DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Manssen (9,742,375).
Regarding claim 1, Manssen discloses an electronic device (See fig. 1 and col. 3 lines 1-14) comprising: an antenna radiator 206; a radio frequency (RF) circuit configured to process a RF signal; a feeding line electrically connecting the antenna radiator with the RF circuit (See fig. 2); a plurality of points including one or more first points and one or more second points, the plurality of points being positioned on the feeding line (See figs. 2, 5-6); a switch circuit (i.e. switch circuit of tunable capacitors 504, 508) electrically coupled to the plurality of points, the switch circuit being disposed in a parallel structure with respect to the feeding line (See figs. 5, 7-8); a first lumped element 506 disposed between the one or more first points and the one or more second points (See fig. 5); and a second lumped element {C1-C5} (of the tunable capacitor 508) disposed between the one or more first points and at least one first terminal included in the switch circuit (See figs. 5 and 7).
Regarding claim 2, Manssen discloses as cited in claim 1. Manssen further discloses a third lumped element {C1-C5} (of the tunable capacitor 504) disposed between the one or more second points and at least one second terminal included in the switch circuit (See figs. 5 and 7).
Regarding claim 3, Manssen discloses as cited in claim 1. Manssen further discloses the switch circuit (i.e. switch circuit of the tunable capacitor 508) includes a third terminal that is opened to be connected to a transmission/reception path of the RF signal (See figs. 5 and 7).
Regarding claim 4, Manssen discloses as cited in claim 1. Manssen further discloses the switch circuit (i.e. switch circuit of the tunable capacitor 508) includes a third terminal that is short-circuited to be connected to a transmission/reception path of the RF signal (See figs. 5 and 7).
Regarding claim 5, Manssen discloses as cited in claim 1. Manssen further discloses the switch circuit (of the tunable capacitor 504) includes at least one second terminal electrically coupled to the one or more second points (See figs. 5 and 7).
Regarding claim 6, Manssen discloses as cited in claim 5. Manssen further discloses the switch circuit includes a third terminal that is opened to be connected to a transmission/reception path of the RF signal (See figs. 5 and 7).
Regarding claim 7, Manssen discloses as cited in claim 1. Manssen further discloses the switch circuit (i.e. switch circuit of tunable capacitors 504, 508) comprises four terminals including the at least one first terminal, wherein each of two (a) terminals disposed in pairs on one side of the switch circuit (i.e. terminals of the switch circuit of tunable capacitor 508) among the four terminals is electrically coupled to a first intermediate point positioned on the feeding line, in proximity to the antenna radiator 206, among the one or more first points (See figs. 2, 5 and 7), and wherein each of two (b) terminals disposed in pairs on another side of the switch circuit (i.e. terminals of the switch circuit of tunable capacitor 504) among the four terminals is electrically coupled to a second intermediate point positioned on the feeding line, in proximity to the RF circuit among the one or more second points (See figs. 2, 5 and 7).
Regarding claim 8, Manssen discloses as cited in claim 7. Manssen further discloses the switch circuit (i.e. switch circuit of tunable capacitor 508 for example) includes a third terminal that is opened to be connected to a transmission/reception path of the RF signal (See figs. 5 and 7).
Regarding claim 9, Manssen discloses as cited in claim 7. Manssen further discloses a third lumped element {C1-C5} (of the tunable capacitor 508) disposed to electrically couple at least one of the (a) terminals and one of the one or more first points (See figs. 5 and 7).
Regarding claim 10, Manssen discloses as cited in claim 9. Manssen further discloses a fourth lumped element {C1-C5} (of the tunable capacitor 504) disposed to electrically couple at least one of the (b) terminals and one of the one or more second points (See figs. 5 and 7).
Regarding claim 20, Manssen discloses as cited in claim 9. Manssen further discloses a sub-impedance matching circuit (i.e. tunable capacitor 508 is part of the impedance matching network) (See fig. 5), wherein the antenna radiator 206 and the at least one first terminal included in the switch circuit (i.e. terminals of the switch circuit of tunable capacitor 508) are electrically connected to each other (See figs. 5 and 7).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 11-14, Manssen discloses as cited in claim 1. However, Manssen does not disclose that the switch circuit comprises: the at least one first terminal electrically coupled to the one or more first points positioned on the feeding line, in proximity to the antenna radiator, among the plurality of points; at least one second terminal electrically coupled to the one or more second points positioned on the feeding line, in proximity to the RF circuit, among the plurality of points; a first switch and a second switch disposed in series on a path connecting the at least one first terminal and the at least one second terminal; a first stopper disposed between a first intermediate point and a ground, the first intermediate point being between the at least one first terminal and the first switch; and a second stopper disposed between a second intermediate point and the ground, the second intermediate point being between the at least one second terminal and the second switch.
Regarding claims 15-19, Manssen discloses as cited in claim 1. However, Manssen does not disclose that the switch circuit further comprises: (1-1)th terminal and (1-2)th terminal electrically coupled to (1-1)th point and (1-2)th point, respectively, positioned on the feeding line, in proximity to the antenna radiator, among the plurality of points; (2-1)th terminal and (2-2)th terminal electrically coupled to (2-1)th point and (2-2)th point, respectively, positioned on the feeding line, in proximity to the RF circuit, among the plurality of points; a first switch and a second switch disposed in series on a first path connecting the (1- 1)th terminal and the (2-1)th terminal; a third switch and a fourth switch disposed in series on a second path connecting the (1-2)th terminal and the (2-2)th terminal; a first stopper disposed between a first intermediate point and a ground, the first intermediate point being between the (1-1)th terminal and the first switch; a second stopper disposed between a second intermediate point and the ground, the second intermediate point being between the (2-1)th terminal and the second switch; a third stopper disposed between a third intermediate point and the ground, the third intermediate point being between the (1-2)th terminal and the third switch; and a fourth stopper disposed between a fourth intermediate point and the ground, the fourth intermediate point being between the (2-2)th terminal and the fourth switch.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
See PTO-892 for a listing of cited prior arts of record.
Conclusion
/TUAN A TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648