DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Claims 1-6 are pending and have been examined in this application.
This communication is the first action on the merits.
Claims 1-6 are rejected herein.
Information Disclosure Statement
As of the date of this action, an information disclosure statement (IDS) has been filed on 01/08/2024 and reviewed by the Examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the current interpretation of the Gustavsson. Additionally, the arguments are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the base portion of the neck part is not positioned inside the mounting hole in the attached state, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case, the base portion of the neck part is capable being positioned inside the mounting hole depending on the depth of the hole of the target member which is not a positively required structure of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gustavsson (U.S. Pat. No. 7246797 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Gustavsson teaches a mounting rubber member (one of 1-4 as shown in Figs. 3-5 and/or 14 & Col. 2; lines 18-20) for a vehicle, the mounting rubber member being configured to be mounted to a surface of a mounting target member (5, 10) of the vehicle, the mounting rubber member comprising:
a mounting shaft part (lower elongated portion of 1 or element 64) that protrudes toward a mounting direction from a mounting surface (top surface of 1) of the mounting rubber member configured to be overlapped with the surface of the mounting target member and is configured to be inserted into a mounting hole (hole of 5 as shown in Fig. 4) of the mounting target member, wherein
the mounting shaft part comprises a neck part (G1; see annotated figure below) that is configured to be positioned inside the mounting hole of the mounting target member,
the mounting shaft part comprises, in a circumferential direction, a plurality of locking parts (25-28) that protrude on an outer circumferential surface and are configured to be locked to a back surface (rear surface of 12 and/or opening defined by 7) of the mounting target member at a portion that protrudes from the mounting hole of the mounting target member to a back surface side in an attached state of the mounting rubber member to the mounting target member, a tip portion (end portion of neck portion) of the neck part is formed with a recess (recess receiving portion G2 of 5 see annotated figure below) that extends in the circumferential direction on a base side (side of 48) of the locking part,
a base portion (G3 see annotated figure below) of the neck part is off the recess and has a diameter larger than that of the tip portion of the neck part, and
the tip portion of the neck part and the base portion of the neck part are configure to be positioned inside the mounting holes in the attached state of the mounting rubber member to the mounting target member [capable/depending on the depth of the holes of the target member].
Regarding claim 2, Gustavsson teaches wherein the recess (portion receiving G3) is continuously provided over an entire circumference.
Regarding claim 3, Gustavsson teaches wherein the diameter of the base portion of the neck part is larger than a diameter of an insertion tip part (lower tip part of 1) located on a tip side of the locking part.
Regarding claim 4, Gustavsson teaches wherein in a longitudinal section at a position at which the locking part is provided, the recess has an area (surface area of 29) that is configured to be recessed toward an inner circumference more inward than the mounting hole (12) and is set to be 60% or more of an area of a portion of the locking part (26) that is configured to protrude toward an outer circumference more outward than the mounting hole.
Regarding claim 5, Gustavsson teaches wherein the recess (defined by 29) has a groove width dimension that is set within a range of 60 to 150% with respect to a protrusion height (height of protrusion defined by 26) dimension of the locking part from the outer circumferential surface of the mounting shaft part.
Regarding claim 6, Gustavsson teaches a pressing operation part (head part 48) to which an external force for inserting the mounting shaft part into the mounting hole is applied [capable/intended use], the pressing operation part being integrally formed on an axial extension of the mounting shaft part (lower elongated portion of 1 or element 64) on a base side of the mounting shaft part.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MUHAMMAD IJAZ
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3631
/Muhammad Ijaz/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631