DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ose et al. (PGPub 2018/0301747).
Considering Claim 1, Ose discloses a sheet for an electrode (layer of raw material for anode mixture [0080]), comprising:
an active material layer precursor layer (layer of raw material for anode mixture [0080] containing anode active material [Abstract]) containing an inorganic solid electrolyte (raw material anode mixture contains solid electrolyte [Abstract] that’s inorganic [0037]) having ion conductivity of a metal belonging to Group 1 or Group 2 in the periodic table (solid electrolyte material has Li ion conductivity [0036]), an active material (a would node active material [Abstract]), and a polymer binder (polymer binders [0045]),
wherein the active material layer precursor layer is such that a content of the polymer binder is 3% by mass or less (volume of binder may be 0.3 volume % or more and 4.0 volume% or less so that the active material is maximized for a high energy density [0047], so choosing within this range and coming up with a proportional polymer range of 3% by mass or less to achieve such predicted results would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art) and a filling rate of 35% to 50% (claimed invention defines filling rate as film density / true density [0019], voidage of 100 – (D1 absolute density / D0 true density) x 100 is 43% or more and 54% or less (for a filling rate of 46% - 57%) [0014], or 45% to 52% (for a filling rate of 48% to 55%) [0058], with example values of 52, 53, 54 in Examples 2, 3, and 4 (for a filling rate of 48, 47, 46%) [Table 1]).
Considering Claim 2, Ose discloses that the anode is deposited to a uniform thickness [0080], and may be about 0.1 µm to about 10 mm [0085], and because energy density is optimized [0047], selecting within this range and coming up with a range of 150 µm to 10 mm to achieve such predicted results would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Considering Claim 3, Ose discloses that the inorganic solid electrolyte is a sulfide-based electrolyte (sulfide-based solid electrolyte [0036, 0037]).
Considering Claim 4, Ose discloses that the inorganic solid electrolyte has a particle diameter of 0.1 to 2.5 µm (solid electrolyte particles are 1.0 µm [0097]).
Considering Claim 5, Ose discloses that the active material precursor layer is a positive electrode active material precursor layer (cathode contains raw materials of binder, active material, and solid electrolyte [0063] and made in same way as the anode [0071], so optimizing the same voidage for the purpose of maintaining the ion conducting path and the electron conducting path with balance [0058] would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art) having a film density of 1.4 to 2.0 g/cm3 (made in same way as the anode [0071], absolute density is calculated [0055, 0169, 0174] and because mixture is optimized for a high energy density [0046, 0047] and containing the same lithium metal oxide [0065] and PVDF binder [0110], routinely experimenting with and coming up with an absolute film density of 1.4 to 2.0 g/cm3 would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Considering Claim 6, Ose discloses that the active material precursor layer is a negative electrode active material precursor layer (raw anode material layer [Abstract, 0080]) having a film density of 0.8 to 1.0 g/cm3 (absolute density of anode mixture layer is calculated [0055, 0169, 0174], and because mixture is optimized for a high energy density [0046, 0047] and containing the same silicon and PVDF [0009, 0045, 0102], routinely experimenting with and coming up with an absolute film density of 0.8 to 1.0 g/cm3 would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art).
Considering Claim 7, Ose discloses a manufacturing method for a sheet for an electrode (method of producing raw anode material mixture [Abstract]), which is a method of manufacturing the sheet for an electrode according to claim 1 (see claim 1), in which an electrode composition containing an inorganic solid electrolyte (raw material anode mixture contains solid electrolyte [Abstract] that’s inorganic [0037]) having ion conductivity of a metal belonging to Group 1 or Group 2 (solid electrolyte material has Li ion conductivity [0036]), an active material (anode active material [Abstract]), a polymer binder (polymer binders [0045]), and a dispersion medium (butyl butyrate solution added and mixed [0102, 0098, 0104]) is applied onto a base material and dried (applied onto copper foil anode current collector and dried [0105]) to form an active material precursor layer (forms dried anode mixture layer [0105, [0080], which comes before the electricity passing step that changes the mixtures into the final respective parts [0007]), the manufacturing method comprising:
a step of setting a content of solid contents of the polymer binder to 3% by mass or less to prepare the electrode composition (volume of binder is set to be 0.3 volume % or more and 4.0 volume% or less so that the active material is maximized for a high energy density [0047], so choosing within this range and coming up with a proportional polymer range of 3% by mass or less to achieve such predicted results would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art); and
a step of setting a filling rate of the active material layer precursor layer to 35% to 50% (claimed invention defines filling rate as film density / true density [0019], voidage of 100 – (D1 absolute density / D0 true density) x 100 is set to be 43% or more and 54% or less (for a filling rate of 46% - 57%) [0014], or 45% to 52% (for a filling rate of 48% to 55%) [0058], with example values of 52, 53, 54 in Examples 2, 3, and 4 (for a filling rate of 48, 47, 46%) [Table 1]).
Considering Claim 8, Ose discloses a manufacturing method for an electrode sheet, which is a manufacturing method for an electrode sheet having an active material layer on a base layer (method of producing raw anode material mixture [Abstract], applied onto copper foil anode current collector and dried [0105]), the manufacturing method comprising:
pressing an active material layer precursor layer of a sheet for an electrode obtained by the manufacturing method for a sheet for an electrode according to claim 7, to form an active material layer (precursor layer pressed in later step to form anode layer [0131-0134] to form battery member [0135], see claim 7).
Considering Claim 9, Ose discloses a manufacturing method for an all-soid state secondary battery, which is a manufacturing method for an all-solid state secondary battery (manufacturing method for obtaining all-solid-state lithium ion secondary battery [0135]) including a positive electrode active material layer, a solid electrolyte layer, and a negative electrode active material layer in this order (solid electrolyte layer disposed between anode layer and cathode layer [0083, Figure 1]), the manufacturing method comprising:
pressing and forming at least one of the positive electrode active material layer or the negative electrode active material layer in a state where a sheet for an electrode obtained by the manufacturing method for a sheet for an electrode according to claim 7 is superposed with a solid electrolyte layer or a solid electrolyte layer forming material (cathode, solid electrolyte, and anode are all pressed [0131-0134], see claim 7).
Considering Claim 10, Ose discloses an all-solid state secondary battery (all-solid-state lithium ion secondary battery [0135] manufactured by the manufacturing method for an all-solid state secondary battery according to claim 9 (see claim 9).
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER P DOMONE/Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1725