DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant's arguments, filed on April 3, 2026, with respect to objections to claims 1, 6-7, 13-15, and 19 have been considered and are persuasive. Objections to claims 1, 6-7, 13-15, and 19 have been withdrawn, with the exceptions noted below.
3. Applicant’s arguments regarding rejection of claims 1-19, as amended, under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any combination of the references being used in the current rejection. Examiner has applied Zhao ‘994 (US 2024/0031994, “Zhao ‘994) and Fan ‘069 (US 2024/0032069, “Fan ‘069”) to clearly teach the amended limitations in claims 1-19.
Claim Objections
4. Claims 6, 12, and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6 (line 6), claim 12 (line 2), and claim 19 (line 2) recite “PSFCH” and it should be - - physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) - -, for the term to be defined at its first use.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
6. Claims 4-6 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 4 (lines 3-6) recites the limitation "determining the physical sidelink shared channel based on a radio resource control (RRC) signaling, wherein the RRC signaling indicates the more than one transmission start position for the sidelink signal, that is comprised in the slot where the physical sidelink shared channel is located, is configured.” It is unclear which entity in “determining the physical sidelink shared channel based on a radio resource control (RRC) signaling, wherein the RRC signaling indicates the more than one transmission start position for the sidelink signal, that is comprised in the slot where the physical sidelink shared channel is located” is configured. For purposes of examination, the examiner’s interpretation of “determining the physical sidelink shared channel based on a radio resource control (RRC) signaling, wherein the RRC signaling indicates the more than one transmission start position for the sidelink signal, that is comprised in the slot where the physical sidelink shared channel is located, is configured” is “determining the physical sidelink shared channel based on a radio resource control (RRC) signaling, wherein the RRC signaling indicates the more than one transmission start position for the sidelink signal, that is comprised in the slot where the physical sidelink shared channel is located.” Whether the intent is for the limitation “determining the physical sidelink shared channel based on a radio resource control (RRC) signaling, wherein the RRC signaling indicates the more than one transmission start position for the sidelink signal, that is comprised in the slot where the physical sidelink shared channel is located, is configured” to be “determining the physical sidelink shared channel based on a radio resource control (RRC) signaling, wherein the RRC signaling indicates the more than one transmission start position for the sidelink signal, that is comprised in the slot where the physical sidelink shared channel is located,” or not, correction is required for claim 4 to be definite.
Claim 17 (lines 5-8) recites the limitation "determine the physical sidelink shared channel based on a radio resource control (RRC) signaling, wherein the RRC signaling indicates the more than one transmission start position for the sidelink signal, that is comprised in the slot where the physical sidelink shared channel is located, is configured.” It is unclear which entity in “determine the physical sidelink shared channel based on a radio resource control (RRC) signaling, wherein the RRC signaling indicates the more than one transmission start position for the sidelink signal, that is comprised in the slot where the physical sidelink shared channel is located” is configured. For purposes of examination, the examiner’s interpretation of “determine the physical sidelink shared channel based on a radio resource control (RRC) signaling, wherein the RRC signaling indicates the more than one transmission start position for the sidelink signal, that is comprised in the slot where the physical sidelink shared channel is located, is configured” is “determine the physical sidelink shared channel based on a radio resource control (RRC) signaling, wherein the RRC signaling indicates the more than one transmission start position for the sidelink signal, that is comprised in the slot where the physical sidelink shared channel is located.” Whether the intent is for the limitation “determine the physical sidelink shared channel based on a radio resource control (RRC) signaling, wherein the RRC signaling indicates the more than one transmission start position for the sidelink signal, that is comprised in the slot where the physical sidelink shared channel is located, is configured” to be “determine the physical sidelink shared channel based on a radio resource control (RRC) signaling, wherein the RRC signaling indicates the more than one transmission start position for the sidelink signal, that is comprised in the slot where the physical sidelink shared channel is located,” or not, correction is required for claim 17 to be definite.
Claims 5-6 and 18-19 are rejected as being dependent of rejected claim(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1, 7, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li ‘695 (US 12,432,695, “Li ‘695”), in view of Zhao ‘567 (US 2023/0105567, “Zhao ‘567”), and further in view of Zhao ‘994 (US 2024/0031994, “Zhao ‘994).
Regarding claims 1 and 13, Li ‘695 discloses a terminal (FIG. 1A, col. 4:11-46; wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) 102a), comprising:
a processor; and a memory for storing a computer program executable by the processor (FIG. 1F, col. 10:30-34, col. 13:52-67, col. 14:1-67, col. 15:1-7; WTRU includes a processor and a memory that stores software executable by the processor); wherein the processor is configured to:
determine a physical sidelink shared channel, wherein a slot in which the physical sidelink shared channel is located comprises more than one transmission start position for a sidelink signal (FIGS. 1E and 15B, col. 4:38-39, col. 17:37-38; col. 24:28-29 and 45-46, col. 48:40-45, col. 49:3-25; resource allocation or scheduling for unicast is initiated by a transmitting user equipment (UE), by transmitting a sidelink control information (SCI) request and receiving a scheduling assignment (SA) SCI from a receiving UE; sidelink signals are transmitted on a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) in mini slots within slots, starting at different transmission start positions; thus, there are multiple start positions within a PSSCH slot),
the more than one transmission start position is a position for an automatic gain control symbol, the automatic gain control symbol is a first symbol for transmitting the sidelink signal (FIGS. 1E and 15B, col. 44:60, col. 49:3-25; sidelink signals are transmitted on the PSSCH in mini slots within slots, starting at different transmission start positions; two mini slots in slot SL1 both start with automatic gain control (AGC); mini slots consist of symbols), and
a number of transmission start positions is 2 (FIGS. 1E and 15B, col. 4:38-39, col. 17:37-38; col. 24:28-29 and 45-46, col. 48:40-45, col. 49:3-25; resource allocation or scheduling for unicast is initiated by a transmitting user equipment (UE), by transmitting a sidelink control information (SCI) request and receiving a scheduling assignment (SA) SCI from a receiving UE; sidelink signals are transmitted on a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) in mini slots within slots, starting at different transmission start positions; thus, there are multiple start positions; therefore, a number of the two first start positions is 2); and
transmit the sidelink signal on an frequency band based on the more than one transmission start position (FIG. 15B, col. 20:52-53, col. 49:3-25; sidelink signal is transmitted on the PSSCH on frequency bandwidth part BWP2, at different transmission start positions).
Although Li ‘695 discloses transmit a sidelink signal on an frequency band, Li ‘695 does not specifically disclose transmit a sidelink signal on an unlicensed frequency band.
Zhao ‘567 teaches transmit the sidelink signal on an unlicensed frequency band (para 16; sidelink signal is sent on an unlicensed frequency-domain bandwidth).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li ‘695’s terminal that transmits a sidelink signal, to include Zhao ‘567’s sidelink signal that is sent on an unlicensed frequency. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce interference in sidelink communication (Zhao ‘567, para 3-4).
However, Li ‘695 in combination with Zhao ‘567 does not specifically disclose wherein the slot in which the physical sidelink shared channel is located is configured with no physical sidelink feedback channel resource.
Zhao ‘994 teaches wherein the slot in which the physical sidelink shared channel is located is configured with no physical sidelink feedback channel resource (FIG. 12, para 79; to reduce overhead of the PSFCH channel, only every Nth slot includes a PSFCH transmission, as pre-configured or network-configured; all the slots include PSSCH transmission; thus, all but every Nth slot is configured to include PSSCH transmission with no PSFCH resource).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined terminal of Li ‘695 and Zhao ‘567, to include Zhao ‘994’s every Nth slot that includes a PSFCH transmission. The motivation for doing so would have been to determine how to perform carrier selection in a NR SL system (Zhao ‘994, para 3).
Regarding claim 7, Li ‘695 discloses a method for communication based on a physical sidelink shared channel, performed by a network device, comprising: configuring the physical sidelink shared channel (FIGS. 1E, col. 19:59-67, col. 20:1-5, col. 23:46-52; a network device configures sidelink resources for a PSSCH),
wherein a slot in which the physical sidelink shared channel is located comprises more than one transmission start position for a sidelink signal (FIGS. 1E and 15B, col. 49:3-25; sidelink signals are transmitted on the PSSCH in mini slots within slots, starting at different transmission start positions; thus, there are multiple start positions within a PSSCH slot),
the more than one transmission start position is a position for an automatic gain control symbol, the automatic gain control symbol is a first symbol for transmitting the sidelink signal (FIGS. 1E and 15B, col. 44:60, col. 49:3-25; sidelink signals are transmitted on the PSSCH in mini slots within slots, starting at different transmission start positions; two mini slots in slot SL1 both start with automatic gain control (AGC); mini slots consist of symbols), and
a number of transmission start positions is 2 (FIGS. 1E and 15B, col. 4:38-39, col. 17:37-38; col. 24:28-29 and 45-46, col. 48:40-45, col. 49:3-25; resource allocation or scheduling for unicast is initiated by a transmitting user equipment (UE), by transmitting a sidelink control information (SCI) request and receiving a scheduling assignment (SA) SCI from a receiving UE; sidelink signals are transmitted on a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) in mini slots within slots, starting at different transmission start positions; thus, there are multiple start positions; therefore, a number of the two first start positions is 2); and
transmitting indication information configured to indicate transmission of the sidelink signal on an frequency band based on the more than one transmission start position (FIGS. 1E and 15B; col. 19:59-67, col. 20:1-5, col. 23:46-52, col. 49:3-25; the network device transmits indication of the sidelink resources via a radio resource control (RRC) message on resources of the Uu interface; sidelink signals are transmitted on the PSSCH in mini slots within slots, starting at different transmission start positions; thus, indication of resources is transmitted on a frequency band of the Uu interface, for sidelink signals having multiple transmission start positions).
Although Li ‘695 discloses transmitting indication information configured to indicate transmission of a sidelink signal on an frequency band, Li ‘695 does not specifically disclose transmitting on an unlicensed frequency band.
Zhao ‘567 teaches transmitting on an unlicensed frequency band (para 16; sidelink signal is sent on an unlicensed frequency-domain bandwidth).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li ‘695’s network device that configures a PSSCH, to include Zhao ‘567’s sidelink signal that is sent on an unlicensed frequency. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce interference in sidelink communication (Zhao ‘567, para 3-4).
However, Li ‘695 in combination with Zhao ‘567 does not specifically disclose wherein the slot in which the physical sidelink shared channel is located is configured with no physical sidelink feedback channel resource.
Zhao ‘994 teaches wherein the slot in which the physical sidelink shared channel is located is configured with no physical sidelink feedback channel resource (FIG. 12, para 79; to reduce overhead of the PSFCH channel, only every Nth slot includes a PSFCH transmission, as pre-configured or network-configured; all the slots include PSSCH transmission; thus, all but every Nth slot is configured to include PSSCH transmission with no PSFCH resource).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined network device of Li ‘695 and Zhao ‘567, to include Zhao ‘994’s every Nth slot that includes a PSFCH transmission. The motivation for doing so would have been to determine how to perform carrier selection in a NR SL system (Zhao ‘994, para 3).
Regarding claim 14, Li ‘695 in combination with Zhao ‘567 and Zhao ‘994 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 7, as outlined above.
Further, Li ‘695 teaches a network device, comprising: a processor; and a memory for storing a computer program executable by the processor (FIG. 1D, col. 10:34-36; a network entity includes a processor and a memory that stores software executable by the processor);
wherein the processor is configured to perform the method for communication based on the physical sidelink shared channel according to claim 7.
9. Claims 2, 8, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li ‘695, in view of Zhao ‘567, further in view of Zhao ‘994, and further in view of Bhattad ‘970 (US 2019/0229970, “Bhattad ‘970”).
Regarding claims 2, 8, and 15, Li ‘695 in combination with Zhao ‘567 and Zhao ‘994 discloses all the limitations with respect to claims 1, 7, and 13, respectively, as outlined above.
Further, Li ‘695 teaches wherein the physical sidelink shared channel comprises resources of more than one mini slot scheduling shared channel (FIGS. 1E and 15B, col. 49:3-25; sidelink signals are transmitted on the PSSCH in mini slots within slots, starting at different transmission start positions), and
a number of mini slots in the physical sidelink shared channel is equal to the number of transmission start positions for the sidelink signal (FIGS. 1E and 15B, col. 49:3-25; sidelink signals are transmitted on the PSSCH in mini slots within slots, starting at different transmission start positions; as seen in FIG 15B, the number of the mini slots is equal to the number of the transmission start positions), and
a first symbol in each of the more than one mini slot is the automatic gain control symbol (FIGS. 1E and 15B, col. 44:60, col. 49:3-25; sidelink signals are transmitted on the PSSCH in mini slots within slots, starting at different transmission start positions; two mini slots in slot SL1 both start with automatic gain control (AGC); mini slots consist of symbols),
symbols between the automatic gain control symbol and the gap protect symbol are configured to transmit the sidelink signal (FIGS. 1E and 15B, col. 44:60, col. 49:3-25; data is transmitted between a symbol and a gap symbol).
However, Li ‘695 in combination with Zhao ‘567 and Zhao ‘994 does not specifically disclose a last symbol in each of the more than one mini slot is a gap protect symbol.
Bhattad ‘970 teaches a last symbol in each of the more than one mini slot is a gap protect symbol (FIGS. 15A-B, para 72 and 79-80; ongoing communication in symbols of a slot is punctured with a gap consisting with a number of symbols, where the gap is used for a different type of communication; thus, a mini-slot at the beginning of the overall ongoing communication slot is punctured with a gap of symbols, and another mini-slot of the ongoing communication symbols follows the gap symbols).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined terminal of Li ‘695, Zhao ‘567, and Zhao ‘994, to include Bhattad ‘970’s slot that is punctured with a gap consisting with a number of symbols. The motivation for doing so would have been to advance and enhance the user experience with mobile communications (Bhattad ‘970, para 6).
10. Claims 3, 9, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li ‘695, in view of Zhao ‘567, further in view of Zhao ‘994, further in view of Bhattad ‘970, and further in view of Khoshnevisan ‘578 (US 2023/0344578, “Khoshnevisan ‘578”).
Regarding claims 3, 9, and 16, Li ‘695 in combination with Zhao ‘567, Zhao ‘994, and Bhattad ‘970 discloses all the limitations with respect to claims 2, 8, and 15, respectively, as outlined above.
However, Li ‘695 in combination with Zhao ‘567, Zhao ‘994, and Bhattad ‘970 does not specifically disclose the number of mini slots is determined based on a number of symbols configured to transmit the sidelink signal and symbol length supported by the mini slots.
Khoshnevisan ‘578 teaches the number of mini slots is determined based on a number of symbols configured to transmit the sidelink signal and symbol length supported by the mini slots (para 63; a slot includes a number of symbols, and is divided into multiple minislots, where the minislots include a number of symbols; thus, the number of minislots in the slot is related to the number of symbols in the slot for signal transmission and the number of symbols in the minislots).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined terminal of Li ‘695, Zhao ‘567, Zhao ‘994, and Bhattad ‘970, to include Khoshnevisan ‘578’s slot that is divided into multiple minislots. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve link efficiency (Khoshnevisan ‘578, para 82).
11. Claims 4-6, 10-12, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li ‘695, in view of Zhao ‘567, further in view of Zhao ‘994, and further in view of Fan ‘069 (US 2024/0032069, “Fan ‘069”).
Regarding claims 4 and 17, Li ‘695 in combination with Zhao ‘567 and Zhao ‘994 discloses all the limitations with respect to claims 1 and 13, respectively, as outlined above.
Further, Li ‘695 teaches signaling indicates the more than one transmission start position for the sidelink signal, that is comprised in the slot where the physical sidelink shared channel is located (FIGS. 1E and 15B, col. 4:38-39, col. 17:37-38; col. 24:28-29 and 45-46, col. 48:40-45, col. 49:3-25; resource allocation or scheduling for unicast is initiated by a transmitting user equipment (UE), by transmitting a sidelink control information (SCI) request and receiving a scheduling assignment (SA) SCI from a receiving UE; sidelink signals are transmitted on a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) in mini slots within slots, starting at different transmission start positions).
Although Li ‘695 in combination with Zhao ‘567 and Zhao ‘994 discloses signaling indicates the more than one transmission start position for the sidelink signal, that is comprised in the slot where the physical sidelink shared channel is located, is configured, Li ‘695 in combination with Zhao ‘567 and Zhao ‘994 does not specifically disclose wherein the processor is further configured to: determine the physical sidelink shared channel based on a radio resource control (RRC) signaling, wherein the RRC signaling indicates.
Fan ‘069 teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: determine the physical sidelink shared channel based on a radio resource control (RRC) signaling, wherein the RRC signaling indicates (FIG. 3, para 97; base station configures the PSSCH for the terminal device, using RRC signaling).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined terminal of Li ‘695, Zhao ‘567, and Zhao ‘994, to include Fan ‘069’s RRC signaling. The motivation for doing so would have been to resolve how to implement flexible D2D resource configuration (Fan ‘069, para 7).
Regarding claim 10, Li ‘695 in combination with Zhao ‘567 and Zhao ‘994 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 7, as outlined above.
Further, Li ‘695 teaches signaling indicates the more than one transmission start position for the sidelink signal, that is comprised in the slot where the physical sidelink shared channel is located (FIGS. 1E and 15B, col. 4:38-39, col. 17:37-38; col. 24:28-29 and 45-46, col. 48:40-45, col. 49:3-25; resource allocation or scheduling for unicast is initiated by a transmitting user equipment (UE), by transmitting a sidelink control information (SCI) request and receiving a scheduling assignment (SA) SCI from a receiving UE; sidelink signals are transmitted on a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) in mini slots within slots, starting at different transmission start positions).
Although Li ‘695 in combination with Zhao ‘567 and Zhao ‘994 discloses signaling indicates the more than one transmission start position for the sidelink signal, that is comprised in the slot where the physical sidelink shared channel is located, is configured, Li ‘695 in combination with Zhao ‘567 and Zhao ‘994 does not specifically disclose wherein transmitting the indication information comprises: transmitting a radio resource control (RRC) signaling, wherein the RRC signaling indicates.
Fan ‘069 teaches wherein transmitting the indication information comprises: transmitting a radio resource control (RRC) signaling, wherein the RRC signaling indicates (FIG. 3, para 97; base station configures the PSSCH for the terminal device, using RRC signaling).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined network device of Li ‘695, Zhao ‘567, and Zhao ‘994, to include Fan ‘069’s RRC signaling. The motivation for doing so would have been to resolve how to implement flexible D2D resource configuration (Fan ‘069, para 7).
Regarding claims 5, 11, and 18, Li ‘695 in combination with Zhao ‘567, Zhao ‘994, and Fan ‘069 discloses all the limitations with respect to claims 4, 10, and 17, respectively, as outlined above.
Further, Fan ‘069 teaches wherein the RRC signaling comprises a first information field indicating a sidelink start symbol and a second information field indicating a sidelink symbol length (FIG. 3, para 97; base station configures the PSSCH for the terminal device, using RRC signaling; the RRC signaling includes a start symbol quantity startSLsymbols for the PSSCH, where startSLsymbols indicates the start symbol of the PSSCH in a sidelink slot; further, the RRC signaling includes a symbol length lengthSLsymbols for the PSSCH, where lengthSLsymbols indicates the length of the PSSCH in symbols in the sidelink slot).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined terminal of Li ‘695, Zhao ‘567, Zhao ‘994, and Fan ‘069, to further include Fan ‘069’s RRC signaling. The motivation for doing so would have been to resolve how to implement flexible D2D resource configuration (Fan ‘069, para 7).
Regarding claims 6, 12, and 19, Li ‘695 in combination with Zhao ‘567, Zhao ‘994, and Fan ‘069 discloses all the limitations with respect to claims 4, 10, and 17, respectively, as outlined above.
Further, Zhao ‘994 teaches indicating that no PSFCH resource is configured in the slot in which the physical sidelink shared channel is located (FIG. 12, para 79; to reduce overhead of the PSFCH channel, only every Nth slot includes a PSFCH transmission, as configured by the network; all the slots include PSSCH transmission; thus, all but every Nth slot is configured to include PSSCH transmission with no PSFCH resource).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined terminal of Li ‘695, Zhao ‘567, Zhao ‘994, and Fan ‘069, to further include Zhao ‘994’s every Nth slot that includes a PSFCH transmission. The motivation for doing so would have been to determine how to perform carrier selection in a NR SL system (Zhao ‘994, para 3).
Furthermore, Fan ‘069 teaches wherein the RRC signaling comprises a third information field indicating that no PSFCH resource is configured in the slot (FIG. 7, para 132; PSFCH is configured to be present in periodic slots, without being present in the slots between consecutive periodic slots; RRC signaling includes a configuration parameter periodPSFCHresource, where the parameter indicates the PSFCH channel periodicity; thus, RRC signaling includes indication of slots with no configured PSFCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined terminal of Li ‘695, Zhao ‘567, Zhao ‘994, and Fan ‘069, to further include Fan ‘069’s RRC signaling. The motivation for doing so would have been to resolve how to implement flexible D2D resource configuration (Fan ‘069, para 7).
Conclusion
Internet Communication
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only. (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.0.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NEVENA ZECEVIC SANDHU/Examiner, Art Unit 2474
/BENJAMIN H ELLIOTT IV/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474