DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3,5-14,16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Barrett et al. (USPN 2012/0154789).
Regarding claims 1 and 13, Barrett et al. discloses a patient monitoring device and method, comprising: a housing configured to releasably engage a fluid conduit (figure 4, housing 34,[0040]); at least one sensor configured to measure at least one characteristic of fluid flowing through the fluid conduit ([0045]); and a controller ([0011],[0025]) configured to: generate patient data comprising a baseline range of the at least one characteristic over the first time period ([0051]-[0052], calibration parameters); and monitor a patient state based at least in part on the baseline range and the measured at least one characteristic over the second time period ([0053]-[0054]).
Regarding claims 2 and 19, Barrett et al. discloses the patient state comprises one or more of an infection state of the patient, patient compliance with a prescribed therapy, therapy efficacy, device maintenance, sensor calibration, and sensor data (sensor calibration and sensor data, [0051]-[0053]).
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Barrett et al. discloses the at least one characteristic comprises one or more of optical scatter, absorption, color, flow rate, conductivity, temperature, pH, lactate concentration, cell count, leukocyte esterase concentration, chemiluminescence, glucose concentration, urea concentration, and creatinine concentration ([0002], [0076]).
Regarding claim 5, Barrett et al. discloses the housing comprises a hinge and the housing is configured to surround at least a portion of the fluid conduit (figure 4).
Regarding claim 6, Barrett et al. discloses one or more portions of the fluid conduit are composed of a material susceptible to bacteria fouling (blood chamber 32 is made of medical grade plycarbonated or other suitable material known within dialyzer that suspectable to bacteria fouling ([0043])).
Regarding claim 7, Barrett et al. discloses the at least one sensor is configured to clamp over a portion of the fluid conduit transparent to at least one of ultraviolet light, visible light, and infrared radiation ([0021], [0043]).
Regarding claim 8, Barrett et al. discloses the at least one sensor is a fluid- contacting sensor (figure 4).
Regarding claim 9, Barrett et al. discloses the at least one sensor is a non-fluid- contact sensor comprising one or more of a pressure sensor, image sensor, accelerometer, gyroscope, temperature sensor, and magnetic field transducer (figure 4).
Regarding claim 10, Barrett et al. discloses a limited-use sensor configured to releasably engage one or more of the fluid conduit and the housing (figure 4).
Regarding claim 11, Barrett et al. discloses the fluid conduit is coupled to one or more of an in-dwelling catheter for peritoneal dialysis, a urinary catheter, hydrocephalus shunt, percutaneous abscess drainage catheter, ascites drainage catheter, insulin pump, feeding tube, central venous line catheter, tunneled catheter, and implanted access port ([0040]-[0041]).
Regarding claim 12, Barrett et al. discloses the controller is configured to open a valve to fill a sample container with the patient fluid upon detecting a positive infection state of the patient ([0044]).
Regarding claim 16, Barrett et al. discloses measuring a set of patient clinical events during the first time period and the second time period after the first time period; estimating a relationship between the set of patient clinical events and the at least one characteristic over the first time period; monitoring a patient state based at least in part on the estimated relationship and the measured characteristic over the second time period ([0051]-[0054]).
Regarding claim 17, Barrett et al. discloses outputting an alert to a predetermined contact when the measured characteristic over the second time period deviates from the baseline range ([0051]-[0054]).
Regarding claim 18, Barrett et al. discloses modifying an alert sensitivity based on one or more of a number of deviations from the baseline range and a number of patient clinical events ([0051]-[0054]).
Regarding claim 20, Barrett et al. discloses establishing a communication channel between the patient and a health care professional in response to the alert corresponding to the patient being in a high-risk condition ([0051]-[0054]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barrett et al. as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Newberry (USPN 2017/0014035).
While Barrett et al. teaches that the optical sensor clip assembly calculates the hematocrit, oxygen saturation and change in blood volume associated with the blood passing through the blood chamber ([0056]), Barrett et al. fails to disclose that the at least one characteristic comprises leukocyte esterase concentration. Newberry discloses an optical sensor measuring oxygen saturation levels in blood flow, as well as monitoring concentration of white blood cell count (leukocyte). See [0050] and [00145]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to incorporate the teaching of obtaining the concentration of leukocyte (white blood cell) as taught by Newberry into the device of Barrette et al., in order to obtain additional physiological parameter.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-29 of US Patent 11,331,052. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed subject matter of the reference application and the instant application are directed towards the same invention.
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-27 of U.S. Patent No. 10925549. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed subject matter of the reference application and the instant application are directed towards the same invention.
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,865,241. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed subject matter of the reference application and the instant application are directed towards the same invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Oppenheimer (USPN 5,601,080-Cited by the Applicant) teaches all the limitations of claims 1 and 13.
/MARJAN FARDANESH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791