Claim Objections
Claims 1-5 are objected to because of the following informalities: as the invention is directed towards steps, this appears to be “a ranking method” rather than “A ranking system”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the players" and “the weight” and “the matches”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the points difference". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the sudden changes". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. In claim 3, applicant only states that the notation system “expressed the weight in claim #2” without the rest of the ranking system of claim 2. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 1-5 pass step 1 of the test for eligibility.
As per step 2A prong one, the claims are evaluated to determine whether the claims recite a judicial exception. Representative claim 1 recites, with emphasis added:
A ranking system that is transparent to the players so that players can be notified of the weight of the matches before they play.
A ranking system that is flexible so that match organizers can assign different weight to each individual game including 0 weight using either simple outcome or multiples of the points difference.
A ranking system that uses daily total win/lose results to calculate new raw score based on prior ranking, match weight setting and game results.
A ranking system that uses moving averages to smooth out the sudden changes to a player's ranking
The above underlined portion of representative claim 1 recites a judicial exception because they are mental processes, as all of the steps could be performed entirely with the human mind or with pen and paper as a human could track the rankings of players whether by pen and paper or mentally.
Next, as per step 2A prong two, the claims are evaluated to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the recited judicial exception into a practical application of the exception.
The elements recited above that are not underlined in representative claim 1 comprise the additional elements. As discussed in more detail below, these additional elements do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application of the exception.
There are no additional elements
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application of the exception. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology.
Next, as per step 2B, the claims as a whole are analyzed to determine whether any element, or combination of elements, is sufficient to ensure that the claims amount to significantly more than the exception.
There are no additional elements
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the exception. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology.
The dependent claims of [6] are further rejected under 101 for the reasons described above as they simply further define the abstract idea (which makes the abstract idea no less abstract) without adding significantly more or integrating the abstract idea into a practical application.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements of the dependent claims do not amount to significantly more than the above-identified judicial exception (the abstract idea) and do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application of the exception. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology.
Further, taken alone, the additional elements of the dependent claims do not amount to significantly more than the above-identified judicial exception (the abstract idea). Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Layton (US 20190314704).
In claim 1, Layton discloses a ranking system that is transparent to the players so that players can be notified of the weight of the matches before they play (paragraphs 81-84 show a K factor, which is a multiplier as per paragraph 77, which is to say a weight, the player would know the weight before the match starts. Further, it is noted by examiner that this language is particularly broad as it is intended use, as applicant is claiming the intended result of the method to a player rather than the particular steps taken to achieve the result)
In claim 2, Layton discloses a ranking system that is flexible so that match organizers can assign different weight to each individual game including 0 weight using either simple outcomes or multiples of the point difference (paragraphs 91-93 discloses that above a certain weight differential the odds of winning was effectively 100% and thus a 0 weight would be applied)
In claim 3, Layton discloses a notation system of three parts that expresses the weight in claim #2 consisting of valid maximum ranking range, weight calculation method, and weight calculation multiplier (paragraphs 77-93 discloses the entirety of the ranking system which has maximum rankings, shows how to calculate the K factor, which is to say the weight, and the calculation multiplier from a weight offset)
In claim 4, Layton discloses a ranking system that uses daily total win/lose results to calculate new raw score based on prior ranking, match weight setting and game result (each win and loss in any day (or week/month/etc) causes a change in the rating of the player by adjusting the old rating by the points won or lost from the results of the most recent match)
In claim 5, Layton discloses a rating system that uses moving averages to smooth out the sudden changes to a player’s ranking (paragraphs 77-93, the score is an average, as your total score is the cumulative rating of all matches)
Conclusion
/THOMAS H HENRY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715