Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on January 6 039 was is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 8 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities: In line 7 of claims 8 and 18, “shorted” should read --shorter--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 10-13 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (Wang), U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0052782.
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Wang discloses a method of a user equipment (UE) (comprising a memory 1130 and processor 1140; figure 11), the method comprising: comparing, by a processor, a value of a cell service timer (time limit information) of a serving cell with a first value (this value can read on the index number that indicates to UE 115-c a specific cell and an amount of time for communications within that cell (candidate cell).) (0093), the value of the cell service timer indicating a time during which communication services of the serving cell can be provided (Base station 105-c or satellite 140-e may determine for UE 115-d to transition from the first BWP to the second BWP based on timer information (e.g., as it relates to an associated time limit for communications using the first BWP based on known movement of satellite 140-c)) (0111); in response that the value of the cell service timer of the serving cell is less than or equal to the first value (when the timer expires in the serving cell, the candidate cells start time value is inherently greater than the service time value in the serving cell) (UE may automatically switch when the time limit (or stop time) associated with the first BWP, received from base station 105-c, expires (or is reached). Thus, in some cases, UE 115-b may interpret an indicated time limit or stop time for communicating using the first BWP as an indication to transition) (0111), obtaining, by the processor, configuration information of a cell service timer of each of at least one neighboring cell (candidate cell); configuring, by the processor, a candidate cell set (the list provided by the satellite) which is a set of one or more neighboring cells among the at least one neighboring cell (the UE 115-c may receive an indication of a time limit for communications within the first cell. In another example, the list may include an indication of a timer for one or more of the plurality of cells supported by satellite 140-d (e.g., a timer for each of the cells UE 115-c may use to communicated with satellite 140-d), including the cell currently used by the UE 115-c and one or more additional cells.) (0093), the one or more neighboring cells having a value of a cell service timer greater than a sum of the value of the cell service timer of the serving cell and a second value (such as a quality value; see 0095) (can read on the amount of time available in a neighboring cell for communication being greater than the amount of remaining time in the serving cell for communication do to the movement of the wireless device from the servicing cell towards the neighboring cell(s)); selecting, by the processor, a candidate cell from among the one or more neighboring cells based on a value of a satellite (SAT) service timer of each of the one or more neighboring cells belonging to the candidate cell set (the list may include an indication of a timer for one or more of the plurality of cells supported by satellite 140-d (e.g., a timer for each of the cells UE 115-c may use to communicated with satellite 140-d),) (0093); and performing, by the processor, a connection establishment procedure (transition from the serving cell to a candidate cell) with the candidate cell (At 525, UE 115-c may determine (e.g., autonomously) to transition to the second cell supported by satellite 140-d. In some examples, UE 115-c may determine to transition to the second cell based at least in part on the time limit for communications within the first cell and the ordered sequence of cells within the plurality of cells supported by satellite 140-d. That is, UE 115-c may determine that the time limit for communications within the first cell has been reached. UE 115-c may then determine to transition to the second cell based on the ordered sequence of cells received at 515.) (0095).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Wang discloses the method/UE further including: inherently before the comparing of the value of the cell service timer of the serving cell with the first value since the UE is aware of the time limit or stop time of the serving cell, receiving, by the processor, configuration information of the cell service timer of the serving cell from a satellite, wherein the configuration information of the cell service timer of the serving cell includes at least one of an initial value of the cell service timer (the time limit or stop time) of the serving cell, location information of the UE, ephemeris information of the satellite, or elevation angle information of the satellite (Additionally or alternatively, UE may automatically switch when the time limit (or stop time) associated with the first BWP, received from base station 105-c, expires (or is reached). Thus, in some cases, UE 115-b may interpret an indicated time limit or stop time for communicating using the first BWP as an indication to transition.) (0111).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Wang discloses the method/UE further including: before the comparing of the value of the service timer value of the serving cell with the first value, obtaining, by the processor, the value of the cell service timer of the serving cell, which is preset in the UE (as evidenced by the fact that the UE is aware of the time limit/stop time for communicating using the first BWP as an indication to transition.) (0111).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Wang discloses the method/UE of claims 1 and 11 further including: in response that the value of the cell service timer of the serving cell is equal to or less than a threshold (the time limit being reached), triggering, by the processor, a cell reselection procedure (transitioning to a candidate cell) (UE 115-c may determine that the time limit for communications within the first cell has been reached. UE 115-c may then determine to transition to the second cell based on the ordered sequence of cells received at 515.) (0095).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-7 and 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang.
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Wang discloses the method/UE of claims 1 and 11 as described above. Wang, however, fails to specifically disclose wherein the cell service timer of the serving cell starts after the UE is connected to the serving cell, and the SAT service timer starts after the UE is connected to the satellite.
Wang does teach, however, that the satellite transmits to the UE indications of start and start times for communicating within each cell (satellite 140-d may further include indications of time limits or stop times for communications within each of the plurality of cells (e.g., based on known movement of satellite 140-c, UE 115-b may receive from satellite 140-c an indication of time durations or start and stop times for communicating using different cells supported by satellite 140-c). For example, UE 115-c may receive an indication of a time limit for communications within the first cell. In another example, the list may include an indication of a timer for one or more of the plurality of cells supported by satellite 140-d (e.g., a timer for each of the cells UE 115-c may use to communicated with satellite 140-d), including the cell currently used by the UE 115-c and one or more additional cells.) (0093).
Therefore, the examiner contends, that before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to start the timers after the UE connects to the serving cell or the satellite to ensure the UE maximizes the amount of time it can communicate in the system from the moment in enters the cell.
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Wang discloses the method/UE of claims 1 and 11 as described above. Wang, however, fails to specifically disclose wherein in the selecting of the candidate cell from among the one or more neighboring cells based on the value of the SAT service timer of each of the one or more neighboring cells belonging to the candidate cell set, a neighboring cell with a largest value of the SAT service timer value among the one or more neighboring cells is determined as the candidate cell.
Wang does teach, however, that the satellite 140-d may otherwise provide to UE 115-c an indexed list of transition times for each of the cells UE 115-c may use in communications with satellite 140-d. In some cases, the indexed list of transition times may align with the ordered sequence of cells such that an index number may indicate to UE 115-c a specific cell and an amount of time for communications within that cell (0093).
Therefore, the examiner contends, that before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to choose the candidate cell with the largest timer in order to allow the UE to communicate longer and maximize the amount of time the UE can spend in the cell.
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Wang as modified discloses the method/UE of claims 3 and 15 as described above and further including, after determining a neighboring cell with a largest value of the SAT service timer among the at least one neighboring cell belonging to the candidate cell set as the candidate cell, measuring, by the processor, a reception quality of the candidate cell for a preset time; and in response that the reception quality of the candidate cell is equal to or higher than a third value for a preset time, performing, by the processor, a connection establishment procedure with the candidate cell (UE 115-e may monitor the channel quality of the plurality of BWPs of the cell, including the BWP currently used by the UE 115-e and one or more additional BWPs. For example, UE 115-e may determine, while using the first BWP of the cell, channel quality information for the second BWP of the cell. UE 115-e may transmit, to satellite 140-f while using the first BWP of the cell, the channel quality information for the first BWP and one or more other BWPs (e.g., at least a second BWP of the cell).) (0122) and (UE 115-e and determine that, based on the location of either satellite 140-d or UE 115-c, communications via the second BWP may be better (e.g., higher quality) than communications via the first BWP. In some other examples, UE 115-c may determine to transition to the second BWP supported by satellite 140-f based at least in part on the channel quality associated with the second BWP.) (0123).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Wang as modified discloses the method/UE of claims and 15, further including, after determining a neighboring cell with a largest value of the SAT service timer among the at least one neighboring cell belonging to the candidate cell set as the candidate cell, measuring, by the processor, a reception quality of the candidate cell for a preset time (UE 115-e and determine that, based on the location of either satellite 140-d or UE 115-c, communications via the second BWP may be better (e.g., higher quality) than communications via the first BWP.) (0123).
Wang, however, fails to disclose and in response that the reception quality of the candidate cell is less than a third value and a number of cells belonging to the candidate cell set is plural, determining, by the processor, a cell with a second largest value of the SAT service timer among cells belonging to the candidate cell set as the candidate cell.
Wang does teach that in some examples, UE 115-b may monitor the channel quality of the plurality of cells supported by satellite 140-c (e.g., the cells included in the list), including the cell currently used by the UE 115-b and one or more additional cells (0079).
Therefore, the examiner contends, that before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to choose the next best candidate provided in the list of candidate cells from the satellite for the purpose of ensuring the UE selects the best cell available for communication.
Claim(s) 8 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Schmidt et al. (Schmidt), U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2021/0083760.
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Wang discloses the method/UE of claims 1 and 11 as described above. Wang, however, fails to disclose receiving, by the processor, variable measurement configuration information from a satellite; and performing, by the processor, variable measurement procedures instead of general measurement procedures based on the variable measurement configuration information, wherein a measurement periodicity in the variable measurement procedures is shorter than a measurement periodicity in the general measurement procedures.
In a similar field of endeavor, Schmidt discloses predictive measurements for non-terrestrial communication. Schmidt further discloses receiving, by the processor, variable measurement configuration information from a satellite; and performing, by the processor, variable measurement procedures instead of general measurement procedures (A UE may have received a general measurement configuration based on one or two recurring trajectories of satellites in one or two orbits, respectively. The UE may also have information relating to the periodicity of the measurement configuration cycle) (0144) based on the variable measurement configuration information, wherein a measurement periodicity in the variable measurement procedures is shorter (since the base station configures for example neighbour cell measurements and respective gaps for the moment, when the link is expected to worsen below a certain threshold) than a measurement periodicity in the general measurement procedures (a base station to configure measurements based on variable thresholds or offsets so that the base station is informed about deviation of the UE-to-satellite link from an expected progression. In addition, the base station configures for example neighbour cell measurements and respective gaps for the moment, when the link is expected to worsen below a certain threshold) (0067).
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wang with the teachings of Schmidt. The motivation for this modification would have been to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art of record, Schmidt (mentioned above), taken individually or collectively fails to suggest or render obvious a motivation for incorporating as a whole, wherein the variable measurement configuration information includes intermittent measurement configuration information and frequent measurement configuration information, intermittent measurement procedures are performed based on the intermittent measurement configuration information in response that the value of the cell service timer of the serving cell exceeds a fourth value, and frequent measurement procedures are performed based on the frequent measurement configuration information in response that a value of a cell service timer of the candidate cell is less than or equal to the fourth value, as explicitly claimed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nagaraja et al. U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0381615 discloses advanced handover preparation for a mobile device in a wireless communication network.
Bi, U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2008/0274742 discloses a method for performing mobility measurements among different networks.
/TEMICA M BEAMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646