DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, line 5, “geometric properties of mapped” is unclear. It appears that “of” should be deleted, and will be treated as such for purposes of this action.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 11903793. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are broader than the claims of the above identified patent. Thus, the claims of the patent “anticipate” the claims of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,2,4,5,7,10,11,12,13,15,17,20,21,22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chisti et al 6227850.
With regard to claims 1,10,11,13,20,21,22, Chisti et al discloses a method of segmenting a three-dimensional (3D) model of a patient’s dentition, the method comprising: receiving, in a computing device, the 3D model of the patient’s dentition (see col. 1, lines 54-55) via a scanning operation (col. 3, line 56); converting the 3D model of the patient’s dentition into a voxel representation comprising voxels having features geometric properties (all voxels of image data have inherent geometric properties, in this case of the 3D model they represent) mapped from the 3D model of the patient’s dentition (see col. 7, lines 18-37, wherein the voxels correspond to locations of the 3D model having a vertex (col. 12, lines 6-24); and transforming the voxel representation to segment the 3D model of the patient’s dentition to form a segmented 3D model of the patient’s dentition (col. 10, line 61 through col. 11, line 13).
With regard to claim 2, note that the transforming comprises convolving. See col. 6, lines 11-15 where the matched points are combined together to provide a single data step.
With regard to claims 4 and 13, note that geometric properties are computed for each voxel based on a mesh representation of the 3D model of the patient’s dentition. See col. 7, lines 9-24.
With regard to claims 5 and 15, note that geometric properties are computed for each voxel are based on one or more of: a sum of normals of mesh faces which map to the voxel, a count of faces mapped to the voxel, a sum of an area from the mesh representation, and an average of angles from the mesh representation. See col. 7, lines 58-65 which disclose an average of angles from the mesh representation.
With regard to claims 7 and 17, note that convolving the voxel representation to segment the 3D model comprises generating a predicted segmentation from the voxel representation and applying the predicted segmentation onto the 3D model of the patient’s dentition to form the segmented 3D model of the patient’s dentition. See col. 10, line 61 through col. 11, line 13).
With regard to claims 12 and 22, note that Chisti et al contemplates outputting one or more of: interproximal contact distances, teeth numbers and sizes based on the segmented 3D model of the patient’s dentition. Interproximal contact distances and tooth sizes are inherent in the final segmented 3D model.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chisti et al 6227850 in view of Domracheva et al 20190148905.
Chisti et al do not disclose wherein transforming the voxel representation further comprises applying a trained machine learning model to recognize segmentation elements corresponding to segmentation of the patient’s dentition.
Domracheva et al discloses a method of dental segmentation where a trained machine learning model is applied to recognize segmentation elements corresponding to segmentation of a patient’s dentition. See paragraph 62.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to utilize the trained machine learning model step of Domracheva et al in the method of segmentation of Chisti et al, in view of the teaching of Domracheva et al that such a step may be used in a dental segmentation method.
Claims 8,9,18,19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chisti et al 6227850 in view of Xue et al 20180360567.
With regard to these claims, Chisti et al do not disclose assigning a tooth number, or postprocessing of the segmented 3D model to correct a tooth numbering.
Xue et al disclose a method of utilizing a machine learning method in order to assign a tooth number to teeth being evaluated. See paragraph 89.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to utilize the machine learning method of Xue et al to assign/correct a tooth numbering in the method of segmentation of Chisti et al, in view of the teaching of Xue et al that machine learning may be used to evaluate teeth and assign tooth numbers to them.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/30/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments are based on the assertion that Chisti et al do not disclose the voxels having geometric properties of the 3D model.
This is not found persuasive. Voxels that represent 3D image data have inherent geometric properties. In this case, since they represent the 3D model of the patient’s dentition, they inherently have geometric properties of the 3D model.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS D LUCCHESI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772