DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in reply communication filed on 01/05/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 9-12, 14, 16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 unpatentable over KIM et al. (US 2025/0150874) in view of Elshafie et al. (US 20240206006).
Regarding claim 1, KIM discloses a user equipment (UE) [See Figs. 6, 15, ¶¶ 230-311; UE transitions from an RRC idle mode to an RRC connected mode in a next-generation wireless communication system], comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors [See Fig. 15, ¶ 915; UE includes a RF processor 15-10, a baseband processor 15-20, a storage 15-30, and a controller 15-40] coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
receive a first downlink message that updates one or more timers associated with triggering a connected mode discontinuous reception at the UE [See Fig. 6, ¶¶ 235, 268; receive RRCReconfiguration message(6-45)/(first downlink message) that include configuration information indicate when the BWP inactivity timer expires, the UE may fall back or switch the activated DL BWP to the default bandwidth in the cell (See ¶ 270)];
transmit a first uplink message [See Fig. 6, ¶ 278; transmit a RRCconnectionReconfigurationComplete (6-50) /(first uplink message)]; and
selectively enter the connected mode discontinuous reception or remain in an awake state following transmission of the first uplink message [See Fig. 6, ¶ 276; perform state transition even without receiving an indication from the BS via the RRC message or the MAC control information or the DCI of the PDCCH] based at least in part on a status of the one or more timers associated with triggering the connected mode discontinuous reception at the UE and the indication of the first uplink message [See ¶¶ 276, 281-283; when the cell deactivation timer expires, the UE may transition a state of the cell to the inactive state; such as, indicator (e.g., PDCP reestablishment indicator or PDCP data recovery indicator or indicator triggering new procedure or RLC reestablishment indicator or MAC layer reset indicator or MAC layer partial reset indicator) triggering procedure of corresponding protocol layer (e.g., SDAP layer or PDCP layer or RLC layer or MAC layer) according to indicator indicating state of cell group, See ¶ 283].
Although, KIM discloses all aspect set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose transmit a first uplink message “prior to an expiration of the one or more timers associated with triggering the connected mode discontinuous reception”;
the first uplink message including an indication of whether the UE expects to restart the one or more timers or to enter the connected mode discontinuous reception following transmission of the first uplink message.
However, Elshafie discloses transmit a first uplink message prior to an expiration of the one or more timers associated with triggering the connected mode discontinuous reception [See Fig. 2, ¶ 120; send, to a network entity 105, capability information 225 of the UE 115 to process, during the DRX inactive time/(prior to an expiration of DRX inactivity timer), reference signal information, also see ¶ 171].
the first uplink message including an indication of whether the UE expects to restart the one or more timers or to enter the connected mode discontinuous reception following transmission of the first uplink message [See ¶¶ 118, 122-123; wherein the capability information 225 indicates that capability of the UE 115 to process reference signal information, See ¶ 132, to process the reference signal information 220 in accordance with the configuration 210, the at UE 115 is configured to buffer one or more of the CSI-RS or the CSI-RS report during the DRX inactive time, and send the CSI-RS report to the network entity 105 based on one or more of entering the DRX active time];
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the first uplink message including an indication of whether the UE expects to restart the one or more timers or to enter the connected mode discontinuous reception following transmission of the first uplink message” as taught by Elshafie in the system of KIM, so that it would to maintain directional communication beams for receiving the wakeup signal to enable power saving, as well as for receiving control information and data with sufficient reliability and throughput [See Elshafie; ¶ 40].
Regarding claim 2, the combined system of KIM and Elshafie discloses the UE of claim 1.
KIM further discloses wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
transmit, prior to transmitting the first uplink message, a second uplink message indicating a capability of the UE to transmit the first uplink message including the indication of whether the UE expects to restart the one or more timers [See Fig. 6, ¶ 233; the UE reports a UE capability, the UE may report, to the BS, as a UE capability (6-40) prior to transmitting the RRC connection configuration is completed//( 6-50) first uplink message that indicate BWP inactivity timer configuration and timer value (See ¶ 250)].
Regarding claim 3, the combined system of KIM and Elshafie discloses the UE of claim 1.
KIM further discloses wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
receive a second downlink message indicating a configuration for the UE to transmit the first uplink message including the indication of whether the UE expects to restart the one or more timers based at least in part on the capability of the UE [See Fig. 6, ¶ 235; RRCReconfiguration message (6-70) from the BS, indicating a configuration for the UE to transmit the RRC connection configuration is completed//( 6-50) first uplink message including the indication of whether the UE expects to restart the one or more timers based at least in part on the capability of the UE].
Regarding claim 5, the combined system of KIM and Elshafie discloses the UE of claim 1.
KIM further discloses wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
receive, prior to the expiration of the one or more timers associated with triggering the connected mode discontinuous reception, a third downlink message including an indication of whether a network entity expects to start a discontinuous reception downlink retransmission timer following transmission of the third downlink message [See Fig. 6, ¶¶ 235, 300-301, 309-310; receive a RRC message/RRCReconfiguration message (6-70) prior to the expiration of the one or more timers associated with triggering the connected mode discontinuous reception (cell deactivation timer (ScellDeactivationTimer) for each cell, and when the cell deactivation timer expires, the UE may transition a state of the cell to the inactive state, See ¶ 176)].
Regarding claim 7, the combined system of KIM and Elshafie discloses the UE of claim 1.
KIM does not explicitly disclose wherein the indication of whether the UE expects to restart the one or more timers is based at least in part on one or more of: wherein a power level associated with the UE.
However, Elshafie discloses wherein the indication of whether the UE expects to restart the one or more timers is based at least in part on one or more of: wherein a power level associated with the UE [See ¶ 175; the process reference signal information during the DRX inactive time based on power information related to the UE 115 (e.g., a power level)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein the indication of whether the UE expects to restart the one or more timers is based at least in part on one or more of: wherein a power level associated with the UE” as taught by Elshafie in the system of KIM, so that it would to maintain directional communication beams for receiving the wakeup signal to enable power saving, as well as for receiving control information and data with sufficient reliability and throughput [See Elshafie; ¶ 40].
Regarding claims 9, 11, 12, 14, and 16, the claim recites a network entity, comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors (See Fig. 16, ¶ ¶ 921-927; a BS include a RF processor 16-10, a baseband processor 16-20, a communicator 16-30, a storage 16-40, and a controller 16-50) coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to perform the UE recited as in claims 1, 2, 3, 5, and 7; therefore, claims 9, 11, 12, 14, and 16 are rejected along the same rationale that rejected in claims 1, 2, 3, 5, and 7.
Regarding claim 10, the combined system of KIM and Elshafie discloses the network entity of claim 9.
KIM further discloses wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: output a second downlink message based at least in part on the indication of the UE expecting to restart the one or more timers [See Fig. 6, ¶ 235; transmit an RRC message/RRCReconfiguration message (6-70)/ second downlink message indicating a configuration for the UE to transmit the RRC connection configuration is completed//( 6-50) first uplink message including the indication of whether the UE expects to restart the one or more timers based at least in part on the capability of the UE].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein the indication of whether the UE expects to restart the one or more timers is based at least in part on one or more of: wherein a power level associated with the UE” as taught by Elshafie in the system of KIM, so that it would to maintain directional communication beams for receiving the wakeup signal to enable power saving, as well as for receiving control information and data with sufficient reliability and throughput [See Elshafie; ¶ 40].
Regarding claims 18, 19, and 20, the claim recites a method for wireless communications at a user equipment to perform the UE recited as in claims 1, 2, and 3; therefore, claims 18, 19, and 20 are rejected along the same rationale that rejected in claims 1, 2, and 3.
Claims 4, 8, 13, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 unpatentable over KIM et al. (US 2025/0150874) in view of Elshafie et al. (US 20240206006), and further in view of Zhang et al. (US 2022/0046682).
Regarding claim 4, the combined system of KIM and Elshafie discloses the UE of claim 1.
KIM further discloses wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive a second downlink message [See ¶ 235; RRCReconfiguration message (6-70)].
The combined system of KIM and Elshafie does not explicitly disclose receive a second downlink message enabling the UE to transmit the first uplink message including the indication of whether the UE expects to restart the one or more timers.
However, Zhang discloses receive a second downlink message enabling the UE to transmit the first uplink message including the indication of whether the UE expects to restart the one or more timers [See ¶ 121; at action 1005, the UE 115 receive a DRX configuration/ (second downlink message) that include timer configuration with a first timer value for the first timer and a second timer value for the second timer enabling the UE 115 to transmits the UL communication signal/ first uplink message; when the UE 115 receives a new DL transmission or transmits a new UL transmission, the UE 115 is to restart the DRX inactivity timer 230) (See ¶ 74)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “receive a second downlink message enabling the UE to transmit the first uplink message including the indication of whether the UE expects to restart the one or more timers” as taught by Zhang in the combined system of KIM and Elshafie, so that it would enables operators to opportunistically aggregate spectrums to dynamically support high-bandwidth services [see Zhang; ¶ 4].
Regarding claim 8, the combined system of KIM and Elshafie discloses the UE of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the first uplink message is a last uplink transmission by the UE prior to the expiration of the one or more timers.
However, Zhang discloses wherein the first uplink message is a last uplink transmission by the UE prior to the expiration of the one or more timers [See Fig. 10, ¶ 129; action 1080, upon receiving the second DCI message from the BS 105 from the monitoring, the UE 115 transmits an UL communication signal (e.g., the PUSCH transmission 614) to the BS 105 based on the first value and/or the second value].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein the first uplink message is a last uplink transmission by the UE prior to the expiration of the one or more timers” as taught by Zhang in the combined system of KIM and Elshafie, so that it would enables operators to opportunistically aggregate spectrums to dynamically support high-bandwidth services [see Zhang; ¶ 4].
Regarding claims 13 and 17, the claim recites the network entity of claim 9, to perform the UE recited as in claims 4 and 8; therefore, claims 13 and 17 are rejected along the same rationale that rejected in claims 4 and 8.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
In additional to references cited that are used for rejection as set forth above, Zorgui et al. (US 2024/0224183) is also considered as relevant prior arts for rejection of in claims 1, 9, and 18 for limitation “selectively enter the connected mode discontinuous reception or remain in an awake state following transmission of the first uplink message based at least in part on a status of the one or more timers associated with triggering the connected mode discontinuous reception at the UE and the indication of the first uplink message” (See Zorgui; Fig. 7, ¶¶ 136-144).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/PHONG LA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469