DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wyers (US# 2010/0108448).
Wyers discloses all the limitations of the instant claim including; a first braking member 40/45; a second braking member 50/55; a frictional material 25/65 coupled to at least a portion of either the first braking member or the second braking member; a confinement zone to house a movement component 15 of a mobile unit; and wherein the first braking member is removably attached to the second braking member to create the confinement zone and house the movement component of the mobile unit.
Regarding claim 2, the first braking member includes at least one coupling bore (interior of 40, Fig. 5) on a first braking member attachment face, the first braking member attachment face located at a first braking member end section 40; and wherein the second braking member includes at least one coupling bore (interior of 55, Fig. 5) on a second braking member attachment face, the second braking member attachment face located at a second braking member end section 55.
Regarding claim 9, the frictional material has a higher frictional coefficient when contacting a ground surface than a surface contacting portion of the first braking member or the second braking member onto which the frictional material is coupled. [0019]
Claim(s) 1-2, 10-14 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Clarke (US# 2022/0396239).
Clarke discloses all the limitations of the instant claim including; a first braking member 48/130; a second braking member 158; a frictional material 202 coupled to at least a portion of either the first braking member or the second braking member; a confinement zone to house a movement component 42 of a mobile unit 46; and wherein the first braking member is removably attached to the second braking member to create the confinement zone and house the movement component of the mobile unit.
Regarding claim 2, the first braking member includes at least one coupling bore (interior of 145, Fig. 4) on a first braking member attachment face, the first braking member attachment face located at a first braking member end section 134; and wherein the second braking member 158 includes at least one coupling bore (interior of 131, Fig. 5) on a second braking member attachment face, the second braking member attachment face located at a second braking member end section 142.
Regarding claim 10, Clarke discloses a first braking member 48/130; a second braking member 158, the second braking member being removably attachable to the first braking member; a biasing mechanism 32/34, the biasing mechanism 238/270 positioned and movable through either the first braking member 48/130 or the second braking member; a confinement zone to house a movement component 42 of a mobile unit 46, the confinement zone formed via removable attachment of the first braking member 48/130 with the second braking member 158; and wherein the biasing mechanism is movable between a first position (Fig. 7) and a second position (Fig. 8), the first position placing the biasing mechanism further away from the confinement zone and the second position placing the biasing mechanism further within the confinement zone for selective contact with the movement component of the mobile unit.
Regarding claim 11, the biasing mechanism has a first end 272 and a second end 244 or 224, the first end of the biasing mechanism located outside of the confinement zone and the second end of the biasing mechanisms located within the confinement zone.
Regarding claim 12, the second end 224 of the biasing mechanism engages a first movement component side of the movable component 42 when the biasing mechanism is placed in the second position. Fig. 8.
Regarding claim 13, a second movement component side of the movable component 42 engages a side wall 162 of either the first braking member or the second braking member 158 to secure the movable component between the side wall and the second end of the biasing mechanism in the second position.
Regarding claim 14, the second end of the biasing mechanism has an end plate 228, the end plate in operative connection with the second end and capable of engaging a first movement component side of the movable component 42 when the biasing mechanism is placed in the second position.
Regarding claim 18, Clarke discloses a method to secure a movable component 42 of a mobile unit 46 with a braking device, the method comprising: placing a first braking member 48/130 of the braking device around the movable component, wherein the movable component is located within a confinement zone of the braking device; placing a second braking member 158 around the movable component at a location opposite the first braking member; attaching the first braking member 48/130 to the second braking member 158 to create the confinement zone surrounding the movable component; adjusting a biasing mechanism 238/270 operatively coupled through either the first braking member or the second braking member, the biasing mechanism having a portion 244 present within the confinement zone of the braking device; and wherein adjustment of the biasing mechanism moves a positional location of the biasing mechanism further into the confinement zone towards the moveable component until engagement with a first movement component side of the movable component to secure the moveable component within the confinement zone of the braking device. Fig. 8.
Regarding claim 19, the attaching step further includes an alignment extension 184 located on either a first braking member attachment face or a second braking member attachment face; an alignment bore 146/148/150/152/154/156 located on the other of the first braking member attachment face or the second braking member attachment face; and wherein mating the alignment extension on either the first braking member attachment face or the second braking member attachment face with the alignment bore on the other of the first braking member attachment face or the second braking member attachment face further secures attachment of the first braking member to the second braking member.
Regarding claim 20, the adjusting step further includes a first end 272 of the biasing mechanism located outside the confinement zone; a second end 244 of the biasing mechanism located within the confinement zone; a threaded connection 262 to operatively couple the biasing mechanism with a biasing bore through either the first braking member or the second braking member; and wherein rotational movement of the first end of the biasing mechanism facilitates adjustment of the positional location of the biasing mechanism, via the threaded connection, both further into the confinement zone to help secure the movable component via the second end of the biasing mechanism, or further away from the confinement zone to help release any previously secured movable component within the confinement zone. Fig. 7-8.
Claim(s) 1-2 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Talapureddi et al (US# 12552548).
Talapureddi discloses all the limitations of the instant claim including; a first braking member 100; a second braking member 100’; a frictional material 132 coupled to at least a portion of either the first braking member or the second braking member; a confinement zone to house a movement component 10 of a mobile unit; and wherein the first braking member is removably attached to the second braking member to create the confinement zone and house the movement component of the mobile unit. Fig. 5.
Regarding claim 2, the first braking member includes at least one coupling bore (bore receiving 128) on a first braking member attachment face, the first braking member attachment face located at a first braking member end section; and wherein the second braking member includes at least one coupling bore (bore receiving 128) on a second braking member attachment face, the second braking member attachment face located at a second braking member end section.
Regarding claim 8, the frictional material 132 is further coupled to at least portions of each the first braking member 100 and the second braking member 100’, the frictional material being coupled to a surface contacting portion 122/122’ of each the first braking member and the second braking member. Col. 6, lines 10-13.
Regarding claim 9, the frictional material has a higher frictional coefficient when contacting a ground surface than a surface contacting portion of the first braking member or the second braking member onto which the frictional material is coupled.
Claim(s) 1-2 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lovelady (US# 2018/0056948).
Lovelady discloses all the limitations of the instant claim including; a first braking member 12; a second braking member 14; a frictional material 34/36 coupled to at least a portion of either the first braking member or the second braking member; a confinement zone to house a movement component 5 of a mobile unit; and wherein the first braking member is removably attached to the second braking member to create the confinement zone and house the movement component of the mobile unit.
Regarding claim 2, the first braking member 12 includes at least one coupling bore (bore receiving rod 26) on a first braking member attachment face, the first braking member attachment face located at a first braking member end section; and wherein the second braking member 14 includes at least one coupling bore (bore receiving rod 26) on a second braking member attachment face, the second braking member attachment face located at a second braking member end section. Fig. 2.
Regarding claim 8, the frictional material 34/36 is further coupled to at least portions of each the first braking member 12 and the second braking member 14, the frictional material being coupled to a surface contacting portion of each the first braking member and the second braking member. Fig. 3.
Regarding claim 9, the frictional material has a higher frictional coefficient when contacting a ground surface than a surface contacting portion of the first braking member or the second braking member onto which the frictional material is coupled. [0021]
Claim(s) 10, 15 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Retterer (US# 1353541).
Retterer discloses all the limitations of the instant claim including; a first braking member 1-3; a second braking member 15, the second braking member being removably attachable to the first braking member; a biasing mechanism 18, the biasing mechanism 18 positioned and movable through either the first braking member or the second braking member 15; a confinement zone to house a movement component F/T of a mobile unit, the confinement zone formed via removable attachment of the first braking member with the second braking member; and wherein the biasing mechanism is movable between a first position and a second position, the first position placing the biasing mechanism further away from the confinement zone and the second position placing the biasing mechanism further within the confinement zone for selective contact with the movement component of the mobile unit.
Regarding claim 15, the biasing mechanism 18 has a threaded configuration and either the first braking member or the second braking member 15 has a biasing bore with a corresponding threaded configuration to receive the biasing mechanism, the biasing mechanism positioned and movable through the biasing bore present on either the first braking member or the second braking member via a threaded connection achieved by the threaded configuration of the biasing mechanism operatively secured within the biasing bore having the corresponding threaded configuration.
Regarding claim 18, Retterer discloses a method to secure a movable component of a mobile unit with a braking device, the method comprising: placing a first braking member 1-3 of the braking device around the movable component, wherein the movable component is located within a confinement zone of the braking device; placing a second braking member 15 around the movable component at a location opposite the first braking member; attaching the first braking member 1-3 to the second braking member 15 to create the confinement zone surrounding the movable component; adjusting a biasing mechanism 18 operatively coupled through either the first braking member or the second braking member, the biasing mechanism having a portion present within the confinement zone of the braking device; and wherein adjustment of the biasing mechanism moves a positional location of the biasing mechanism further into the confinement zone towards the moveable component until engagement with a first movement component side of the movable component to secure the moveable component within the confinement zone of the braking device.
Regarding claim 19, the attaching step further includes an alignment extension 16 located on either a first braking member attachment face or a second braking member 15 attachment face; an alignment bore 7 located on the other of the first braking member attachment face 2 or the second braking member attachment face; and wherein mating the alignment extension on either the first braking member attachment face or the second braking member attachment face with the alignment bore on the other of the first braking member attachment face or the second braking member attachment face further secures attachment of the first braking member to the second braking member.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clarke (US# 2022/0396239) in view of Omran et al (US# 2021/0046908).
Clarke discloses all the limitations of the instant claim with exception to the disclosure of a hook located on either the first braking member or the second braking member, the hook useable to assist in placing the braking device into a storage position; and a carrying band coupled to the hook. Omran et al disclose a similar device and further teach a hook located on either the first braking member or the second braking member, the hook useable to assist in placing the braking device into a storage position; and a carrying band coupled to the hook. Fig. 7 [0053][0059] It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a hook and band such as taught by Omran et al in the device of Clarke to facilitate handling and storage of the device.
Claims 16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Retterer (US# 1353541) in view of Stuart (US# 6119992).
Regarding claim 16, Retterer discloses all the limitations of the instant claim with exception to a knob being present on the biasing mechanism in operative connection with the first end, the knob having a larger surface area than the first end of the biasing mechanism, and the knob capable of rotational movement to adjust the location of the biasing mechanism via the threaded connection between the first position and the second position. Stuart teaches a removable a knob 14 being present on a biasing mechanism in operative connection with the first end, the knob having a larger surface area than the first end of the biasing mechanism, and the knob capable of rotational movement to adjust the location of the biasing mechanism via the threaded connection between the first position and the second position. Fig. 7. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a removable knob such as taught by Stuart for the biasing mechanism 18 of Retterer to facilitate adjustment after installation of the device, thereby simplifying adjustment without the need for tools.
Regarding claim 20, as modified, Retterer discloses the adjusting step further includes a first end (threaded end of 18) of the biasing mechanism located outside the confinement zone; a second end (head of 18) of the biasing mechanism located within the confinement zone; a threaded connection to operatively couple the biasing mechanism with a biasing bore through either the first braking member or the second braking member; and wherein rotational movement of the first end of the biasing mechanism facilitates adjustment of the positional location of the biasing mechanism, via the threaded connection, both further into the confinement zone to help secure the movable component via the second end of the biasing mechanism, or further away from the confinement zone to help release any previously secured movable component within the confinement zone. Fig. 7-8.
Claim(s) 3-5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Talapureddi et al (US# 12552548) in view of Busch et al (US# 7793987)
Talapureddi et al disclose all the limitations of the instant claim with exception to a plurality of magnets; and wherein the plurality of magnets is positioned at least partially within each of the at least one coupling bore of the first braking member attachment face and the at least one coupling bore of the second braking member attachment face. Talapureddi broadly discloses a magnetic coupler (col. 6, lines 19-20), but do not disclose any details. Busch et al teach a magnetic coupling including a magnet 64 positioned at least partially within a coupling bore of a first attachment face 66. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the magnetic coupling structure taught by Busch et al for the magnetic coupling of Talapureddi et al to facilitate attachment in a properly aligned manner.
Regarding claim 4, Busch et al further teach a first alignment extension 43, the first alignment extension projecting outward from the first attachment face 66. As modified, both brake members would have the magnet coupling and the second brake member 100’ would have a second alignment extension 43, the second alignment extension projecting outward from the second braking member attachment face.
Regarding claim 5, Busch et al teaches a first alignment bore 45, the first alignment bore being recessed into a second attachment face (opposite end of 100) of the first braking member; and a second alignment bore 45, the second alignment bore being recessed into a second attachment face (opposite end of 100’)of the second braking member.
Regarding claim 7, as modified, each of the first alignment extension, the first alignment bore, the second alignment extension, and the second alignment bore are centrally positioned on their respective attachment faces of each the first braking member and the second braking member.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/BRADLEY T KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616
BTK