DETAILED ACTION
This application includes independent claims 1 and 20 and dependent claims 2-19.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 17, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Haller (EP 1990599).
Regarding independent claim 1, Haller discloses a method for recovering bullets from a backstop, the method comprising: collecting fired bullets (G) and backstop material (18’) from the backstop (10); and separating the collected bullets and backstop material based on buoyancy of the collected bullets and backstop material in a liquid (see at least Fig. 4 and discussion of Fig. 4), the liquid having a density that is greater than the density of the backstop material and less than the density of the collected bullets (see at least Fig. 4 and discussion of Fig. 4).
Regarding independent claim 20, Haller discloses a system for collecting bullets from a backstop, the system comprising: an intake (40) configured to receive bullets (G) and backstop material (18’) collected from the backstop (10); and a separation tank (57) comprising a liquid having a density that is greater than the density of the backstop material but less than the density of the collected bullets (see Fig. 4 and discussion of Fig.; 4).
Regarding dependent claims 17 and 18, Haller discloses separating the collected bullets based on material composition of the bullets (see Fig. 5 and discussion of Fig. 5) and separating steel bullets from non-steel bullets using magnets (see Fig. 5 and discussion of Fig. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haller (EP 1990599) in view of Vogel (US 2,209,618). Haller discloses a method for recovering bullets from a backstop, the method comprising: collecting fired bullets (G) and backstop material (18’) from the backstop (10); and separating the collected bullets and backstop material based on buoyancy of the collected bullets and backstop material in a liquid (see at least Fig. 4 and discussion of Fig. 4), the liquid having a density that is greater than the density of the backstop material and less than the density of the collected bullets (see at least Fig. 4 and discussion of Fig. 4). Haller discloses all the limitations of the claim, but it does not disclose that the liquid comprises a calcium chloride solution. However, Vogel discloses a similar method which utilizes a calcium chloride solution (see col. 1, lines 5-20) as a medium to separate solids for the purpose of providing a heavy liquid on which light material may float. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to utilize a liquid comprising a calcium chloride solution, as disclosed by Vogel, or the purpose of providing a heavy liquid on which light material may float.
Claim(s) 4 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haller (EP 1990599) in view of Hwang (US 5,047,145). Haller discloses a method for recovering bullets from a backstop, the method comprising: collecting fired bullets (G) and backstop material (18’) from the backstop (10); and separating the collected bullets and backstop material based on buoyancy of the collected bullets and backstop material in a liquid (see at least Fig. 4 and discussion of Fig. 4), the liquid having a density that is greater than the density of the backstop material and less than the density of the collected bullets (see at least Fig. 4 and discussion of Fig. 4). Haller discloses all the limitations of the claim, but it does not disclose that the liquid comprises at least one silicate or phosphates. However, Hwang discloses a similar method which utilizes a liquid having at least one silicate or phosphates (see col. 2, lines 35-45) for the purpose of dispersing the material in the liquid. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to utilize a liquid comprising at least one silicate or phosphates, as disclosed by Hwang, or the purpose of dispersing the material in the liquid.
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haller (EP 1990599) in view of Halaska et al. (US 5,128,027). Haller discloses a method for recovering bullets from a backstop, the method comprising: collecting fired bullets (G) and backstop material (18’) from the backstop (10); and separating the collected bullets and backstop material based on buoyancy of the collected bullets and backstop material in a liquid (see at least Fig. 4 and discussion of Fig. 4), the liquid having a density that is greater than the density of the backstop material and less than the density of the collected bullets (see at least Fig. 4 and discussion of Fig. 4). Haller discloses all the limitations of the claim, but it does not disclose that the liquid comprises the surfactant additive sodium carbonate or the surfactant additive sodium bicarbonate. However, Halaska discloses a similar method which utilizes a liquid comprising the surfactant additive sodium carbonate or the surfactant additive sodium bicarbonate (see col. 4, lines 1-60) for the purpose of improving separation of the material in the liquid. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to utilize a liquid comprising the surfactant additive sodium carbonate or the surfactant additive sodium bicarbonate, as disclosed by Halaska, for the purpose of improving separation of the material in the liquid.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haller (EP 1990599) in view of White (US 4,248,696). Haller discloses a method for recovering bullets from a backstop, the method comprising: collecting fired bullets (G) and backstop material (18’) from the backstop (10); and separating the collected bullets and backstop material based on buoyancy of the collected bullets and backstop material in a liquid (see at least Fig. 4 and discussion of Fig. 4), the liquid having a density that is greater than the density of the backstop material and less than the density of the collected bullets (see at least Fig. 4 and discussion of Fig. 4). Haller discloses all the limitations of the claim, but it does not disclose that the liquid comprises deionized water. However, White discloses a similar method which utilizes a liquid comprising deionized water (see col. 6, lines 50-60) for the purpose of improving separation of the material in the liquid. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to utilize a liquid comprising deionized water, as disclosed by White, for the purpose of improving separation of the material in the liquid.
Claim(s) 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haller (EP 1990599) in view of White (US 4,248,696) and further in view of Wooldridge (US 9,707,594). The combination of Haller and White discloses all the limitations of the claims, but it does not disclose drying and re-applying the separated backstop material to the backstop. However, Wooldrige discloses a similar method which includes drying and re-applying the separated backstop material to the backstop (see at least abstract) for the purpose of reusing the backstop material . It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to include drying and re-applying the separated backstop material to the backstop for the purpose of reusing the backstop material.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 10-14 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Sims (US 5,255,787) and Marui et al. (JP 2003053272) disclose systems and methods for separating bullets from ground or backstop material.
/PATRICK H MACKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653