DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Na (US 20210368869) in view of Jordan (US 20160374397).
Regarding claim 1, Na teaches a power supply unit of an aerosol generating device (figure 4 item 50 shows an aerosol generating device, an electronic cigarette including a power supply unit), comprising:
a power supply (figure 4 shows a power supply item 56 as a battery);
a first circuit substrate (figure 6 shows a first substrate item 100a a control circuit module package);
a second circuit substrate (figure 6 shows a second substrate item 100b a control circuit module package);
a first cable connecting the first circuit substrate and the second circuit substrate (figure 6 shows a cable item 82. Paragraph [0100] discloses wiring in-between circuit control module packages items 100a-100d connecting the circuit); and
wherein a shortest distance between an edge of the second circuit substrate closest to the second connector and the second connector is longer than a shortest distance between a center of the second circuit substrate and the second connector (figure 6 shows a cable item 82. Paragraph [0100] discloses wiring in-between circuit control module packages items 100a-100d connecting the circuit which is the shortest distance in-between as they connected from center to center).
Na does not explicitly teach a first connector to which a load configured to generate aerosol from an aerosol source by consuming electric power supplied from the power supply or a coil configured to transmit electric power to the load by electromagnetic induction is connected; a second connector which is mounted on the second circuit substrate and to which the first cable is connected.
Jordan teaches a first connector to which a load configured to generate aerosol from an aerosol source by consuming electric power supplied from the power supply or a coil configured to transmit electric power to the load by electromagnetic induction is connected; a second connector which is mounted on the second circuit substrate and to which the first cable is connected (figure 7 and paragraph [0126] shows circuits item 502 and 512 connected via first and second connectors or interfaces items 701a-701b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of Na reference with the charging system of the Jordan reference so that the power consumption may be reduced when necessary.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Jordan reference in paragraph [0009] wherein power consumption may be reduced when necessary.
Na Figure 6 shows a first substrate 100a and a second substrate 100b connected together by wirings 82
Jordan figure 7 item shows circuits items 502 and 515 connected together by connectors or interfaces 701a-107c
Regarding claim 2, Na teaches the power supply unit of the aerosol generation device according to claim 1, wherein the first cable is connected to the second connector from a width direction of the second circuit substrate (figure 6 shows a cable item 82. Paragraph [0100] discloses wiring in-between circuit control module packages items 100a-100d connecting the circuit from a width direction of the second circuit in-between as they connected from center to center).
Regarding claim 3, Na teaches the power supply unit of the aerosol generating device according to claim 1, further comprising: an electronic component mounted on the second circuit substrate and having a larger height from the second circuit substrate than the second connector, wherein the electronic component is not disposed between the first circuit substrate and the second connector in a length direction of the second circuit substrate (figures 1-3, show electronic components mounted a second substrate item 100b. Figures 1 -3 show the circuit substrate having a larger height from the second circuit substrate than the second connector, wherein the electronic component is not disposed between the first circuit substrate and the second connector in a length direction of the second circuit substrate).
Regarding claim 4, Na teaches the power supply unit of the aerosol generating device according to claim 1, further comprising: an electronic component mounted on the second circuit substrate and having a larger height from the second circuit substrate than the second connector, wherein the first circuit substrate, the second connector, and the electronic component are arranged in order of the first circuit substrate, the second connector, and the electronic component in a length direction of the second circuit substrate (Figures 1-3, 6, and 7 showing an electronic component mounted on the second circuit substrate and having a larger height from the second circuit substrate than the second connector, wherein the first circuit substrate, the second connector, and the electronic component are arranged in order of the first circuit substrate, the second connector, and the electronic component in a length direction of the second circuit substrate).
Regarding claim 5, Na teaches the power supply unit of the aerosol generating device according to claim 1, further comprising: wherein the first circuit substrate, the power supply, the third connector, and the second connector are arranged in order of the first circuit substrate, the power supply, the third connector, and the second connector in a length direction of the second circuit substrate (figures 1 – 3, 6 and 7 teaches wherein the first circuit substrate, the power supply, the third connector, and the second connector are arranged in order of the first circuit substrate, the power supply, the third connector, and the second connector in a length direction of the second circuit substrate).
Na does not explicitly teach a third connector mounted on the second circuit substrate and connected to the power supply.
Jordan teaches a third connector mounted on the second circuit substrate and connected to the power supply (figure 7 and paragraph [0126] shows circuits item 502 and 512 connected via first and second connectors or interfaces items 701a-701b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of Na reference with the charging system of the Jordan reference so that the power consumption may be reduced when necessary.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Jordan reference in paragraph [0009] wherein power consumption may be reduced when necessary.
Regarding claim 6, Na teaches the power supply unit of the aerosol generating device according to claim 5, but does not explicitly teach further comprising: a charging IC having a detection terminal configured to detect a voltage of the power supply and an output terminal configured to output electric power for charging the power supply, wherein the third connector is mounted on one end portion in the length direction of the second circuit substrate, and the detection terminal is closer to the one end portion than the output terminal.
Jordan teaches a charging IC having a detection terminal configured to detect a voltage of the power supply and an output terminal configured to output electric power for charging the power supply, wherein the third connector is mounted on one end portion in the length direction of the second circuit substrate, and the detection terminal is closer to the one end portion than the output terminal (figure 7 shows a voltage monitoring circuit item 705. Figure 7 shows a third connector item 701c).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of Na reference with the charging system of the Jordan reference so that the power consumption may be reduced when necessary.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Jordan reference in paragraph [0009] wherein power consumption may be reduced when necessary.
Regarding claim 7, Na teaches the power supply unit of the aerosol generating device according to claim 6, wherein the second circuit substrate has an A surface and a B surface which is a back surface of the A surface, and the charging IC is mounted on the B surface (figures 1 – 3, 6 and 7 show wherein the second substrate item 100b has an A surface and B surface. Figure 6 shows a plurality of wiring or cables. Figures 1 – 3 show the charging IC mounted on the surface).
Na does not explicitly teach the third connector is mounted on the A surface.
Jordan teaches the third connector is mounted on the A surface (figure 7 shows a voltage monitoring circuit item 705. Figure 7 shows a third connector item 701c).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of Na reference with the charging system of the Jordan reference so that the power consumption may be reduced when necessary.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Jordan reference in paragraph [0009] wherein power consumption may be reduced when necessary.
Regarding claim 8, Na teaches the power supply unit of the aerosol generation device according to claim 7, but does not explicitly teach wherein at least a part of the third connector overlaps the charging IC in a direction orthogonal to the A surface.
Jordan teaches wherein at least a part of the third connector overlaps the charging IC in a direction orthogonal to the A surface (figure 7 shows a third connector orthogonal to the A surface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of Na reference with the charging system of the Jordan reference so that the power consumption may be reduced when necessary.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Jordan reference in paragraph [0009] wherein power consumption may be reduced when necessary.
Regarding claim 9, Na teaches the power supply unit of the aerosol generating device according to claim 5, wherein the second circuit substrate has an A surface and a B surface which is a back surface of the A surface, and the second connector is mounted on the B surface (figures 1 – 3, 6 and 7 show wherein the second substrate item 100b has an A surface and B surface. Figure 6 shows a plurality of wiring or cables. Figures 1 – 3 show the charging IC mounted on the surface).
Na does not explicitly teach the third connector is mounted on the A surface.
Jordan teaches the third connector is mounted on the A surface (figure 7 shows a voltage monitoring circuit item 705. Figure 7 shows a third connector item 701c).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of Na reference with the charging system of the Jordan reference so that the power consumption may be reduced when necessary.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Jordan reference in paragraph [0009] wherein power consumption may be reduced when necessary.
Regarding claim 10, Na teaches the power supply unit of the aerosol generating device according to claim 5, further comprising: a second cable connecting the power supply and the third connector (figures 6 and 7 show a plurality of cables or wiring connecting the substrates); and an insulating spacer provided between the power supply and the second circuit substrate in the length direction of the second circuit substrate, wherein the second cable is connected to the third connector from a width direction of the second circuit substrate (paragraph [0059] teaches wherein the circuit boards are incapsulated in an insulating material, epoxy molding compound. Figures 6 and 7 show a plurality of cables including a second cable).
Jordan teaches a third connector (figure 7 shows a voltage monitoring circuit item 705. Figure 7 shows a third connector item 701c).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of Na reference with the charging system of the Jordan reference so that the power consumption may be reduced when necessary.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Jordan reference in paragraph [0009] wherein power consumption may be reduced when necessary.
Regarding claim 11, Na teaches the power supply unit of the aerosol generating device according to claim 1, wherein the second circuit substrate includes a conductive pattern connecting electronic components different from the second connector, and the conductive pattern is formed in a portion of the second circuit substrate overlapping the second connector (figure 6 show the second circuit substrate includes a conductive pattern connecting electronic components different from the second connector, and the conductive pattern is formed in a portion of the second circuit substrate overlapping the second connector).
Regarding claim 12, Na teaches the power supply unit of the aerosol generating device according to claim 1, wherein the second circuit substrate has an A surface and a B surface which is a back surface of the A surface, , and an IC mounted on the A surface and overlapping the second connector in a direction orthogonal to the A surface is further provided (figures 1 – 3, 6 and 7 shows the second substrate having an A surface and a B surface. Na does not explicitly state a connector, but teaches wirings connecting the substrate, thus the substrate is overlapping a position of where the wirings connect the substrates).
Jordan teaches the second connector is mounted on the B surface (figure 7 shows a voltage monitoring circuit item 705. Figure 7 shows a second connector item 701b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of Na reference with the charging system of the Jordan reference so that the power consumption may be reduced when necessary.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Jordan reference in paragraph [0009] wherein power consumption may be reduced when necessary.
Regarding claim 13, Na teaches the power supply unit of the aerosol generation device according to claim 12, wherein the IC is MCU (figure 4 shows an MCU item 121).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Us 20160270449 A1 Electronic Cigarette Hon; Lik
Us 20160286865 A1 Improved Vaporization And Disage Control For Electronic Vaporization King; Charles William Et Al.
Us 20160143357 A1 Electronic Cigarette Set, Electronic Cigarette And Battery Assembly And Charging Structure Thereof Liu; Qiuming
Us 20170224023 A1 Electronic Cigarette With Light Cap Permitting Light Transmission Lin; Guangrong Et Al.
Us 20240324668 A1 Power Supply Unit Of Aerosol Generation Device Marubashi; Keiji Et Al.
Us 20200154771 A1 Electronic Aerosol Provision System Otiaba; Kenny Et Al.
Us 20170181471 A1 Aerosol Delivery Device Including A Housing And A Coupler Phillips; Percy D. Et Al.
Us 20190273226 A1 Control Circuit, Power Supply Structure, And Electronic Cigarette Qiu; Weihua
Us 20200046033 A1 A System And Method For Temperature Control In An Electrically Heated Aerosol-Generating Device Robert; Jacques Et Al.
ALEXIS BOATENG PACHECO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/ALEXIS B PACHECO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859