DETAILED ACTION
Power of Attorney
It appears applicant has legal representation but a valid power of attorney has not been filed in the present application. Providing representative information in an Application Data Sheet (ADS) does not constitute a power of attorney. See 37 CFR 1.76(b)(4) and MPEP § 408. For information on appointing a power of attorney, see MPEP § 402.02 et seq.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “sterilization component located the cleaning agent compartment” recited in claim 15 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a dosing mechanism” in claim 9; “a biasing element” in claim 10; and “a sterilization component” in claims 11, 15, 17, 19, and 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Preble et al. (US 2491207, "Preble").
1. Preble teaches a personal care device comprising:
a body (10);
a neck (21)) deployable from the body between a closed position and an open position (see Preble figs. 1-3);
a cleaning agent compartment (chamber 13 holds tablets of cleaning agent 3. see Preble fig. 1) in the body; and
a brush compartment in the body configured to receive the neck in the closed position (brush end including neck is received in channel, see Preble figs. 1-3), wherein the brush compartment and cleaning agent compartment are separated by a liquid-tight wall (12, see Preble figs. 2-3).
2. Preble teaches the personal care device of claim 1, further comprising a head (25) coupled to the neck, wherein the brush compartment is further configured to receive the head in the closed position (25 is slotted in space, see Preble figs. 1-3).
3. Preble teaches the personal care device of claim 1, further comprising a hinge (pivot 29') between the neck and the body, wherein the hinge is configured to rotate the neck between the closed position and the open position (see Preble figs. 1-3).
6. Preble teaches the personal care device of claim 1, further comprising at least one cleaning agent tablet (3) in the cleaning agent compartment (dentifrice tablets 3, see Preble figs. 1-3).
9. Preble teaches the personal care device of claim 1, further comprising a dosing mechanism located in the cleaning agent compartment and configured to dispense a dose of a cleaning agent (cleaning agent is stored in single dose tablets 3, which are capable of being removed through slot 33 in barrel 30, see Preble fig. 4 and 3:37-51).
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bae (KR 930003573 Y1).
1. Bae teaches a brush usable as a personal care device comprising:
a body (6);
a neck (1) deployable from the body between a closed position and an open position (Bae figs. 1 and 3);
a cleaning agent compartment (10) in the body (Bae figs. 1-2); and
a brush compartment (7) in the body configured to receive the neck in the closed position (brush 1 occupies 7 when inserted, see Bae fig. 2), wherein the brush compartment and cleaning agent compartment are separated by a liquid-tight wall (solid wall between 10 and 1, see Bae fig. 2).
4. Bae teaches the brush usable as a personal care device of claim 1, further comprising a complementary rail (8) between the neck and the body, wherein the complementary rail is configured to slide the neck relative to the body between the closed position and the open position (1 slides on 8 relative to body 6, see Bae figs. 1-3).
Claims 1, 5, and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Smith et al. (US 2247003, "Smith").
1. Smith teaches a personal care device comprising:
a body (combination of 1 and 2, Smith figs. 2-3);
a neck (7) deployable from the body between a closed position and an open position (Smith figs. 2-6);
a cleaning agent compartment (13) in the body; and
a brush compartment in the body configured to receive the neck in the closed position space occupied by brush head, see Smith fig. 2), wherein the brush compartment and cleaning agent compartment are separated by a liquid-tight wall (wall 15 separates tray 13 from brush head, see Smith fig. 2).
5. Smith teaches the personal care device of claim 1, wherein the cleaning agent compartment includes a carrier (13) slidably connected to the body (13 slides from a first end to a second end, see Smith figs. 2-3 and 3:15-43) and configured to store a cleaning agent (in dentifrice bottle 20, see Smith fig. 2).
7. Smith teaches the personal care device of claim 1, wherein at least one surface of the cleaning agent compartment is elastically deformable relative to the body (bottle 20 forms an upper surface of the compartment and would be capable of being elastically deformed to discharge liquid, see Smith figs. 1-2 and 3:15-43).
8. Smith teaches the personal care device of claim 7, further comprising a fluid cleaning agent in the cleaning agent compartment (bottle 20 may contain a liquid dentifrice, Smith 3:35-37).
Claims 1, 11, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hendrickson (US 1304769).
Regarding claims 1, 11, 17, and 20 Hendrickson teaches a personal care device (Hendrickson fig. 2) comprising:
a body (combination of side plates 1 and back 2, Hendrickson figs. 1 and 5));
a neck (8) connected to the body by a hinge (10), wherein the neck is deployable from the body between a closed position and an open position (Hendrickson figs. 2-4);
a head (6) including a plurality of bristles (7) coupled to the neck (Hendrickson figs. 2-4);
a cleaning agent compartment in the body and a cleaning agent positioned therein (compartment D, occupied by cleaning agent 17, Hendrickson fig. 2); and
a brush compartment (C) in the body configured to receive the neck in the closed position (Hendrickson fig. 2), wherein the brush compartment and cleaning agent compartment are separated by a liquid-tight wall (wall 5 separates C from D, Hendrickson figs. 2-4); and
a sterilization component configured to sterilize at least a portion of the personal care device (14, Hendrickson 1:100-2:9) located the brush compartment and configured to sterilize the bristles (Hendrickson figs. 3-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Preble as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of MacKinnon (US 7074390).
10. Preble teaches the personal care device of claim 1, but does not teach the presence of a biasing element located in the cleaning agent compartment and configured to eject a tablet of a cleaning agent.
However, MacKinnon teaches the concept of supplying single doses of encapsulated dentifrice (30) from a container including a biasing element such as a spring (dispensing doses using a spring-loaded dispenser such as those used to dispense Pez candies, MacKinnon fig. 7 and 2:42-56).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the device of Preble such that it included a dispenser mechanism for cleaning agent including a biasing element located in the cleaning agent compartment and configured to eject a tablet of a cleaning agent from the compartment such as that suggested by MacKinnon, as doing so would simplify the process of obtaining a single dose of cleaning agent during use and reduce packaging (MacKinnon 3:10-12).
Claims 12-14 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hendrickson as applied to claims 11 and 17 above, and further in view of Christensen et al. (US PGPub 2021/0204685, "Christensen").
Regarding claims 12-14 and 18-19, Hendrickson teaches the personal care device of claims 11 and 17, but does not teach that the sterilization component is an ultraviolet light source configured to be activated when the neck is moved to the closed position, wherein the ultraviolet light source remains activated after the neck is moved to the closed position for a sterilization duration, and electrically connected to a battery in the body.
However, Christensen teaches a personal care device (100) comprising:
a body (115);
a toothbrush head (105) connected to the body by a hinge (205), wherein the toothbrush head is deployable from the body between a closed position and an open position (Christensen fig. 6);
a brush compartment (120) in the body configured to receive the neck in the closed position (Christensen figs. 1, 6, and 8), and a sterilization component located in the body (Christensen [0037] and [0039]), wherein the sterilization component is an ultraviolet light source (1205. Christensen fig. 12 and [0091]) electrically connected to a battery in the body (Christensen [0039]) and configured to be activated when the neck is moved to the closed position (Christensen [0099]), wherein the ultraviolet light source remains activated after the neck is moved to the closed position for a sterilization duration, (Christensen [0095]-[0099]).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to have replaced the sterilization component in the device of Hendrickson with an ultraviolet light source electrically connected to a battery in the body and configured to be activated when the neck is moved to the closed position, wherein the ultraviolet light source remains activated after the neck is moved to the closed position for a sterilization duration as taught by Christensen, as doing so would allow sterilization of the brush head while reducing a moisture content in the head cavity (Christensen [0092]).
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hendrickson as applied to claims 11 and 17 above, and further in view of Zheng (US PGPub 2021/0345767).
Regarding claims 15 and 16, Hendrickson teaches the personal care device of claim 1, but does not teach that it further comprises a sterilization component located the cleaning agent compartment, wherein the sterilization component is an ultraviolet light source.
However, Zheng teaches the concept of providing a box for holding and sterilizing a toothbrush having a translucent plate between a space configured to hold a toothbrush and a space configured to receive a toothpaste tube such that an ultraviolet lamp may be used to simultaneously sterilize a toothbrush and the end of the toothpaste tube (Zheng fig. 2 and [0024]).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the personal care device of Henderson according to the teachings of Zheng regarding the possibility of additional sanitization such that it included sterilization components in both the brush compartment and the cleaning agent compartment, wherein the sterilization components included an ultraviolet light source, as doing so would allow a user to avoid the problem of contaminating a sanitized toothbrush due to contact with a non-sanitized cleaning agent (Zheng [0024]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Vreede (US 4171753) teaches a mechanism for dispensing individual tablets,
Panyon (US 5608940) teaches a toothbrush including a sliding tray for dispensing individual tablets,
Huang (US 8074319) teaches a foldable and slidable toothbrush, and
Howard (US 3734118), Hennings (US 2790449), Smith et al. (US 2379600 A), Lieberthal (US 2284217), and Sibley (US 1626310) teach folding toothbrushes including various cleaning agent storage and dispensing means.
/J.R.Z./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723