DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 22nd, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that tabs 68 and 70 are not “positioned in one of the plurality of slots”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees with this assertion. The tabs must be within the slot for the slots to be resiliently deformed for resiliently holding the crossbar adapter as outlined in paragraph 21 of Ryall. The tabs must be within the slot as the slot is dimensioned to house the crossbar and the tabs resiliently deform as outlined above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8-14 and 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ryall et al. (US 2009/0078096).
Regarding claim 1, Ryall et al. discloses an adapter for an orthopedic reamer (50, figure 3) comprising a main body (52) having a recess (see figure below) and a plurality of slots (see figure below) communicating with the recess; and at least a first spring (68/70, ¶21) coupled to the main body and positioned in one of the plurality of slots (figure 3), wherein the first spring is configured to engage a cross-member (e.g. 74, 76) of a reamer head (e.g. 72, ¶21) and force the cross-member to engage with a part of the main body that forms the one of the plurality of slots (¶21, figure 4).
Regarding claim 2, Ryall et al. disclose the first spring is formed from the main body (figure 3).
Regarding claim 3, Ryall et al. disclose the first spring and the main body are an integral single piece component (figure 3).
Regarding claim 4, Ryall et al. disclose the at least the first spring comprises at least two springs (68, 70) that are spaced from one another and each positioned in different of the plurality of slots (figures 3-4).
Regarding claim 5, Ryall et al. disclose the plurality of slots comprise four slots equidistantly spaced about a centerline (see figure below) of the adapter with each slot having a respective one of the at least the first spring (figures 3-4).
Regarding claim 8, Ryall et al. disclose a coupling feature (see figure below) for connecting the adapter to one of a shaft or a robotic arm.
Regarding claim 9, Ryall et al. disclose a reamer head (72) having a first cross-member (74) and a second cross-member (76), wherein the second cross-member is received in additional of the plurality of slots (figure 4).
Regarding claim 10, Ryall et al. disclose the first cross-member and the second cross- member intersect within the recess (figure 4).
Regarding claim 11, Ryall et al. disclose the at least the first spring is formed from the main body and is an integral single piece component with the main body (figure 3).
Regarding claim 12, Ryall et al. disclose the at least the first spring comprises at least two springs 68’s and 70’s) that are spaced from one another and each positioned in different of the plurality of slots (figures 3-4).
Regarding claim 13, Ryall et al. disclose the at least the at least the first spring has a plurality of bends (see figure below) and a plurality of sections (see figure below), and wherein the at least the first spring has an engagement arm (78/80) configured to engage the first cross-member.
Regarding claim 14, Ryall et al. disclose the first cross-member and the second cross- member extend in orthogonal directions and each are engaged by different respective ones of the at least the first spring (figure 4).
Regarding claim 21, Ryall et al. disclose an adapter for an orthopedic reamer (50, figure 3) comprising a main body (52) having a recess (see figure above) and a plurality of slots (see figure above) communicating with the recess; at least a first spring (68, 70) coupled to the main body and positioned in one of the plurality of slots, wherein the first spring is configured to engage a cross-member (e.g. 74/76) of a reamer head (72) and force the cross-member to engage with a part of the main body that forms the one of the plurality of slots (¶21) a reamer head (72) having a first cross-member (74) and a second cross-member (76), wherein the adapter is configured to engage with a first cross-member (e.g. 74) of an instrument head (e.g. 72) and force the first cross- member to engage with a part of the adapter that forms one of a plurality of slots within the adapter (¶21, figure 4).
Regarding claim 22, Ryall et al. disclose the second cross-member is received in additional of the plurality of slots (figure 4).
Regarding claim 23, Ryall et al. disclose the first cross-member and the second cross- member intersect within the recess (figure 4).
Regarding claim 24, Ryall et al. disclose the at least the first spring is formed from the main body and is an integral single piece component with the main body (figure 3). Regarding claim 25, Ryall et al. disclose the at least the first spring comprises at least two springs (68, 70) that are spaced from one another and each positioned in different of the plurality of slots (Figure 4).
Claims 1 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Clements et al. (US 2009/0288219).
Regarding claim 1, Clements et al. disclose an adapter for an orthopedic reamer comprising a main body (402) having a recess (420) and a plurality of slots (314 + see figure below) communicating with the recess; and at least a first spring (316, ¶49-50) coupled to the main body and positioned in one of the plurality of slots (figures 3-5D), wherein the first spring is configured to engage a cross-member (e.g. 154/304) of a reamer head (e.g. 206) and force the cross-member to engage with a part of the main body that forms the one of the plurality of slots (¶49-50).
Regarding claim 6, Clements et al. disclose the first spring has a plurality of bends (430’s) and a plurality of sections (466, figure 4D).
Regarding claim 7, Clements et al. disclose the first spring has an engagement arm (320/464) configured to engage the cross-member.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW J LAWSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619