DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 1-18 and 20 in the reply filed on January 26, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 19 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on January 26, 2026.
Claim Interpretation
The terms High and Low pressure are relative terms, but as the high-pressure has been defined in the specification and claim 1, as pressure of more than 10 MPa, then Low Pressure has been interpreted as pressure lower than 10 MPa.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3 and 10 are vague and indefinite, because alternative ranges, i.e., ranges separated by the linking term/word “or,” the narrow range(s) is/are interpreted as “preferred” and it has been held that a broad range or limitation followed by linking terms (e.g., preferably, maybe, for instance, especially) and a narrow range or limitation within the broad range or limitation is considered indefinite since the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. It can also be interpreted as “for example” and it has also been held that the phrase "for example" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 9-10, 12, 14-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maksimow, United State Patent No. 6,675,702 B1.
With regard to claims 1, 9-10, 12, 14-15, 17-18 and 20, Maksimow discloses a method of making a web fibrous material, a non-woven or paper products (reading on claim 17); see column 6, lines 56-67, by the dry-laying process (column 2, lines 46-48 and column 7, lines 55-59), where the dry web, non-woven, is pressed between two rolls, (reading on clam 14); see figures 1, 2, and 5-7 and column 2, lines 21-25, the rolls including a plurality of protrusion (reading on claim 15); see Figures 1, 2 and 5-7 and paragraph bridging columns 2 and 3, where a low and high pressure zones are formed on the web, the non-woven web; see column 2, line 12 through column 3, line 10. The high pressure zone(s) is/are created on the web by the pressure exerted by the protrusions on the web (reading on claim 9), said pressure being more than 10 MPa, since Maksimow teaches pressure between 250-600 MPa (reading on claims 1, 18 and 20); see column 2, lines 28-32 and a low-pressure zone is created between the high-pressure zone, the space between two protrusions; the zones are shown on figure 2, numeral (17) represents the high pressure zone and numeral (19) the low-pressure zone; see also column 6, lines 34-55. Note claim 20 is a product by process claims and Maksimow teaches the formation of product made using the same cellulosic fibers and the same process and thus the reference anticipates the claim. Maksimow also teaches that the high pressure zones are created with area between 0.05 mm2 to 10 mm2, which falls within the range of claims 2 and 3; see column 3, lines 13-15. Maksimow teaches also the height of the protrusions between 0.5 mm to 15 mm, which falls within the range of claim 10; see column 10, lines 9-10. Maksimow also teaches that the rolls can have high pressure zones, such that an embossed pattern is formed (reading on claim 12), see column 5, lines 29-37. Maksimow teaches that strength agents can be added to the web; see column 6, lines 8-33, which teaches that additives can be added and dimensioned to desire tear strength and thus reading on claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-8, 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maksimow, cited above.
Maksimow teachings have been discussed above. Maksimow is silent with regard to the different variables of the method, i.e., the distance of the between the adjacent high pressure zones of claim 4, the more than one high pressure zones of claim 5, the area share of claims 6 and 7, nor the pressure exerted by the low-pressure zone of claim 8, the use of membrane as part of the support element of claim 11, nor the second support element is flexible of claim 13.
With regard to claims 4-7, these claims recite variables of the process that can be optimized to obtain desired property/properties of the formed product, e.g., the number of the pressure zone can be adjusted to increase the strength or soften the web. The same can be said for the other recited limitation, e.g., the area of the web that are compressed is within the levels of ordinary skill in the art for the same reason(s) indicated above and thus considered obvious absent a showing of unexpected results.
Regarding to claim 8, while Maksimow teaches that there are area that are not compressed as high as the high-compressed zones, the fluffy zones (19); see column 8, lines 53-57, Maksimow, however, does not teach the pressure at those points/zones, but choosing the pressure at the non-compressed zones is within eth level of ordinary skill in the art and considered obvious absent a showing of unexpected results.
With regard to claims 11 and 13, the use of membrane calender1 rolls with a flexible support roll is known in art2 and its use would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure in the art of “Method and Machine for Producing a Fibrous Web.”
/JOSE A FORTUNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748
JAF
1 Membrane or belt calenders in papermaking patents typically feature a flexible, endless belt (membrane) that forms a long, extended nip with a heatable roll, replacing traditional hard-roll nips to improve bulk and surface smoothness. Key patent developments focus on using these, particularly for soft tissue paper, to apply long-nip, low-pressure calendering for increased softness.
2 See for example United State Patent Nos. 6,397,739 B1; 6,712,930 B2, just to mention a couple.