DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant's submission filed on June 4th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 2 and 5 have been canceled. Claims 1, 3-4, and 6-10 remain pending in the application. Claims 1 and 3 are currently amended. Claims 9-10 are newly added. Applicant's amendments to the claims have overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 previously set forth in the Final Office Action mailed March 11th, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morise (US 6,572,041) in view of Amano (US 5,848,757), hereinafter Amano ‘757.
Figure 1. Annotated Figure 5 from Morise
Regarding Claim 1, Morise, Figures 1-5 and annotated Figure 1 above, teaches fishing spinning reel comprising:
a rotor 3 rotated by a winding operation of a handle 1 (See Morise, Col. 6, Ln. 18-21);
a bail support member 8 attached to a support arm 5 of the rotor 3, and supporting a bail 13 (See Morise, Col. 6, Ln. 40-52); and
a line roller 12 supported by the bail support member 8 (See Morise, Col. 6, Ln. 60-64), and guiding a fishing line to a spool 4 around which the fishing line is wound and held (See Morise, Col. 9, Ln. 3-5); and a line slider 11 supporting one end of the bail 13, and guiding the fishing line picked up by the bail 13 to the line roller 12 (See Morise, Col. 8, Ln. 21-23), wherein
an outer surface 36 of the bail support member 8 is opposite to a side to which the line roller 12 is attached, and
the outer surface 36 includes an external inclined surface 36c at the region where the line roller 12 is projected on the outer surface 36 of the bail support member 8 opposite to a side to which the line roller 12 is attached (See Morise, Col. 7, Ln. 6-17),
the outer surface 36 includes a curved surface 36d that is continuous with an end of the external inclined surface 36c (See Morise, Col. 7, Ln. 17-27),
a first reference plane is vertical and includes a central axis of the rotor 3,
a second reference plane includes a central axis of the line roller 12, and
the external inclined surface 36c is inclined from a proximal end side 8a of the bail support member 8 toward a distal end side 8b of the bail support member 8 to approach an inner surface side 8c of the bail support member 8 when viewed orthogonal to the second reference plane in a state where the bail support member 8 is disposed such that the first reference plane and the second reference plane are parallel (this view is shown in Morise, Fig. 5).
Morise teaches all the elements of the fishing spinning reel except for the outer surface being continuous over a region where the line roller is projected at an end portion of a tip side of the bail support member.
Figure 2. Annotated Figure 2 from Amano '757
However, Amano ‘757, Figures 1-3 and annotated Figure 2 above, teaches wherein an outer surface 3a of the bail support member 3 opposite to a side 3b to which the line roller 8 is attached is continuous over a region 3c where the line roller 8 is projected at an end portion of a tip side 3d of the bail support member 3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Morise with an outer surface which is continuous over all of a region where the line roller is projected at an end portion of a tip side of the bail support member, as taught by Amano ‘757, for the purpose of increasing device reliability (i.e., preventing fishing line snags, snarls, and entanglements around the bail support member where interruptions in continuity exist in the outer surface of the bail support member, such as the edge of a recessed hole which accommodates the head of a screw).
Regarding Claim 4, Morise in view of Amano ‘757 are advanced above.
Figure 3. Annotated Figure 5 from Morise
Morise, annotated Figure 3 above, teaches wherein a first reference line L1 is parallel to a central axis C1 of the line slider 11 and passes through a joint point P between the line slider 11 and the bail 13 when viewed orthogonal to the second reference plane, and
the external inclined surface 36c extends toward the distal end side 8b of the bail support member 8 with an intersection point P1 between the first reference line L1 and the outer surface 36 of the bail support member 8 as a starting point.
Regarding Claim 6, Morise in view of Amano ‘757 are advanced above.
Morise further teaches wherein the bail support member 8 comprises a bail leg portion 31’ rotatably attached to the support arm 5, and a support portion 32 continuous with the bail leg portion 31’ and supporting the line roller 12 (See Morise, Col. 6, Ln. 60-67), and
an inner portion 33a having a curved recess shape is in the bail leg portion 31’ on a side facing the spool 4 in a bottom view orthogonal to a rotation axis of the bail support member 8 and the support arm 5 (See Figure 3 above).
Although Morise does not explicitly teach a radius of curvature of the inner portion in a range 10 to 20 mm, Morise discloses a dimensional relationship of the curvature of the inner portion of the bail support member relative to a reference point located at the junction between the bail and line slider for the purpose of preventing and/or remedying entanglements of the fishing line occurring near the bail support member as the fishing reel is operated (See Morise, Col. 7, Ln. 6-27). Because the importance of the radius of curvature is highlighted, determining the preferred range for the radius of curvature to achieve smooth operation of the fishing line would be a part of routine optimization. Depending on the size of the reel and the location of the reference point, the radius of curvature for the inner portion could be designed to fall within the 10 to 20 mm range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a curved bail leg portion with an inner portion having a particular radius of curvature, as taught by Morise, for the purpose of preventing fishing line snags, snarls, and entanglements around the bail support member (See Morise, Col. 7, Ln. 28-37).
Regarding Claim 7, Morise in view of Amano ‘757 are advanced above.
Amano ‘757 further teaches a hood portion 10’ partially covering the line roller 8 integrally formed on the bail support member 3 (See Figure 2 above; See Amano ‘757, Col. 2, Ln. 33-36),
wherein the hood portion 10’ extends from a bail support member 3 side toward the line slider 6 (See Figure 2 above; See Amano ‘757, Col. 2, Ln. 33-36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Morise with a hood portion, as taught by Amano ‘757, for the purpose of increasing device reliability (i.e., preventing fishing line snags, snarls, and entanglements by providing a continuous surface which shields the fishing line from entering the line roller at location more likely to cause entanglements).
Regarding Claim 8, Morise in view of Amano ‘757 are advanced above.
Amano ‘757 further teaches an engagement portion 6a with which an extension end 9 of the hood portion 10’ engages is on the line slider 6 (See Figure 2 above; See Amano ‘757, Col. 2, Ln. 33-36),
wherein the extension end 9 of the hood portion 10’ protrudes outward from an outer peripheral surface 6b of the line slider 6 in a radial direction in a state where the extension end 9 is engaged with the engagement portion 6a (See Figure 2 above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Morise with an engagement portion, as taught by Amano ‘757, for the purpose of increasing device reliability (i.e., preventing fishing line snags, snarls, and entanglements by providing a smooth transition between the hood portion of the bail support member and the line slider).
Regarding Claim 9, Morise in view of Amano ‘757 are advanced above.
Morise further teaches wherein a first reference line L1 is parallel to a central axis C1 of the line slider 11 and passes through a joint point P between the line slider 11 and the bail 13 when viewed orthogonal to the second reference plane (See Figure 3 above),
and the external inclined surface 36c extends from an intersection point P1 between the first reference line L1 and the outer surface 36 of the bail support member 8 and beyond an intersection point P2 with the central axis C1 (See Figure 3 above).
Claims 3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morise (US 6,572,041) in view of Amano ‘757 (US 5,848,757) and Amano (US 5,845,858), hereinafter Amano ‘858.
Regarding Claim 3, Morise in view of Amano ‘757 teach a fishing spinning reel comprising:
a rotor rotated by a winding operation of a handle;
a bail support member attached to a support arm of the rotor, and supporting a bail; and
a line roller supported by the bail support member, and guiding a fishing line to a spool around which the fishing line is wound and held; and a line slider supporting one end of the bail, and guiding the fishing line picked up by the bail to the line roller, wherein
an outer surface of the bail support member opposite to a side to which the line roller is attached is continuous over a region where the line roller is projected at an end portion of a tip side of the bail support member,
the outer surface includes an external inclined surface at the region where the line roller is projected on the outer surface of the bail support member opposite to the side to which the line roller is attached, and
the outer surface includes a curved surface that is continuous with the external inclined surface,
a first reference plane is vertical and includes a central axis of the rotor,
a second reference plane includes a central axis of the line roller, and
the external inclined surface is inclined from a proximal end side of the bail support member toward a distal end side of the bail support member to approach an inner surface side of the bail support member when viewed orthogonal to the second reference plane in a state where the bail support member is disposed such that the first reference plane and the second reference plane are parallel.
The above limitations of claim 3 are within the scope of the limitations taught by Morise in view of Amano ‘757 in the rejection of claim 1. See the rejection of claim 1 above for reference citations and obviousness justification.
Morise in view of Amano ‘757 teach all the elements of the fishing spinning reel except for a side inclined surface.
Figure 4. Annotated Figure 1 from Amano '858
However, Amano ‘858, Figures 1-9 and annotated Figure 4 above, teaches wherein the outer surface 100 includes a side inclined surface 101 in a region 102 where the line roller 9 is projected on the outer surface 100 of the bail support member 7 on a side away from the spool 5 when the bail support member 7 is viewed in a central axis direction of the line slider 103, and
the side inclined surface 101 is inclined to approach a spool side as the side inclined surface 101 extends from the proximal end side 7b of the bail support member 7 toward the distal end side 7d of the bail support member 7 (See Amano ‘858, Col. 3, Ln. 63 - Col. 4, Ln. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Morise with a side inclined surface, as taught by Amano ‘858, for the purpose of increasing device reliability (i.e., preventing fishing line entanglements around the bail support member) (See Amano ‘858, Col. 2, Ln. 8-22).
Regarding Claim 10, Morise in view of Amano ‘757 and Amano ‘858 are advanced above.
Morise further teaches wherein a first reference line is parallel to a central axis of the line slider and passes through a joint point between the line slider and the bail when viewed orthogonal to the second reference plane, and
the external inclined surface extends from an intersection point between the first reference line and the outer surface of the bail support member and beyond an intersection point with the central axis.
The above limitations of claim 10 are within the scope of the limitations taught by Morise in the rejection of claim 9. See the rejection of claim 9 above for reference citations and obviousness justification.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see Pg. 6-9, filed June 4th, 2026, have been fully considered.
Regarding the rejection of Claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103, Applicant has amended the claim. The amendments are sufficient to overcome the previously set forth rejection. Therefore, this rejection has been withdrawn. However, a new ground of rejection has been set forth under 35 U.S.C. 103 based on the amended claim.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Morise in view of Amano ‘757 are utilized in the current rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 (See Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 above).
Regarding the rejection of Claim 3 under 35 U.S.C. 103, Applicant has amended the claim. The amendments are sufficient to overcome the previously set forth rejection. Therefore, this rejection has been withdrawn. However, a new ground of rejection has been set forth under 35 U.S.C. 103 based on the amended claim.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 3 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Morise in view of Amano ‘757 and Amano ‘858 are utilized in the current rejection of claim 3 under 35 U.S.C. 103 (See Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 above).
Regarding the rejections of Claims 4 and 6-8, the claims are dependents of rejected claim 1 and Applicant has provided no additional arguments. Therefore, these claims are also rejected based on the new ground of rejection presented above.
Regarding newly added Claim 9, the claim is a dependent of rejected claim 1, and Applicant’s arguments regarding the cited art as it applies to claim 1, are moot. Additionally, a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 has been made for additional limitations outlined in claim 9.
Regarding newly added Claim 10, the claim is a dependent of rejected claim 3, and Applicant’s arguments regarding the cited art as it applies to claim 3, are moot. Additionally, a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 has been made for additional limitations outlined in claim 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Such references include disclosures illustrating and describing configurations which are pertinent to the following limitations:
“an outer surface of the bail support member opposite to a side to which the line roller is attached is continuous over a region where the line roller is projected at an end portion of a tip side of the bail support member,
the outer surface includes an external inclined surface at the region where the line roller is projected on the outer surface of the bail support member opposite to the side to which the line roller is attached, and
the outer surface includes a curved surface that is continuous with the external inclined surface,
a first reference plane is vertical and includes a central axis of the rotor,
a second reference plane includes a central axis of the line roller, and
the external inclined surface is inclined from a proximal end side of the bail support member toward a distal end side of the bail support member to approach an inner surface side of the bail support member when viewed orthogonal to the second reference plane in a state where the bail support member is disposed such that the first reference plane and the second reference plane are parallel,” (Claims 1 and 3).
US 6,149,088, newly cited on form PTO-892
The outer surface includes a curved surface that is continuous with the external inclined surface, See Figures 3-4
EP 0681784 A2, previously cited on IDS submitted July 11th, 2024
The outer surface includes an external inclined surface, See Figures 99-102
US 7,222,809, previously cited on form PTO-892 mailed on March 11, 2026
The outer surface includes a curved surface, See Figures 2 and 4
/T.D.J./Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/Victoria P Augustine/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654