DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment filed 4/13/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1, 3-6, 8-11, 13-16, and 18-20 are amended.
Response to Amendment
Amendments filed on 4/13/2026 are entered for prosecution. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Applicant’s amendments to claims 3, 4, and 9 have overcome the objections to claims 3, 4, and 9 previously set forth in the Non-Final Action mailed on 1/16/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claims 1, 6, 11, and 16 (pages 9-11) in a reply filed 4/13/2026 have been considered but are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1, 6, 11, and 16:
In the remarks, Applicant contends, in pages 10-11, that “Notably, the cited Bae reference does not describe at least Applicant's recited "wherein both the M first time domain resources and the N second time domain resources belong to a first transmission opportunity" feature. Specifically, the Bae does not describe the "N second time domain resources belong to a first transmission opportunity" to which the M first time domain resources belong for sending a message. Bae, upon which the Office action's rejection of each of the independent claims solely relies, describes a "transmission opportunity" in paragraph [0206] for a physical upload shared channel (PUSCH) through which a UE transmits a message (i.e., Applicant's claimed "M first time domain resources" for the UE to send a message). However, such transmission opportunity is solely for the UE to transmit a message, and is NOT available for the UE to receive a message (i.e., Applicant's claimed "N second time domain resources" for the UE to receive a message). As such, Bae does not describe at least Applicant's claimed feature of: wherein both the M first time domain resources and the N second time domain resources belong to a first transmission opportunity, ... As such, Bae does not describe "both the M first time domain resources and the N second time domain resources belong to a first transmission opportunity."
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Bae teaches wherein both the M first time domain resources and the N second time domain resources belong to a first transmission opportunity (e.g., a slot) (see, Bae: Fig. 9 and para. [0121], “The symbols of a single slot may be divided into group(s) of consecutive symbols available as DL symbols, UL symbols, or flexible symbols. Hereinbelow, information specifying the usages of symbols in a slot is referred to as a slot format. For example, a slot format may define which symbols are to be used for UL and which symbols are to be used for DL.”, wherein both N symbols used for DL and M symbols used for UL belong to a same slot (i.e., a transmission opportunity).).
Therefore, the disclosure of Bae reads on the limitations as claimed.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title “IMPROVING UTILIZATION OF TIME DOMAIN RESOURCES IN WIRELESS COMMUNICATION” is suggested.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected because of the following informalities:
In claim 11, it is suggested to replace “;” (semi-colon) in line 8 with “,” (comma) for correction of a typographical error and for clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bae et al. (WO 2020/145773 A1, hereinafter Bae).
Note that US patent family (US Publication No. 2022/0131652 A1) is used for English translation of Bae and mapping to the claim limitations.
Regarding claim 1:
Bae teaches a communication method, wherein the method comprises:
sending, by a first node (e.g., Bae: para. [0122], a serving cell; Fig. 2, First Device 100; Fig. 14, Network (BS)), a message (e.g., DL control channel or DL data) on at least one of M first time domain resources (see, Bae: Fig. 9 and para. [0121], “the first N symbols of a slot may be used to deliver a DL control channel (hereinafter, referred to as a DL control region)”); and
receiving, by the first node, a message (e.g., UL control channel or UL data) on at least one of N second time domain resources (see, Bae: Fig. 9 and para. [0121], “the last M symbols of the slot may be used to deliver a UL control channel (hereinafter, referred to as a UL control region)”),
wherein the first time domain resource (i.e., the first N symbols of a slot) is used by the first node to send a message (e.g., DL control channel or DL data), wherein the second time domain resource (i.e., the last M symbols of a slot) is used by the first node to receive a message (e.g., UL control channel or UL data) (see, Bae: Fig. 9; para. [0122], “When a serving cell is to be operated in a TDD mode, the BS may configure a UL and DL allocation pattern for the serving cell by higher-layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling). For example, the following parameters may be used to configure a TDD DL-UL pattern:”; and para. [0121], “In every 3GPP-based system, for example, the NR system, each slot may have a self-contained structure with i) a DL control channel, ii) DL or UL data, and/or iii) a UL control channel. For example, the first N symbols of a slot may be used to deliver a DL control channel (hereinafter, referred to as a DL control region), and the last M symbols of the slot may be used to deliver a UL control channel (hereinafter, referred to as a UL control region). Each of N and M is 0 or a positive integer. A resource region (hereinafter, referred to as a data region) between the DL control region and the UL control region may be used to deliver DL data or UL data. The symbols of a single slot may be divided into group(s) of consecutive symbols available as DL symbols, UL symbols, or flexible symbols.”),
wherein both the M first time domain resources and the N second time domain resources belong to a first transmission opportunity (e.g., a slot) (see, Bae: Fig. 9 and para. [0121], “The symbols of a single slot may be divided into group(s) of consecutive symbols available as DL symbols, UL symbols, or flexible symbols. Hereinbelow, information specifying the usages of symbols in a slot is referred to as a slot format. For example, a slot format may define which symbols are to be used for UL and which symbols are to be used for DL.”, wherein both N symbols used for DL and M symbols used for UL belong to a same slot (i.e., a transmission opportunity).),
wherein a time domain resource in the first transmission opportunity is for message transmission on a first frequency hopping channel, (see, Bae: para. [0153]; para. [0158]; and para. [0216], When a plurality of PUSCHs/PDSCHs are transmitted in one slot, frequency hopping for changing frequency resources between PUSCH/PDSCH transmissions may be additionally considered to secure reliability through frequency diversity.”. Also, see para. [0341-0342] [0391]) and
wherein M is an integer greater than 0, N is an integer greater than 0, and M+N>2 (see, Bae: Table 4, Format 20, wherein M is 1 and N is 2 and M+N > 2, in this example.).
Regarding claim 2:
As discussed above, Bae teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Bae further teaches wherein the first transmission opportunity successively comprises the M first time domain resources and the N second time domain resources (see, Bae: Fig. 9 and para. [0121, “The symbols of a single slot may be divided into group(s) of consecutive symbols available as DL symbols, UL symbols, or flexible symbols. Hereinbelow, information specifying the usages of symbols in a slot is referred to as a slot format. For example, a slot format may define which symbols are to be used for UL and which symbols are to be used for DL.”).
Regarding claim 3:
As discussed above, Bae teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Bae further teaches wherein the first transmission opportunity further comprises K second time domain resources (e.g., flexible symbols of a slot) (see, Bae: Fig. 9; Table 4; and para. [0121], “The symbols of a single slot may be divided into group(s) of consecutive symbols available as DL symbols, UL symbols, or flexible symbols. Hereinbelow, information specifying the usages of symbols in a slot is referred to as a slot format. For example, a slot format may define which symbols are to be used for UL and which symbols are to be used for DL.”), and K is an integer greater than 0 (see, Bae: Table 4, Format 20, wherein F is 11 and F > 0, in this example.); and wherein before the sending, the method further comprises: receiving, by the first node, a message (e.g., UL control channel or UL data) on at least one of the K second time domain resources (see, Bae: para. [0128], “The remaining symbols configured neither as DL nor as UL among the symbols of the DL-UL pattern are flexible symbols.”, wherein the flexible symbols are used for UL control channel or UL data. Also, see para. [0299] [0308].).
Regarding claim 4:
As discussed above, Bae teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Bae further teaches wherein M is greater than 1, and wherein the M first time domain resources are consecutive time domain resources (see, Bae: Table 4, Format 20, wherein symbol 0 and symbol 1 are consecutively assigned for DL in a slot) in the first transmission opportunity (e.g., a slot); and wherein the sending comprises: sending, by the first node, messages on a plurality of first time domain resources (e.g., DL control channel or DL data in the first two symbols in a slot) (see, Bae: Fig. 9; Table 4; and para. [0130], “Although various combinations may be produced out of DL symbols, UL symbols, and flexible symbols, a specific number of combinations may be predefined as slot formats, and the predefined slot formats may be identified by slot format indexes.”, Table 4, Format 20, wherein N is 2 and N > 1, in this example.).
Regarding claim 5:
As discussed above, Bae teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Bae further teaches wherein N is greater than 1, and wherein the N second time domain resources are consecutive time domain resources (see, Bae: Table 4, Format 15, wherein symbols 6-13 are consecutively assigned for UL in a slot) in the first transmission opportunity (e.g., a slot); and wherein the receiving comprises: receiving, by the first node, messages on a plurality of second time domain resources (e.g., UL control channel or UL data in the first two symbols in a slot) (see, Bae: Fig. 9; Table 4; and para. [0130], “Although various combinations may be produced out of DL symbols, UL symbols, and flexible symbols, a specific number of combinations may be predefined as slot formats, and the predefined slot formats may be identified by slot format indexes.”, Table 4, Format 15, wherein M is 8 and M > 1, in this example.).
Regarding claim 6:
Claim 6 is directed towards the communication method of another node (e.g., Bae: Fig. 2, Second Device 200; Fig. 14, UE(s)) communicating with a node of claim 1 (e.g., Bae: Fig. 2, First Device 100; Fig. 14, Network (BS)) that is limited to perform the similar features of claim 1 from the perspective of the another node. Therefore, claim 6 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 7:
Claim 7 is directed towards the communication method of claim 6 that is further limited to similar features to claim 2 from the perspective of the first node of claim 6. Therefore, claim 7 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 8:
Claim 8 is directed towards the communication method of claim 6 that is further limited to similar features to claim 3 from the perspective of the first node of claim 6. Therefore, claim 8 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 9:
Claim 9 is directed towards the communication method of claim 6 that is further limited to similar features to claim 4 from the perspective of the first node of claim 6. Therefore, claim 9 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 10:
Claim 10 is directed towards the communication method of claim 6 that is further limited to similar features to claim 5 from the perspective of the first node of claim 6. Therefore, claim 10 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 5 above.
Regarding claim 11:
Claim 11 is directed towards a communication apparatus (see, Bae: Fig. 2, First Device 100) configured to operate as a first node on a network, wherein the communication apparatus comprises: at least one processor (see, Bae: Fig. 2, Processor(s) 102); and a non-transitory computer-readable medium (see, Bae: Fig. 2, Memory(s) 104) including computer executable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, facilitate carrying out the method of claim 1 with no additional limitations. Therefore, claim 11 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 12:
Claim 12 is directed towards the communication apparatus according to claim 11 that is further limited to similar features to claim 2. Therefore, claim 12 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 13:
Claim 13 is directed towards the communication apparatus according to claim 11 that is further limited to similar features to claim 3. Therefore, claim 13 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 14:
Claim 14 is directed towards the communication apparatus according to claim 11 that is further limited to similar features to claim 4. Therefore, claim 1$ is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 15:
Claim 15 is directed towards the communication apparatus according to claim 11 that is further limited to similar features to claim 5. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 5 above.
Regarding claim 16:
Claim 16 is directed towards a communication apparatus (see, Bae: Fig. 2, Second Device 200) configured to operate as a first node on a network, wherein the apparatus comprises: at least one processor (see, Bae: Fig. 2, Processor(s) 202); and a non-transitory computer-readable medium (see, Bae: Fig. 2, Memory(s) 204) including computer executable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, facilitate carrying out the method of claim 6 with no additional limitations. Therefore, claim 16 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 17:
Claim 17 is directed towards the communication apparatus according to claim 16 that is further limited to similar features to claim 7. Therefore, claim 17 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 7 above.
Regarding claim 18:
Claim 18 is directed towards the communication apparatus according to claim 16 that is further limited to similar features to claim 8. Therefore, claim 18 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 8 above.
Regarding claim 19:
Claim 19 is directed towards the communication apparatus according to claim 16 that is further limited to similar features to claim 9. Therefore, claim 19 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 9 above.
Regarding claim 20:
Claim 20 is directed towards the communication apparatus according to claim 16 that is further limited to similar features to claim 10. Therefore, claim 20 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 10 above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JI-HAE YEA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471