DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are indicated in the table below, along with corresponding structure and/or lack thereof:
Claim limitation
Claim Numbers
Structure (PGPUB citation)
an electromagnetic power transmitting device…operable to automatically move towards and find a target area underneath the electric vehicle associated with a charge receiving coil integrated with the electromagnetic power receiving device and connected to the electric vehicle for the charging of the electric vehicle when the electromagnetic power transmitting device engages with the electromagnetic power receiving device.
1
Charging pad/coil [0011]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2 and 8 recite “wherein the charge transmitting device”, however, there is a lack of antecedent basis for this term.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chase US PGPUB 2021/0316626.
Regarding claims 1 and 8, Chase discloses an apparatus for charging an electric vehicle [fig. 1], comprising:
an electromagnetic power transmitting device moveable in an X-Y-Z direction from a ground position underneath an electric vehicle [fig. 1 & 3; 36 is movable in x, y and z directions; par. 25] to interface with an electromagnetic power receiving device coupled to an undersurface of the electric vehicle [fig. 3; pars. 20-21],
wherein the electromagnetic power transmitting device is operable to automatically move towards and find a target area underneath the electric vehicle associated with a charge receiving coil integrated with the electromagnetic power receiving device and connected to the electric vehicle for the charging of the electric vehicle when the electromagnetic power transmitting device engages with the electromagnetic power receiving device [figs. 2-3 & 6; pars. 20-21, 24, 27 & 35; the transmitting device finds the optimal alignment (target area) to line up with the receiving device and then charges].
Regarding claim 8, the method steps disclosed therein would have been are deemed as being inherent in the assembly and operation of the prior art reference(s) applied above, since the prior art of record herein is construed as teaching or suggesting all of the elements recited in the method claim, as pointed out in the above rejection of claim 1. The claim is accordingly rejected.
Regarding claims 2 and 9, Chase discloses wherein the charge transmitting device automatically disengages from the electromagnetic power receiving device and retracts to a docking station after Chase of the electric vehicle is complete [par. 28].
Regarding claims 3 and 10, Chase discloses wherein the target area comprises an electromagnetic field [fig. 2; par. 22-24; the target area is a location of the charging field relative to the receiver].
Regarding claims 4 and 11, Chase discloses wherein the target area comprises an electromagnetic target [fig. 2; par. 22-24; aligning the charger with an electromagnetic target to improve the power transmission].
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Chase discloses wherein the target area comprises at least one of: an electromagnetic target [fig. 2; par. 22-24; aligning the charger with an electromagnetic target to improve the power transmission], an radio frequency (RF) target, or an optically recognizable target.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chase US PGPUB 2021/0316626.
Regarding claims 5 and 12, Chase does not explicitly disclose wherein the target area comprises a radio frequency (RF) target.
However, Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known in the electric vehicle charging arts to use a radio frequency beacon as a target for alignment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chase to further include wherein the target area comprises a radio frequency (RF) target for the purpose of improving alignment between the transmitter and receiver, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) which was ready for improvement in order to yield results predictable by one of ordinary skill the art. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claims 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chase US PGPUB 2021/0316626 in view of Moghe et al. US PGPUB 2019/0381891.
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Chase does not explicitly disclose wherein the target area comprises an optically recognizable target.
However, Moghe discloses a below-vehicle wireless vehicle charging system which aligns the transmitter and receiver, wherein the target area comprises an optically recognizable target [fig. 9; par. 125; sensors 902 find “fiducials” 904 on the receiver].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chase to further include wherein the target area comprises an optically recognizable target for the purpose of helping to make corrections to the alignment, as taught by Moghe (par. 125).
Conclusion
/DAVID V HENZE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859