DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/18/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 14 and 15 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 14, change the UE of claim 1 in line 1 to the UE of claim 11.
Regarding claim 15, change the UE of claim 1 in line 1 to the UE of claim 11.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-9, 11-14, and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP; TSG SA; Study on XR (Extended Reality) and media services (Release 18), 3GPP TR 23.700-60 V18.0.0 (2022-12), IDS submitted on 06/18/2024, hereinafter referred to as NPL1, in view of Zheng et al. ( US 2023/0283411 A1), hereinafter referred to as Zheng.
Regarding claim 1, NPL1 teaches: A method performed by a user equipment (see Page 71, Figure 6.12.3.1-1, UE), in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
performing packet data unit (PDU) session establishment procedure with at least one network entity (see Page 71, Figure 6.12.3.1-1, PDU session establishment);
receiving, from a media server, PDU set marking information for generating a PDU set reception report (see page 72, UPF can identify the PDUs of one PDU set …the UPF then add marks in the GTP-U headers of DL packets to assist RAN for the PDU set identification, e.g. the start/end indication of the PDU Pet and PDU Set ID; page 189, UPF provides PDU set related information to the RAN; page 198, Per PDU set information is exchanged between the proxy client and proxy server. Per PDU set information, makes it possible for the receiver (i.e. UE or UPF) to handle the PDU set… Per PDU Set information can be sent in advance of sending the PDUs of the PDU set; page 238, other parameters may also be added in the GTP-U header express the dependence or importance information of the PDUs inter of intra the PDU set);
receiving, from the media server, media packets processed based on PDU set (see page 149, UE receives XR/media downlink traffic; page 198, PDUs are communicated between the proxy client and proxy server…Per PDU markings are set by the UE for UL traffic and by the UPF for DL traffic. In the DL, UPF will populate the GTP-U header with information that can be used by the RAN for PDU set handling );
generating the PDU set reception report based on the media packets and the PDU set marking information (see page 72, UPF can identify the PDUs of one PDU set …the UPF then add marks in the GTP-U headers of DL packets to assist RAN for the PDU set identification, e.g. the start/end indication of the PDU Pet and PDU Set ID; page 46, UP based reporting: report the detected information and event to UPF via the uplink data’s header; page 131, the UPF reports the respective monitored UL/DL delay to the SMF and the SMF notifies the PCF ); and
transmitting, to the media server, the PDU set reception report including information on at least one PDU set.
NPL 1, however, fails to explicitly teach information related to transmitting, to the media server, the PDU set reception report including information on at least one PDU set.
However, Zheng, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches (see Zheng, claim 16, receiving, at a layer two (L2) layer of the receiving device, a set of protocol data units (PDUs) from a transmitting device, the set of PDUs corresponding to one or more service data units (SDUs); generating, at the L2 layer, a report indicating a status of the set of PDUs or the one or more SDUs at the receiving device; and transmitting the report to the transmitting device; ¶[0061], the report includes PDU level information for the SDU that was unsuccessfully received, the PDU level information comprising a sequence number (SN), a sub-SN, and segment offset (SO) information for an encoded PDU for the SDU that was unsuccessfully received ).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify NPL's teachings with Zheng's above teaching in order to improve communication reliability and decrease system latency ( see ¶[0235]-¶[0236]). Known work in one field of endeavor (Zheng prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or different one (NPL1 prior art) based on design incentives ( improve communication reliability and decrease system latency ) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 2, the combination teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein the PDU set reception report includes at least one of sequence number for the at least one PDU set (see NPL1, page 198, PDU set sequence number (SN) may be sent in the Per PDU Set information and Per PDU information so that the Per PDU Ser information and Per PDU information can be correlated. PDU set first packet flag, last packet flag. PDU sequence number (within the PDU set); see Zheng, claim 10, the report comprises PDU level information for the SDU that was unsuccessfully received, the PDU level information comprising a sequence number (SN), a sub-SN, and segment offset (SO) information for an encoded PDU for the SDU that was unsuccessfully received ), a ratio of packets not received (page 125, The PDU Set error rate is an upper bound for the ratio between the number of PDU set not successfully received and the total number of PDU sets sent towards the recipient measured over a measurement window), an indicator indicating whether all packets of the at least one PDU set is received, delay time of the at least one PDU set (see NPL1, page 131, the UPF reports the respective monitored UL/DL delay to the SMF and the SMF notifies the PCF), or jitter of the at least one PDU set (see NPL 1, page 246, UPF: collect and report the real time jitter to SMF).
Regarding claim 3, the combination teaches: The method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, from the media server, PDU set transmission information including at least one of a media transmission session identifier, information on reporting range or a number of transmission PDU set (see NPL1, page 55, New extension header fields are required for PPM/importance information and for boundaries/sequence of PDU sets; page 72, UPF can identify the PDUs of one PDU set …the UPF then add marks in the GTP-U headers of DL packets to assist RAN for the PDU set identification, e.g. the start/end indication of the PDU Pet and PDU Set ID. The identification of PDU Sets depends on what the PDU Set represent, e.g. a video frame or a video slice),
wherein the PDU set reception report includes at least one of a media transmission identifier (see NPL1, page 55, New extension header fields are required for PPM/importance information and for boundaries/sequence of PDU sets; page 72, UPF can identify the PDUs of one PDU set …the UPF then add marks in the GTP-U headers of DL packets to assist RAN for the PDU set identification, e.g. the start/end indication of the PDU Pet and PDU Set ID. The identification of PDU Sets depends on what the PDU Set represent, e.g. a video frame or a video slice; page 198, per PDU Set information can be sent in advance of sending the PDUs of the PDU Set.
This information can include:
- sequence number (SN) may be sent in the Per PDU Set information and Per PDU information so that the Per PDU Set information and Per PDU information can be correlated.
- PDU set first packet flag, last packet flag.
- PDU sequence number (within the PDU set)), information on reporting range or a number of transmission PDU set.
Regarding claim 4, the combination teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein the PDU set reception report includes PDU set reception information according to importance of the at least one PDU set (see NPL1, page 53, The importance information in PPM and sequence of PDU sets is carried in GTP extension header; For classification of upstream packets, the UE is provisioned with PPM during PDU session establishment/modification based on S-NSSAI/DNN for the PDU session… PPM is used in the UE for mapping to the appropriate MAC transmission buffers. The handling of UL PDU sets in the UE is implementation specific; page 189, For PDU Set importance: option 3: UPF adds PDU set importance into GTP-U header).
Regarding claim 6, NPL teaches: A method performed by a media server in a wireless communication system (see Page 145, Application function AF may provision or update the UL/DL traffic patterns to PCF; AF: provisioning the new or updated UL/DL traffic patterns to NEF/PCF ), the method comprising:
transmitting, to an application function (AF), service provisioning parameter including at least one of codec configuration, protocol configuration, marking scheme, detection scheme, quality of service (QOS) and packet handling parameters or reporting configuration (see Page 145, Application function AF may provision or update the UL/DL traffic patterns to PCF. The traffic patterns may include number or UL/DL periodic bursts per second or traffic periodicity, traffic description to localize the target application traffic, jitter information, etc. ; page 150, AF: provision the new or updated traffic patterns for XR/Media sessions);
receiving, from the AF, parameters for configuration of the media server including at least one of codec configuration, protocol configuration, marking scheme, detection scheme, QoS and packet handling parameters or reporting configuration (see page 239, PDU set related handling information are added to the information provided by AF…The PDU related handling information includes the PDU Set identification information and related PDU set handling requirements for different PDU Set types; page 116, AF sets up an AF session with required QOS procedure…The AF request may include flow description for XR/Media services, the dependency information of PDU Sets and traffic patter, Media protocol info; page 117, Based on Media protocol info included the PDU Set level packet handling/treatment requirements or based or pre-configuration, SMF generates N4 rules accordingly to instruct UPF to identify the PDU Sets of corresponding protocols);
generating media packets with packet data unit (PDU) set marking scheme (see page 117, Based on Media protocol info included the PDU Set level packet handling/treatment requirements or based or pre-configuration, SMF generates N4 rules accordingly to instruct UPF to identify the PDU Sets of corresponding protocols; page 239, the PDU set related handling information are added to the information provided by AF… SMF: generate and send the N4 session management parameters related with PDU set to the UPF to identify and mark the PDU Set for PDU Set type);
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), the media packets (see page 163, For certain interactive XR/Media services, the server renders the media content according to the received UL pose/control information from the UE and transmit the media content in DL to the UE); and
receiving, from the UE, a PDU set reception report (see page 46, UP based reporting: report the detected information and event to UPF via the uplink data’s header; page 131, the UPF reports the respective monitored UL/DL delay to the SMF and the SMF notifies the PCF) including information on at least one PDU set.
NPL1, however, explicitly disclose information related to receiving, from the UE, a PDU set reception report including information on at least one PDU set.
However, Zheng in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches (see Zheng, claim 1, receiving, from a receiving device of the one or more receiving devices, a report indicating an SDU of the set of SDUs that was unsuccessfully received at the receiving device; claim 5, the report and the second report each comprise an indication of a quantity of PDUs or sub-PDUs used by the respective receiving device to obtain an SDU of the set of SDUs, or an indication of an average quantity of PDUs or sub-PDUs used by the respective receiving device to obtain one or more SDUs of the set of SDUs, or both, the method further comprising: adjusting a code rate for encoding SDUs at the L2 layer based at least in part on the indication of the quantity of PDUs, the indication of the average quantity of PDUs, or both).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify NPL's teachings with Zheng's above teaching in order to improve communication reliability and decrease system latency ( see ¶[0235]- ¶[0236]). Known work in one field of endeavor (Zheng prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or different one (NPL1 prior art) based on design incentives ( improve communication reliability and decrease system latency ) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 7, the combination teaches: The method of claim 6, wherein the PDU set reception report includes at least one of sequence number for the at least one PDU set (see NPL1, page 198, PDU set sequence number (SN) may be sent in the Per PDU Set information and Per PDU information so that the Per PDU Ser information and Per PDU information can be correlated. PDU set first packet flag, last packet flag. PDU sequence number (within the PDU set); see Zheng, claim 10, the report comprises PDU level information for the SDU that was unsuccessfully received, the PDU level information comprising a sequence number (SN), a sub-SN, and segment offset (SO) information for an encoded PDU for the SDU that was unsuccessfully received ), a ratio of packets not received (page 125, The PDU Set error rate is an upper bound for the ratio between the number of PDU set not successfully received and the total number of PDU sets sent towards the recipient measured over a measurement window), a ratio of packets not received among packets of the at least one PDU set (see NPL1, page 125, The PDU Set error rate is an upper bound for the ratio between the number of PDU set not successfully received and the total number of PDU sets sent towards the recipient measured over a measurement window), an indicator indicating whether all packets of the at least one PDU set is received, delay time of the at least one PDU set (see NPL1, page 131, the UPF reports the respective monitored UL/DL delay to the SMF and the SMF notifies the PCF), or jitter of the at least one PDU set (see NPL 1, page 246, UPF: collect and report the real time jitter to SMF).
Regarding claim 8, the combination teaches: The method of claim 6, further comprising:
transmitting, to the UE, PDU set transmission information including at least one of a media transmission session identifier (see NPL1, page 55, New extension header fields are required for PPM/importance information and for boundaries/sequence of PDU sets; page 72, UPF can identify the PDUs of one PDU set …the UPF then add marks in the GTP-U headers of DL packets to assist RAN for the PDU set identification, e.g. the start/end indication of the PDU Pet and PDU Set ID. The identification of PDU Sets depends on what the PDU Set represent, e.g. a video frame or a video slice), information on reporting range or a number of transmission PDU set, wherein the PDU set reception report includes at least one of a media transmission identifier (see NPL1, page 55, New extension header fields are required for PPM/importance information and for boundaries/sequence of PDU sets; page 72, UPF can identify the PDUs of one PDU set …the UPF then add marks in the GTP-U headers of DL packets to assist RAN for the PDU set identification, e.g. the start/end indication of the PDU Pet and PDU Set ID. The identification of PDU Sets depends on what the PDU Set represent, e.g. a video frame or a video slice; page 198, per PDU Set information can be sent in advance of sending the PDUs of the PDU Set.
This information can include:
- sequence number (SN) may be sent in the Per PDU Set information and Per PDU information so that the Per PDU Set information and Per PDU information can be correlated.
- PDU set first packet flag, last packet flag.
- PDU sequence number (within the PDU set)), information on reporting range or a number of transmission PDU set.
Regarding claim 9, the combination teaches: The method of claim 6, further comprising:
determining change for media configuration based on the PDU set reception report (see NPL1, page 142, Depending on the measured UL and DL periodicity Jitter reported by the NEF, the AF may change its codec and the AF may send Nnef_AFsessionWIth QoS_update (Periodicity Jitter) request to the NEF; page 146, The 3rd party application server may also update the traffic patterns (e.g. if possible configurations change)),
wherein the PDU set reception report includes PDU set reception information according to importance of the at least one PDU set (see NPL1, page 53, The importance information in PPM and sequence of PDU sets is carried in GTP extension header; For classification of upstream packets, the UE is provisioned with PPM during PDU session establishment/modification based on S-NSSAI/DNN for the PDU session… PPM is used in the UE for mapping to the appropriate MAC transmission buffers. The handling of UL PDU sets in the UE is implementation specific; page 189, For PDU Set importance: option 3: UPF adds PDU set importance into GTP-U header).
Regarding claim 11, A user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (see Page 71, Figure 6.12.3.1-1, UE), the UE comprising:
a transceiver (implicit component within UE);
a processor (implicit component within UE) communicatively coupled with the transceiver and configured to:
perform packet data unit (PDU) session establishment procedure with at least one network entity (see Page 71, Figure 6.12.3.1-1, PDU session establishment),
receive, from a media server, PDU set marking information for generating a PDU set reception report (see page 72, UPF can identify the PDUs of one PDU set …the UPF then add marks in the GTP-U headers of DL packets to assist RAN for the PDU set identification, e.g. the start/end indication of the PDU Pet and PDU Set ID; page 189, UPF provides PDU set related information to the RAN; page 198, Per PDU set information is exchanged between the proxy client and proxy server. Per PDU set information, makes it possible for the receiver (i.e. UE or UPF) to handle the PDU set… Per PDU Set information can be sent in advance of sending the PDUs of the PDU set; page 238, other parameters may also be added in the GTP-U header express the dependence or importance information of the PDUs inter of intra the PDU set),
receive, from the media server, media packets processed based on PDU set (see page 149, UE receives XR/media downlink traffic; page 198, PDUs are communicated between the proxy client and proxy server…Per PDU markings are set by the UE for UL traffic and by the UPF for DL traffic. In the DL, UPF will populate the GTP-U header with information that can be used by the RAN for PDU set handling ),
generate the PDU set reception report based on the media packets and the PDU set marking information (see page 72, UPF can identify the PDUs of one PDU set …the UPF then add marks in the GTP-U headers of DL packets to assist RAN for the PDU set identification, e.g. the start/end indication of the PDU Pet and PDU Set ID; page 46, UP based reporting: report the detected information and event to UPF via the uplink data’s header; page 131, the UPF reports the respective monitored UL/DL delay to the SMF and the SMF notifies the PCF.), and
transmit, to the media server, the PDU set reception report including information on at least one PDU set.
NPL 1, however, fails to explicitly teach information related to transmit, to the media server, the PDU set reception report including information on at least one PDU set.
However, Zheng, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches (see Zheng, claim 16, receiving, at a layer two (L2) layer of the receiving device, a set of protocol data units (PDUs) from a transmitting device, the set of PDUs corresponding to one or more service data units (SDUs); generating, at the L2 layer, a report indicating a status of the set of PDUs or the one or more SDUs at the receiving device; and transmitting the report to the transmitting device; ¶[0061], the report includes PDU level information for the SDU that was unsuccessfully received, the PDU level information comprising a sequence number (SN), a sub-SN, and segment offset (SO) information for an encoded PDU for the SDU that was unsuccessfully received ).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify NPL's teachings with Zheng's above teaching in order to improve communication reliability and decrease system latency ( see ¶[0235]-¶[0236]). Known work in one field of endeavor (Zheng prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or different one (NPL1 prior art) based on design incentives ( improve communication reliability and decrease system latency ) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 12, the combination teaches: The UE of claim 11, wherein the PDU set reception report includes at least one of sequence number for the at least one PDU set (see NPL1, page 198, PDU set sequence number (SN) may be sent in the Per PDU Set information and Per PDU information so that the Per PDU Ser information and Per PDU information can be correlated. PDU set first packet flag, last packet flag. PDU sequence number (within the PDU set); see Zheng, claim 10, the report comprises PDU level information for the SDU that was unsuccessfully received, the PDU level information comprising a sequence number (SN), a sub-SN, and segment offset (SO) information for an encoded PDU for the SDU that was unsuccessfully received ), a ratio of packets not received among packets of the at least one PDU set (page 125, The PDU Set error rate is an upper bound for the ratio between the number of PDU set not successfully received and the total number of PDU sets sent towards the recipient measured over a measurement window), an indicator indicating whether all packets of the at least one PDU set is received, delay time of the at least one PDU set (see NPL1, page 131, the UPF reports the respective monitored UL/DL delay to the SMF and the SMF notifies the PCF), or jitter of the at least one PDU set (see NPL 1, page 246, UPF: collect and report the real time jitter to SMF).
Regarding claim 13, the combination teaches: The UE of claim 11,
wherein the processor is further configured to:
receive, from the media server, PDU set transmission information including at least one of a media transmission session identifier (see NPL1, page 55, New extension header fields are required for PPM/importance information and for boundaries/sequence of PDU sets; page 72, UPF can identify the PDUs of one PDU set …the UPF then add marks in the GTP-U headers of DL packets to assist RAN for the PDU set identification, e.g. the start/end indication of the PDU Pet and PDU Set ID. The identification of PDU Sets depends on what the PDU Set represent, e.g. a video frame or a video slice), information on reporting range or a number of transmission PDU set, and
wherein the PDU set reception report includes at least one of a media transmission identifier (see NPL1, page 55, New extension header fields are required for PPM/importance information and for boundaries/sequence of PDU sets; page 72, UPF can identify the PDUs of one PDU set …the UPF then add marks in the GTP-U headers of DL packets to assist RAN for the PDU set identification, e.g. the start/end indication of the PDU Pet and PDU Set ID. The identification of PDU Sets depends on what the PDU Set represent, e.g. a video frame or a video slice; page 198, per PDU Set information can be sent in advance of sending the PDUs of the PDU Set.
This information can include:
- sequence number (SN) may be sent in the Per PDU Set information and Per PDU information so that the Per PDU Set information and Per PDU information can be correlated.
- PDU set first packet flag, last packet flag.
- PDU sequence number (within the PDU set)), information on reporting range or a number of transmission PDU set.
Regarding claim 14, the combination teaches: The UE of claim 11, wherein the PDU set reception report includes PDU set reception information according to importance of the at least one PDU set (see NPL1, page 53, The importance information in PPM and sequence of PDU sets is carried in GTP extension header; For classification of upstream packets, the UE is provisioned with PPM during PDU session establishment/modification based on S-NSSAI/DNN for the PDU session… PPM is used in the UE for mapping to the appropriate MAC transmission buffers. The handling of UL PDU sets in the UE is implementation specific; page 189, For PDU Set importance: option 3: UPF adds PDU set importance into GTP-U header).
Regarding claim 16, NPL1 teaches: A media server in a wireless communication system (see Page 145, Application function AF may provision or update the UL/DL traffic patterns to PCF; AF: provisioning the new or updated UL/DL traffic patterns to NEF/PCF ), the media server comprising:
a transceiver (implicit component within communication devices. e.g. AMF, SMF, PCF, UPF, NEF);
a processor (implicit component within communication devices. e.g. AMF, SMF, PCF, UPF, NEF) communicatively coupled with the transceiver and configured to:
transmit, to an application function (AF), service provisioning parameter including at least one of codec configuration, protocol configuration, marking scheme, detection scheme, quality of service (QOS) and packet handling parameters or reporting configuration (see Page 145, Application function AF may provision or update the UL/DL traffic patterns to PCF. The traffic patterns may include number or UL/DL periodic bursts per second or traffic periodicity, traffic description to localize the target application traffic, jitter information, etc. ; page 150, AF: provision the new or updated traffic patterns for XR/Media sessions),
receive, from the AF, parameters for configuration of the media server including at least one of codec configuration, protocol configuration, marking scheme, detection scheme, QoS and packet handling parameters or reporting configuration (see page 239, PDU set related handling information are added to the information provided by AF…The PDU related handling information includes the PDU Set identification information and related PDU set handling requirements for different PDU Set types; page 116, AF sets up an AF session with required QOS procedure…The AF request may include flow description for XR/Media services, the dependency information of PDU Sets and traffic patter, Media protocol info; page 117, Based on Media protocol info included the PDU Set level packet handling/treatment requirements or based or pre-configuration, SMF generates N4 rules accordingly to instruct UPF to identify the PDU Sets of corresponding protocols),
generate media packets with packet data unit (PDU) set marking scheme (see page 117, Based on Media protocol info included the PDU Set level packet handling/treatment requirements or based or pre-configuration, SMF generates N4 rules accordingly to instruct UPF to identify the PDU Sets of corresponding protocols; page 239, the PDU set related handling information are added to the information provided by AF… SMF: generate and send the N4 session management parameters related with PDU set to the UPF to identify and mark the PDU Set for PDU Set type),
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), the media packets (see page 163, For certain interactive XR/Media services, the server renders the media content according to the received UL pose/control information from the UE and transmit the media content in DL to the UE), and
receive, from the UE, a PDU set reception report (see page 46, UP based reporting: report the detected information and event to UPF via the uplink data’s header; page 131, the UPF reports the respective monitored UL/DL delay to the SMF and the SMF notifies the PCF) including information on at least one PDU set.
NPL1, however, explicitly disclose information related to receive, from the UE, a PDU set reception report including information on at least one PDU set.
However, Zheng in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches (see Zheng, claim 1, receiving, from a receiving device of the one or more receiving devices, a report indicating an SDU of the set of SDUs that was unsuccessfully received at the receiving device; claim 5, the report and the second report each comprise an indication of a quantity of PDUs or sub-PDUs used by the respective receiving device to obtain an SDU of the set of SDUs, or an indication of an average quantity of PDUs or sub-PDUs used by the respective receiving device to obtain one or more SDUs of the set of SDUs, or both, the method further comprising: adjusting a code rate for encoding SDUs at the L2 layer based at least in part on the indication of the quantity of PDUs, the indication of the average quantity of PDUs, or both).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify NPL's teachings with Zheng's above teaching in order to improve communication reliability and decrease system latency ( see ¶[0235]- ¶[0236]). Known work in one field of endeavor (Zheng prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or different one (NPL1 prior art) based on design incentives ( improve communication reliability and decrease system latency ) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim17, the combination teaches: The media server of claim 16, wherein the PDU set reception report includes at least one of sequence number for the at least one PDU set (see NPL1, page 198, PDU set sequence number (SN) may be sent in the Per PDU Set information and Per PDU information so that the Per PDU Ser information and Per PDU information can be correlated. PDU set first packet flag, last packet flag. PDU sequence number (within the PDU set); see Zheng, claim 10, the report comprises PDU level information for the SDU that was unsuccessfully received, the PDU level information comprising a sequence number (SN), a sub-SN, and segment offset (SO) information for an encoded PDU for the SDU that was unsuccessfully received ), a ratio of packets not received among packets of the at least one PDU set (page 125, The PDU Set error rate is an upper bound for the ratio between the number of PDU set not successfully received and the total number of PDU sets sent towards the recipient measured over a measurement window), an indicator indicating whether all packets of the at least one PDU set is received, delay time of the at least one PDU set (see NPL1, page 131, the UPF reports the respective monitored UL/DL delay to the SMF and the SMF notifies the PCF), jitter of the at least one PDU set (see NPL 1, page 246, UPF: collect and report the real time jitter to SMF).
Regarding claim 18, the combination teaches: The media server of claim 16,
wherein the processor is further configured to:
transmit, to the UE, PDU set transmission information including at least one of a media transmission session identifier (see NPL1, page 55, New extension header fields are required for PPM/importance information and for boundaries/sequence of PDU sets; page 72, UPF can identify the PDUs of one PDU set …the UPF then add marks in the GTP-U headers of DL packets to assist RAN for the PDU set identification, e.g. the start/end indication of the PDU Pet and PDU Set ID. The identification of PDU Sets depends on what the PDU Set represent, e.g. a video frame or a video slice), information on reporting range or a number of transmission PDU set, and
wherein the PDU set reception report includes at least one of a media transmission identifier (see NPL1, page 55, New extension header fields are required for PPM/importance information and for boundaries/sequence of PDU sets; page 72, UPF can identify the PDUs of one PDU set …the UPF then add marks in the GTP-U headers of DL packets to assist RAN for the PDU set identification, e.g. the start/end indication of the PDU Pet and PDU Set ID. The identification of PDU Sets depends on what the PDU Set represent, e.g. a video frame or a video slice; page 198, per PDU Set information can be sent in advance of sending the PDUs of the PDU Set.
This information can include:
- sequence number (SN) may be sent in the Per PDU Set information and Per PDU information so that the Per PDU Set information and Per PDU information can be correlated.
- PDU set first packet flag, last packet flag.
- PDU sequence number (within the PDU set)), information on reporting range or a number of transmission PDU set.
Regarding claim 19, the combination teaches: The media server of claim 16,
wherein the processor is further configured to:
determine change for media configuration based on the PDU set reception report see NPL1, page 142, Depending on the measured UL and DL periodicity Jitter reported by the NEF, the AF may change its codec and the AF may send Nnef_AFsessionWIth QoS_update (Periodicity Jitter) request to the NEF; page 146, The 3rd party application server may also update the traffic patterns (e.g. if possible configurations change)),
wherein the PDU set reception report includes PDU set reception information according to importance of the at least one PDU set (see NPL1, page 53, The importance information in PPM and sequence of PDU sets is carried in GTP extension header; For classification of upstream packets, the UE is provisioned with PPM during PDU session establishment/modification based on S-NSSAI/DNN for the PDU session… PPM is used in the UE for mapping to the appropriate MAC transmission buffers. The handling of UL PDU sets in the UE is implementation specific; page 189, For PDU Set importance: option 3: UPF adds PDU set importance into GTP-U header).
Claim(s) 5, 10, 15, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NPL1 in view of Zheng, and further in view of Hong ( US 2025/0392550 A1).
Regarding claim 5, the combination teaches the method of claim 1. The combination, however, fails to explicitly teach information related to a reporting format for the PDU set reception report is a real-time transport control protocol (RTCP) message.
However, Hong, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches: the method of claim 1, wherein a reporting format for the PDU set reception report is a real-time transport control protocol (RTCP) message ( see Hong, ¶[0143] In the case of downlink, the UPF (UE in the case of uplink) may discern PDU-Set using one or more pieces of information included in an arbitrary header (e.g., payload/RTP/SRTP/RTCP/TCP/UDP/IP header) encapsulating a corresponding packet/payload/PDU for one data packet/payload/application PDU. For example, the RTP header may include information such as a sequence number, a timestamp, a marker (M) bit, and the like, and the corresponding information may be used to identify the packet belonging to one PDU-Set. As another example, the RTP extension header may include information about the type of payload data (e.g., an RTP payload network application layer unit type field), and the corresponding information may be used to determine the importance of the corresponding packet ).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Hong's above teachings, UEs, base stations, or core network entities in a radio network may effectively recognize and process XR application traffic ( see ¶[0012]). Known work in one field of endeavor (Hong prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or different one (NPL1 prior) based on design incentives ( effectively recognize and process XR application traffic ) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 10, the combination teaches the method of claim 6. The combination, however, fails to explicitly teach information related to wherein a reporting format for the PDU set reception report is a real-time transport control protocol (RTCP) message.
However, Hong, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches: The method of claim 6, wherein a reporting format for the PDU set reception report is a real-time transport control protocol (RTCP) message ( see Hong, ¶[0143] In the case of downlink, the UPF (UE in the case of uplink) may discern PDU-Set using one or more pieces of information included in an arbitrary header (e.g., payload/RTP/SRTP/RTCP/TCP/UDP/IP header) encapsulating a corresponding packet/payload/PDU for one data packet/payload/application PDU. For example, the RTP header may include information such as a sequence number, a timestamp, a marker (M) bit, and the like, and the corresponding information may be used to identify the packet belonging to one PDU-Set. As another example, the RTP extension header may include information about the type of payload data (e.g., an RTP payload network application layer unit type field), and the corresponding information may be used to determine the importance of the corresponding packet ).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Hong's above teachings, UEs, base stations, or core network entities in a radio network may effectively recognize and process XR application traffic ( see ¶[0012]). Known work in one field of endeavor (Hong prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or different one (NPL1 prior art) based on design incentives ( effectively recognize and process XR application traffic ) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 15, the combination teaches the UE of claim 11. The combination, however, fails to explicitly teach information related to a reporting format for the PDU set reception report is a real-time transport control protocol (RTCP) message.
However, Hong, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches: The UE of claim 1, wherein a reporting format for the PDU set reception report is a real-time transport control protocol (RTCP) message ( see Hong, ¶[0143] In the case of downlink, the UPF (UE in the case of uplink) may discern PDU-Set using one or more pieces of information included in an arbitrary header (e.g., payload/RTP/SRTP/RTCP/TCP/UDP/IP header) encapsulating a corresponding packet/payload/PDU for one data packet/payload/application PDU. For example, the RTP header may include information such as a sequence number, a timestamp, a marker (M) bit, and the like, and the corresponding information may be used to identify the packet belonging to one PDU-Set. As another example, the RTP extension header may include information about the type of payload data (e.g., an RTP payload network application layer unit type field), and the corresponding information may be used to determine the importance of the corresponding packet).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Hong's above teachings, UEs, base stations, or core network entities in a radio network may effectively recognize and process XR application traffic ( see ¶[0012]). Known work in one field of endeavor (Hong prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or different one (NPL1 prior art) based on design incentives ( effectively recognize and process XR application traffic ) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 20, the combination teaches the media server of claim 16. The combination, however, fails to explicitly teach information related to a reporting format for the PDU set reception report is a real-time transport control protocol (RTCP) message.
However, Hong, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches: The media server of claim 16, wherein a reporting format for the PDU set reception report is a real-time transport control protocol (RTCP) message ( see Hong, ¶[0143] In the case of downlink, the UPF (UE in the case of uplink) may discern PDU-Set using one or more pieces of information included in an arbitrary header (e.g., payload/RTP/SRTP/RTCP/TCP/UDP/IP header) encapsulating a corresponding packet/payload/PDU for one data packet/payload/application PDU. For example, the RTP header may include information such as a sequence number, a timestamp, a marker (M) bit, and the like, and the corresponding information may be used to identify the packet belonging to one PDU-Set. As another example, the RTP extension header may include information about the type of payload data (e.g., an RTP payload network application layer unit type field), and the corresponding information may be used to determine the importance of the corresponding packet ).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Hong's above teachings, UEs, base stations, or core network entities in a radio network may effectively recognize and process XR application traffic ( see ¶[0012]). Known work in one field of endeavor (Hong prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or different one (NPL1 prior art) based on design incentives ( effectively recognize and process XR application traffic ) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Foy et al. ( US 2025/0323983 A1), Enabling xr service proxies
Liao ( US 2025/0274809 A1), Quality of service flow model for low-latency services
Pan et al. ( US 2025/0247738 A1), Data transmission method in communication system and communication apparatus
Vivo, “Solution for KI#4&5 handling PDU Set within QoS flow”, SA WG2 Meeting #150E (e-meeting), S2-2202111
Huawei, HiSilicon, KDDI, “KI#4: Solution for PDU Set integrated QoS handling”, 3GPP TSG-WG SA2 Meeting #150E e-meeting, S2-2202408
CATT, “New Solution for KI#4/5: PDU Set Identification and Marking”, 3GPP TSG-WG SA2 Meeting #150E e-meeting, S2-2202716
/MANG BOI THAWNG/Examiner, Art Unit 2476 /AYAZ R SHEIKH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2476