Response to Amendment
The amendment filed by the Applicant on 12/15/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 7-12,14 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miranda (US 20230272917 A1, cited previously)
Regarding claim 1, Miranda teaches a cooking appliance (oven in Abstract, at least Fig.1, 3 and 5) and comprising: a main body (under roof 104) having a cooking chamber defined therein; a door 120 ([0029]) disposed at a front side of the main body to open and close the cooking chamber; a camera 220 ([0049]) disposed inside the door to film the cooking chamber; and a lighting (216 and 218 in [0052]) disposed inside the door to illuminate an area filmed by the camera, wherein the lighting includes a first lighting disposed on at least one of one side and another side in a lateral direction of the camera (one of 216 or 218).
Miranda teaches a second lighting 217/219 ([0051] and [0052]) disposed between the camera 220 and the first lighting 216 (Fig.5), but does not teach the second lighting irradiates light in a direction inclined toward the camera. However, Miranda already teaches multiple light sources on both sides of the camera, therefore a change of position or orientation of the light source as claimed is within the level of skill in the art as the particular position claimed by Applicant is nothing more than one of numerous orientations that a person having ordinary skill in the art will find obvious to provide using routine experimentation based on its suitability for the intended use of the invention and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to use well known design techniques of camera related illumination, to use the orientation as claimed, in order to efficiently illuminate the camera.
Regarding claim 2, Miranda teaches a cooking appliance (see inclination of the bracket 256 in Fig.7, Fig.9 and [0049]), wherein the first lighting is disposed at a location biased upward from a center in a vertical direction of the door, and irradiates light in a direction inclined downward ([0060], also see During use, forward surface 267 angle CV may allow camera and lighting to be directed toward articles placed within internal chamber 116 in [0061]).
Regarding claim 3, Miranda teaches a cooking appliance, wherein the first lighting irradiates light in a direction toward a bottom surface of the cooking chamber ([0049], [0060]) but does not explicitly teach: in a direction that is between a direction toward a rear surface of the cooking chamber and a direction toward a bottom surface of the cooking chamber.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to make adjustable the orientation of the light from the light sources, by routine experimentation, in order to achieve the desired orientation.
Regarding claim 7, Miranda teaches the first and second lighting elements but does not explicitly teach the particular orientation of the second lighting irradiates light in a direction that is between a direction toward a rear surface of the cooking chamber and the lateral direction toward the camera. However, Miranda already teaches multiple light sources on both sides of the camera and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to use well known design techniques of camera related illumination, to use the orientation as claimed, by routine experimentation, in order to efficiently use the camera within the oven.
Regarding claim 8, Miranda teaches the cooking appliance, wherein the first lighting includes a pair of first lightings arranged in the lateral direction and the camera is disposed between the pair of first lightings, wherein the second lighting includes a pair of second lightings, and one of the pair of second lightings is disposed between the camera and one of the pair of first lightings and another of the pair of second lightings is disposed between the camera and another of the pair of first lightings (pairs of multiple lighting elements on two sides of the camera in Miranda, are considered as the pair of first and second lightings).
Regarding claim 9, Miranda teaches the cooking appliance, wherein the first lighting and the second lighting are disposed between an end in the lateral direction of the door and the camera, and are disposed at locations closer to the end in the lateral direction of the door than to the camera (from the arrangement of the lighting sources on the two sides of the camera).
Regarding claim 10, Miranda teaches the cooking appliance, wherein the second lighting includes a pair of second lightings arranged in the lateral direction of the door with the camera interposed therebetween, wherein the second lighting includes a pair of second lightings arranged in the lateral direction of the door with the camera interposed therebetween (pairs of multiple lighting elements on two sides of the camera in Miranda, are considered as the pair of first and second lightings and from the arrangement of the lighting sources on the two sides of the camera).
Regarding claim 11, Miranda teaches the cooking appliance, wherein the first lighting includes a pair of first lightings and the pair of first lightings are arranged in the lateral direction of the door with the camera and the pair of second lightings interposed between the pair of first lightings (pairs of multiple lighting elements on two sides of the camera in Miranda, are considered as the pair of first and second lightings and from the arrangement of the lighting sources on the two sides of the camera).
Regarding claim 12, Miranda teaches the cooking appliance, wherein the second lighting is disposed at a location closer to the first lighting than to the camera (second lighting 217/219 ([0051] and [0052]) disposed between the camera 220 and the first lighting 216 (Fig.5)).
Regarding claim 14, Miranda teaches the cooking appliance, further comprising a supporter (208 in Fig.4-5 and [0049], [0048], [0047]) supporting at least one of the first lighting and the second lighting and coupled to the door, wherein the first lighting and the second lighting includes a light source configured to irradiate light rearward toward the cooking chamber (see in Miranda:
During use, forward surface 267 angle CV may allow camera and lighting to be directed toward articles placed within internal chamber 116.
; wherein the light source of at least one of the first lighting and the second lighting is coupled to the supporter (at least from Fig.4-5).
Regarding claim 17, Miranda teaches the cooking appliance, wherein the supporter includes: a first support 262 supporting the light source disposed in the first lighting; a second support 260 supporting the light source disposed in the second lighting; a third support 258 supporting the camera ([0060]); and
a supporter main body (248, [0047]) supporting the first support, the second support, and the third support and coupled to the door.
Regarding claim 18, Miranda teaches the cooking appliance, further comprising a supporter cover 204 and 206 ([0044], trim panels that partially support the supporter 208) covering the supporter 208 from a rear of the supporter and coupled to the supporter main body, wherein a receiving space 222 ([0062]) is defined between the supporter main body 208 and the supporter cover 204/206;
but does not teach: at least a portion of a cable connected to the camera and the light source of the first lighting and the second lighting, the camera, and the light source of the first lighting and the second lighting are accommodated in the receiving space.
However, throughout its disclosure, Miranda discloses various ways of connecting the front cover in Fig.7 to the back cover of Fig.6 below, by various attaching ways, and with options of forming gaps and projections between the front and back covers ([0059]- [0060]; and [0054], [0059]).
And it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to use well known design techniques of hard wiring the camera, when needed, by placing wiring or cables behind the front cover and placing the wiring and cables in the space between the front and back covers, as shown by arrows below, in order to operate the electronic devices:
Claims 4,5 ,13 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miranda in view of Nakashima (US 20210095862 A1)
Regarding claim 4, Miranda teaches a cooking appliance, wherein the first lighting includes a light source to irradiate light in a direction inclined downward ([0061], [0060] and see rejection in claims 2 and 3 above) but does not teach a diffusion member covering the light source.
However, it is well known in the art to use diffuser before the lighting device in cooking devices. Nakashima teaches this feature in at least [0006] and [0064], [0068] and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to use a diffuser in the path of light, from the teachings of Nakashima, in the device of Miranda, in order to achieve the desired orientation or uniform illumination, by the diffused/scattered light ([0068] in Nakashima).
Regarding claim 5, Miranda in view of Nakashima, teaches the cooking appliance, wherein the diffusion member forms a plane perpendicular to the light irradiating direction of the light source ([0068] in Nakashima, also see rejection in claim 4 above).
Regarding claim 13, Miranda teaches the cooking appliance, wherein the second lighting includes a light source (second lighting 217/219 ([0051] and [0052]) disposed between the camera 220 and the first lighting 216 (Fig.5)).
Miranda further teaches:
The camera may be angled toward an internal chamber of the appliance and may notably be able to achieve a more true-to-life color to the images produced by the camera (as compared to existing systems)
Additionally or alternatively, forward surface 267 may be angled at a non-zero angle (e.g., angle CV in FIG. 9) relative to vertical direction V. During use, forward surface 267 angle CV may allow camera and lighting to be directed toward articles placed within internal chamber 116. Angle of forward surface 267 may be an acute angle. As shown, camera 220 is directed downward in vertical direction V and rearward in transverse direction T by the angle of forward surface 267. In the illustrated embodiments, camera 220 is flush or parallel to forward surface 267
During use, forward surface 267 angle CV may allow camera and lighting to be directed toward articles placed within internal chamber 116.
And that it is configured to irradiate light rearward toward the cooking chamber (see item 3. above), but does not teach a diffusion member forming a plane inclined toward the camera and covering the light source from a rear of the light source.
However, it is well known in the art to use diffuser before the lighting device in cooking devices. Nakashima teaches this feature in at least [0006] and [0064],[0068] and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to use a diffusion member, from the teachings of Nakashima, by forming a plane inclined toward the camera and covering the light source from a rear of the light source, by routine experimentation, in the device of Miranda, in order to achieve the desired orientation by the diffused/scattered light ([0068] in Nakashima).
Regarding claim 15, Miranda teaches the invention set forth in claim 14 above, but is silent regarding a diffusion member covering the light source disposed in the first lighting from a rear of the light source, wherein the diffusion member forms a plane perpendicular to a light irradiating direction of the light source of the first lighting.
However, it is well known in the art to use diffuser before the lighting device in cooking devices. Nakashima teaches this feature in at least [0006] and [0064],[0068] and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to use a diffusion member, from the teachings of Nakashima, such that the diffusion member forms a plane perpendicular to a light irradiating direction of the light source of the first lighting, in the device of Miranda, in order to achieve the desired orientation by the diffused/scattered light ([0068] in Nakashima).
Regarding claim 16, Miranda teaches the invention set forth in claim 14 above, but is silent regarding a diffusion member covering the light source of the at least one of the first lighting and the second lighting from a rear of the light source; and a supporter cover supporting the diffusion member and coupled to the supporter.
However, using a diffusive member covering the lighting elements is a well known technique in order to scatter the light, and achieve uniform illumination. Miranda teaches the lighting elements in a bare position in Fig. 5, in which the light emitting elements are visible as shown below:
Or in another position wherein the individual elements are covered and are not visible as shown below:
A person of ordinary skill in the art would consider covering the individual lighting elements of the top Figure, with a diffusive cover, such that it appears as the bottom Figure.
Furthermore, in the same field of endeavor, Nakashima teaches a diffuser 170 (Fig.14 and 13; [0064]). and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to use a diffuser in the path of light, from the teachings of Nakashima, in the device of Miranda, such that supporter cover (260,262 in Fig.7) supporting the diffusion member and coupled to the supporter 208 (in Miranda) in order to achieve the desired orientation by the diffused/scattered light ([0068] in Nakashima).
Other art
US 20160033194 A1-with camera 18 and image capturing light 19
US 20170234602 A1-with camera 162 and light emitter 164
CN 210197365 U-with camera 3 and light emitter 4
WO 2023007895 A1-with light source 66 adjacent camera 62
JP 2019143965 A-with camera 18 and imaging light 19
Response to Arguments
The arguments filed by the Applicant on 12/15/25 is acknowledged but are not found to be persuasive. Miranda explicitly teaches the light sources as claimed, except the orientation that is within the level of skill in the art as the particular position claimed by Applicant is nothing more than one of numerous positions that a person having ordinary skill in the art will find obvious to provide using routine experimentation based on its suitability for the intended use of the invention.
Further even more, Examiner respectfully presents the following other prior art that disclose the orientation of the light sources close to cameras.
WO 2022048564 A1 explicitly discloses lateral positioning of the light source adjacent the camera: In some such embodiments, the light source 316 is spaced horizontally (eg, laterally or laterally) from the camera module 310.
US 20160033194 A1-with camera 18 and image capturing light 19
US 20170234602 A1-with camera 162 and light emitter 164
CN 210197365 U-with camera 3 and light emitter 4
WO 2023007895 A1-with light source 66 adjacent camera 62
JP 2019143965 A-with camera 18 and imaging light 19.
Regarding 18, the arguments are not found to be persuasive:
Miranda’s main body 248 and back bracket 215 in Figure above is analogous supporter 140 and supporter main body 141 of Applicant’s invention.
Wherein wiring is accommodated within the supporter cover and the supporter in order to light the light emitter.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/Fatima N Farokhrooz/
Examiner, Art Unit 2875