DETAILED ACTION
DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II (claims 17, 21, 23, 24, 26-30, 34, 41, 43-45, 47, 48, and 50) in the reply filed on 07/27/2026 is acknowledged.
Double Patenting
Claims 17, 21, 23, 24, 26-30, 34, 41, 43-45, 47, 48, and 50 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15, 17 and 18 of copending Application No. 18/834,414 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the pending application and Application No. 18/834,414 teach “A method for producing a processed siliceous material, comprising:
reacting (i) a feedstock siliceous material with (ii) a fluoride-containing compound under conditions suitable to dissolve a portion of the feedstock siliceous material and leave the remaining portion of the feedstock siliceous material undissolved; and
heterogeneously precipitating the dissolved portion of the feedstock siliceous material onto the undissolved portion of the feedstock siliceous material, to produce a processed siliceous material.”
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17, 21, 23, 24, 26-30, 34, 41, 43-45, 47, 48, and 50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnett et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 6,217,840).
Regarding claim 17, 23, 24, 26-30, 34, 41, 43-45, 47, 48, and 50 Barnett et al. teaches a process for producing fumed silica from solid material comprising a first part of input or feed material is a source of silica, such as sand, quartz, flint, diatomite and mineral silicate (column 4, lines 10-25). Barnett et al. teaches a second part of the feed material includes ammonium bifluoride (column 4, lines 25-30). Barnett et al. teaches the first and second source are fed to an acid digester which meets a broad and reasonable interpretation of combining ammonium fluoride and/or ammonium bifluoride with a material comprising silicate in an aqueous combination (column 4, lines 30-40). Barnett et al. teaches temperature in the digester can range from ambient up to 300 ̊C which overlaps with an aqueous combination at a maximum temperature of greater than or equal to 10 ̊C and less than or equal to 125 ˚C (column 5, lines 1-10). As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Although Barnett et al. does not specify silicate and/or a salt and wherein the method produces and/or accumulates less than or equal to 30 ppm hydrogen fluoride in the process it is clear that method taught by Barnett et al. would necessarily produce producing silicate and/or a salt and wherein the method produces and/or accumulates less than or equal to 30 ppm hydrogen fluoride because the process taught by Barnett et al. teaches the same components and reaction conditions claimed by Applicant (column 4, lines 10-40; column 5, lines 1-10).” Where the claimed and prior art products are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01 (I).
Regarding claim 21, Barnett et al. teaches operate the digestor under negative pressures for purposes of facilitating removal of the gaseous component which overlaps with wherein the ammonium fluoride and/or bifluoride is combined with the material comprising silicate at a maximum pressure of greater than or equal to 0.1 atm and less than or equal to 100 atm (column 5, lines 10-20).
Conclusion
/GUINEVER S GREGORIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732 09/11/2026