DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 11, 13, 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Application No. US 2020/0286747A1 to Trindade et al. (hereinafter “Trindade”).
Regarding claim 1, Trindade discloses a micro-optical component, comprising: a micro-substrate (50 in Fig. 2); a micro-optical element (58 or 56 in Fig. 2) disposed on the micro-substrate; and a stand-off (58 or 54 in Fig. 2) disposed on the micro-substrate or the micro-optical element in a separate plane from the micro-substrate (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 2, Trindade discloses wherein the stand-off at least partially enclose the micro-optical element (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Trindade discloses wherein the stand-off extends from the micro-substrate a distance that is no less than the distance the micro-optical element extends from the micro-substrate (clearly shown in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Trindade discloses wherein the stand-off extends in multiple different directions or wherein the micro-optical element comprises (i) a substrate side disposed on the micro-substrate (i.e. portion of 58 towards element 50; or portion of 56 facing 50 shown in Fig. 2) and (ii) a stand-off side different from the substrate side adjacent to the stand-off (i.e. portion of 58 facing 54; or portion of 56 facing 54 as shown in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Trindade discloses wherein the micro-optical element is completely enclosed by the at least the stand-off and the micro-substrate (clearly shown in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6, Trindade discloses a plurality of stand-offs (58, 54, or 20 in Fig. 2; see also paragraph [0034]), each of the stand-offs independently disposed on the micro-substrate or micro-optical element in a separate plane from the micro-substrate (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Trindade discloses wherein the stand-off extends at least partially around a perimeter of the micro-substrate and/or perimeter of the micro-optical element (Fig. 2; paragraph [0034]).
Regarding claim 8, Trindade discloses wherein the stand-off is in direct contact with the micro-optical element (i.e. 58 and 56 are in direct contact in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9, Trindade discloses wherein the micro-substrate is rectangular and the stand-off is a perimeter wall on one, two, three, or four sides of the micro-substrate (paragraph [0034]).
Regarding claim 11, Trindade discloses at least a portion of a component tether physically attached to the micro-substrate or physically attached to the micro-optical element (18 Fig. 7; paragraph [0046]).
Regarding claim 13, Trindade discloses a micro-optical system comprising a system substrate (i.e. the substrate is not explicitly labeled but clearly present under the space 14 as shown in Fig. 7); one or more micro-optical component according to claim 1 (52 in Fig. 7) disposed on the system substrate, wherein each of the one or more micro-optical component is non-native to the system substrate (i.e. 50 is not integrally formed with the system substrate as shown in Fig. 7; See also paragraph [0046]).
Regarding claim 21, Trindade discloses a light-generating element or light-responsive element disposed on a side of the stand-off or at least one ofc the one or more micro-optical components (i.e. element 20 in Fig. 2 is described as comprising one of many active or passive optical elements including LED or sensor- paragraph [0040]).
Regarding claims 22-23, Trindade discloses wherein the stand-off of at least one of the one or more micro-optical component is substantially transparent or opaque to light modified by the micro-optical element (i.e. element 20 in Fig. 2 is described as comprising one of many active or passive optical elements including SiO2 which is transparent, or metals or oxides which are opaque or reflects light- see paragraph [0040]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10, 12, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trindade.
Regarding claim 10, Trindade discloses a micro-optical component according to claim 1 as discussed above. Although Trindade discloses a micro-optical component that is a piezo electric MEMs element, it does not explicitly disclose that this component has a thickness no greater than 250 microns as claimed. On the other hand, such very thin piezo electric micro-optical component with thickness less than 250 microns is well known common in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would readily recognize the advantage of micro-optical component having thickness no greater than 250 microns, since such thickness allows for compact and energy efficient optoelectronic device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the present application to modify the device of Trindade to have micro-optical component with thickness no greater than 250 microns as claimed in the present application.
Regarding claim 12, Trindade discloses a micro-optical component according to claim 1 as discussed above. Although Trindade discloses the use of a component tether, it does not explicitly disclose that the component tether is a broken or separated component tether as claimed in the present application. On the other hand, broken or separated component tether is well known and common in the micro-optical component art. Such broken or separated component tether allows for the printed or deposited micro-optical component to be separated from a sacrificial substrate such that the micro-optical component can be moved to a desired optoelectronic device package of a given use case. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the present application to modify the device of Trindade to have a micro-optical component wherein the component tether is a broken or separated component tether as claimed in the present application.
Regarding claim 24, Trindade discloses a micro-optical component according to claim 1 as discussed above. However, Trindade does not explicitly disclose the stand-off and the micro-optical element, or the stand-off and the micro-substrate being unitary as claimed in the present application. On the other hand, making various optical elements unitary or integral is well known and common in the micro-optical component art. Such integral or unitary components would have been readily recognized as advantageous and desirable to one of ordinary skill in the art since it would allow for structurally more robust micro-optical elements that are less susceptible to environmental factors and requires less manufacturing steps. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the present application to modify the device of Trindade to have the stand-off and the micro-optical element, or the stand-off and the micro-substrate being unitary as claimed in the present application.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: as discussed above a micro-optical system comprising a system substrate, and a micro-optical component comprising a micro-substrate, a micro-optical element disposed thereon, a stand-off disposed on the micro substrate or micro-optical element in a separate plane from the micro-substrate is known in the art. However, none of the prior art fairly teaches or suggests such a micro-optical system further comprising plurality of micro-optical components within the micro-optical system, in the manner claimed in claims 14-20 of the present application. There is no credible reasons why, or more importantly how, one of ordinary skill in the art would modify the prior art devices, including the invention of Trindade, to have plurality of micro-optical components in the manner claimed in the present application.
Conclusion
/SUNG H PAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874