicate with the DU accelerator platforms. Thus, the schedule generator 214 may require one or more platform drivers 318 (typically a PCIe end-point driver) to communicate with the DU platform 326. In some embodiments, the user interface 204 executes on a CNF manager and provisions deployment of L1 software, visualization of the DFG 212 extracted by the developer tool 210 from the L1 application code, invocation of the schedule generator 214, and view the partitioning of different RAN tasks on the processor elements of the DU platform 326 and visualization of performance, memory utilization and various other metrics gathered by the PRF monitor 316 during the execution of the L1 software. Such operations may be interpreted as comprising storing the progress of each task in a database using a common identifier associated with the cell site; Naik; Figs. 2-7; Col. 14 lines 12-30); and in response to receiving a request, create, by the orchestrator, a site level view of the cell site by querying the database using the common identifier (In some embodiments, the SDK uses the one or more platform drivers 318 to communicate with the DU accelerator platforms. Thus, the schedule generator 214 may require one or more platform drivers 318 (typically a PCIe end-point driver) to communicate with the DU platform 326. In some embodiments, the user interface 204 executes on a CNF manager and provisions deployment of L1 software, visualization of the DFG 212 extracted by the developer tool 210 from the L1 application code, invocation of the schedule generator 214, and view the partitioning of different RAN tasks on the processor elements of the DU platform 326 and visualization of performance, memory utilization and various other metrics gathered by the PRF monitor 316 during the execution of the L1 software. Such operations (e.g., use of a user interface to view at least visualization of performance, memory utilization and various other metrics) may be interpreted as comprising creating a site level view of the cell site by querying the database using the common identifier in response to receiving a request; Naik; Figs. 2-7; Col. 14 lines 12-30). Regarding claims 9, 15, and 20, Naik teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 10 respectively. Naik further teaches the container orchestrator is to: determine whether the physical infrastructure layer and the container orchestration platform support requirements of the CNF instance (In some embodiments, the HWAD file 324 enables the schedule generator 214 to be portable to any DU platform as it enables the schedule generator 214 to provision the compute resources like PEs for the RAN tasks in the DFG 212 in a platform independent manner. See also at least Fig. 5 depicting a schematic representation deployment of RAN CNFs that are portable across one or more RAN hardware platforms. The physical infrastructure layer and the container orchestration platform may thus be interpreted as being provisioned based on requirements of the CNF instance, which may be interpreted as comprising determining whether the physical infrastructure layer and the container orchestration platform support requirements of the CNF instance; Naik; Figs. 2-7; Col. 12 lines 10-14; Col. 12 line 62 through col. 13 line 8; Col. 14 lines 31-54); when the physical infrastructure layer and the container orchestration platform support requirements of the CNF instance, invoke, by the tasks, documented application programming interfaces (APIs) of the physical infrastructure layer and the container orchestration platform to achieve a required functionality (Application programming interfaces (APIs) are described as being used throughout Naik for implementing the required functionality (e.g., the tasks). Such API(s) may thus be interpreted as being invoked by such required functionality (e.g., the tasks) to achieve a required functionality when the physical infrastructure layer and the container orchestration platform support requirements of the CNF instance; Naik; Figs. 2-7; Col. 1 line 66 through col. 2 line 24; Col. 5 lines 9-29; Col. 8 lines 33-58); and when the physical infrastructure layer and the container orchestration platform do not support requirements of the CNF instance, generate and add additional tasks to the orchestrator to support the requirements of the CNF instance (The Examiner would like to note that the recited “when” condition may be interpreted as not being required to occur because such a condition appears to be the opposite of the above recited “when” condition. The prior art may thus be interpreted as not requiring such limitations. However, the Examiner would like to note that the deployment of the RAN CNF depicted in at least Figs. 2-7 may be interpreted as an iterative process wherein additional tasks are generated and added to the orchestrator to support the requirements of the CNF instance until all of such requirements have been satisfied; Naik; Figs. 2-7; Col. 1 line 66 through col. 2 line 24; Col. 5 lines 9-29; Col. 8 lines 33-58).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 11-12, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naik et al. (US 11,544,042, provided by Applicant, Naik hereinafter) in view of Chivukula et al. (US 11,336,525, provided by Applicant, Chivukula hereinafter). Regarding claims 2, 11, and 17, Naik teaches the limitations of claims 1, 10, and 16 respectively. However, Naik does not specifically disclose a validation unit to: prior to provisioning the cell site, receive method of procedure (MOP) steps to validate hardware and/or software requirements of an operating system of the physical infrastructure layer, the container orchestration platform, and the CNF instance from multiple vendors; convert the MOP steps into a defined data structure; and validate, based on feeding the defined data structure as an input to the container orchestrator, the hardware and/or software requirements of the operating system, the container orchestration platform, and the CNF. Chivukula teaches a validation unit (Functionality may be implemented by one or more processors capable of being programmed to perform a function; Chivukula; Figs. 1A-4; Col. 8 lines 26-50) to: prior to provisioning the cell site, receive method of procedure (MOP) steps to validate hardware and/or software requirements of an operating system of the physical infrastructure layer, the container orchestration platform, and the CNF instance from multiple vendors (Some implementations described herein provide a validation system that validates a CNF for deployment. For example, the validation system may receive CNF data identifying a CNF to be deployed in a network and a configuration of the CNF and may validate connectivity between resources to be utilized to deploy the CNF in the network to generate connectivity data indicating whether one or more connectivity issues exist. Such validation may include receiving CNF data identifying a CNF to be deployed in a network and a configuration of the CNF. For example, a user of the user device 105 may wish to deploy a particular CNF (e.g., a virtual implementation of a router, a bridge, a switch, a gateway, a firewall, and/or the like) in the network and may select, via the user device 105, the particular CNF from a marketplace of registered CNFs. The user of the user device 105 may also specify a configuration for the particular CNF. The configuration may include data identifying CNF docker images to be extracted and uploaded to a registry, Helm charts to be extracted and uploaded to the registry, parameter files and scripts to be extracted and uploaded to software for tracking changes in the CNF data, a cloud service archive (CSAR) package to be uploaded or retrieved from a vendor, and/or the like. Such received information regarding validation steps may be interpreted as method of procedure (MOP) steps. Such a validation system may be interpreted as receiving method of procedure (MOP) steps to validate hardware and/or software requirements of an operating system of the physical infrastructure layer, the container orchestration platform, and the CNF instance from multiple vendors prior to provisioning the cell site; Chivukula; Figs. 1A-4; Col. 1 line 56 through Col. 2 line 47; Col. 9 lines 29-46); convert the MOP steps into a defined data structure (As can be seen in at least Figs. 1A-1E, at least CNF data may be converted into at least connectivity data, package data, NFVO data, and NFVI data (which is used in at least Fig. 1F). See also at least steps 410-450 of Fig. 4 describing such data. The MOP steps may thus be interpreted as being converted into a defined data structure; Chivukula; Figs. 1A-4; Col. 2 line 31 through col. 4 line 27; Col. 9 line 47 through col. 10 line 54); and validate, based on feeding the defined data structure as an input to the container orchestrator, the hardware and/or software requirements of the operating system, the container orchestration platform, and the CNF (As can be seen in at least Fig. 1F, at least connectivity data, package data, NFVO data, and NFVI data (from Figs. 1A-1E) may be used as an input to perform validation of the CNF for deployment, which may be interpreted as validating, based on feeding the defined data structure as an input to the container orchestrator, the hardware and/or software requirements of the operating system, the container orchestration platform, and the CNF. See also at least step 460 of Fig. 4 describing determining if there are any issues with the validated data. The MOP steps may thus be interpreted as being converted into a defined data structure; Chivukula; Figs. 1A-4; Col. 4 lines 3-60; Col. 10 line 55 through col. 11 line 18). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Chivukula regarding CNF deployment with the teachings as in Naik regarding CNF deployment. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase performance by validating CNF deployment and allowing for the CNF to be deployed more quickly (Chivukula; Col. 2 lines 12-24). Regarding claims 3 and 12, Naik and Chivukula teach the limitations of claims 2 and 11 respectively. Chivukula further teaches the validation unit (Functionality may be implemented by one or more processors capable of being programmed to perform a function; Chivukula; Figs. 1A-4; Col. 8 lines 26-50) is to: for each hardware and/or software requirement, enable the container orchestrator to: initiate a command on the physical infrastructure layer by making a call to an interface exposed by a respective hardware and/or software component in the physical infrastructure layer (As can be seen in at least Figs. 1A-1E, at least CNF data may be converted into at least connectivity data, package data, NFVO data, and NFVI data (which is used in at least Fig. 1F). See also at least steps 410-450 of Fig. 4 describing such data. All of such steps may be interpreted as being performed by making calls to hardware and/or software components in the physical infrastructure layer such that computing hardware performs such functionality. At least such a process may be interpreted as comprising initiating a command on the physical infrastructure layer by making a call to an interface exposed by a respective hardware and/or software component in the physical infrastructure layer; Chivukula; Figs. 1A-4; Col. 2 line 31 through col. 4 line 27; Col. 9 line 47 through col. 10 line 54); compare a result of executing the command with an expected output in the defined data structure (As can be seen in at least Fig. 1F, at least connectivity data, package data, NFVO data, and NFVI data (from Figs. 1A-1E) may be used as an input to perform validation of the CNF for deployment, which may be interpreted as comprising comparing a result of executing the command with an expected output in the defined data structure. See also at least step 460 of Fig. 4 describing determining if there are any issues with the validated data. The MOP steps may thus be interpreted as being converted into a defined data structure; Chivukula; Figs. 1A-4; Col. 4 lines 3-60; Col. 10 line 55 through col. 11 line 18); when the result of executing the command matches the expected outputs, determine that the validation is successful (As can be seen in at least Fig. 1F, at least connectivity data, package data, NFVO data, and NFVI data (from Figs. 1A-1E) may be used as an input to perform validation of the CNF for deployment, which may be interpreted as comprising determining that the validation is successful when the result of executing the command matches the expected outputs; Chivukula; Figs. 1A-4; Col. 4 lines 3-60; Col. 10 line 55 through col. 11 line 18); and when the result of executing the command does not match the expected output, determine that the validation is not successful (As can be seen in at least Fig. 1F, at least connectivity data, package data, NFVO data, and NFVI data (from Figs. 1A-1E) may be used as an input to perform validation of the CNF for deployment, which may be interpreted as comprising determining that the validation is not successful when the result of executing the command does not match the expected outputs; Chivukula; Figs. 1A-4; Col. 4 lines 3-60; Col. 10 line 55 through col. 11 line 18). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Chivukula regarding CNF deployment with the teachings as in Naik regarding CNF deployment. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase performance by validating CNF deployment and allowing for the CNF to be deployed more quickly (Chivukula; Col. 2 lines 12-24).
Conclusion
/ERIC MYERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474