DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Blackburn et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,811,800). Regarding Claim 1, Blackburn discloses a connector assembly (100), comprising: a terminal module comprising: a conductive plate (106, 110); and a plurality of terminals (204) coupled to the conductive plate; a cable module (108) comprising a plurality of cables (115), the cables being coupled to the conductive plate and electrically connected to the terminals via the conductive plate; and a heat sink (112) thermally coupled to the conductive plate.
Regarding Claim 2, Blackburn discloses the terminals extending from an edge (Fig. 9) of the conductive plate, and the heat sink is coupled to a surface (Fig. 3) of the conductive plate and located between the terminals and the cables.
Regarding Claim 3, Blackburn discloses the heat sink comprising a plurality of fins (Fig. 5) extending away from the surface of the conductive plate.
Regarding Claim 4, Blackburn discloses the conductive plate and the fins being parts of a unitary structure (Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 5, Blackburn discloses the heat sink further comprising a coupling plate (124) connected to the fins and extending above the surface of the conductive plate, the cables comprise a first group (Fig. 9) and a second group (Fig. 9), the first group of the cables is coupled to the conductive plate, and the second group of the cables is coupled to the coupling plate and electrically connected to the terminals sequentially via the heat sink and the conductive plate.
Regarding Claim 6, Blackburn discloses the fins respectively having end surfaces (Fig. 5) at an end (Fig. 5) of the fins, and the coupling plate is connected to and extends away from the end surfaces.
Regarding Claim 7, Blackburn discloses the heat sink further comprising an extending plate (walls of 112) connected to the surface of the conductive plate, the end surfaces, and the coupling plate.
Regarding Claim 8, Blackburn discloses the coupling plate and the extending plate forming an L-shaped structure (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 9, Blackburn discloses the first group of the cables having connection ends (Fig. 9) coupled to the conductive plate, the second group of the cables has connection ends (Fig. 9) coupled to the coupling plate, and the connection ends of the second group of the cables are located over the connection ends of the first group of the cables.
Regarding Claim 10, Blackburn discloses the heat sink comprising: a conductive base (124) coupled to the surface of the conductive plate; and a plurality of fins (Fig. 5) connected to the conductive base.
Regarding Claim 11, Blackburn discloses the conductive base being in contact with the surface of the conductive plate, and the fins are connected to a side (Fig. 5) of the conductive base away from the conductive plate.
Regarding Claim 12, Blackburn discloses a fastening member (134) fastening the conductive base to the conductive plate.
Regarding Claim 13, Blackburn discloses the conductive plate and the conductive base being parts of a unitary structure (Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 14, Blackburn discloses the terminals comprising a first group (Fig. 9) and a second group (Fig. 9), and the conductive plate comprises: a first sub-layer (Fig. 6) coupled to the first group of the terminals and the heat sink; and a second sub-layer (Fig. 6) coupled to a side of the first sub-layer away from the heat sink, the second group of the terminals being coupled to the second sub-layer, wherein the first group and the second group of terminals are arranged linearly.
Regarding Claim 15, Blackburn discloses the first group and the second group of terminals being arranged in an alternating manner (Fig. 9).
Regarding Claim 16, Blackburn discloses a second heat sink (112) thermally coupled to a side of the second sub-layer away from the first sub-layer.
Regarding Claim 17, Blackburn discloses the first sub-layer and the second sub-layer being sandwiched (Fig. 5) between the heat sink and the second heat sink.
Regarding Claim 18, Blackburn discloses a fastening member (134) passing through the first sub-layer and the second sub-layer and fastening the heat sink and the second heat sink.
Regarding Claim 19, Blackburn discloses a busbar power connector, comprising: a housing (200); and two sets of the connector assemblies (Fig. 8) partially disposed in the housing.
Regarding Claim 20, Blackburn discloses the housing comprising: a main portion (Fig. 8) having a first opening (Fig. 8), wherein the conductive plates of the two sets of the connector assemblies are accommodated in the main portion, and the cable modules of the two sets of the connector assemblies extend out of the housing from the first opening; and two plugging portions (104) connected to the main portion and respectively having two second openings (Fig. 8) facing each other, wherein the terminals of one of the two sets of the connector assemblies expose out of the housing from one of the second openings, and the terminals of another of the two sets of the connector assemblies expose out of the housing from another of the second openings.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited prior art discloses connectors, similar to Applicant’s claimed invention, having bus bars, plates, terminal and cable modules and heat sinks.
/EDWIN A. LEON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833