DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on May 11, 2026, has been entered. Claims 1, 3-9, 11-17, and 19-20 are presently pending with claims 1, 9, and 17 being independent. Claims 7-8 and 15-16 are original claims. Claims 1, 3-6, 9, 11-14, 17, and 19-20 are currently amended. Claims 2, 10, and 18 are canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-11, filed May 11, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 9, and 17 under 35 U.S.C. §102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of 35 U.S.C. §103. Refer to updated rejection of claims 1, 3-9, 11-17, and 19-20 below in view of amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 8-9, 11-14, 16-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Astrom et al. (US 2019/0342833 A1; hereinafter Astrom) in view of Bhattad et al. (US 2018/0332533 A1; hereinafter Bhattad) further in view of Cox et al. (US 2020/0029302 A1; hereinafter Cox).
Regarding claims 1, 9, and 17, Astrom teaches a terminal (read as a wireless device), comprising a processor (Fig. 12, element 810 Processing Circuity; ¶ [0111] The wireless device includes processing circuitry.),
a memory, and a program or an instruction stored in the memory and capable of running (read as executing) in the processor (Fig. 12, element 830 Memory; The processing circuitry is configured to perform processing, such as by executing instructions stored in memory.),
wherein the program or instruction is executed by the processor to implement:
obtaining, by a first module of a terminal (read as wireless device or the device), a wakeup signal (Fig. 5, step 130 Monitor for a wake-up signal using a wake-up receiver or one or more other receivers, depending respectively on whether or not the indicated wake-up period is less than the maximum period supported by the radio network node., step 140 Receive a wake-up signal; ¶ [0055] Awaken the wireless device from a sleep state by transmitting a so-called wake-up signal (WUS) to the device.); and
(Fig. 2A; Fig. 2B, ¶ [0067] The radio node configures the wireless device with a paging transmission window (PTW) that includes paging occasions (e.g., according to a certain DRX configuration).; ¶ [0069] If the wireless device has wake-up receiver capability, the radio network node may configure the PTW to start later. The radio network node may delay the start of the PTW to give a device with wake-up receiver capability extra time to awaken, e.g., from a deeper sleep state.; ¶ [0070] If the wireless device has wake-up receiver capability, the radio network node configures the device with a PTW that starts after the device’s wake-up period.; ¶ [0079] a discontinuous reception, DRX, cycle length used by the wireless device.; ¶ [0134] A physical signal/channel indicating whether the UE needs to decode subsequent physical channel(s) is introduced at least for idle mode paging. The physical signal/channel is an example of the wake-up signal.),
Astrom does not explicitly teach in a case that a first target occasion is an occasion outside a paging time window (PTW) of a first discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle, a second module of the terminal being triggered to switch to an idle state; controlling, by the terminal, the second module to monitor a paging message based on a second DRX cycle starting at a second target occasion within a time outside the PTW of the first DRX cycle; wherein the first target occasion is determined on an occasion on which the first module obtains the wakeup signal, and the first DRX cycle comprises the PTW.
In analogous art, Bhattad teaches in a case that a first target occasion (read as time period 1540 Monitor WUS) is an occasion outside a paging time window (PTW) of a first discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle (Fig. 15, time period 1540 Monitor WUS, time period 1545 WUS detected, time period 1535 PTW; ¶ [0126] After the wake-up signal 1545 is detected and after the search space 1540, the paging transmission window 1535 begins.),
a second module of the terminal being triggered to switch to an idle state (Fig. 12; ¶ [0089] When a wake-up signal is detected, the primary receiver and baseband processor are activated to monitor the MPDCCH channel.);
wherein the first target occasion (read as search space) is determined on an occasion on which the first module obtains the wakeup signal (¶ [0177] The UE can then go on to decode the PDCCH whose location/search space may be derived based on the location of the wake-up signal or information contained in the wake-up signal.), and
the first DRX cycle comprises the PTW (Fig. 14, time period 1402 UE timeline, time period 1404 eDRX cycle, time period 1406 Wake-up period, time period 1435 PTW; ¶ [0122] The eDRX cycle 1404 is shown on the UE timeline 1402. A paging transmission window 1435 occurs after the wake-up period 1406.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the timing of the DRX and PTW as taught by Bhattad with the wake-up receiver and paging occasion method as taught by Astrom. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce wake-up delay and power consumption by coordinating wake-up signaling and paging monitoring with the DRX/PTW timing so that the terminal activates its receiver and monitors for paging at appropriate occasions (Bhattad: ¶¶ [0006]-[0008]).
Astrom and Bhattad do not explicitly teach controlling, by the terminal, the second module to monitor a paging message based on a second DRX cycle starting at a second target occasion within a time outside the PTW of the first DRX cycle.
In analogous art, Cox teaches controlling, by the terminal, the second module (read as transceiver) to monitor a paging message based on a second DRX cycle starting at a second target occasion (read as after duration M) within a time outside the PTW of the first DRX cycle (¶ [0184] The WUS can be transmitted periodically, independent of the POs or C-DRX On-duration periods.; ¶ [0193] The next N DRX cycles after duration M from the end of WUS monitoring occasions may be used. M can be predefined or configured via RRC signaling.; ¶ [0239] In response to a determination that the WUS has been received, generate signaling to wake up a transceiver for reception of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for the UE in a paging occasion (PO).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine monitoring for paging as taught by Cox with the timing of the DRX and PTW as taught by Bhattad and the wake-up receiver and paging occasion method as taught by Astrom. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce power consumption while maintaining timely and reliable paging reception by using the wake-up receiver to selectively activate paging monitoring according to coordinated DRX and PTW timing (Cox: ¶ [0003]).
Regarding claims 3, 11, and 19, Astrom teaches controlling, by the terminal, the second module to monitor a paging message based on a second DRX cycle starting at a second target occasion, wherein the second target occasion is an occasion on which switching the second module to the idle state is completed (Fig. 2A, ¶ [0065] The device will awaken from a sleep state over a wake-up period that ends at time TAWAKE. The paging message will be transmitted to the device within a paging occasion (PO) that occurs after the wake-up period. The wake-up period signaled by the wireless device. The paging occasion starts at time TAWAKE, at which point the wireless device has awaken.; ¶ [0067] The radio network node configures the wireless device with a paging transmission window (PTW) that includes paging occasions (e.g., according to a certain DRX configuration).; ¶ [0082] Awakening includes activating one or more other receivers of the wireless device; and after awakening, using the one or more other receivers to receive a paging message during a paging occasion that occurs after the wake-up period. Alternatively, the paging occasion may be the first paging occasion that occurs within a paging transmission window for the wireless device, wherein the paging transmission window starts after the wake-up period.).
Regarding claims 4, 12, and 20, Astrom teaches controlling, by the terminal, the second module to monitor a paging message within a second DRX cycle of the PTW of the first DRX cycle, and the PTW comprises a plurality of the second DRX cycles (Fig. 2A & 2B; ¶ [0067] The radio node configures the wireless device with a paging transmission window (PTW) that includes paging occasions (e.g., according to a certain DRX configuration).; ¶ [0068] Schedule paging messages to be transmitted to the wireless device starting in the first paging occasion of the PTW and recurring in each subsequent paging occasion.; ¶ [0073] The maximum WUP in this case may be determined as the number of M of Pos multiplied by a DRX cycle length.; ¶ [0101] After awakening, using the one or more other receivers to receive a paging message during a paging occasion that occurs after the wake-up period.).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Astrom teaches wherein, within a time outside the PTW of the first DRX cycle, in a case that the second module is not triggered to switch to the idle state, the second module is in a dormant state (¶ [0136] In order to reach extremely low power consumption during sleep, the modem needs to be switched off entirely. While the WUR is operating, the baseband remains in deep sleep thereby allowing for even further power savings. Due to the deep sleep state, though, the UE will require a longer wake-up time from detecting the WUS until it can receive the xPDCCH.).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Astrom teaches wherein the method further comprises: in a case that the second module is in the idle state, controlling, by the terminal, the second module to perform radio resource management RRM measurement in the second DRX cycle (¶ [0145] The UE is configured for DRX or eDRX as usual.; ¶ [0147] A UE waking up from deep sleep confirms its cell id from, e.g., the RSS. A UE unable to confirm the cell id will start the data radio and perform cell search/reselection etc.).
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Astrom teaches wherein the first module is a wakeup signal receiving module of the terminal, and the second module is a data transmission module of the terminal (¶ [0112] The wireless device includes a signaling unit or module for transmitting and/or receiving the signaling.; ¶ [0113] Includes a WUS receiving unit or module for receiving a wake-up signal using a wake-up receiver.).
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Astrom in view of Bhattad further in view of Cox and 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #93, Nokia, Wake-up signal for efeMTC (R1-1086174; hereinafter 3GPP R1-1086174).
Regarding claim 7 and 15, Astrom, Bhattad, and Cox do not explicitly teach wherein the wakeup signal comprises at least one of the following: identification information of the terminal; or identification information of a group which the terminal belongs to.
In analogous art, 3GPP R1-1806174 teaches wherein the wakeup signal comprises at least one of the following: identification information of the terminal; or identification information of a group which the terminal belongs to (Section 3 – Design considerations, Since the WUS also conveys the group ID, these IDs could be provided by the WUS. Proposal 2: The UE group ID can be conveyed by scrambling sequence.; Note: MPEP 2143.03, when a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art. See, e.g., Fresenius USA, Inc. v. Baxter Int’l, Inc., 582 F.3d 1288, 92 USPQ2d 1163, 1171 (Fed. Cir. 2009).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the technique for power consumption reduction taught by 3GPP R1-1806174 with monitoring for paging as taught by Cox, the timing of the DRX and PTW as taught by Bhattad, and the wake-up receiver and paging occasion method as taught by Astrom. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce UE power consumption while reliably waking in time to monitor for the paging occasion by using the short wake-up signal design of R1-1806174 to trigger and tailor the wake-up receiver based wake/sleep and paging occasion monitoring of Astrom (3GPP R1-1806174: Section 3 – Design Considerations).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bhattad et al. (US 2018/0332533 A1) discloses “Wake-up Signal (WUS) and Wake-up Receiver (WUR) in a Communication Device”
Qiao (US 2024/0080764 A1) discloses “Method and Apparatus for Power Saving Mode Transmission”
Zhang et al. (US 2017/0201963 A1) discloses “Paging Optimization for Narrow Band Internet of Things (NB-IOT)”
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.M.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/RICKY Q NGO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2464