Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,2,4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fukuzono (PG Pub 2007/0194464 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Fukuzono teaches a component-embedded structure for warpage suppression, comprising: a first frame (14, fig. 3); a second frame (16) disposed within the first frame; at least one component (13) disposed within the second frame, wherein the first frame has a greater height than that of the second frame; and an insulating material (epoxy 15, paragraph [0047]) filled between the first frame and the second frame, and between the second frame and the component.
Regarding claim 2, Fukuzono teaches the component-embedded structure for warpage suppression as claimed in claim 1, wherein there is a space between the first frame and the second frame (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 4, Fukuzono teaches the component-embedded structure for warpage suppression as claimed in claim 1, wherein there is a space between the second frame and the component (fig. 3).
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mori (PG Pub 2016/0105980 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Mori teaches a component-embedded structure for warpage suppression, comprising: a first frame (topmost layer of 4, fig. 2); a first ladder (middle layer of 4) adjacent to the first frame, wherein the first frame has a greater height than that of the first ladder, and the first frame has corresponding grooves (filled by 11); and at least one component (2) disposed within the first frame and the first ladder.
Regarding claim 9, Mori teaches the component-embedded structure for warpage suppression as claimed in claim 8, wherein the corresponding grooves have the same height (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 10, Mori teaches the component-embedded structure for warpage suppression as claimed in claim 9, wherein the grooves are located above the component (fig. 2).
Claim(s) 8,9,11,12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi et al (PG Pub 2013/0154085 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Choi teaches a component-embedded structure for warpage suppression, comprising: a first frame (442 and portion directly below it, figs. 4 and 5); a first ladder (442) adjacent to the first frame, wherein the first frame has a greater height than that of the first ladder, and the first frame has corresponding grooves (462); and at least one component (412) disposed within the first frame and the first ladder.
Regarding claim 9, Mori teaches the component-embedded structure for warpage suppression as claimed in claim 8, wherein the corresponding grooves have the same height (fig. 4).
Regarding claim 11, Mori teaches the component-embedded structure for warpage suppression as claimed in claim 9, wherein the grooves extend downward beyond the component (fig. 4).
Regarding claim 12, Mori teaches the component-embedded structure for warpage suppression as claimed in claim 9, wherein the grooves are concave arc (fig. 4) or concave square.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen (PG Pub 2014/0167243 A1) and Chen et al (PG Pub 2025/0006572 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shen teaches a component-embedded structure for warpage suppression, comprising: a first frame (200, fig. 6); at least one component (100); and an encapsulating material (400).
Shen does not teach the encapsulating material to be insulating.
It would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make the encapsulating material 400 insulating, for the known benefit of avoiding shorting interconnects under the component.
Shen does not teach a second frame.
In the same field of endeavor, Chen teaches a second frame (130b, fig. 6) disposed within the first frame (130a), for the benefit of improving heat dissipation (paragraph [0078]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to dispose a second frame within the first frame, for the benefit of improving heat dissipation.
Shen in view of Chen teaches the “at least one component disposed within the second frame, wherein the first frame has a greater height than that of the second frame” and the “insulating material filled between the first frame and the second frame, and between the second frame and the component.”
Regarding claim 3, Shen in view of Chen teaches the component-embedded structure for warpage suppression as claimed in claim 1, wherein the insulating material covers the second frame and the component (fig. 6 of Shen and fig. 6 of Chen), and the insulating material has a height equal to the height of the first frame.
Claim(s) 5-7 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen (PG Pub 2014/0167243 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Shen teaches a component-embedded structure for warpage suppression, comprising: a first frame (taller portion of 260, fig. 6B); a first ladder (shorter portion of 260) adjacent to the first frame, wherein the first frame has a greater height than that of the first ladder; at least one component (100) disposed within the first frame and the first ladder; and an encapsulating material (440) filled between the first frame and the component.
Shen does not teach the encapsulating material to be insulating.
It would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make the encapsulating material 440 insulating, for the known benefit of avoiding shorting interconnects under the component.
Regarding claim 6, Shen teaches the component-embedded structure for warpage suppression as claimed in claim 5, wherein the insulating material covers the first ladder and the component, and the insulating material has a height equal to the height of the first frame (fig. 6B).
Regarding claim 7, Shen teaches the component-embedded structure for warpage suppression as claimed in claim 5, wherein there is a space between the first ladder and the component (fig. 6B).
Regarding claim 13, Shen teaches (see claim 5) a component-embedded structure for warpage suppression, comprising: a first frame; a first ladder adjacent to the first frame, wherein the first frame has a greater height than that of the first ladder, and the first ladder is located inside a part of the first frame; at least one component disposed within the first frame and the first ladder; and an insulating material filled between the first frame and the component.
Regarding claim 14, Shen teaches the component-embedded structure for warpage suppression as claimed in claim 13, wherein the insulating material covers the first ladder and the component, and the insulating material has a height equal to the height of the first frame (fig. 6B).
Regarding claim 15, Shen teaches the component-embedded structure for warpage suppression as claimed in claim 13, wherein there is a space between the first ladder and the component (fig. 6B).
Conclusion
/FEIFEI YEUNG LOPEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899