DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
2. The drawings were received on 5/22/2026. These drawings are approved.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1, 2, 4-7, 9-13, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al (CN102463970A; hereinafter “Zhang”).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a tire pressure adjustment method performed by an adjustment device in a vehicle, comprising: obtaining a first distance between the vehicle and a target object in front of the vehicle in a moving direction (“During vehicle operation, the radar on the front of the vehicle continuously detects the distance and relative speed to vehicles or obstacles ahead.” per Para [0019]); determining a second distance representing a safe braking distance of the vehicle (“The radar then sends this information to the ECU in real time. The ECU continuously analyzes and judges whether a collision will occur. When a vehicle or obstacle suddenly enters in front of the vehicle and is within a safe distance, the ECU determines that a collision is likely and sends a signal to the brakes to execute emergency braking.” per Para [0019]); determining that the first distance is less than the second distance; determining a difference between the first distance and the second distance; determining, based on the first distance being less than the second distance, a tire pressure adjustment value of a first tire of the vehicle based on the difference between the first distance and the second distance (Para [0019]; Although Zhang does not explicitly disclose calculating a numerical difference value between the first distance and the second distance, the ECU necessarily compares the detected distance with a threshold distance to determine whether a collision will occur. Such comparison inherently requires determining whether the detected distance differs from the threshold distance, which necessarily involves determining a difference between the two values; “At the same time, the ECU also sends a signal to the intelligent tire deflation devices on the front and rear wheel rims. The electromagnetic control valves on the intelligent deflation devices open simultaneously, and the deflation pipes on the front and rear wheel rims open simultaneously to release air.” per Para [0019]), the tire pressure adjustment value corresponding to an exhaust velocity of a valve of the first tire (See the Examiner’s Response to Arguments in section 7 below); determining a target voltage based on the tire pressure adjustment value; and adjusting a power supply voltage of the valve of the first tire based on the target voltage to exhaust air out of the first tire at the exhaust velocity corresponding to the determined tire pressure adjustment value (See the Examiner’s Response to Arguments in section 7 below; Para [0011], [0015] line 4-5, [0021] line 1-2, and [0032]; Zhang discloses an ECU-controlled tire deflation system that regulates tire pressure during emergency braking using an electromagnetic control valve. A pressure sensor detects tire pressure, and the ECU controls operation of the electromagnetic valve until a predetermined pressure value is reached. Although Zhang does not explicitly use the term “target voltage”, Zhang discloses that the ECU controls operation of the electromagnetic control valve to achieve a predetermined tire pressure condition. Control of a solenoid valve necessarily involves controlling electrical driving conditions supplied to the solenoid coil. In order to actuate the solenoid valve to achieve a desired tire pressure condition, the ECU necessarily determines electrical actuation parameters supplied to the solenoid coil, which inherently correspond to a target voltage used to actuate the solenoid valve. Because the electromagnetic force generated by the solenoid coil is a function of the applied voltage and resulting current, and because the electromagnetic force governs displacement of the movable core and airflow through the valve, variation in the supplied voltage necessarily results in variation of the exhaust velocity of the discharged air. Accordingly, Zhang inherently discloses the claimed limitations relating to determining a target voltage and adjusting power supply voltage such that exhaust velocity varies with the applied voltage).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the step of determining the second distance comprises: obtaining a moving velocity of the vehicle (“During vehicle operation, the radar on the front of the vehicle continuously detects the distance and relative speed to vehicles or obstacles ahead.” per Para [0019]) and a coefficient of friction between the first tire of the vehicle and a ground surface (Para [0007], [0019], and [0022]); and determining the second distance based on the moving velocity and the coefficient of friction (Although Zhang does not explicitly disclose obtaining a numerical coefficient of friction value, Zhang repeatedly teaches that braking distance is determined based on the friction characteristics between the tire and the ground, and that braking performance is improved by increasing friction through tire pressure adjustment. In determining braking distance, the ECU must evaluate the frictional relationship between the tire and the ground. Because braking distance is mathematically and physically dependent upon the coefficient of friction between the tire and the ground, such determination inherently requires obtaining friction-related parameters corresponding to a coefficient of friction within the meaning of the claim).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising: outputting first information when a tire pressure value of the first tire of the vehicle is less than a first threshold, wherein the first information indicates that the tire pressure value of the first tire is low (Para [0022], [0023], and [0036]; Zhang discloses a pressure sensor configured to detect tire pressure and transmit pressure information to an ECU. When the detected tire pressure reaches a predetermined set value, the ECU necessarily outputs a signal responsive to the detected low-pressure condition. Such signal inherently constitutes information indicating that the tire pressure value is below a threshold within the meaning of the claim).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising: determining a difference value between a tire pressure value of the first tire of the vehicle and a tire pressure value of a second tire of the vehicle, when the tire pressure value of the first tire of the vehicle is greater than or equal to a first threshold; reducing the tire pressure value of the first tire when the difference value is greater than a second threshold (Para [0022] and [0023]; Zhang discloses differential control of tire pressures between front and rear tires, wherein rear tires are deflated to a lower pressure range than front tires to improve vehicle stability. In order to implement such differential pressure control, the ECU must evaluate and compare the respective tire pressure values of the front and rear tires. Such comparison inherently requires determining a difference between the tire pressure values. Zhang further teaches threshold-based control of tire deflation, wherein the ECU stops deflation when a predetermined pressure value is reached. Because implementation of differential control under threshold conditions necessarily requires evaluating the relative pressure values of the respective tires, Zhang inherently discloses determining a difference value between the tire pressure values and reducing the tire pressure of the first tire when the difference exceeds a threshold condition).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang discloses a device in a vehicle for tire pressure adjustment, comprising: a processor; and an electronic interface, wherein the processor is configured to perform operations of: obtaining a first distance between the vehicle and a target object in front of the vehicle in a moving direction; determining a second distance representing a safe braking distance of the vehicle; determining that the first distance is less than the second distance; determining a difference between the first distance and the second distance; determining, based on the first distance being less than the second distance, a tire pressure adjustment value of a first tire of the vehicle based on the difference between the first distance and the second distance (As discussed above with respect to claim 1, Zhang teaches comparing a first distance with a threshold distance to determine whether a collision will occur, and controlling tire deflation based on the result of such comparison. Such comparison inherently involves determining a difference between the distances and determining a corresponding tire pressure adjustment value), the tire pressure adjustment value corresponding to an exhaust velocity of a valve of the first tire (See the Examiner’s Response to Arguments in section 7 below); determining a target voltage based on the tire pressure adjustment value; and adjusting, via the electronic interface, a power supply voltage of the valve of the first tire based on the target voltage to exhaust air out of the first tire at the exhaust velocity corresponding to the determined tire pressure adjustment value (See the Examiner’s Response to Arguments in section 7 below; Zhang discloses an ECU-controlled tire pressure adjustment device including a processor (ECU) and electronic interfaces for receiving sensor information and outputting control signals to an electromagnetic valve. The processor performs the operations discussed above with respect to claim 1).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang discloses the device according to claim 6, wherein the operation of determining the second distance comprises: obtaining a moving velocity of the vehicle and a coefficient of friction between the first tire of the vehicle and a ground surface; and determining the second distance based on the moving velocity and the coefficient of friction (As discussed above with respect to claim 2, Zhang discloses obtaining vehicle speed via radar detection and repeatedly describes increasing and maximizing friction between the tire and the ground during braking. In determining braking distance and evaluating collision likelihood, the processor necessarily accounts for friction characteristics affecting stopping performance. Because braking distance is dependent upon friction between the tire and the ground, determining the braking distance necessarily requires evaluating friction characteristics corresponding to a coefficient of friction).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang discloses the device according to claim 6, wherein the processor is further configured to perform an operation of: outputting first information indicating that a tire pressure value of the first tire of the vehicle is low when the tire pressure value of the first tire is lower than a first threshold (As discussed above, Zhang discloses a pressure sensor configured to detect tire pressure and transmit pressure information to the ECU, and the ECU outputs a control signal when the detected tire pressure reaches a predetermined set value. Such output inherently constitutes information indicative of a low tire pressure condition).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang discloses the device according to claim 6, wherein the processor is further configured to perform operations of determining a difference value between a tire pressure value of the first tire of the vehicle and a tire pressure value of a second tire of the vehicle, when the tire pressure value of the first tire of the vehicle is greater than or equal to a first threshold; and when the difference value is greater than a second threshold, reducing the tire pressure value of the first tire (As discussed above, Zhang teaches that tire pressures of front and rear wheels are controlled to different pressure ranges to improve vehicle stability, with the rear wheels being deflated more than the front wheels. Such control necessarily involves recognizing a pressure difference between the tires under predetermined threshold conditions, and the front tire is also reduced to a specified pressure range. Accordingly, Zhang at least implicitly discloses determining a pressure difference between tires and reducing tire pressure of the first tire when such difference exceeds a threshold condition).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang discloses the device according to claim 6, wherein the device further comprises a memory storing executable instructions, and the processor is configured to execute the executable instructions to perform the operations (As discussed above, Zhang discloses a device including a processor that executes control operations based on sensor information and stored control logic. The ECU disclosed in Zhang necessarily includes memory for storing executable instructions, and the processor executes such instructions to perform the disclosed distance determination, pressure judgment, and tire deflation control operations. Therefore, the inclusion of a memory storing executable instructions is inherent in the disclosed device).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang discloses a vehicle comprising: a plurality of tires including a first tire; a tire pressure adjustment device configured to: obtain a first distance between the vehicle and a target object in front of the vehicle in a moving direction; determine a second distance representing a safe braking distance of the vehicle; determine that the first distance is less than the second distance; determine a difference between the first distance and the second distance; determine, based on the first distance being less than the second distance, a tire pressure adjustment value of the first tire based on the difference between the first distance and the second distance (As discussed above with respect to claim 1, Zhang teaches comparing a first distance with a threshold distance to determine whether a collision will occur and controlling tire deflation based on the result of such comparison. Such comparison inherently involves determining a difference between the first distance and the second distance and determining a corresponding tire pressure adjustment value), the tire pressure adjustment value corresponding to an exhaust velocity of a valve of the first tire (See the Examiner’s Response to Arguments in section 7 below); determine a target voltage based on the tire pressure adjustment value; and adjust a power supply voltage of the valve of the first tire based on the target voltage to exhaustSee the Examiner’s Response to Arguments in section 7 below; Zhang discloses a vehicle including a plurality of tires and a tire pressure adjustment device configured to control tire pressure during emergency braking. As discussed above, Zhang discloses a radar for detecting a distance to a vehicle or obstacle in front of the vehicle, an ECU configured to determine whether the detected distance is less than a safe braking distance, and an electromagnetic control valve configured to deflate a tire when emergency braking is required. The ECU determines a tire pressure adjustment value and controls the electromagnetic valve accordingly. The electromagnetic control valve necessarily operates based on electrical driving conditions supplied by the ECU).
Regarding claim 13, Zhang discloses the vehicle according to claim 12, wherein the tire pressure adjustment device is configured to obtain the second distance by: obtaining a moving velocity of the vehicle and a coefficient of friction between the first tire and a ground; and determining the second distance based on the moving velocity and the coefficient of friction. (As discussed above, Zhang discloses obtaining vehicle speed information via radar detection and repeatedly describes increasing and maximizing friction between the tire and the ground during braking. In determining braking distance and evaluating collision likelihood, the processor necessarily accounts for friction characteristics affecting stopping performance. Because braking distance depends upon friction between the tire and the ground, determining the braking distance inherently requires evaluating friction characteristics corresponding to a coefficient of friction).
Regarding claim 15, Zhang discloses the vehicle according to claim 12, wherein the tire pressure adjustment device is further configured to: output first information when a tire pressure value of the first tire of the vehicle is less than a first threshold, wherein the first information indicates that the tire pressure value of the first tire is low (As discussed above, Zhang discloses a pressure sensor configured to detect tire pressure and transmit pressure information to the ECU, and the ECU outputs a control signal when the detected tire pressure reaches a predetermined set value. Such signal inherently constitutes information indicating that the tire pressure value is below a threshold within the meaning of the claim).
Regarding claim 16, Zhang discloses the vehicle according to claim 12, wherein the tire pressure adjustment device is further configured to: determine a difference value between a tire pressure value of the first tire of the vehicle and a tire pressure value of a second tire of the vehicle, when the tire pressure value of the first tire of the vehicle is greater than or equal to a first threshold; and reduce the tire pressure of the first tire when the difference value is greater than a second threshold (As discussed above, Zhang teaches controlling front and rear tire pressures to different pressure ranges to improve vehicle stability, thereby recognizing a pressure difference between the tires under predetermined threshold conditions. The front tire is also reduced to a specified pressure range. Accordingly, Zhang at least implicitly discloses determining a pressure difference between tires and reducing the tire pressure of the first tire when such difference exceeds a threshold condition).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 17, 18, and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (CN102463970A; hereinafter “Zhang”) in view of Watanabe (US9046189B2) as applied to claims 1, 2, 4-7, 9-13, 15, and 16.
Regarding claim 17, Zhang discloses the vehicle according to claim 12 but fails to disclose the additional limitations recited in claim 17.
Watanabe, however, teaches the valve (Fig. 1) of the first tire (The limitation “of the first tire” is directed to intended use and does not structurally limit the claimed valve) comprises a stem (10 “guide member”; Fig. 1), wherein: a valve core (36 “movable iron core” and associated valve components 42 “valve body” disposed within 38 “storage hole” forming a valve core assembly; Fig. 1) and a fixed iron core (56 “fixed iron core”; Fig. 1) are disposed inside the stem (10), a coil (70 “coil”; Fig. 1) is wound at an outer base of the stem (10), the fixed iron core (56) is fixed at an inner base of the stem (10), and the coil (70) comprises an interface configured to connect to a power supply (Because the coil 70 is taught as being energized and de-energized, it necessarily includes an electrical interface configured to connect to a power supply. Accordingly, this limitation is inherently disclosed); the valve core (36, 38, and 42) comprises a valve core housing (The recited “valve core housing” encompasses a surrounding structure that defines an internal cavity in which the movable iron core 36 is axially movable. Watanabe teaches such a surrounding structure in the form of guide member 10 defining sliding hole 26, which houses movable iron core 36; Fig. 1), a movable iron core (36), and a spring (58 “biasing member”) connected to the movable iron core (36; Fig. 1), and an air hole (The recitation of “an air hole” encompasses one or more fluid outlet openings. Watanabe’s teaches communication hole 30 and small outflow hole 22 collectively provide at least one outlet opening through which gas is discharged from the internal cavity defined by the surrounding housing structure; Col. 7, lines 6-25) is disposed at the top of the valve core housing (The term “top” denotes an outlet-side portion of the housing structure through which fluid exits, rather than a specific spatial orientation. Watanabe teaches outlet openings 22 and 30 located at the outlet side of the housing region, through which gas exits the internal cavity); the spring is configured to generate an upward force on the movable iron core, so that the movable iron core is connected to the bottom of the valve core housing when the coil is not powered on (Col. 7, lines 6-25 and 48-51; Watanabe teaches when the coil is energized, the movable iron core 36 slides toward the fixed iron core 56 against the biasing force of the biasing member 58. Although Watanabe expressly describes the biasing force in the context of energization and only explicitly mentions the biasing member acting when the coil is de-energized with respect to the pilot valve body 54, it is reasonably understood that the biasing member maintains the movable iron core in a default position when the coil is not energized. In this default state, the movable iron core is maintained in contact with an adjacent structural surface within the valve assembly, thereby corresponding to the claimed connection to the bottom of the valve core housing) and the coil is configured to cause the bottom of the valve core housing to separate from the movable iron core when the coil is powered on, thereby causing air inside the stem to enter the valve core through the bottom of the valve core housing and pass through the air hole at the top of the valve core housing (Col. 7, lines 6-25; When the coil is powered on, the movable iron core 36 is attracted toward the fixed iron core 56 and moves within the sliding hole 26 formed in the guide member 10. As the movable iron core 36 axially displaces within the sliding hole 26, a separation is formed between the movable iron core 36 and the bottom region of the sliding hole 26, which corresponds to the bottom of the valve core housing. Further, high-pressure gas introduced through the inflow hole 8 enters the sliding hole 26 via the small inflow hole 28, and flows through the storage hole 38, communication hole 48, pilot channel hole 44, communication hole 30, and small outflow hole 22, thereby exiting through the upper outlet portion of the guide member 10. Thus, air (gas) inside the stem enters the valve core through the bottom portion of the valve core housing and is discharged through an air hole located at the top portion of the valve core housing).
Therefore, from this teaching, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the electromagnetic control valve of Zhang by implementing the known solenoid valve structure, such as taught by Watanabe, with the motivation to provide a compact and reliable exhaust valve capable of controlled air discharge.
Regarding claim 18, Zhang, as modified by Watanabe, discloses the vehicle according to claim 17, wherein the tire pressure adjustment device is configured to adjust the power supply voltage of the valve of the first tire based on the target voltage to cause the fixed iron core (Watanabe: 56) to generate a magnetic field force to attract the movable iron core (Watanabe: 36) to separate from the bottom of the valve core housing to exhaust the air out of the first tire at the exhaust velocity (See the Examiner’s Response to Arguments in section 7 below; It is well understood in the art that the magnetic field force produced by a solenoid is a function of the current supplied to the coil, and current magnitude is governed by applied voltage. Accordingly, varying the power supply voltage necessarily varies the magnetic force generated by the fixed iron core, thereby causing the movable iron core to separate from the bottom of the valve core housing to permit air to exhaust from the first tire at the exhaust velocity. Therefore, Zhang, as modified by Watanabe, inherently meets the claimed limitation).
Regarding claim 20, Zhang, as modified by Watanabe, inherently discloses adjusting the power supply voltage of the valve of the first tire based on the target voltage comprises adjusting the power supply voltage of the valve of the first tire to provide a degree of separation of a movable valve core from a valve core housing to exhaust air out of the first tire at the exhaust velocity (It is well understood that application of a power supply voltage to the coil generates a magnetic force that attracts the movable iron core. As the movable iron core is displaced during energization, a separation between the movable iron core and the valve core housing is inherently provided, thereby allowing fluid to flow through the opened valve).
Regarding claim 21, Zhang, as modified by Watanabe, inherently discloses adjusting the power supply voltage of the valve of the first tire based on the target voltage comprises adjusting the power supply voltage of the valve of the first tire to provide a degree of separation of a movable valve core from a valve core housing to exhaust air out of the first tire at the exhaust velocity (The limitations are disclosed as discussed above with respect to claim 20).
Regarding claim 22, Zhang, as modified by Watanabe, inherently wherein the tire pressure adjustment device is configured to adjust the power supply voltage of the valve of the first tire based on the target voltage to provide a degree of separation of a movable valve core from a valve core housing to exhaust air out of the first tire at the exhaust velocity (The limitations are disclosed as discussed above with respect to claim 20).
Response to Arguments
7. The following Applicant’s argument filed 5/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
· In response to Applicant’s opinion that “Zhang merely describes that valves can be opened, or closed, but does not disclose or suggest that the degree to which the valve is opened is controlled”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Zhang does not merely disclose that the electromagnetic control valve is either open or closed. Rather, Zhang discloses energizing the electromagnetic control valve to actuate the valve for releasing air. During such actuation, the movable valve member necessarily moves from a closed position to an opened position. Thus, valve opening is achieved through controlled movement of the valve member rather than by an instantaneous change of state. Accordingly, the claimed control of the valve is at least inherently present in Zhang.
· In response to Applicant’s opinion that “Zhang does not disclose that a tire pressure adjustment value is determined based on a difference between a first distance and a second distance, that the adjustment value corresponds to an exhaust velocity, and that a power supply voltage of a valve is adjusted to exhaust air at the exhaust velocity that corresponds to the adjustment value”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Zhang discloses that the ECU determines, based on the radar detection information, whether tire deflation is required and, upon determining that a collision will occur, controls the electromagnetic control valves to deflate the tires until a preset tire pressure is reached. Although Zhang does not expressly recite that the tire pressure adjustment value corresponds to an exhaust velocity or that a power supply voltage of the valve is adjusted to exhaust air at the exhaust velocity, these limitations are at least inherent present in Zhang. Once the ECU determines that tire deflation is to be performed and actuates the electromagnetic control valve accordingly, it is well understood that the degree to which the valve is opened affects the rate at which air escapes from the tire. Accordingly, the tire pressure adjustment inherently corresponds to an exhaust velocity during the deflation process. Likewise, Zhang discloses energizing and de-energizing the electromagnetic control valve to respectively open and control valve. Accordingly, application of the power supply voltage necessarily changes between the closed and opened operating states to actuate the valve. To the extent Applicant is asserting that the claimed method achieves superior or unexpected results over Zhang, such argument is not persuasive because no objective evidence (in the form of an affidavit or declaration filed under 37 CFR 1.131 or 1.132) has been provided demonstrating that Zhang would not inherently operate in the same manner or that the claimed method unexpected results.
Conclusion
8. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The reference discloses an ECU-controlled electromagnetic tire deflation system for automatically adjusting tire pressure to improve braking performance and vehicle stability.
/TAEKWON CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/JASON R BELLINGER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615