DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendment filed on 7/24/2026 have been entered and fully considered. Claim 17 is amended, and claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Specification objection has been withdrawn based on the amendment.
Claim objection has been withdrawn based on the amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument with respect to claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101 has been fully considered and is persuasive, therefore claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Chen does not disclose or suggest sending, by the base station (BS) to a second BS, a message comprising an authorization information indicating that a wireless device is authorized to access a cell operated by a mobile integrated access and backhaul (mIAB) node”, as recited in independent claims 1, 19, 20, and their respective dependent claims.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Chen teaches access-related configuration may include one or more of a mobile IAB indication, a MR indication, or a MR-prioritized indication. The indication may indicate that UE can prioritize the cell of the mobile IAB node, or mobile relay for cell reselection. The information may include an MR-only indication indicating that the UE is only allowed to access, select, re-select to the cells of mobile IAB node (thus authorization information indicating that a UE is authorized to access a cell operated by a mIAB node) (Paragraphs 0051 and 0052). Further, Chen teaches the first wireless communication node may send access-related information (520) and a second wireless communication node may receive the access-related information (525) (Figure 5 and Paragraph 0093). The access-related identity may identify vehicle identifier, vehicle name, a physical cell identifier (PCI), NR cell global identifier (NCGI), or Network Identifier (NID), among others. The vehicle identifier and name may correspond to a vehicle in which the mobile IAB node is situated or located. The PCI, NGCI, and NID may correspond to the cell network supported by the mobile IAB node (Paragraph 0096). The first wireless communication node may provide, transmit, or otherwise send access-related information to a second (wireless) communication node (e.g., a neighboring gNB, AMF, IAB donor, or gNB-CU) (520). The access-related information may be for the wireless communication device to communicate or access the cell supported by the mobile IAB node (Paragraph 0102). Therefore, Chen teaches sending, by the base station (BS) to a second BS, a message comprising an authorization information indicating that a wireless device is authorized to access a cell operated by a mobile integrated access and backhaul (mIAB) node”, as recited in independent claims 1, 19, 20, and their respective dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1, 2, 5, 8, 11-14, 16-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 20250184871 A1 and Chen hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches a base station (Figure 2 and Paragraph 0027; base station 202) comprising one or more processors (Figure 2 and Paragraph 0027; processor) and memory (Figure 2 and Paragraph 0027; memory) storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the base station to perform a process (Figure 2 and Paragraph 0032; the memory modules 216 and 234 may each include non-volatile memory for storing instructions to be executed by the processor modules 210 and 230, respectively) comprising:
sending, by the base station (BS) to a second BS, a message comprising an authorization information (Paragraphs 0057 and 0058; AMF can provide the gNB [interpreted as the base station (BS)] with the mobility restrictions information applicable for the MR access. The gNB send mobile IAB indication or the supported CAG identifier, vehicle identifier, NID of its cell to neighboring gNB [interpreted as a second BS]. Figure 5 and Paragraphs 0093 and 0102; the first wireless communication node may transmit access-related information toa second wireless communication node. The access-related information may be for the wireless communication device to communicate or access the cell supported by the mobile IAB node) indicating that a wireless device is authorized to access a cell operated by a mobile integrated access and backhaul (mIAB) node (Paragraphs 0051 and 0052; the UE may be able to know that the UE itself is allowed to access the mobile IAB node on a specific vehicle, and the UE may be configured with access related configuration information, such as from gNB, gNB-CU, gNB-DU, or an access and mobility management function (AMF). Paragraphs 0057 and 0058; the AMF determine whether the UE is allowed to access the cell based on access related information. Figure 5 and Paragraphs 0095, 0096 and 0102; access-related information may be for the wireless communication device to communicate or access the cell supported by the mobile IAB node).
Regarding claim 2, Chen teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Further, Chen teaches the process further comprising receiving by the BS from the second BS, a first message indicating a first cell of the second BS being operated by a first mIAB node (Paragraph 0094; a first wireless communication node (e.g., a BS 102 or 202, CN 302, IAB node 306a-d) may provide, broadcast, transmit, or otherwise send configuration to a network element (e.g., IAB node 306a-d), the configuration information may define, identify, or otherwise specify one or more parameters for facilitating communication with or access to a network cell (e.g., IAB cell) supported by at least one IAB node (e.g., a IAB node 306a-d, IAB-CU, or IAB-DU). Figure 5 and Paragraph 0093; a second wireless communication node may receive access-related information from first wireless communication node and send response information).
Regarding claim 5, Chen teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Further, Chen teaches the process further comprising, receiving by the BS from a core network node, a second message comprising the authorization information, wherein the core network node comprises at least one of a mobility management node or an access and mobility function (AMF) (Paragraphs 0057 and 0058; AMF can check whether the UE is allowed to access the cell and provide the gNB with the mobility restrictions information applicable for the MR access).
Regarding claim 8, Chen teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Further, Chen teaches wherein the authorization information indicates one or more mIAB access groups for which the wireless device is allowed to access (Paragraphs 0008 and 0013; first wireless communication node or a CU connected with the first wireless communication node may receive access related information from an IAB node or a distributed unit (DU), the access related information may include at least one of: a mobile IAB indication, a CAG identifier, a vehicle identifier, or a network identifier. Paragraph 0054; the CAG [closed access group] can identify a group of UEs that are permitted to access one or more CAG cells associated to the CAG. Paragraphs 0070 and 0071; the gNB receives a paging message (e.g., from AMF) including at least one of the following: mobile IAB allowed/enabled/prioritized indication, a list of CAG ID/vehicle ID/NID allowed for the UE, an indication which indicates whether the UE is allowed to access non-mobile IAB cells).
Regarding claim 11, Chen teaches all of the limitations of claim 5, as described above. Further, Chen teaches the process further comprising sending by the BS, a system information block (Paragraph 0047; system information block) indicating whether the BS supports a feature of mIAB (Paragraph 0061; the frequency providing MR service [interpreted as mIAB]. Paragraph 0094; first wireless communication node may provide, broadcast, transmit, or otherwise send configuration information specifying one or more parameters for facilitating communication with or access to a network cell (e.g., IAB cell) supported by at least one IAB node (e.g., a IAB node 306a-d, IAB-CU, or IAB-DU)).
Regarding claim 12, Chen teaches all of the limitations of claim 11, as described above. Further, Chen teaches the process further comprising receiving by the BS, a third message indicating whether the wireless device supports the feature of mIAB (Paragraphs 0057 and 0058; AMF can check whether the UE is allowed to access the cell and provide the gNB with the mobility restrictions information applicable for the MR access. Paragraphs 0060 and 0061; if UE is MR capable [interpreted as support mIAB]. Figure 6 and Paragraph 0106; the first wireless communication node may receive the updated configuration information from the second wireless communication node. Paragraph 0107; the configuration information may be for a DU (e.g., gNB-DU), and may define, identify, or otherwise specify one or more parameters for facilitating communication with or access to a network cell (e.g., IAB cell) supported by at least one IAB node (e.g., a IAB node 306a-d, IAB-CU, or IAB-DU)).
Regarding claim 13, Chen teaches all of the limitations of claim 11, as described above. Further, Chen teaches wherein the feature of mIAB comprises at least one of receiving information associated with mIAB, sending information associated with mIAB, handling information associated with mIAB, managing a cell associated with mIAB (Paragraph 0094; first wireless communication node may provide, broadcast, transmit, or otherwise send configuration information specifying one or more parameters for facilitating communication with or access to a network cell (e.g., IAB cell) supported by at least one IAB node (e.g., a IAB node 306a-d, IAB-CU, or IAB-DU)).
Regarding claim 14, Chen teaches all of the limitations of claim 11, as described above. Further, Chen teaches the process further comprising receiving by the BS from the second BS, a mIAB support indicator indicating whether the second BS supports the feature of mIAB (Figure 6 and Paragraph 0106; the first wireless communication node may receive the updated configuration information from the second wireless communication node. Paragraph 0107; the configuration information may be for a DU (e.g., gNB-DU), and may define, identify, or otherwise specify one or more parameters for facilitating communication with or access to a network cell (e.g., IAB cell) supported by at least one IAB node (e.g., a IAB node 306a-d, IAB-CU, or IAB-DU)).
Regarding claim 16, Chen teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Further, Chen teaches the process further comprising sending by the BS to the wireless device and based on the authorization information (Paragraphs 0057 and 0058; AMF can check whether the UE is allowed to access the cell and provide the gNB with the mobility restrictions information applicable for the MR access), a measurement configuration requesting a measurement of one or more cells of one or more mIAB nodes (Paragraph 0065; if the mobile IAB cell notifies the PCI, NCGI, frequency, TAC, or RNAC change to UE via system information, the UE may perform the intra/inter-frequency measurement with the stored information).
Regarding claim 17, Chen teaches all of the limitations of claim 2, as described above. Further, Chen teaches the process further comprising receiving by the BS from the second BS, the first message indicating a type of the first cell, wherein the type indicates at least one of a mIAB type cell or a non-mIAB type cell (Figure 6 and Paragraph 0106; the first wireless communication node may receive the updated configuration information from the second wireless communication node. Paragraph 0107; the configuration information may be for a DU (e.g., gNB-DU), and may define, identify, or otherwise specify one or more parameters for facilitating communication with or access to a network cell (e.g., IAB cell) supported by at least one IAB node (e.g., a IAB node 306a-d, IAB-CU, or IAB-DU)).
Regarding claim 18, Chen teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Further, Chen teaches wherein the message further indicates at least one of one or more mIAB access group identifiers allowed for the wireless device, or one or more mIAB identifiers allowed for the wireless device (Paragraphs 0008 and 0013; first wireless communication node or a CU connected with the first wireless communication node may receive access related information from an IAB node or a distributed unit (DU), the access related information may include at least one of: a mobile IAB indication, a CAG identifier, a vehicle identifier, or a network identifier. Paragraph 0054; the CAG [closed access group] can identify a group of UEs that are permitted to access one or more CAG cells associated to the CAG. Paragraphs 0070 and 0071; the gNB receives a paging message (e.g., from AMF) including at least one of the following: mobile IAB allowed/enabled/prioritized indication, a list of CAG ID/vehicle ID/NID allowed for the UE, an indication which indicates whether the UE is allowed to access non-mobile IAB cells).
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 recites similar features as claim 1, therefore is rejected for at least the same reason as discussed above regarding claim 1. Further, Chen teaches non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a base station, cause the base station to perform a process (Figure 2 and Paragraph 0032; the memory modules 216 and 234 may each include non-volatile memory for storing instructions to be executed by the processor modules 210 and 230, respectively).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, 6, 7, 9, 10, 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, as applied in the claims above, further in view of Wu (US 20240031893 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Chen teaches all of the limitations of claim 2, as described above.
Chen does not explicitly teach wherein the first mIAB node provides a first Uu interface to one or more wireless device, via the first cell. In an analogous art, Wu teaches wherein the first mIAB node provides a first Uu interface to one or more wireless device, via the first cell (Figure 1 and Paragraphs 0063 and 0067; IAB-DU for providing access connection via a Uu interface to the UE 102 or downstream MTs of any IAB-nodes). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen and Wu because it would provide inter-donor migration through support in signaling, managing context and modifying the topology (Wu, Paragraph 0011).
Regarding claim 4, Chen teaches all of the limitations of claim 2, as described above.
Chen does not explicitly teach wherein the first mIAB node connects to the second BS via a second Uu interface of a second cell of the second BS, and exchanges one or more F1 interface messages with the second BS. In an analogous art, Wu teaches wherein the first mIAB node connects to the second BS via a second Uu interface of a second cell of the second BS, and exchanges one or more F1 interface messages with the second BS (Figure 1 and Paragraphs 0063 and 0067; the DU at the IAB-node 104 can connect to a CU hosted by any of the IAB-donors 108A, 108B, or 108C via an F1 interface. F1-C traffic and F1-U traffic between IAB-node 104 and IAB-donor-CU 172 is backhauled via the IAB-donor-DU 174 and the optional intermediate hop IAB-node 106). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen and Wu because it would provide inter-donor migration through support in signaling, managing context and modifying the topology (Wu, Paragraph 0011).
Regarding claim 6, Chen teaches all of the limitations of claim 2, as described above. Further, Chen teaches wherein the message is a handover message indicating a handover of the wireless device to the first cell (Paragraph 0074; for the mobile IAB scenario, the mobile IAB node may send the cells information to donor CU, the donor CU may then notify the neighbor gNB with the updated served cell information. Figure 6 and Paragraph 0022; figure 6 illustrates a flow diagram of a method of facilitating handovers in integrated access and backhaul (IAB) system. Paragraph 0082; source donor CU may send configuration of mobile IAB DU’s cells to the target donor CU during handover (HO) preparation phase of mobile IAB node), based on the authorization information indicating the wireless device being allowed for the mIAB node (Paragraphs 0051 and 0052; the UE may be able to know that the UE itself is allowed to access the mobile IAB node on a specific vehicle, and the UE may be configured with access related configuration information. Paragraphs 0057 and 0058; AMF can check whether the UE is allowed to access the cell and provide the gNB with the mobility restrictions information applicable for the MR access).
Chen does not explicitly teach a handover request message. In an analogous art, Wu teaches a handover request message (Paragraph 0093; the target IAB-donor 108B may receive the context of the IAB-node 104, the security information, and/or the user plane setting from the source IAB-donor 108A in a Handover Request message). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen and Wu because it would provide inter-donor migration through support in signaling, managing context and modifying the topology (Wu, Paragraph 0011).
Regarding claim 7, Chen teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Further, Chen teaches the process further comprising, sending by the BS to a third BS (Paragraph 0074; for the mobile IAB scenario, the mobile IAB node may send the cells information to donor CU, the donor CU may then notify the neighbor gNB with the updated served cell information. Figure 6 and Paragraph 0022; figure 6 illustrates a flow diagram of a method of facilitating handovers in integrated access and backhaul (IAB) system. Paragraph 0082; source donor CU may send configuration of mobile IAB DU’s cells to the target donor CU during handover (HO) preparation phase of mobile IAB node), a second handover message requesting handover of a second wireless device, to a third cell not associated with the mIAB node, based on the second wireless device not being authorized to access the mIAB node (Paragraphs 0060 and 0061; if UE is not MR capable, UE can de-prioritize selection of the cells with corresponding vehicle ID, mobile IAB indication, NID, MR HRNN, or MR CAG ID. Paragraphs 0070 and 0071; the gNB receives a paging message (e.g., from AMF) including at least one of the following: mobile IAB allowed/enabled/prioritized indication, a list of CAG ID/vehicle ID/NID allowed for the UE, an indication which indicates whether the UE is allowed to access non-mobile IAB cells. The neighbor gNB node may use this information to avoid paging in cells on which the UE is not allowed to camp).
Chen does not explicitly teach a handover request message. In an analogous art, Wu teaches a handover request message (Paragraph 0093; the target IAB-donor 108B may receive the context of the IAB-node 104, the security information, and/or the user plane setting from the source IAB-donor 108A in a Handover Request message). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen and Wu because it would provide inter-donor migration through support in signaling, managing context and modifying the topology (Wu, Paragraph 0011).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Chen and Wu teaches all of the limitations of claim 6, as described above. Further, Chen teaches further comprising receiving by the BS from the second BS, an information indicating one or more second mIAB access groups associated with the first mIAB node of the second BS (Paragraphs 0008 and 0013; first wireless communication node or a CU connected with the first wireless communication node may receive access related information from an IAB node or a distributed unit (DU), the access related information may include at least one of: a mobile IAB indication, a CAG identifier, a vehicle identifier, or a network identifier. Paragraph 0054; the CAG [closed access group] can identify a group of UEs that are permitted to access one or more CAG cells associated to the CAG. Paragraph 0005 and 0106; second wireless communication node may send updated configuration information to the first wireless communication node, wherein the configuration information may be a closed access group (CAG) identifier, physical cell identifier (PCI), NR cell global identifier (NCGI), or Network Identifier (NID)).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Chen and Wu teaches all of the limitations of claim 9, as described above. Further, Chen teaches wherein the BS sends the handover, based on the one or more second mIAB access groups comprising at least one of the one or more mIAB access group for which the wireless device is allowed to access (Figure 6 and Paragraph 0106; the first wireless communication node may receive the updated configuration information from the second wireless communication node in preparation for handover).
In addition, Wu teaches the handover request message (Paragraph 0093; the target IAB-donor 108B may receive the context of the IAB-node 104, the security information, and/or the user plane setting from the source IAB-donor 108A in a Handover Request message). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen and Wu because it would provide inter-donor migration through support in signaling, managing context and modifying the topology (Wu, Paragraph 0011).
Regarding claim 15, Chen teaches all of the limitations of claim 11, as described above. Further, Chen teaches a message comprises an indication indicating whether the BS supports the feature of mIAB (Paragraph 0061; the frequency providing MR service [interpreted as mIAB]. Paragraph 0094; first wireless communication node may provide, broadcast, transmit, or otherwise send configuration information specifying one or more parameters for facilitating communication with or access to a network cell (e.g., IAB cell) supported by at least one IAB node (e.g., a IAB node 306a-d, IAB-CU, or IAB-DU)).
Chen does not explicitly teach the process further comprising sending by the BS to the core network node, a path switch request message, based on the wireless device being handed over to the BS from a fourth BS. In an analogous art, Wu teaches he process further comprising sending by the BS to the core network node, a path switch request message, based on the wireless device being handed over to the BS from a fourth BS (Paragraphs 0116 and 0139; the target IAB-donor 108B can send a Path Switch Request message (not shown) for the UE 102 to CN 110 (e.g., AMF 164) to trigger the CN 110 to switch a DL data path towards the target IAB-donor 108B and/or to establish an NG-C interface instance towards the target IAB-donor 108B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen and Wu because it would provide inter-donor migration through support in signaling, managing context and modifying the topology (Wu, Paragraph 0011).
Regarding claim 19, Chen teaches a first base station (Figure 2 and Paragraph 0027; base station 202) comprising one or more processors (Figure 2 and Paragraph 0027; processor) and memory (Figure 2 and Paragraph 0027; memory) storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the base station to perform a process (Figure 2 and Paragraph 0032; the memory modules 216 and 234 may each include non-volatile memory for storing instructions to be executed by the processor modules 210 and 230, respectively) comprising:
receiving, by the first base station from a core network node, a message comprising an information element indicating that a wireless device is authorized to access a cell operated by a mobile integrated access and backhaul (mIAB) node (Paragraphs 0057 and 0058; AMF can provide the gNB [interpreted as the base station (BS)] with the mobility restrictions information applicable for the MR access. The gNB send mobile IAB indication or the supported CAG identifier, vehicle identifier, NID of its cell to neighboring gNB [interpreted as a second BS]) indicating that a wireless device is authorized to access a cell operated by a mobile integrated access and backhaul (mIAB) node (Paragraphs 0051 and 0052; the UE may be able to know that the UE itself is allowed to access the mobile IAB node on a specific vehicle, and the UE may be configured with access related configuration information, such as from gNB, gNB-CU, gNB-DU, or an access and mobility management function (AMF). Paragraphs 0057 and 0058; the AMF determine whether the UE is allowed to access the cell based on access related information); and
sending, by the first base station to a second base station, a message requesting a handover of the wireless device to a first cell, of the second base station (Paragraph 0074; for the mobile IAB scenario, the mobile IAB node may send the cells information to donor CU, the donor CU may then notify the neighbor gNB with the updated served cell information. Figure 6 and Paragraph 0022; figure 6 illustrates a flow diagram of a method of facilitating handovers in integrated access and backhaul (IAB) system. Paragraph 0082; source donor CU may send configuration of mobile IAB DU’s cells to the target donor CU during handover (HO) preparation phase of mobile IAB node. Figure 5, Paragraphs 0093 and 0102; the first wireless communication node may transmit access-related information toa second wireless communication node. The access-related information may be for the wireless communication device to communicate or access the cell supported by the mobile IAB node), operated by the mIAB node (Paragraph 0094; a first wireless communication node (e.g., a BS 102 or 202, CN 302, IAB node 306a-d) may provide, broadcast, transmit, or otherwise send configuration to a network element (e.g., IAB node 306a-d), the configuration information may define, identify, or otherwise specify one or more parameters for facilitating communication with or access to a network cell (e.g., IAB cell) supported by at least one IAB node (e.g., a IAB node 306a-d, IAB-CU, or IAB-DU). Figure 5 and Paragraph 0093; a second wireless communication node may receive access-related information from first wireless communication node and send response information. Figure 5 and Paragraph 0102; the cell supported by the mobile IAB node).
Chen does not explicitly teach a handover request message. In an analogous art, Wu teaches a handover request message (Paragraph 0093; the target IAB-donor 108B may receive the context of the IAB-node 104, the security information, and/or the user plane setting from the source IAB-donor 108A in a Handover Request message). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen and Wu because it would provide inter-donor migration through support in signaling, managing context and modifying the topology (Wu, Paragraph 0011).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhu et al. (US 20250106698 A1) discloses an IAB node mobility management.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Jing Gao/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647