DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 4-6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4, 5, 6, and 8 recite the limitation “the wireless connection.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “a wireless terminal configured to perform wireless communication with the network node.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because “a wireless terminal” is recited in the parent claim and said wireless terminal communicates with the network node.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Abedini (US 20220053433 A1, wherein all cited portions are supported by provisional applications 63067790 and 63138046).
Regarding claim 1, Abedini discloses:
“A communication control method comprising: establishing, by a repeater control wireless terminal, a wireless connection to a network node,” ([¶ 0072]: “Smart repeater devices can acquire side control information via a control-interface to a network access node (e.g., scheduling entity, an eNode B (eNB), a gNode B (gNB), a base station). However, this requires the smart repeater device to establish a communication link (e.g., a radio resource control (RRC) connection) with the network access node. The establishment of the RRC connection may be similar to the way a user equipment (UE) establishes an RRC connection with a network access node.”)
“the repeater control wireless terminal being configured to control a network controlled repeater configured to relay wireless communication between the network node and a wireless terminal; and” (
[¶ 0027]: “Subsequently, the network access node may transmit UE-data 1614 that is received by the repeater device a time later (as represented by UE-data 1616). The repeater device may forward the UE-data to the UE and the UE-data may be received at UE a short time later (as represented by UE-data 1618).”)
“transmitting, by the repeater control wireless terminal to the network node, repeater control wireless terminal information indicating that the repeater control wireless terminal itself is the repeater control wireless terminal, when the repeater control wireless terminal establishes the wireless connection to the network node.” ([¶ 0436]: “Referring again to the sub-options of Option A.1, a second sub-option (Alt a.1.2) may involve adding a new indication (e.g., “smart-repeater device-node indication”) in an RRCSetupComplete message (Msg5). As indicated at 3916 of FIG. 39, the Msg5 may include a repeater device indication (Rptrind).”)
Regarding claim 3, Abedini discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Abedini further discloses “the repeater control wireless terminal information is included in a Msg 5 for a random access procedure.” ([¶ 0436]: “Referring again to the sub-options of Option A.1, a second sub-option (Alt a.1.2) may involve adding a new indication (e.g., “smart-repeater device-node indication”) in an RRCSetupComplete message (Msg5). As indicated at 3916 of FIG. 39, the Msg5 may include a repeater device indication (Rptrind).”)
Regarding claim 4, Abedini discloses:
“A wireless terminal for performing wireless communication with a network node in a mobile communication system, the wireless terminal comprising: a circuitry configured to control a network controlled repeater configured to relay wireless communication between a network node and another wireless terminal; and a transmitter configured to transmit, to the network node through wireless communication, repeater control wireless terminal information indicating that the wireless terminal itself is the repeater control wireless terminal, when establishing the wireless connection with the network node.” (¶¶ 27, 72, and 436)
Regarding claim 5, Abedini discloses:
“A network node for performing wireless communication with a wireless terminal in a mobile communication system, the network node comprising: a receiver configured to receive, from a wireless terminal configured to control a network controlled repeater configured to relay wireless communication between the network node and another wireless terminal, repeater control wireless terminal information indicating that the wireless terminal itself is the repeater control wireless terminal, when establishing the wireless connection with the wireless terminal.” (¶¶ 27, 72, and 436)
Regarding claim 6, Abedini discloses:
“A chipset for a wireless terminal for performing wireless communication with a network node in a mobile communication system, the chipset configured to execute processing of: controlling a network controlled repeater configured to relay wireless communication between a network node and another wireless terminal; and transmitting, to the network node through wireless communication, repeater control wireless terminal information indicating that the wireless terminal itself is the repeater control wireless terminal, when establishing the wireless connection with the network node.” (¶¶ 27, 72, 436, and 1080)
Regarding claim 7, Abedini discloses:
“A mobile communication system comprising: a network; and a repeater control wireless terminal configured to control a network controlled repeater configured to relay wireless communication between the network node and a wireless terminal, wherein the repeater control wireless terminal is configured to: establish, a wireless connection to a network node, the repeater control wireless terminal being configured to control a network controlled repeater configured to relay wireless communication between the network node and a wireless terminal; and transmit, to the network node, repeater control wireless terminal information indicating that the repeater control wireless terminal itself is the repeater control wireless terminal, when the repeater control wireless terminal establishes the wireless connection to the network node.” (¶¶ 27, 72, and 436)
Regarding claim 8, Abedini discloses:
“A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising, stored thereupon, computer program instructions for execution by a wireless terminal for performing wireless communication with a network node in a mobile communication system, the program instructions being configured to cause the wireless device to execute processing of: controlling a network controlled repeater configured to relay wireless communication between a network node and another wireless terminal; and transmitting, to the network node through wireless communication, repeater control wireless terminal information indicating that the wireless terminal itself is the repeater control wireless terminal, when establishing the wireless connection with the network node.” (¶¶ 27, 72, 436, and 1080)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini (US 20220053433 A1) in view of Fujishiro (US 20230089150 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Abedini discloses all the features of the parent claim.
Abedini does not explicitly disclose “broadcasting, by the network node, access restriction information to restrict an access from a wireless terminal configured to perform wireless communication with the network node; and ignoring, by the repeater control wireless terminal, the access restriction information.”
However, Fujishiro discloses the missing feature “broadcasting, by the network node, access restriction information to restrict an access from a wireless terminal configured to perform wireless communication with the network node; and ignoring, by the repeater control wireless terminal, the access restriction information.” ([¶ 0071]: “As illustrated in FIG. 9, in step S11, the node 500 (cell #1) broadcasts a first information element (cellBarred) indicating whether the selection of the cell #1 is barred, and a second information element (intraFreqReselection) regarding whether selection of another cell belonging to the same frequency as that of the cell #1 is allowed when the selection of the cell #1 is barred.” ; [¶ 0084]: “When the IAB-MT of the IAB node 300 ignores the second information element (intraFreqReselection), the restriction of the second information element (intraFreqReselection) is not applied to the IAB-MT.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, having the teachings of Abedini and Fujishiro, to modify the technique as disclosed by Abedini, to ignore broadcasted restriction information as disclosed by Fujishiro. The motivation for doing so is that it allows avoidance of unnecessarily applied restrictions, thus improving service quality . Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Abedini with Fujishiro to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Conclusion
/SAAD KHAWAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412