Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 11/14/2025, with respect to claim 17 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim 17 has been withdrawn. Claims 17-19 and 21 are allowed.
Applicant's arguments, with respect to claims 1 and 20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, applicant argues that Turner et al. (U.S. 5,931,000) fail to teach that an outer surface of the carrier body does not contact an inner surface of the tool body.
Examiner respectfully disagree. First, “an outer surface” and “an inner surface” only implies a portion of the outer surface and a portion of the inner surface and Not all sections of the outer and inner surface. Therefore, only a section of these surfaces are not in contact with each other. As shown in the annotated fig. 8a below, an outer surface of the carrier body (78; examiner notes that “an outer surface” only requires a portion/section of the entire outer surface) does not contact an inner surface of the tool body (52; see annotated fig. 8a below. Examiner notes that “an inner surface” only requires a portion/section of the entire inner surface).
Applicant also argues that neither material 56 nor cushion 60 are a phase change media.
Examiner agrees that cushion 60 is not a phase change media. However, material 56 is based on the discussion in col. 7, lines 60-65 which teach that “material 56” is a thermal conductive material. Col. 10, lines 20-30 gives examples of thermally conductive materials to include thermal phase change materials. This phase change media/material is sealed within the interior compartment of the carrier body, 78; as shown in figs. 8, 8a. carrier body 78 surrounds 56 and is sealed via the left and right chassis 88a and 88b.
Regarding claim 20, applicant argues that Johnston et al. (U.S. 2023/0083743A1) fail to teach that an outer surface of the carrier body does not contact an inner surface of the tool body.
Examiner respectfully disagree. First, “an outer surface” and “an inner surface” only implies a portion of the outer surface and a portion of the inner surface and Not all sections of the outer and inner surface. Therefore, only a section of these surfaces are not in contact with each other. An outer surface of the carrier body (200, see annotated fig. 2B below; examiner notes that “an outer surface” only requires a portion/section of the entire outer surface) does not contact an inner surface of the tool body (102; as shown in fig. 2B; Examiner notes that “an inner surface” only requires a portion/section of the entire inner surface).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, 8-9, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Turner et al. (U.S. 5,931,000).
Regarding claim 1, Turner et al. disclose a downhole electronics enclosure system (see fig. 8), comprising:
a tool body (“housing 52”, fig. 8; also represented as module 10 in fig. 1) defining an interior cavity (inner bore of 52);
a carrier body (78) removably provided (the term “removably” is vague, does not fine what is at stake, and can be interpreted broadly: everything is removable from within a cavity when the due force is applied; a carrier body which is removed by application of force, even if it causes collateral damage, it is a removable carrier body) within the interior cavity (as shown in fig. 8 and 9), the carrier body (78) defining an interior compartment (as shown in figs. 8, 8a) for receiving electronics (“electronic component 54” comprising sub-components 57 and 59; see figs. 8 and 8a; refer to col. 8, lines 9-10);
a phase change media (col. 7, lines 60-65: “material 56” is a thermal conductive material; col. 10, lines 20-30: examples of the thermally conductive materials include thermal grease, such as thermal phase change materials. Examiner also note that thermal conductive materials such as 60, discussed in col. 8, lines 1-5 can also be considered the phase change media) sealed within the interior compartment of the carrier body (78; as shown in figs. 8, 8a); and
a support mechanism (88a, 88b, 89, figs. 8 and 8a) that suspends the carrier body (78) within the interior cavity of the tool body (52), such that an outer surface of the carrier body (78; examiner notes that “an outer surface” only requires a portion/section of the entire outer surface) does not contact an inner surface of the tool body (52; see annotated fig. 8a below. Examiner notes that “an inner surface” only requires a portion/section of the entire inner surface).
Regarding claim 3, Turner et al. disclose the support mechanism (88a, 88b, 89, figs. 8 and 8a) comprises an upper end cap (88b) arranged around an open top end (left end shown in fig. 9) of the carrier body (78) and a lower end cap (88a) arranged around an open bottom end of the carrier body (78; see fig. 9), such that the carrier body (78) is suspended within the interior cavity of the tool body (52) via the upper end cap and the lower end cap (see fig. 9).
Regarding claim 5, Turner et al. disclose wherein the upper end cap (88b) and/or the lower end cap (88a) comprises an interior bracket (see annotated fig. 8 below) extending into the interior cavity for supporting electronics (54) contained within the carrier body (see fig. 8 below).
Regarding claim 8, Turner et al. disclose wherein the upper end cap (88b) and/or the lower end cap (88a) comprises a hole (92, figs. 8b and 9) through which the interior compartment of the carrier body may be accessed (in the absence of screw 90, the interior compartment of the carrier body may be accessed via holes 92).
Regarding claim 9, Turner et al. disclose an upper bulkhead (12, fig. 1) provided at an upper end of the tool body (10); and a lower bulkhead (next section connected to 10 in fig. 1) provided at a lower end of the tool body (see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, Turner et al. disclose wherein either: a gas is injected into a space defined between the carrier body and the interior cavity of the tool body, wherein the gas has lower heat transfer properties than air and comprises Nitrogen, Argon, or dry air (col. 13, lines 42-48: “gaps 61, which may be filled with air or other gas).
Regarding claim 13, Turner et al. disclose wherein an outer surface of the carrier body (78) provides at least one of slots, ribs, and fins (side walls 80, fig. 8a can be considered a slot or rib).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated Johnston et al. (U.S. 2023/0083743A1).
Regarding claim 20, Johnston et al. disclose a method, comprising: providing electronics (210; figs. 2B, 2C, and para 0366) within an interior compartment (interior space in outermost layer 201; fig. 2C) of a carrier body (200; see figs. 2B, 2C);
sealing a phase change media (the “passive thermal barrier 200” comprising at least 2 layers, discussed in para 0359, comprises phase change materials, as stated in para 0052; also refer to para 0327 and 0358. Examiner notes that layers 202-205 can be considered the phase change media as they can be made to comprise the phase change material) within the interior compartment (interior of 201) via at least one end cap (first and second ends 222; see fig. 3 and refer to para 0420), wherein the carrier body (200) having the at least one end cap (222) sealed thereon defines a carrier (see figs. 3-4);
suspending the carrier (200) within an interior cavity of a tool body (102; see fog. 2B), such that an outer surface of the carrier body (200, see annotated fig. 2B below; examiner notes that “an outer surface” only requires a portion/section of the entire outer surface) does not contact an inner surface of the tool body (102; as shown in fig. 2B; Examiner notes that “an inner surface” only requires a portion/section of the entire inner surface); and
at least partially evacuating air or gas (via 104) from a space defined between the carrier body and the tool body (see fig. 2B and refer to para 0342).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turner et al. (U.S. 5,931,000), in view of Tackmann et al. (U.S. 2019/0368314A1).
Regarding claim 2, Turner et al. teach all the features of this claim as applied to claim 1 above; however, Turner et al. fail to teach that the phase change media comprises a paraffin wax.
Tackmann et al. teach a downhole tool comprising a temperature control system, wherein the temperature control system comprises a thermal control mechanism (refer to abstract). The thermal control mechanism comprises a thermal conductive material, wherein the material is a phase change material, such as paraffin (refer to para 0031 and 0071).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted one type of phase change material for another to achieve the predictable result of providing thermal control.
Claims 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turner et al. (U.S. 5,931,000), in view of Johnston et al. (U.S. 2023/0083743A1).
Regarding claim 7, Turner et al. teach all the features of this claim as applied to claim 1 above; however, Turner et al. fail to teach wherein an exterior surface of the upper end cap and an exterior surface of the lower end cap are polished.
Johnston et al. teach a tool for thermally isolating a downhole thermally sensitive component (refer to abstract). The tool comprises a thermal barrier (200, figs. 2C) that is finished with a polished surface for promoting thermal emissivity (para 0375).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the upper and lower end caps of Turner et al. to have a polished surface, as taught by Johnston et al., for promoting thermal emissivity (para 0375).
Regarding claim 10, Turner et al. teach all the features of this claim as applied to claim 1 above; however, Turner et al. fail to teach wherein the outer surface of the carrier body is polished.
Johnston et al. teach a tool for thermally isolating a downhole thermally sensitive component (refer to abstract). The tool comprises a thermal barrier (200, figs. 2C) that is finished with a polished surface for promoting thermal emissivity (para 0375).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the outer surface of the carrier body of Turner et al. to have a polished surface, as taught by Johnston et al., for promoting thermal emissivity (para 0375).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-19 and 21 are allowed.
Claims 4, 6, 11, and 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 4, Turner et al. disclose wherein the upper end cap (88b) and the lower end cap (88a) each include a base (96, fig. 8), a shaft (longitudinal section around 92) extending axially from the base (see figs. 8 and 9), and a plurality of spokes (see annotated fig. 8a above) extending radially outward from an end of the shaft (see annotated fig. 8a above), however, Turner et al. fail to teach wherein the plurality of spokes contact the inner surface of the tool body and the base contacts the carrier body such that heat is conducted to the carrier body through the plurality of spokes, the shaft, and the base.
Regarding claim 17, Turner et al. disclose (examiner is using the embodiment of fig. 8) a carrier (assembly inside 52) for housing electronics (“electronic component 54”; refer to col. 8, lines 9-10) within a downhole tool (10; see figs. 4-5), comprising:
a carrier body (78) defining an open top end (left end receiving 88b and 92, see fig. 9), an interior compartment (receiving electronics 54), and an open bottom end (right end receiving 88b and 92, fig. 9), wherein the open top end and the open bottom end are in communication with the interior compartment (as shown in fig. 9);
an upper end cap (88b) provided at the open top end of the carrier body and generating a sealed interface with the open top end (as shown in fig. 9);
a lower end cap (88a) provided at the open bottom end of the carrier body and generating a sealed interface at the open bottom end (as shown in fig. 9); and
a phase change media (col. 7, lines 60-65” “material 56” is a thermal conductive material; col. 10, lines 20-30: examples of the thermally conductive materials include thermal grease, such as thermal phase change materials. Examiner also note that thermal conductive materials such as 60, discussed in col. 8, lines 1-5 can also be considered the phase change media) sealed within the interior compartment of the carrier body via the upper end cap and the lower end cap (as shown in fig. 9), wherein: the upper end cap and the lower end cap each include a shaft (longitudinal section around 92), a plurality of spokes (see annotated fig. 8a below) extending from a first end of the shaft (see annotated fig. 8a below), and a base (96, see fig. 8) extending from a second end of the shaft (see fig. 8a), the base is disposed within either the open top end or the open bottom end of the carrier body (see fig. 8a).
However, Turner et al. fail to teach that the plurality of spokes radially extend from the shaft for suspending the carrier. Examiner has interpreted “radially extend from the shaft” to mean that it extends vertically from the shaft towards the interior wall of body 52. As shown in the annotated fig. 8a above, the highlighted spokes do not extend vertically or radially from the shaft.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wolk (U.S. 4,629,888).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YANICK A AKARAGWE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672