Response to Arguments
The previous claim objection(s) has/have been addressed and is/are withdrawn.
The previous 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection(s) has/have been addressed and is/are withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-12, and 14-20 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new combination/interpretation of references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 9-12, 14-16, and 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wright US8885152 in view of Voicu US20220317267.
Regarding independent claim 1, Wright discloses, in Figures 1-12,
A detection control method (Wright; Fig. 1-12), comprising:
emitting, by controlling a laser emitting unit (Wright; Fig. 1; laser with laser pump, master clock, processor, pointer/tracker, slave clock, and optical dome/window for laser output) a first laser signal (Wright; Fig. 3c; first laser signal for “coarse ranging”);
receiving, by controlling a laser detection unit (Wright; Fig. 1; pointer/tracker with sensor and processor) a first echo signal comprising a reflected signal corresponding to the first laser signal (Wright; Fig. 3c; first echo signal for “coarse ranging”);
outputting based on the first echo signal, a first control signal (Wright; Fig. 3d and 12a-12b; controlling/determining/establishing Gate Position #2 with Pings 1-9 that represents “fine resolution target location” at an “over sampled target location gate period”) that indicates a first time location (Wright; Fig. 3d and 12a-12b; Ping 3);
emitting, by controlling the laser emitting unit a second laser signal (Wright; Fig. 3d and 12a-12b; the second signal that corresponds to the “fine resolution target location” at an “over sampled target location gate period” of Fig. 3d in comparison to the previous/earlier first laser signal for “coarse ranging”); and
receiving, in a first time window (Wright; Fig. 3d and 12a-12b; Gate Position #2 with Pings 1-5) by controlling the laser detection unit based on the first control signal, a second echo signal (Wright; Fig. 3d and 12a-12b; the echo signal that corresponds to Gate Position #2) that comprises a reflected signal corresponding to the second laser signal (Wright; Fig. 3d and 12a-12b; the second echo that corresponds to the second signal that corresponds to the “fine resolution target location” at an “over sampled target location gate period” of Fig. 3d in comparison to the previous/earlier first laser signal for “coarse ranging”),
wherein the second echo signal is used for target detection (Wright; Fig. 3d and 12a-12b; the second echo that corresponds to the second signal that corresponds to the “fine resolution target location” at an “over sampled target location gate period” is used for determining distance with higher accuracy using “fine ranging” in comparison to “coarse ranging”),
wherein the first time window is related to the first time location and a first duration (Wright; Fig. 12b; the duration of a gate ping that corresponds to a laser ping),
wherein the first time window (Wright; Fig. 3d and 12a-12b; Gate Position #2 with Pings 1-5) comprises the first time location (Wright; Fig. 3d and 12a-12b; Ping 3), and
wherein the first duration is predefined or preconfigured (Wright; Fig. 12b; the duration of a gate ping that corresponds to a laser ping),
wherein the first time location corresponds to a first feature signal (Wright; Fig. 3d shows pulse signal),
wherein the first feature signal is obtained based on the first echo signal (Wright; Fig. 3d shows pulse signal), and
wherein the first feature signal comprises at least one signal portion having a signal type taken from the group consisting of: a signal, and a signal (Wright; Fig. 3d shows pulse signal).
Wright is silent regarding wherein the first feature signal comprises at least one signal portion having a signal type taken from the group consisting of: a peak signal, and a rising-edge signal.
Voicu teaches wherein the first feature signal comprises at least one signal portion having a signal type taken from the group consisting of: a peak signal (Voicu; [0094] pulse-detection circuit 365 determines time-of-arrival based on a peak signal of a received pulse of light 410; [0095] “a lidar system 100 may include a processor (e.g., controller 150) that determines the distance to a target 130 based at least in part on a time-of-arrival for a received pulse of light 410”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the signal type as taught by Wright to be a peak signal as taught by Voicu for the purpose of determining the time-of-arrival for pulse-detection which is used for distance/ranging determination (Voicu; [0094] pulse-detection circuit 365 determines time-of-arrival based on a peak signal of a received pulse of light 410; [0095] “a lidar system 100 may include a processor (e.g., controller 150) that determines the distance to a target 130 based at least in part on a time-of-arrival for a received pulse of light 410”).
Regarding claim 3, Modified Wright teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The method according to claim 1, wherein the first control signal further indicates a second time location, and wherein the first time window further comprises the second time location (Wright; Fig. 3d shows the second time location generally indicated by the over sampled target location gate period and represented in Fig. 12b as any one of the pings in Pings 1-9; Ping 4 in Fig. 12b).
Regarding claim 4, Modified Wright teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The method according to claim 1, wherein the first control signal (Wright; Fig. 3d and 12a-12b; controlling/determining/establishing Gate Position #2 with Pings 1-9 that represents “fine resolution target location” at an “over sampled target location gate period”) further indicates a second time location (Wright; Fig. 3d shows the second time location generally indicated by the over sampled target location gate period and represented in Fig. 12b as any one of the pings in Pings 1-9; Ping 4 in Fig. 12b) wherein the receiving the second echo signal in the first time window comprises receiving, based on the first control signal, the second echo signal in the first time window (Wright; Fig. 3d and 12a-12b; Gate Position #2 with Pings 1-5) and a second time window (Wright; Fig. 3d and 12a-12b; Gate Position #3 with Pings 1-5), wherein the second time window is related to the second time location and the first duration, and wherein the second time window comprises the second time location (Wright; Fig. 12a-12b).
Regarding claim 5, Modified Wright teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The method according to claim 1, wherein the first control signal further indicates a third time location (Wright; Fig. 3d shows the second time location generally indicated by the over sampled target location gate period and represented in Fig. 12b as any one of the pings in Pings 1-9; Ping 5 in Fig. 12b), and wherein the method further comprises: emitting, by controlling the laser emitting unit a third laser signal; and receiving, by controlling the laser detection unit based on the first control signal, a third echo signal (Wright; Fig. 3d and 12a-12b; the echo signal that corresponds to Gate Position #2) in a third time window (Wright; Fig. 3d and 12a-12b; Gate Position #4 with Pings 1-5), wherein the third echo signal comprises a reflected signal corresponding to the third laser signal, wherein the third echo signal is used for target detection, wherein the third time window is related to the third time location and the first duration, and wherein the third time window comprises the third time location (Wright; Fig. 12a-12b).
Regarding claim 9, Modified Wright teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The method according to claim 1, wherein the outputting the first control signal (Wright; Fig. 3d and 12a-12b; controlling/determining/establishing Gate Position #2 with Pings 1-9 that represents “fine resolution target location” at an “over sampled target location gate period”) based on the first echo signal comprises: obtaining, by using the laser detection unit and based on the first echo signal (Wright; Fig. 3c; first echo signal for “coarse ranging”), a to-be-detected signal by using the laser detection unit (Wright; Fig. 3c; first echo signal for “coarse ranging”); obtaining the first time location based on the to-be-detected signal; and outputting the first control signal, wherein the first control signal is used to control the laser emitting unit and/or the laser detection unit (Wright; transition from Fig. 3c-3d as described in flowchart Fig. 2a with corresponding coarse ranging step 3c to fine ranging step 3d).
Regarding claim 10, Modified Wright teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The method according to The method according to wherein the emitting the first laser signal comprises: outputting a second control signal (Wright; Fig. 3d and 12a-12b; the control signal that corresponds to Gate Position #3); and emitting, by controlling the laser emitting unit based on the second control signal, the first laser signal; and wherein the emitting the second laser signal comprises: outputting a third control signal (Wright; Fig. 3d and 12a-12b; the control signal that corresponds to Gate Position #1); and emitting, by controlling the laser emitting unit based on the third control signal, the second laser signal.
Regarding claim 11, Modified Wright teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The method according to The method according to wherein the receiving the first echo signal (Wright; Fig. 3c; first echo signal for “coarse ranging”) comprising the reflected signal corresponding to the first laser signal (Wright; Fig. 3c; first echo signal for “coarse ranging”) comprises: outputting a fourth control signal (Wright; Fig. 3d and 12a-12b; the control signal that corresponds to Gate Position #3); and receiving, by controlling the laser detection unit based on the fourth control signal, the first echo signal comprising the reflected signal corresponding to the first laser signal (Wright; Fig. 3d and 12a-12b; the control signal that corresponds to Gate Position #3).
Regarding independent claim 12, Modified Wright teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and, in Figures 1-12,
A detection control apparatus and method (Wright; Fig. 1-12), comprising:
a laser emitter (Wright; Fig. 1; laser with laser pump, master clock, processor, pointer/tracker, slave clock, and optical dome/window for laser output),
a laser detector (Wright; Fig. 1; pointer/tracker with sensor and processor), and
at least one processor (Wright; Fig. 1; pointer/tracker with sensor and processor);
emitting, by controlling a laser emitting unit (Wright; Fig. 1; laser with laser pump, master clock, processor, pointer/tracker, slave clock, and optical dome/window for laser output) a first laser signal (Wright; Fig. 3c; first laser signal for “coarse ranging”);
receiving, by controlling a laser detection unit (Wright; Fig. 1; pointer/tracker with sensor and processor) a first echo signal comprising a reflected signal corresponding to the first laser signal (Wright; Fig. 3c; first echo signal for “coarse ranging”);
outputting based on the first echo signal, a first control signal (Wright; Fig. 3d and 12a-12b; controlling/determining/establishing Gate Position #2 with Pings 1-9 that represents “fine resolution target location” at an “over sampled target location gate period”) that indicates a first time location (Wright; Fig. 3d and 12a-12b; Ping 3);
emitting, by controlling the laser emitting unit a second laser signal (Wright; Fig. 3d and 12a-12b; the second signal that corresponds to the “fine resolution target location” at an “over sampled target location gate period” of Fig. 3d in comparison to the previous/earlier first laser signal for “coarse ranging”); and
receiving, in a first time window (Wright; Fig. 3d and 12a-12b; Gate Position #2 with Pings 1-5) by controlling the laser detection unit based on the first control signal, a second echo signal (Wright; Fig. 3d and 12a-12b; the echo signal that corresponds to Gate Position #2) that comprises a reflected signal corresponding to the second laser signal (Wright; Fig. 3d and 12a-12b; the second echo that corresponds to the second signal that corresponds to the “fine resolution target location” at an “over sampled target location gate period” of Fig. 3d in comparison to the previous/earlier first laser signal for “coarse ranging”),
wherein the second echo signal is used for target detection (Wright; Fig. 3d and 12a-12b; the second echo that corresponds to the second signal that corresponds to the “fine resolution target location” at an “over sampled target location gate period” is used for determining distance with higher accuracy using “fine ranging” in comparison to “coarse ranging”),
wherein the first time window is related to the first time location and a first duration (Wright; Fig. 12b; the duration of a gate ping that corresponds to a laser ping),
wherein the first time window (Wright; Fig. 3d and 12a-12b; Gate Position #2 with Pings 1-5) comprises the first time location (Wright; Fig. 3d and 12a-12b; Ping 3), and
wherein the first duration is predefined or preconfigured (Wright; Fig. 12b; the duration of a gate ping that corresponds to a laser ping).
wherein the first time location corresponds to a first feature signal (Wright; Fig. 3d shows pulse signal),
wherein the first feature signal is obtained based on the first echo signal (Wright; Fig. 3d shows pulse signal), and
wherein the first feature signal comprises at least one signal portion having a signal type taken from the group consisting of: a signal, and a signal (Wright; Fig. 3d shows pulse signal).
Wright is silent regarding wherein the first feature signal comprises at least one signal portion having a signal type taken from the group consisting of: a peak signal, and a rising-edge signal.
Voicu teaches wherein the first feature signal comprises at least one signal portion having a signal type taken from the group consisting of: a peak signal (Voicu; [0094] pulse-detection circuit 365 determines time-of-arrival based on a peak signal of a received pulse of light 410; [0095] “a lidar system 100 may include a processor (e.g., controller 150) that determines the distance to a target 130 based at least in part on a time-of-arrival for a received pulse of light 410”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the signal type as taught by Wright to be a peak signal as taught by Voicu for the purpose of determining the time-of-arrival for pulse-detection which is used for distance/ranging determination (Voicu; [0094] pulse-detection circuit 365 determines time-of-arrival based on a peak signal of a received pulse of light 410; [0095] “a lidar system 100 may include a processor (e.g., controller 150) that determines the distance to a target 130 based at least in part on a time-of-arrival for a received pulse of light 410”).
Regarding claim 14, Modified Wright teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and the invention substantially the same as described above in reference to claim 3.
Regarding claim 15, Modified Wright teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and the invention substantially the same as described above in reference to claim 4.
Regarding claim 16, Modified Wright teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and the invention substantially the same as described above in reference to claim 5.
Regarding claim 20, Modified Wright teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and the invention substantially the same as described above in reference to claim 9.
Regarding claim 21, Modified Wright teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and the invention substantially the same as described above in reference to claim 10.
Regarding claim 22, Modified Wright teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and the invention substantially the same as described above in reference to claim 11.
Claim(s) 6 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wright in view of Voicu as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Sharma US20170052065.
Regarding claim 6, Modified Wright teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The method according to claim 1, wherein the laser detection unit comprises at least one photon detection element (Wright; col. 17:58-60 photodiode).
Modified Wright is silent regarding wherein the laser detection unit comprises at least one single-photon detection element.
Sharma teaches wherein the laser detection unit comprises at least one single-photon detection element (Sharma; [0007] SPAD sensing elements; [0003] SPADs provide “capturing individual photos with very high time-of-arrival resolution”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the photon detection element as taught by Modified Wright to be at least one single-photon detection element as taught by Sharma for the purpose of providing high resolution (Sharma; [0003] SPADs provide “capturing individual photos with very high time-of-arrival resolution”).
Regarding claim 17, Modified Wright teaches the invention substantially the same as described above in reference to claim 6.
Claim(s) 7 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wright in view of Voicu as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Fine US20210165083.
Regarding claim 7, Modified Wright teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The method according to claim 1, wherein the laser detection unit comprises a plurality of detection elements, wherein each detection element, of the plurality of detection elements, corresponds to an output signal of one pixel wherein the first feature signal comprises a signal obtained by performing processing on output signals of adjacent pixels, and wherein the adjacent pixels correspond to at least two adjacent detection elements in the laser detection unit (Wright; col. 6:25-28 pixel array processing of adjacent pixels; col. 17:58-60 photodiode).
Modified Wright is silent regarding performing superposition processing on output signals of adjacent pixels.
Fine teaches performing superposition processing on output signals of adjacent pixels (Fine; [0056] adjacent pixels are superpositioned/aggregated into super-pixel 50 to “enhance the resolution of the TOF measurement”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the signal processing as taught by Modified Wright to include superposition/super-pixel processing as taught by Fine for the purpose of enhancing “the resolution of the TOF measurement” (Fine; [0056] adjacent pixels are superpositioned/aggregated into super-pixel 50 to “enhance the resolution of the TOF measurement”).
Regarding claim 18, Modified Wright teaches the invention substantially the same as described above in reference to claim 7.
Claim(s) 8 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wright in view of Voicu as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Huang US20230375682.
Regarding claim 8, Modified Wright teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The method according to claim 1, wherein the method is applied to a laser detection apparatus wherein a start time of the first time window is after a fourth time location (Wright; Fig. 3d and 12a-12b; Gate Position #1 with Pings 1-5 in which Gate Position #1 corresponds to the earliest arrival times that are earlier than those for Gates 2-3) or is the same as a fourth time location wherein the fourth time location a distance from the laser emitting unit to a first optical element (Wright; Fig. 1; outermost optical dome window), and wherein the first optical element is an outermost optical element that belongs to the laser detection apparatus and that is in an emitting optical path of the second laser signal (Wright; Fig. 1; outermost optical dome window).
Modified Wright is silent regarding wherein the fourth time location corresponds to a distance from the laser emitting unit to a first optical element, and wherein the first optical element is an outermost optical element that belongs to the laser detection apparatus and that is in an emitting optical path of the second laser signal.
Huang teaches wherein the fourth time location corresponds to a distance from the laser emitting unit to a first optical element, and wherein the first optical element is an outermost optical element that belongs to the laser detection apparatus and that is in an emitting optical path of the second laser signal (Huang; Fig. 6a; [0083] “echo pulse L22 of the optical window” and “the lidar can calculate the distance of the target object in a normal decoding manner”; [0072] solving the problem relating to “stray light produced by an optical window”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the fourth time location as taught by Modified Wright to correspond to the distance to the optical element as taught by Huang for the purpose accurately determining the target/object distance in a stray light condition in which the source of the stray light is from an optical element (Huang; Fig. 6a; [0083] “the lidar can calculate the distance of the target object in a normal decoding manner”; [0072] solving the problem relating to “stray light produced by an optical window”).
Regarding claim 19, Modified Wright teaches the invention substantially the same as described above in reference to claim 8.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Dutton US20210302550 teaches, in Fig. 8 and 15, a peak search step 406 and a peak detector 1510 (Fig. 8 and 15; [0048, 0056, 0105]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN MALIKASIM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645 10/5/26