DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01-05-2024 and 10-31-2024 are considered; the submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Drawings: Drawing Fig. 1 discloses the term “RRSP”, it was interpreted as “RSRP”.
Specification: paragraphs 19, 27, 93, and 113 disclose “RRSP” and it was interpreted as “RSRP”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claims 1 and 9 disclose the following: “PRACH” no definition was provided, “RRSP”, no definition was provided, LN 13 discloses “determined preamble” but it is ambiguous as it can be referring to the “preamble format/sequence”; claim 3 also discloses on line 3 “preamble” but it further produces ambiguity as to which preamble in claim 1 is referring; Claim 9 discloses “RRSP” without a definition; Ln 8 discloses preamble but it ambiguous as to which preamble is referring the previously defined “preamble format/sequence or a new preamble. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US-20220264589-A1 to Sun et al., from hereon Sun in view of US-20220248246-A1 to Berliner et al., from hereon Berliner.
Regarding claim 1 Sun teaches a user equipment (UE) (P. 60 discloses), comprising: receiving circuitry configured to (Fig. 7, P. 49-491 discloses a UE configured for): monitor SSBs/PBCHs (synchronization signal blocks/physical broadcast channels) and obtain system information block type 1 (SIB 1) information including PRACH configurations (P.130 discloses the monitoring of SSB/PBCH as well as obtaining information on SIB1 including PRACh configuration which is included in the UL…. UE obtains CORESET 0 in the PBCH and the search space for SIB1, and uses the frequency domain position wherein CORESET 0 is located as the position of the initial BWP. Alternatively, the base station configures the initial UE configuration in SIB1. Further, the UE obtains configuration information such as an uplink configuration and a downlink configuration of the initial BWP in SIB1. The downlink configuration information includes one or more of the following information: a search space for the RAR … the uplink configuration information includes one or more of the following information: random access channel (PRACH) configuration, random access configuration, uplink shared channel (PUSCH) configuration, uplink control channel (PUCCH) configuration, and subcarrier spacing of uplink BWP, frequency domain position information of uplink BWP, bandwidth of uplink BWP, uplink waveform, and so on. The uplink supports two waveforms of DFT-S-OFDM and OFDM. The UE transmits a random access response on the initial uplink BWP according to the random access configuration information in the configuration of the initial BWP in SIB1, and then monitors the search space for RAR on the initial downlink BWP ); but does not teach…evaluate a reference signal received power (RRSP) of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) for an optimal downlink (DL) beam to determine an uplink (UL) beam, a preamble format/sequence and a physical random access channel (PRACH) resource for a preamble transmission; and monitor DL signals for a random access response (RAR) within a RAR window; and transmitting circuitry configured to transmit the determined preamble in the determined PRACH resource using the determined UL beam.
Berliner teaches… evaluate a reference signal received power (RRSP) of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) for an optimal downlink (DL) beam to determine an uplink (UL) beam, a preamble format/sequence and a physical random access channel (PRACH) resource for a preamble transmission (P.73, discloses… he UE 115 may determine signal measurements, such as reference signal received power (RSRP) and/or reference signal received quality (RSRQ), for the SSBs at the different beam directions. In some aspects, the UE 115 may also sweep across a set of reception beams (e.g., the beams 330) when monitoring for SSBs from the BS 105. The UE 115 may apply a different reception beam for each occurrence of the periodic SSBs. The UE 115 may determine an optimal transmit-reception beam pair (with the highest RSRP or highest RSRQ) for establishing the communication with the BS 105); and monitor DL signals for a random access response (RAR) within a RAR window; and transmitting circuitry configured to transmit the determined preamble in the determined PRACH resource using the determined UL beam (P. 73, Lns. The optimal transmit-reception beam pair may include a best DL beam or transmission beam from the BS 105 and a best reception beam at the UE. The UE 115 may indicate the selection by transmitting a PRACH signal (e.g., MSG1) using PRACH resources associated with the selected beam direction. For instance, the SSB transmitted in a particular beam direction may indicate PRACH resources that may be used by a UE 115 to communicate with the BS 105 in that particular beam direction. After selecting the best DL beam, the UE 115 may complete the random access procedure (e.g., the 4-step random access or the 2-step random access) and establish a connection (e.g., an RRC connection) with the BS 105 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Sun by incorporating the teachings of Berliner because the method and device allow for performing random access procedure to establish connection with the BS whether 2 or 4 step and sending the random access response including various parameters such as sequence, response, resources for transmissions (Berliner, P. 57). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 5 Sun and Berliner teach the UE of claim 1, Berliner teaches…wherein the preamble format includes timing information (P. 57 discloses preamble format includes timing information such as timing advance information), location information, sequence information, or cyclic shift information.
Regarding claim 9 Sun teaches a method by a user equipment (UE), comprising(Fig. 7, P. 49-491 discloses a UE configured for): monitoring synchronization signal blocks/physical broadcast channels (SSBs/PBCHs) (P.130 discloses the monitoring of SSB/PBCH as well as obtaining information on SIB1 including PRACh configuration which is included in the UL…. UE obtains CORESET 0 in the PBCH and the search space for SIB1, and uses the frequency domain position wherein CORESET 0 is located as the position of the initial BWP. Alternatively, the base station configures the initial UE configuration in SIB1. Further, the UE obtains configuration information such as an uplink configuration and a downlink configuration of the initial BWP in SIB1. The downlink configuration information includes one or more of the following information: a search space for the RAR … the uplink configuration information includes one or more of the following information: random access channel (PRACH) configuration, random access configuration, uplink shared channel (PUSCH) configuration, uplink control channel (PUCCH) configuration, and subcarrier spacing of uplink BWP, frequency domain position information of uplink BWP, bandwidth of uplink BWP, uplink waveform, and so on. The uplink supports two waveforms of DFT-S-OFDM and OFDM. The UE transmits a random access response on the initial uplink BWP according to the random access configuration information in the configuration of the initial BWP in SIB1, and then monitors the search space for RAR on the initial downlink BWP ); but does not teach…;evaluating a reference signal received power (RRSP) of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) for an optimal downlink (DL) beam to determine an uplink(UL) beam, a preamble format/sequence and a physical random access channel (PRACH) resource for a preamble transmission; transmitting the determined preamble in the determined PRACH resource using the determined UL beam; monitoring DL signals for a random access response (RAR) within a RAR window; and when a corresponding RAR is not received in the RAR window and maximum preamble power ramping is reached: select a PRACH resource and preamble for a RAR parameter, wherein the selection is based on reliability; and transmit the determined preamble in the determined PRACH resource using the determined UL beam.
Berliner teaches… evaluating a reference signal received power (RRSP) of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) for an optimal downlink (DL) beam to determine an uplink(UL) beam, a preamble format/sequence and a physical random access channel (PRACH) resource for a preamble transmission; transmitting the determined preamble in the determined PRACH resource using the determined UL beam(P.73, discloses… he UE 115 may determine signal measurements, such as reference signal received power (RSRP) and/or reference signal received quality (RSRQ), for the SSBs at the different beam directions. In some aspects, the UE 115 may also sweep across a set of reception beams (e.g., the beams 330) when monitoring for SSBs from the BS 105. The UE 115 may apply a different reception beam for each occurrence of the periodic SSBs. The UE 115 may determine an optimal transmit-reception beam pair (with the highest RSRP or highest RSRQ) for establishing the communication with the BS 105);; monitoring DL signals for a random access response (RAR) within a RAR window; and when a corresponding RAR is not received in the RAR window and maximum preamble power ramping is reached: select a PRACH resource and preamble for a RAR parameter, wherein the selection is based on reliability; and transmit the determined preamble in the determined PRACH resource using the determined UL beam (P. 73, Lns. The optimal transmit-reception beam pair may include a best DL beam or transmission beam from the BS 105 and a best reception beam at the UE. The UE 115 may indicate the selection by transmitting a PRACH signal (e.g., MSG1) using PRACH resources associated with the selected beam direction. For instance, the SSB transmitted in a particular beam direction may indicate PRACH resources that may be used by a UE 115 to communicate with the BS 105 in that particular beam direction. After selecting the best DL beam, the UE 115 may complete the random access procedure (e.g., the 4-step random access or the 2-step random access) and establish a connection (e.g., an RRC connection) with the BS 105 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Sun by incorporating the teachings of Berliner because the method and device allow for performing random access procedure to establish connection with the BS whether 2 or 4 step and sending the random access response including various parameters such as sequence, response, resources for transmissions (Berliner, P. 57). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US-20220264589-A1 to Sun et al., from hereon Sun and US-20220248246-A1 to Berliner et al., from hereon Berliner in view of US-20170373890-A1 to Fertonani et al., from hereon Fertonani.
Regarding claim 2 Sun and Berliner teach the UE of claim 1, but do not teach…wherein the PRACH configurations include multiple RAR parameters with different redundancy levels, and wherein the multiple RAR parameters are mapped to different PRACH resources and preambles.
Fertonani teaches… wherein the PRACH configurations include multiple RAR parameters with different redundancy levels, and wherein the multiple RAR parameters are mapped to different PRACH resources and preambles (P.395 discloses… the PRACH configuration including multiple RAR parameters and multiple parameters mapped to different PRACH resources preamble was detected and the periodicity of preamble transmissions; [0398] c. Send the RAR multiple times, assuming different t_id and f_id compatible with PRACH configuration parameters, and assuming different preamble identities compatible with said PRACH parameters. The multiple RAR transmissions may occur in different subframes or, at least in part, in the same subframe. The multiple RAR transmissions may include non-overlapping UL grants).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Sun and Berliner by incorporating the teachings of Fertonani because the method and device allow for performing configuration such as PBCH and others , scheduling, carried out in multiple and carrying out scheduling for multiple signals for UL and DL (Feronani, P.384). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US-20220264589-A1 to Sun et al., from hereon Sun and US-20220248246-A1 to Berliner et al., from hereon Berliner in view of WO-2021064706-A1 to Jung.
Regarding claim 3 Sun and Berliner teach the UE of claim 1, but do not teach…wherein the receiving circuitry is further configured to select a PRACH resource and preamble for a RAR parameter based on reliability when a corresponding RAR is not received in the RAR window and maximum preamble power ramping is reached.
Jung teaches… wherein the receiving circuitry is further configured to select a PRACH resource and preamble for a RAR parameter based on reliability when a corresponding RAR is not received in the RAR window and maximum preamble power ramping is reached (P.84 discloses… If within a RAR window the UE does not receive any RAR intended to the UE for 2- step RACH (e.g. successRAR, fallbackRAR, or MsgB PDCCH addressed to C-RNTI) or RAR for 4-step RACH that contains a preamble identifier corresponding to the preamble sequence transmitted by the UE, the UE can determine a transmission power for a subsequent PRACH transmission as follows [TS 38.321] note: that this a known algorithm).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Sun and Berliner by incorporating the teachings of Jung because the method and device allow for performing configuration of 2 step or 4 step and as necessary for the allocation of resources (Jung, Abs). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 4 Sun, Berliner, and Jung teach the UE of claim 3, Jung teaches…wherein the transmitting circuitry is further configured to transmit the determined preamble in the determined PRACH resource using the determined UL beam when a corresponding RAR is not received in the RAR window and maximum preamble power ramping is reached(P.84 discloses… If within a RAR window the UE does not receive any RAR intended to the UE for 2- step RACH (e.g. successRAR, fallbackRAR, or MsgB PDCCH addressed to C-RNTI) or RAR for 4-step RACH that contains a preamble identifier corresponding to the preamble sequence transmitted by the UE, the UE can determine a transmission power for a subsequent PRACH transmission as follows [TS 38.321] note: that this a known algorithm).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN-111294183-B to Deng in view of US-20220248246-A1 to Berliner et al., from hereon Berliner.
Regarding claim 6 Deng teaches…a base station (gNB), comprising: receiving circuitry configured to (Fig. 8, page 10, Lns. 1-3): receive a preamble in a physical random access channel (PRACH) resource associated with a random access response (RAR) parameter (page 6, lns. 28-34 discloses… the value of the RA-RNTI can be directly calculated by the preamble characteristic parameter (such as the characteristic parameter of the preamble physical random access channel). the base station receives a plurality of different beams sending the preamble, can measure the preamble signal quality is best, then according to the characteristic parameter of the preamble can calculate the RA-RNTI. The UE receives the random access response information msg2 fed back by the base station, and can detect the RA-RNTI. Through the above corresponding relation, can determine the transmission signal quality of the preamble of the beam ); but does not teach…determine a synchronization signal block (SSB) index associated with the preamble to identify a corresponding beam group or beam pattern; determine a downlink (DL) beam or a small set of DL beams for the received preamble and corresponding DL beams; and transmitting circuitry configured to: transmit SSBs/PBCHs (synchronization signal blocks/physical broadcast channels) with system information block type 1 (SIB1) information; and transmit a RAR within a RAR window of a preamble transmission with the determined DL beam or the small set of DL beams.
Berliner teaches… determine a synchronization signal block (SSB) index associated with the preamble to identify a corresponding beam group or beam pattern; determine a downlink (DL) beam or a small set of DL beams for the received preamble and corresponding DL beams(P.73, discloses… he UE 115 may determine signal measurements, such as reference signal received power (RSRP) and/or reference signal received quality (RSRQ), for the SSBs at the different beam directions. In some aspects, the UE 115 may also sweep across a set of reception beams (e.g., the beams 330) when monitoring for SSBs from the BS 105. The UE 115 may apply a different reception beam for each occurrence of the periodic SSBs. The UE 115 may determine an optimal transmit-reception beam pair (with the highest RSRP or highest RSRQ) for establishing the communication with the BS 105); and transmitting circuitry configured to: transmit SSBs/PBCHs (synchronization signal blocks/physical broadcast channels) with system information block type 1 (SIB1) information; and transmit a RAR within a RAR window of a preamble transmission with the determined DL beam or the small set of DL beams (P. 73, Lns. The optimal transmit-reception beam pair may include a best DL beam or transmission beam from the BS 105 and a best reception beam at the UE. The UE 115 may indicate the selection by transmitting a PRACH signal (e.g., MSG1) using PRACH resources associated with the selected beam direction. For instance, the SSB transmitted in a particular beam direction may indicate PRACH resources that may be used by a UE 115 to communicate with the BS 105 in that particular beam direction. After selecting the best DL beam, the UE 115 may complete the random access procedure (e.g., the 4-step random access or the 2-step random access) and establish a connection (e.g., an RRC connection) with the BS 105 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Deng by incorporating the teachings of Berliner because the method and device allow for performing random access procedure to establish connection with the BS whether 2 or 4 step and sending the random access response including various parameters such as sequence, response, resources for transmissions (Berliner, P. 57). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Claim(s) 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN-111294183-B to Deng and US-20220248246-A1 to Berliner et al., from hereon Berliner in view of US-20170373890-A1 to Fertonani et al., from hereon Fertonani.
Regarding claim 7 Deng and Berliner teach the gNB of claim 6, but do not teach…wherein the transmitting circuitry is further configured to configure SSBs with different beam groups and/or beam patterns and PRACH resources with different RAR transmission parameters.
Fertonani teaches… wherein the transmitting circuitry is further configured to configure SSBs with different beam groups and/or beam patterns and PRACH resources with different RAR transmission parameters(P.395 discloses… the PRACH configuration including multiple RAR parameters and multiple parameters mapped to different PRACH resources preamble was detected and the periodicity of preamble transmissions; [0398] c. Send the RAR multiple times, assuming different t_id and f_id compatible with PRACH configuration parameters, and assuming different preamble identities compatible with said PRACH parameters. The multiple RAR transmissions may occur in different subframes or, at least in part, in the same subframe. The multiple RAR transmissions may include non-overlapping UL grants).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Deng and Berliner by incorporating the teachings of Fertonani because the method and device allow for performing configuration such as PBCH and others , scheduling, carried out in multiple and carrying out scheduling for multiple signals for UL and DL (Fertonani, P.384). The motivation is that by applying a well-known standard or protocol or machine to a system provides the system with significantly improved industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 8 Deng, Berliner, and Fertonani teach the gNB of claim 7, wherein the transmitting circuitry is further configured to transmit the RAR with indicated RAR parameters (P. 395).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO form PTO-892: US-20230413335-A1 to Xiong, US-20220060974-A1 to Zeng, and WO-2024067872-A1 to Shi disclose Preamble and RAR configurations.
/L.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2476
/AYAZ R SHEIKH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2476