Detailed Action
Election/Restrictions
Claims 31-41, 46, 48-53 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected 3, 8, 12 and 13, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/17/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9, 10, 16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Smith (PGPUB 2017/0336902 A1).
As to claim 1, Smith (Fig. 3B) teaches, a touch driving circuit (force-responsive sensor 300b), comprising:
a touch sensing part (touch sensor 310) configured to sense a touch (¶ 108); and
a force sensing part (drive circuitry 302, force-sensitive element collection 304, and readout circuitry 304) configured to sense a force (¶ 108, 119: i.e. step 406),
wherein force sensing driving of the force sensing part is controlled based on a touch sensing signal (i.e. signal output from touch sensor 310 to power controller 308) of the touch sensing part (¶ 108: i.e. duty cycle of drive circuitry 302 and readout circuitry for strain sensor 304 can be controlled based a signal output from the touch sensor 310).
As to claim 2, Smith (Fig. 4) teaches, wherein the force sensing part is driven in a first force sensing mode (i.e. lowered duty cycle) or a second force sensing mode (i.e. increased duty cycle), based on the touch sensing signal (¶ 48: i.e. increased duty cycle, ¶ 120: i.e. lowered duty cycle for force sensor)
As to claim 3, Smith (Fig. 4) teaches, wherein a driving frequency of the first force sensing mode differs from a driving frequency (duty cycle) of the second force sensing mode, or is lower than a driving frequency of the second force sensing mode (¶ 48, 120: i.e. lowered duty cycle has lower driving frequency than the increased duty cycle).
As to claim 4, Smith (Fig. 4) teaches, wherein a driving frequency of the first force sensing mode is lower than a driving frequency of the second force sensing mode (¶ 48, 120: i.e. lowered duty cycle has lower driving frequency than the increased duty cycle).
As to claim 5, Smith (Fig. 4) teaches, wherein the driving frequency is a sampling frequency of an analog-to-digital converter (¶ 27, 45: analog-to-digital conversion stage) included in the force sensing part (¶ 31: i.e. both duty cycle and sampling rate can be controlled same way for same effect in power consumption).
As to claim 6, Smith (Fig. 4) teaches, wherein the force sensing part does not transfer a force sensing signal (i.e. completely disabled) in the first force sensing mode. (¶ 33, 105: i.e. completely disable the drive circuitry and readout circuitry associated with force-responsive sensor).
As to claim 7, Smith (Fig. 4) teaches, wherein the force sensing part transfers a force sensing signal in the second force sensing mode (i.e. signal for determined force exerted)(¶ 48: i.e. increased duty, ¶ 101: i.e. analog or digital signal to process information).
As to claim 9, Smith (Fig. 4) teaches, wherein, in the second force sensing mode, the force sensing part determines whether to transfer a force sensing signal (i.e. selectively enable or disable) , based on the touch sensing signal of the touch sensing part (¶ 83).
As to claim 10, Smith (Fig. 4) teaches, wherein the force sensing part maintains the second force sensing mode, based on the touch sensing signal of the touch sensing part (¶ 50: i.e. duty cycle may be the same).
As to claim 16, Smith (Fig. 3B) teaches, wherein the force sensing part receives the touch sensing signal from the touch sensing part (Fig. 4: i.e. signal via touch sensor and power controller).
As to claim 18, Smith (Fig. 3B) teaches, wherein the force sensing part receives a data packet (i.e. digital signal), including the touch sensing signal through a communication interface (power controller 308)(¶ 92, 93: i.e. amplifier 314 and 322 can be digital circuit)(¶ 6, 30).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8, 11-15, 17, 19, 20, 22, and 42-44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith in view of Holbein et al (PGPUB 2011/0080349 A1).
As to claim 8, Smith teaches the touch driving circuit of claim 1 but does not specifically teach a controller configured to control the touch sensing part to an activation mode or a deactivation mode, based on the touch sensing signal.
Holbein (Fig. 1) teaches, a controller (processor 102) configured to control the touch sensing part to an activation mode or a deactivation mode (i.e. activated or deactivated), based on the touch sensing signal (¶ 70, 77: i.e. screen press is not detected, the touch-sensitive display 118 is deactivated until reactivated by the detection of another wakeup force).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Holbein’s touch-sensitive display with force sensing into Smith’s touch-sensitive display with force sensing, so as to improve and reduce the power consumption of the touch-sensitive displays of portable electronic devices (¶ 3, 61).
As to claim 11, Smith teaches the touch driving circuit of claim 8 but does not specifically teach wherein, in the second force sensing mode, the force sensing part is changed to the first force sensing mode after the touch sensing part is changed to the deactivation mode.
Holbein (Fig. 9) teaches, wherein, in the second force sensing mode (i.e. activated state at step 904 due to inertial event being detected at step 902. At this time, touch-sensitive display is deactivated from sleep mode in step 804), the force sensing part is changed to the first force sensing mode after the touch sensing part is changed to the deactivation mode (Fig. 9: i.e. after touch-display mode enter sleep mode in step 804, force sensors can be activated at 904, which is “second force sensing mode”. Then, force sensors can be deactivated, switching from the second force sensing mode to the first force sensing mode, when no wakeup force is detected as described in ¶ 91).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Holbein’s touch-sensitive display with force sensing into Smith’s touch-sensitive display with force sensing, so as to improve and reduce the power consumption of the touch-sensitive displays of portable electronic devices (¶ 3, 61).
As to claim 12, Smith teaches the touch driving circuit of claim 11 but does not specifically teach wherein the force sensing part is changed to the first force sensing mode after a certain time elapses after the touch sensing part is changed to the deactivation mode.
Holbein (Fig. 9) teaches, wherein the force sensing part is changed to the first force sensing mode (¶ 91: i.e. force sensors 122 deactivated) after a certain time elapses (i.e. time elapsed in steps 806 and 902 due to no inertial event being detected) after the touch sensing part is changed to the deactivation mode (steps 804-904, 804: i.e. touch-sensitive display is remained in sleep mode).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Holbein’s touch-sensitive display with force sensing into Smith’s touch-sensitive display with force sensing, so as to improve and reduce the power consumption of the touch-sensitive displays of portable electronic devices (¶ 3, 61).
As to claims 13 and 15, Smith teaches the touch driving circuit of claim 12 but does not specifically teach wherein the certain time is counted from a time at which the touch sensing part is changed to the deactivation mode.
Holbein (Fig. 1) teaches, wherein the certain time is counted from a time (i.e. predetermined duty cycle of sleep clock) at which the touch sensing part is changed to the deactivation mode (“off” time)(¶ 62).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Holbein’s touch-sensitive display with force sensing into Smith’s touch-sensitive display with force sensing, so as to improve and reduce the power consumption of the touch-sensitive displays of portable electronic devices (¶ 3, 61).
As to claim 14, Smith teaches the touch driving circuit of claim 8 but does not specifically teach wherein, in the second force sensing mode, when the touch sensing part is changed to the activation mode within a certain time after the touch sensing part is changed to the deactivation mode, the force sensing part maintains the second force sensing mode.
Holbein (Fig. 9) teaches, wherein, in the second force sensing mode (i.e. step 904), when the touch sensing part is changed to the activation mode within a certain time after the touch sensing part is changed to the deactivation mode (i.e. touch-sensitive display is reactivated due to wakeup force detected by force sensor 122 at step 812), the force sensing part maintains the second force sensing mode (step 812: i.e. exists sleep mode and force sensor 122 remains activated and touch-display device is reactivated).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Holbein’s touch-sensitive display with force sensing into Smith’s touch-sensitive display with force sensing, so as to improve and reduce the power consumption of the touch-sensitive displays of portable electronic devices (¶ 3, 61).
As to claim 17, Smith (Fig. 3B) teaches, wherein the force sensing part receives the touch sensing signal from the touch sensing part (Fig. 4: i.e. signal via touch sensor and power controller).
Smith does not specifically teach, a controller configured to control the touch sensing part and the force sensing part.
Holbein (Fig. 1) teaches, a controller (processor 102) configured to control the touch sensing part and the force sensing part (i.e. processors controls touch-sensitive display 118 and force sensor 122).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Holbein’s touch-sensitive display with force sensing into Smith’s touch-sensitive display with force sensing, so as to improve and reduce the power consumption of the touch-sensitive displays of portable electronic devices (¶ 3, 61).
As to claim 19, Smith teaches the touch driving of claim 1 but does not specifically teach a piezoelectric member.
Holbein (Fig. 3A) teaches, a piezoelectric member (piezoelectric disk actuator 314 and piezoelectric disks 318) including a piezoelectric material (piezoelectric), wherein the force sensing part is configured to sense a force sensing signal based on a strain of the piezoelectric member (¶ 52: i.e. pressure causes mechanical deformation and create a voltage proportional to the charged from the mechanical deformation. The piezoelectric disks 318 can be used as the sensors).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Holbein’s touch-sensitive display with force sensing into Smith’s touch-sensitive display with force sensing, so as to improve and reduce the power consumption of the touch-sensitive displays of portable electronic devices (¶ 3, 61).
As to claim 20, Smith teaches the touch driving circuit of claim 19 but does not specifically teach a vibration driver.
Holbein (Figs. 5 and 6) teaches, a vibration driver (piezoelectric driver 502) configured to generate a vibration driving signal (i.e. current to the piezoelectric disks 318), based on at least one of the touch sensing signal and the force sensing signal (i.e. signal from force sensor 122), and provide the vibration driving signal to the piezoelectric member (¶ 47, 49);
a switching circuit part (n-port SPST switch 604) between the piezoelectric member (i.e. connects to controller 500, which connects to piezoelectric disks 318) and each of the force sensing part (force sensor 122, which includes force sensing resistor FSRs 602) and the vibration driver (piezoelectric driver 502 via controller 500)(¶ 47, 54, 55, Figs. 5 and 6); and
a controller (processor 102) configured to control the switching circuit part to drive the force sensing part and the vibration driver (Figs. 5, 6: i.e. controller 500, n-port SPST switch receive signals as indicated by arrows as shown in Fig. 6. Further, Fig. 1 teaches processor 102 controlling force sensors 122 and actuators 120).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Holbein’s touch-sensitive display with force sensing into Smith’s touch-sensitive display with force sensing, so as to improve and reduce the power consumption of the touch-sensitive displays of portable electronic devices (¶ 3, 61).
As to claim 22, Smith teaches the touch driving circuit of claim 20 but does not specifically teach the switching part.
Holbein (Figs. 5, 6) teaches, wherein the controller is configured to control
the switching circuit part to selectively (i.e. by switching operation of n-port SPST switch) connect the force sensing part (FSRs 602) and the vibration driver (piezoelectric driver 502) with the piezoelectric member (piezoelectric disk 318)(Figs. 5, 6).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Holbein’s touch-sensitive display with force sensing into Smith’s touch-sensitive display with force sensing, so as to improve and reduce the power consumption of the touch-sensitive displays of portable electronic devices (¶ 3, 61).
As to claim 42, Smith (Figs. 3B, 4) teaches, a display apparatus (electronic device 100), comprising:
a display member (display 104) configured to display an image (¶ 37); and
a touch driver (force-responsive sensor 300b) connected with the display member (¶ 22: i.e. touch-sensitive display, ¶ 87),
wherein the touch driver comprises a touch driving circuit (force-responsive sensor 300b)(¶ 87),
wherein the touch driving circuit comprises:
a touch sensing part (touch sensor 310) configured to sense a touch (¶ 108); and
a force sensing part (drive circuitry 302, force-sensitive element collection 304, and readout circuitry 304) configured to sense a force (¶ 108, 119: i.e. step 406),
wherein force sensing driving of the force sensing part is controlled based on a touch sensing signal (i.e. signal output from touch sensor 310 to power controller 308) of the touch sensing part (¶ 108: i.e. duty cycle of drive circuitry 302 and readout circuitry for strain sensor 304 can be controlled based a signal output from the touch sensor 310).
Smith does not specifically teach, a controller configured to control the touch sensing part and the force sensing part.
Holbein (Fig. 1) teaches, a controller (processor 102) configured to control the touch sensing part and the force sensing part (i.e. processors controls touch-sensitive display 118 and force sensor 122; ¶0031).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Holbein’s touch-sensitive display with force sensing into Smith’s touch-sensitive display with force sensing, so as to improve and reduce the power consumption of the touch-sensitive displays of portable electronic devices (¶ 3, 61).
As to claim 43, Smith (Figs. 3b, 4) teaches, wherein the touch driver senses at least one of a touch (¶ 40: i.e. sense user’s finger) and a pressure of the display member (¶ 23: i.e. force exerted on the input surface).
As to claim 44, Smith teaches the display apparatus and haptic element of claim 42, but does not specifically teach haptic feedback vibration.
Holbein (Fig. 1) teaches, wherein the touch driver senses at least one of the touch and the pressure of the display member and provides a haptic feedback vibration (i.e. forced applied by piezoelectric disk 314/318) to the display member (touch-sensitive display 118), based on at least one of the touch and the pressure (¶ 40, 43, 44).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Holbein’s touch-sensitive display with force sensing into Smith’s touch-sensitive display with force sensing, so as to improve and reduce the power consumption of the touch-sensitive displays of portable electronic devices (¶ 3, 61).
Claim(s) 21, 45 and 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith and Holbein as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Oh et al (PGPUB 2020/0241642 A1).
As to claim 21, Smith and Holbein teach the touch driving circuit of claim 20 but do not specifically teach time-divisionally driven.
Oh (Fig. 3) teaches, wherein the force sensing part and the vibration driver are time-divisionally driven (¶ 143: i.e. pressure sensor SU and haptic unit HU are time-divisionally driven).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Oh’s driving method into Smith’s touch-sensitive display as modified with the teaching of Holbein’s touch-sensitive display, so as to provide a haptic device that cancels noise generated from the vibration (¶ 171).
As to claim 45, Smith teaches the display apparatus of claim 42 but does not specifically teach a piezoelectric member.
Holbein (Fig. 3A) teaches, at least one piezoelectric member (piezoelectric disk 318 and piezoelectric disk actuator 314) connected with a rear surface of the display panel (Fig. 3A: i.e. 314 and 318 are on bottom side of the display screen 112).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Holbein’s touch-sensitive display with force sensing into Smith’s touch-sensitive display with force sensing, so as to improve and reduce the power consumption of the touch-sensitive displays of portable electronic devices (¶ 3, 61).
Holbein does not specifically teach a plurality of pixels.
Oh (Fig. 1) teaches, wherein the display member comprises:
a display panel (LED layer / display) including a plurality of pixels (pixels) configured to display the image (¶ 71).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Oh’s driving method into Smith’s touch-sensitive display as modified with the teaching of Holbein’s touch-sensitive display, so as to provide a haptic device that cancels noise generated from the vibration (¶ 171).
As to claim 47, Smith teaches the display apparatus of claim 45 but does not specifically teach a plurality of piezoelectric members.
Holbein (Figs. 1, 4) teaches, wherein the display panel comprises a plurality
of areas (i.e. four corners), wherein the at least one piezoelectric member (piezoelectric disk 318) comprises a plurality of piezoelectric members respectively disposed in the plurality of areas (Fig. 4: i.e. four corners and four corresponding piezoelectric disks), and
wherein the touch driver individually controls each of the plurality of piezoelectric
members (¶ 49: i.e. piezoelectric disk actuators 314 can be controlled separately).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Holbein’s touch-sensitive display with force sensing into Smith’s touch-sensitive display with force sensing, so as to improve and reduce the power consumption of the touch-sensitive displays of portable electronic devices (¶ 3, 61).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 23 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 23 recites the limitation, “wherein the force sensing part is driven in the first force sensing mode or the second force sensing mode, based on the touch sensing signal, and wherein the vibration driver is driven in a first vibration standby mode or a second vibration standby mode, based on the touch sensing signal”. The claim specifically requires the vibration driver with two standby modes based on the touch sensing signal. Examiner conducted a search to find the prior arts that would teach all of the limitations required by claims 1, 19, 20, and 23 but could not find them.
Inquiry
/SANGHYUK PARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623