DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 01/05/2024, 06/07/2024, and 09/17/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 16, 20, and 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sebire et al. (US 2011/0242972 A1), hereinafter referred to as Sebire, in view of Chen et al. (US 2020/0146082 A1), hereinafter referred to as Chen.
Regarding claim 1, Sebire teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (Sebire – Paragraph [0024], note apparatus, perform buffering data in a user equipment), comprising:
at least one memory (Sebire – Fig. 2; Paragraph [0036], note UE 10 includes a non-transitory computer-readable memory medium embodied as a memory (MEM) 10B that stores a program of computer instructions (PROG) 10C); and
at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor, individually or in combination (Sebire – Fig. 2; Paragraph [0024], note apparatus that comprises a processor and a memory including computer program code, the memory and computer program code are configured to, with the processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform buffering data in a user equipment; Paragraph [0036], note UE 10 includes a controller, such as at least one computer or a data processor (DP) 10A; Paragraph [0038], note PROG 10C is assumed to include program instructions executable by the associated DP), is configured to cause the UE to:
obtain multiple buffer status reporting (BSR) tables, wherein each BSR table of the multiple BSR tables corresponds to one logic channel group (LCG) of multiple LCGs (Sebire – Paragraph [0020], note in a conventional sense the LCG is understood to be a group of UL logical channels for which a single joint buffer fill level is reported by the UE in a BSR; Paragraph [0043], note all LCGs use the same BSR table; Paragraph [0049], note the UE 10 may store two BSR tables); and
communicate with a network entity based on one BSR table selected from the multiple BSR tables (Sebire – Paragraph [0043], note the UE 10 can then indicate to the eNB 12 which table is used via, for example, two R (reserved) bits in the MAC header for BSR; Paragraph [0044], note the BSR (transmission to eNB) is triggered when the buffer of a LCG exceeds the threshold such that another BSR table is to be used (i.e., the buffer exceeds the value of Bmax of the BSR table currently in use)).
Sebire does not teach obtaining multiple sets of one or more timers; and communicating with the network entity based on one set of timers selected from the multiple sets of timers.
In an analogous art, Chen teaches obtaining multiple sets of one or more timers (Chen – Paragraph [0184], note RRC controls BSR reporting for the sidelink by configuring the two timers periodic-BSR-TimerSL and retx-BSR-TimerSL); and
communicating with the network entity based on one set of timers selected from the multiple sets of timers (Chen – Paragraph [0188], note a BSR (to the serving eNB) is triggered when retx-BSR-TimerSL expires and the MAC entity has data available for transmission for any of the sidelink logical channels; Paragraph [0189], note a BSR is triggered when periodic-BSR-TimerSL expires).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Chen into Sebire in order to trigger the UE buffer status reports of Sebire based on timers, improving flexibility of triggering buffer status reports (Chen – Paragraph [0184]).
Regarding claim 5, Sebire does not teach wherein the multiple sets of one or more timers include one or more of: a periodic BSR timer, a re-transmit BSR timer, or a scheduling request (SR) delay timer.
In an analogous art, Chen teaches wherein the multiple sets of one or more timers include one or more of:
a periodic BSR timer, a re-transmit BSR timer, or a scheduling request (SR) delay timer (Chen – Paragraph [0184], note RRC controls BSR reporting for the sidelink by configuring the two timers periodic-BSR-TimerSL and retx-BSR-TimerSL; Paragraph [0188], note a BSR is triggered when retx-BSR-TimerSL expires and the MAC entity has data available for transmission for any of the sidelink logical channels; Paragraph [0189], note a BSR is triggered when periodic-BSR-TimerSL expires).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Chen into Sebire for the same reason as claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 16, Sebire teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity, comprising:
at least one memory (Sebire – Fig. 2; Paragraph [0036], note a computer-readable memory medium embodied as a memory (MEM) 12B that stores a program of computer instructions (PROG) 12C); and
at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor, individually or in combination (Sebire – Fig. 2; Paragraph [0036], note the eNB 12 also includes a controller, such as at least one computer or a data processor (DP) 12A; Paragraph [0038], note PROG 12C is assumed to include program instructions executable by the associated DP), is configured to cause the network entity to:
provide, to a user equipment (UE), an indication for the UE to select one buffer status report (BSR) table from multiple BSR tables (Sebire – Paragraph [0043], note the UE 10 can then indicate to the eNB 12 which table is used via, for example, two R (reserved) bits in the MAC header for BSR; Paragraph [0049], note the UE 10 may store two BSR tables), wherein each BSR table of the multiple BSR tables corresponds to one logic channel group (LCG) of multiple LCGs (Sebire – Paragraph [0020], note in a conventional sense the LCG is understood to be a group of UL logical channels for which a single joint buffer fill level is reported by the UE in a BSR; Paragraph [0043], note all LCGs use the same BSR table); and
communicate with the UE based on the one BSR table indicated for the UE (Sebire – Paragraph [0044], note the BSR (transmission to eNB) is triggered when the buffer of a LCG exceeds the threshold such that another BSR table is to be used (i.e., the buffer exceeds the value of Bmax of the BSR table currently in use)).
Sebire does not teach an indication for the UE to select one set of one or more timers from multiple sets of one or more timers; and communicate with the UE based on the one set of one or more timers indicated for the UE.
In an analogous art, Chen teaches an indication for the UE to select one set of one or more timers from multiple sets of one or more timers (Chen – Paragraph [0184], note RRC controls BSR reporting for the sidelink by configuring the two timers periodic-BSR-TimerSL and retx-BSR-TimerSL); and
communicate with the UE based on the one set of one or more timers indicated for the UE (Chen – Paragraph [0188], note a BSR (to the serving eNB) is triggered when retx-BSR-TimerSL expires and the MAC entity has data available for transmission for any of the sidelink logical channels; Paragraph [0189], note a BSR is triggered when periodic-BSR-TimerSL expires).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Chen into Sebire in order to trigger the UE buffer status reports of Sebire based on timers, improving flexibility of triggering buffer status reports (Chen – Paragraph [0184]).
Regarding claim 20, Sebire does not teach wherein the multiple sets of one or more timers include one or more of: a periodic BSR timer, a re-transmit BSR timer, or a scheduling request (SR) delay timer.
In an analogous art, Chen teaches wherein the multiple sets of one or more timers include one or more of:
a periodic BSR timer, a re-transmit BSR timer, or a scheduling request (SR) delay timer (Chen – Paragraph [0184], note RRC controls BSR reporting for the sidelink by configuring the two timers periodic-BSR-TimerSL and retx-BSR-TimerSL; Paragraph [0188], note a BSR is triggered when retx-BSR-TimerSL expires and the MAC entity has data available for transmission for any of the sidelink logical channels; Paragraph [0189], note a BSR is triggered when periodic-BSR-TimerSL expires).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Chen into Sebire for the same reason as claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 31, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as claim 1 above, except the claim is written in a method claim format.
Regarding claim 32, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as claim 16 above, except the claim is written in a method claim format.
Claims 2-3, 11, 17-18, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sebire in view of Chen as applied to claims 1 and 16 above, and further in view of WIPO publication no. WO 2022/025815 A1, hereainfter referred to as Wang.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Sebire and Chen, specifically Sebire teaches further comprising a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor, individually or in combination, is configured to cause the UE to communicate with the network entity via the transceiver (Sebire – Fig. 2; Paragraph [0036], note a suitable radio frequency (RF) transceiver 10D for bidirectional wireless communications with the eNB 12 via one or more antennas).
The combination of Sebire and Chen does not teach wherein a selection of the one BSR table is based on an indication received through medium access control - control element (MAC-CE) or radio resource control (RRC) information.
In an analogous art, Wang teaches wherein a selection of the one BSR table is based on an indication received through medium access control - control element (MAC-CE) or radio resource control (RRC) information (Wang – Page 27 lines 4-15, note send BSR tables to a UE using dedicated RRC signaling, a BSR table may be configured by the base station via signaling means such as dedicated RRC signaling, MAC CE, or DCI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Wang in the combination of Sebire and Chen in order to use RRC or higher-layer signaling to configure BSR tables for the UE to use, improving flexibility for individual UEs (Wang – Page 27 lines 4-15).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Sebire and Chen does not teach wherein the selection of the one BSR table is based on one or more of: cell group (CG) information; a number of carrier component (CC) enabled or disabled on a CG; an LCG traffic type; a flow traffic type; a presence of packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) duplication; or a split configuration enabled or disabled.
In an analogous art, Wang teaches wherein the selection of the one BSR table is based on one or more of:
cell group (CG) information; a number of carrier component (CC) enabled or disabled on a CG; an LCG traffic type; a flow traffic type; a presence of packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) duplication; or a split configuration enabled or disabled (Wang – Page 22 lines 22-29, note the BSR table that is to be used can be configured to depend on one or more factors such as, e.g., LCH/LCG, bit-rate, traffic type, load, channel conditions, etc., or any combination thereof).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Wang in the combination of Sebire and Chen for the same reason as claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Sebire and Chen does not teach wherein the at least one processor, individually or in combination, is further configured to cause the UE to: receive a configuration for the multiple BSR tables and the multiple sets of one or more timers based on characteristics of a link between the UE and the network entity.
In an analogous art, Wang teaches wherein the at least one processor, individually or in combination, is further configured to cause the UE to:
receive a configuration for the multiple BSR tables and the multiple sets of one or more timers based on characteristics of a link between the UE and the network entity (Wang – Page 24 lines 3-24, note UE is configured with one or more BSR tables, which are defined based on multiple factors, different conditions are considered for configuring the relation between BSR tables and services/LCHs/numerologies/bit rate values/buffer levels/PHY layer priorities; Page 25 lines 22-30, note the UE may choose different BSR tables depending on channel condition and/or system load).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Wang in the combination of Sebire and Chen for the same reason as claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 26, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as claim 11 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-10, 12-15, 19-25, and 27-30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Applicant’s dependent claims recite wherein the selection of the one BSR table is based on the CG information that includes one or more of use of a primary cell group (MCG), use of a secondary cell group (SCG), or use of a dual-connectivity (DC) mechanism; wherein the at least one processor, individually or in combination, is further configured to cause the UE to: receive a configuration for the multiple BSR tables and the multiple sets of one or more timers based on characteristics of multiple protocol data unit (PDU) sessions; and wherein the characteristics of the link on which the multiple BSR tables and the multiple sets of one or more timers are based include: a connection type of the link, wherein the connection type is a terrestrial network (TN) connection or a non-terrestrial network (NTN) connection (as disclosed in Paragraphs [0085], [0087]-[0090], and [0093]-[0096] of applicant’s specification, filed 01/05/2024), which are neither taught nor suggested by the prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cho et al. (US 2020/0037200 A1) discloses BSR timer per IAB node and defining multiple values for the timer based on logical channel group.
Cheng et al. (US 2024/0114385 A1) discloses BSR table and BSR reported in LCG.
/BAILOR C HSU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461