DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
2. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation, “the valve further comprises a tire pressure sensor” as set forth in claim 19, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
3. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show “S406-S410” as described in para [00104], [00106], [00107], [00110], [00112], [00113], [00116], and [00120] of the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d).
4. The drawings are objected to because the heavy shading in Fig. 2 obscures the internal structural relationship of the valve components recited in claim 17.
Claim Objections
5. Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informality:
· “comprise” should be amended to read “comprises”
· “configured to executing” should be amended to read “configured to execute”
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
7. Claims 5, 10, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 5, 10, and 14 are unclear due to insufficient antecedent basis. Please note the following limitations:
· Claims 5 and 10: “the second difference value”
· Claim 14: “the first difference value”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
10. Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al (CN102463970A).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang et al discloses a tire pressure adjustment method performed by an adjustment device in a vehicle, comprising: obtaining a first distance between the vehicle and a target object in front of the vehicle in a moving direction (“During vehicle operation, the radar on the front of the vehicle continuously detects the distance and relative speed to vehicles or obstacles ahead.” per Para [0019]); determining a second distance representing a safe braking distance of the vehicle (“The radar then sends this information to the ECU in real time. The ECU continuously analyzes and judges whether a collision will occur. When a vehicle or obstacle suddenly enters in front of the vehicle and is within a safe distance, the ECU determines that a collision is likely and sends a signal to the brakes to execute emergency braking.” per Para [0019]); when the first distance is less than the second distance, determining a tire pressure adjustment value of a first tire of the vehicle based on the first distance and the second distance (“At the same time, the ECU also sends a signal to the intelligent tire deflation devices on the front and rear wheel rims. The electromagnetic control valves on the intelligent deflation devices open simultaneously, and the deflation pipes on the front and rear wheel rims open simultaneously to release air.” per Para [0019]); determining a target voltage based on the tire pressure adjustment value; and adjusting a power supply voltage of a valve of the first tire based on the target voltage, wherein the valve exhausts air out of the first tire after being powered on, and an exhaust velocity of the valve varies with different power supply voltages (Para [0011], [0015] line 4-5, [0021] line 1-2, and [0032]; Zhang et al discloses an ECU-controlled tire deflation system that regulates tire pressure during emergency braking using an electromagnetic control valve. A pressure sensor detects tire pressure, and the ECU controls operation of the electromagnetic valve until a predetermined pressure value is reached. Although Zhang et al does not explicitly use the term “target voltage”, Zhang et al discloses that the ECU controls operation of the electromagnetic control valve to achieve a predetermined tire pressure condition. Control of a solenoid valve necessarily involves controlling electrical driving conditions supplied to the solenoid coil. In order to actuate the solenoid valve to achieve a desired tire pressure condition, the ECU necessarily determines electrical actuation parameters supplied to the solenoid coil, which inherently correspond to a target voltage used to actuate the solenoid valve. Because the electromagnetic force generated by the solenoid coil is a function of the applied voltage and resulting current, and because the electromagnetic force governs displacement of the movable core and airflow through the valve, variation in the supplied voltage necessarily results in variation of the exhaust velocity of the discharged air. Accordingly, Zhang et al inherently discloses the claimed limitations relating to determining a target voltage and adjusting power supply voltage such that exhaust velocity varies with the applied voltage).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang et al discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the step of determining the second distance comprises: obtaining a moving velocity of the vehicle (“During vehicle operation, the radar on the front of the vehicle continuously detects the distance and relative speed to vehicles or obstacles ahead.” per Para [0019]) and a coefficient of friction between the first tire of the vehicle and a ground surface (Para [0007], [0019], and [0022]); and determining the second distance based on the moving velocity and the coefficient of friction (Although Zhang et al does not explicitly disclose obtaining a numerical coefficient of friction value, Zhang et al repeatedly teaches that braking distance is determined based on the friction characteristics between the tire and the ground, and that braking performance is improved by increasing friction through tire pressure adjustment. In determining braking distance, the ECU must evaluate the frictional relationship between the tire and the ground. Because braking distance is mathematically and physically dependent upon the coefficient of friction between the tire and the ground, such determination inherently requires obtaining friction-related parameters corresponding to a coefficient of friction within the meaning of the claim).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang et al discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the step of determining the tire pressure adjustment value of the first tire comprises: determining a difference value between the first distance and the second distance; and determining the tire pressure adjustment value based on the difference value (Para [0019]; Although Zhang et al does not explicitly disclose calculating a numerical difference value between the first distance and the second distance, the ECU necessarily compares the detected distance with a threshold distance to determine whether a collision will occur. Such comparison inherently requires determining whether the detected distance differs from the threshold distance, which necessarily involves determining a difference between the two values).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang et al discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising: outputting first information when a tire pressure value of the first tire of the vehicle is less than a first threshold, wherein the first information indicates that the tire pressure value of the first tire is low (Para [0022], [0023], and [0036]; Zhang et al discloses a pressure sensor configured to detect tire pressure and transmit pressure information to an ECU. When the detected tire pressure reaches a predetermined set value, the ECU necessarily outputs a signal responsive to the detected low-pressure condition. Such signal inherently constitutes information indicating that the tire pressure value is below a threshold within the meaning of the claim).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang et al discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising: determining a difference value between a tire pressure value of the first tire of the vehicle and a tire pressure value of a second tire of the vehicle, when the tire pressure value of the first tire of the vehicle is greater than or equal to a first threshold; reducing the tire pressure value of the first tire when the second difference value is greater than a second threshold (Para [0022] and [0023]; Zhang et al discloses differential control of tire pressures between front and rear tires, wherein rear tires are deflated to a lower pressure range than front tires to improve vehicle stability. In order to implement such differential pressure control, the ECU must evaluate and compare the respective tire pressure values of the front and rear tires. Such comparison inherently requires determining a difference between the tire pressure values. Zhang et al further teaches threshold-based control of tire deflation, wherein the ECU stops deflation when a predetermined pressure value is reached. Because implementation of differential control under threshold conditions necessarily requires evaluating the relative pressure values of the respective tires, Zhang et al inherently discloses determining a difference value between the tire pressure values and reducing the tire pressure of the first tire when the difference exceeds a threshold condition).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang et al discloses a device in a vehicle for tire pressure adjustment, comprising: a processor; and an electronic interface, wherein the processor is configured to perform operations of: obtaining a first distance between the vehicle and a target object in front of the vehicle in a moving direction; determining a second distance representing a safe braking distance of the vehicle; when the first distance is less than the second distance, determining a tire pressure adjustment value of a first tire of the vehicle based on the first distance and the second distance; determining a target voltage based on the tire pressure adjustment value; and adjusting, via the electronic interface, a power supply voltage of a valve of the first tire based on the target voltage, wherein the valve exhausts air out of the first tire after being powered on, and an exhaust velocity of the valve varies with the power supply voltage (Zhang et al discloses an ECU-controlled tire pressure adjustment device including a processor (ECU) and electronic interfaces for receiving sensor information and outputting control signals to an electromagnetic valve. The processor performs the operations discussed above with respect to claim 1).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang et al discloses the device according to claim 6, wherein the operation of determining the second distance comprises: obtaining a moving velocity of the vehicle and a coefficient of friction between the first tire of the vehicle and a ground surface; and determining the second distance based on the moving velocity and the coefficient of friction (As discussed above, Zhang et al discloses obtaining vehicle speed via radar detection and repeatedly describes increasing and maximizing friction between the tire and the ground during braking. In determining braking distance and evaluating collision likelihood, the processor necessarily accounts for friction characteristics affecting stopping performance. Because braking distance is dependent upon friction between the tire and the ground, determining the braking distance necessarily requires evaluating friction characteristics corresponding to a coefficient of friction).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang et al discloses the device according to claim 6, wherein the operation of determining the tire pressure adjustment value of the first tire comprises: determining a difference value between the first distance and the second distance; and determining the tire pressure adjustment value based on the difference value (As discussed above, Zhang et al teaches comparing a first distance with a threshold distance to determine whether a collision will occur, and controlling tire deflation based on the result of such comparison. Such comparison inherently involves determining a difference between the distances and determining a corresponding tire pressure adjustment value).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang et al discloses the device according to claim 6, wherein the processor is further configured to perform an operation of: outputting first information indicating that a tire pressure value of the first tire of the vehicle is low when the tire pressure value of the first tire is lower than a first threshold (As discussed above, Zhang et al discloses a pressure sensor configured to detect tire pressure and transmit pressure information to the ECU, and the ECU outputs a control signal when the detected tire pressure reaches a predetermined set value. Such output inherently constitutes information indicative of a low tire pressure condition).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang et al discloses the device according to claim 6, wherein the processor is further configured to perform operations of determining a difference value between a tire pressure value of the first tire of the vehicle and a tire pressure value of a second tire of the vehicle, when the tire pressure value of the first tire of the vehicle is greater than or equal to a first threshold; and when the second difference value is greater than a second threshold, reducing the tire pressure value of the first tire (As discussed above, Zhang et al teaches that tire pressures of front and rear wheels are controlled to different pressure ranges to improve vehicle stability, with the rear wheels being deflated more than the front wheels. Such control necessarily involves recognizing a pressure difference between the tires under predetermined threshold conditions, and the front tire is also reduced to a specified pressure range. Accordingly, Zhang et al at least implicitly discloses determining a pressure difference between tires and reducing tire pressure of the first tire when such difference exceeds a threshold condition).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang et al discloses the device according to claim 6, wherein the device further comprise a memory storing executable instructions, and the processor is configured to executing the executable instructions to perform the operations (As discussed above, Zhang et al discloses a device including a processor that executes control operations based on sensor information and stored control logic. The ECU disclosed in Zhang et al necessarily includes memory for storing executable instructions, and the processor executes such instructions to perform the disclosed distance determination, pressure judgment, and tire deflation control operations. Therefore, the inclusion of a memory storing executable instructions is inherent in the disclosed device).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang et al discloses a vehicle comprising: a plurality of tires including a first tire; a tire pressure adjustment device configured to: obtain a first distance between the vehicle and a target object in front of the vehicle in a moving direction; determine a second distance representing a safe braking distance of the vehicle; when the first distance is less than the second distance, determine a tire pressure adjustment value of the first tire based on the first distance and the second distance; determine a target voltage based on the tire pressure adjustment value; and adjust a power supply voltage of a valve of the first tire based on the target voltage, wherein the valve exhausts air out of the first tire after being powered on, and an exhaust velocity of the valve varies with different power supply voltages (Zhang et al discloses a vehicle including a plurality of tires and a tire pressure adjustment device configured to control tire pressure during emergency braking. As discussed above, Zhang et al discloses a radar for detecting a distance to a vehicle or obstacle in front of the vehicle, an ECU configured to determine whether the detected distance is less than a safe braking distance, and an electromagnetic control valve configured to deflate a tire when emergency braking is required. The ECU determines a tire pressure adjustment value and controls the electromagnetic valve accordingly. The electromagnetic control valve necessarily operates based on electrical driving conditions supplied by the ECU).
Regarding claim 13, Zhang et al discloses the vehicle according to claim 12, wherein the tire pressure adjustment device is configured to obtain the second distance by: obtaining a moving velocity of the vehicle and a coefficient of friction between the first tire and a ground; and determining the second distance based on the moving velocity and the coefficient of friction. (As discussed above, Zhang et al discloses obtaining vehicle speed information via radar detection and repeatedly describes increasing and maximizing friction between the tire and the ground during braking. In determining braking distance and evaluating collision likelihood, the processor necessarily accounts for friction characteristics affecting stopping performance. Because braking distance depends upon friction between the tire and the ground, determining the braking distance inherently requires evaluating friction characteristics corresponding to a coefficient of friction).
Regarding claim 14, Zhang et al discloses the vehicle according to claim 12, wherein the tire pressure adjustment device is configured to determine the tire pressure adjustment value by: determining a difference value between the first distance and the second distance; and determining the tire pressure adjustment value based on the first difference value (As discussed above, Zhang et al teaches comparing a first distance with a threshold distance to determine whether a collision will occur and controlling tire deflation based on the result of such comparison. Such comparison inherently involves determining a difference between the first distance and the second distance and determining a corresponding tire pressure adjustment value).
Regarding claim 15, Zhang et al discloses the vehicle according to claim 12, wherein the tire pressure adjustment device is further configured to: output first information when a tire pressure value of the first tire of the vehicle is less than a first threshold, wherein the first information indicates that the tire pressure value of the first tire is low (As discussed above, Zhang et al discloses a pressure sensor configured to detect tire pressure and transmit pressure information to the ECU, and the ECU outputs a control signal when the detected tire pressure reaches a predetermined set value. Such signal inherently constitutes information indicating that the tire pressure value is below a threshold within the meaning of the claim).
Regarding claim 16, Zhang et al discloses the vehicle according to claim 12, wherein the tire pressure adjustment device is further configured to: determine a difference value between a tire pressure value of the first tire of the vehicle and a tire pressure value of a second tire of the vehicle, when the tire pressure value of the first tire of the vehicle is greater than or equal to a first threshold; and reduce the tire pressure of the first tire when the difference value is greater than a second threshold (As discussed above, Zhang et al teaches controlling front and rear tire pressures to different pressure ranges to improve vehicle stability, thereby recognizing a pressure difference between the tires under predetermined threshold conditions. The front tire is also reduced to a specified pressure range. Accordingly, Zhang et al at least implicitly discloses determining a pressure difference between tires and reducing the tire pressure of the first tire when such difference exceeds a threshold condition).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
14. Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al and further in view of Watanabe (US9046189B2).
Regarding claim 17, Zhang et al discloses the vehicle according to claim 12 but fails to disclose the additional limitations recited in claim 17.
Watanabe, however, teaches the valve (Fig. 1) of the first tire (The limitation “of the first tire” is directed to intended use and does not structurally limit the claimed valve) comprises a stem (10 “guide member”; Fig. 1), wherein: a valve core (36 “movable iron core” and associated valve components 42 “valve body” disposed within 38 “storage hole” forming a valve core assembly; Fig. 1) and a fixed iron core (56 “fixed iron core”; Fig. 1) are disposed inside the stem (10), a coil (70 “coil”; Fig. 1) is wound at an outer base of the stem (10), the fixed iron core (56) is fixed at an inner base of the stem (10), and the coil (70) comprises an interface configured to connect to a power supply (Because the coil 70 is taught as being energized and de-energized, it necessarily includes an electrical interface configured to connect to a power supply. Accordingly, this limitation is inherently disclosed); the valve core (36, 38, and 42) comprises a valve core housing (The recited “valve core housing” encompasses a surrounding structure that defines an internal cavity in which the movable iron core 36 is axially movable. Watanabe teaches such a surrounding structure in the form of guide member 10 defining sliding hole 26, which houses movable iron core 36; Fig. 1), a movable iron core (36), and a spring (58 “biasing member”) connected to the movable iron core (36; Fig. 1), and an air hole (The recitation of “an air hole” encompasses one or more fluid outlet openings. Watanabe’s teaches communication hole 30 and small outflow hole 22 collectively provide at least one outlet opening through which gas is discharged from the internal cavity defined by the surrounding housing structure; Col. 7, lines 6-25) is disposed at the top of the valve core housing (The term “top” denotes an outlet-side portion of the housing structure through which fluid exits, rather than a specific spatial orientation. Watanabe teaches outlet openings 22 and 30 located at the outlet side of the housing region, through which gas exits the internal cavity); when the coil is not powered on, the spring generates an upward force on the movable iron core, so that the movable iron core is connected to the bottom of the valve core housing (Col. 7, lines 6-25 and 48-51; Watanabe teaches when the coil is energized, the movable iron core 36 slides toward the fixed iron core 56 against the biasing force of the biasing member 58. Although Watanabe expressly describes the biasing force in the context of energization and only explicitly mentions the biasing member acting when the coil is de-energized with respect to the pilot valve body 54, it is reasonably understood that the biasing member maintains the movable iron core in a default position when the coil is not energized. In this default state, the movable iron core is maintained in contact with an adjacent structural surface within the valve assembly, thereby corresponding to the claimed connection to the bottom of the valve core housing) and when the coil is powered on, the bottom of the valve core housing separates from the movable iron core, and air inside the stem enters the valve core through the bottom of the valve core housing and comes out from the air hole at the top of the valve core housing (Col. 7, lines 6-25; When the coil is powered on, the movable iron core 36 is attracted toward the fixed iron core 56 and moves within the sliding hole 26 formed in the guide member 10. As the movable iron core 36 axially displaces within the sliding hole 26, a separation is formed between the movable iron core 36 and the bottom region of the sliding hole 26, which corresponds to the bottom of the valve core housing. Further, high-pressure gas introduced through the inflow hole 8 enters the sliding hole 26 via the small inflow hole 28, and flows through the storage hole 38, communication hole 48, pilot channel hole 44, communication hole 30, and small outflow hole 22, thereby exiting through the upper outlet portion of the guide member 10. Thus, air (gas) inside the stem enters the valve core through the bottom portion of the valve core housing and is discharged through an air hole located at the top portion of the valve core housing).
Therefore, from this teaching, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the electromagnetic control valve of Zhang et al by implementing the known solenoid valve structure, such as taught by Watanabe, with the motivation to provide a compact and reliable exhaust valve capable of controlled air discharge.
Regarding claim 18, Zhang et al, as modified by Watanabe, discloses the vehicle according to claim 17, wherein when the coil (Watanabe: 70) is powered on, the fixed iron core (Watanabe: 56) generates a magnetic field force to attract the movable iron core (Watanabe: 36) to separate from the bottom of the valve core housing, and the magnetic field force of the fixed iron core varies with different power supply voltages (It is well understood in the art that the magnetic field force produced by a solenoid is a function of the current supplied to the coil, and current magnitude is governed by applied voltage. Accordingly, varying the power supply voltage necessarily varies the magnetic force generated by the fixed iron core. Therefore, Zhang et al, as modified by Watanabe, inherently discloses the limitation that the magnetic field force varies with different power supply voltages).
15. Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al, in view of Watanabe, as applied to claims 17-18 above, and further in view of Colefax et al (US20110315235A1).
Regarding claim 19, Zhang et al, as modified by Watanabe, fails to disclose the valve further comprises a tire pressure sensor configured to detect the tire pressure of the first tire.
Colefax et al, however, teaches the valve (10 “valve device”) further comprises a tire pressure sensor (24 “pressure sensor”; Fig. 8) configured to detect the tire pressure of the first tire (Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the valve of Zhang et al, as modified by Watanabe, by including a tire pressure sensor, such as taught by Colefax et al, with the motivation to provide direct detection of the tire pressure at the valve, thereby enabling automatic and accurate monitoring of the tire pressure and simplifying the system by integrating the sensing function with the valve.
Conclusion
16. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references disclose tire pressure adjustment methods and systems, including braking control and related valve structures for regulating tire pressure.
/TAEKWON CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/JASON R BELLINGER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615