DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/08/2024, was filed with the instant application on 01/08/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al (US 2021/0345410 A1), hereinafter, “Zhou” in view of Lei et al (US 2023/0044766 A1), hereinafter, “Lei” further in view of Su et al (US 2020/0288408 A1), hereinafter, “Su” further in view of R2-2109443 et al (3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #116-electronic; Online, November 1st - November 12th, 2021; Agenda item: 8.19.2; Source: vivo; Title: Further Discussion on RAN2 Impacts of Msg3 Repetition; Document for: Discussion and Decision), hereinafter, “R2-219443”.
Regarding claim 1, Zhou discloses: A method performed by a wireless device, the method (Zhou: fig 30, para [0037], where, a method for wireless communications by a UE performing random access procedure);
comprising: receiving, from a base station, a system information block 1 (SIB I) (Zhou: fig 11A-B and fig 12A-B, para [0150], where, the UE may receive SIB1 from the base station), wherein the SIB1 comprises (Zhou: fig 11A-B and fig 12A-B, para [0150], where, “The SIB1 may contain information needed by the UE to access the cell”) a first threshold value and a second threshold value (Zhou: fig 13A-B, para [0150] and [0181], where, the information corresponding to RACH parameters may indicate one or more thresholds such as first threshold and second threshold value to determine reference signal e.g., SSB and/or CSI-RS, para [0182]-[0183]); and
performing based on the first threshold and the second threshold: a first type random access in a normal uplink (Zhou: fig 13A-B, para [0181], where, “The one or more RACH parameters may indicate one or more thresholds (may be first threshold and second threshold) based on which the UE may determine at least one reference signal (e.g., an SSB and/or CSI-RS) and/or an uplink carrier (e.g., a normal uplink (NUL) carrier and/or a supplemental uplink (SUL) carrier)” and para [0296], where, “the one or more RRC messages may comprise first RACH parameters for a first RA procedure on a first uplink carrier (e.g., a NUL)”); Zhou does not explicitly teach: a second type random access in the normal uplink, the first type random access in a supplementary uplink or the second type random access in the supplementary uplink,
Lei teaches: a second type random access in the normal uplink (Lei: fig 8, para [0089], where, “the second type of RACH message can be transmitted on a regular (e.g., normal) or a supplementary uplink carrier signaled by the PDCCH”),
the first type random access in a supplementary uplink or the second type random access in the supplementary uplink (Lei: fig 12, para [0131], “where the first type of RACH message or the second type of RACH message can be transmitted on a regular (e.g., normal) or a supplementary uplink carrier signaled by the PDCCH”);
wherein in the first type random access: first transmission of a Msg3 is performed based on a random access response (RAR) (Lei: fig 5, step 530, para [0061], where, “At 530, in response to the RAR message, UE 104 transmits a third message (MSG3) to the BS 102 on the physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)”);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use “a second type random access in the normal uplink, the first type random access in a supplementary uplink or the second type random access in the supplementary uplink” as taught by Lei into Zhou in order to efficiently performing a retransmission of a message 3 in the random access procedure (Lei: para [0008]); and neither Zhou nor Lei explicitly teach: one or more retransmissions of the Msg3 follow based on the RAR, wherein in the second type random access: first transmission of the Msg3 is performed based on the RAR; wherein, in case of the first type random access in the normal uplink and a first parameter for the second offset having been provided, the first offset and the second offset are determined based on: a first parameter for a target power level; and retransmission of the Msg 3 based on the RAR does not follow, wherein transmission power of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) for the Msg 3 is determined based on a sum of a first offset and a second offset.
Su teaches: one or more retransmissions of the Msg3 follow based on the RAR, wherein in the second type random access: first transmission of the Msg3 is performed based on the RAR (Su: fig 4, para [0100]-[0103], where, the UE performs Msg3 retransmission based on RAR”, Msg3 transmission is equivalent to first transmission when the UE made the first attempt of the Msg3 transmission);
the first parameter for the second offset (Su: fig 4, para [0103], where, “the transmit power of the msg3 and/or the UCI that is determined in the second random access attempt process is referred to as the second transmit power”), wherein, in case of the second type random access in the normal uplink (Su: para [0006], where, “transmit power of a second random access preamble message, the second random access preamble message is a random access preamble message in the second random access attempt”) and the first parameter for the second offset having been provided (Su: fig 4, steps S41-S45, para [0108], where, “the first transmit power is actual transmit power of a first msg3 and/or the “first uplink control message” (equivalent to “first parameter”) (referred to as first UCI in the following). Likewise, the larger one of the transmit power of the second random access preamble message (referred to as a second msg1 in the following) and fourth transmit power may be determined as the second transmit power (equivalent to “second offset”)”) the first offset and the second offset are determined based on: a second parameter for a target power level (Su: fig 4, steps S41-S45, para [0108], where, “the second transmit power (equivalent to “second offset”) is actual transmit power of a second msg3 and/or the second uplink control message (equivalent to “second parameter”) (referred to as second UCI in the following)”); and
the first parameter for the second offset (Su: fig 4, para [0103], where, “the transmit power of the msg3 and/or the UCI that is determined in the second random access attempt process is referred to as the second transmit power (equivalent to “second offset”)”), wherein, in case of the first type random access in the supplementary uplink (Su: fig 4, para [0108], where, “the first transmit power is actual transmit power of a first msg3 and/or the first uplink control message (referred to as first UCI in the following)”) and a second parameter for the second offset having been provided (Su: fig 4, para [0108], where, “the second transmit power, and the second transmit power is actual transmit power of a second msg3 and/or the second uplink control message (referred to as second UCI (equivalent to “second parameter”) in the following)”), the first offset (Su: fig 4, para [0108], where, “a first msg3 and/or the first uplink control message (referred to as first UCI in the following)”) and the second offset are determined based on (Su: fig 4, para [0108], where, “the second power control parameter in the second random access attempt, the second transmit power is an actually used transmit power at the time of sending the second msg3 and/or the second UCI”): a third parameter for a target power level (Su: fig 4, para [0009], where, “the third power ramping step is used to determine the transmit power of the second random access preamble message, and the second power ramping step, the second power offset”); and
the second parameter for the second offset (Su: fig 4, para [0139], where, “the terminal device determines P1_2 as the second transmit power, and sends the second msg3 or the second UCI by using the second transmit power”), and wherein, in case of the second type random access in the supplementary uplink and the second parameter for the second offset having been provided (Su: fig 4, para [0139], where, “the terminal device determines P1_2 as the second transmit power, and sends the second msg3 or the second UCI by using the second transmit power”), the first offset and the second offset are determined (Su: fig 4, para [0139], where, “the terminal device determines P1_2 as the second transmit power, and sends the second msg3 or the second UCI by using the second transmit power”), based on: a fourth parameter for a target power level (Su: fig 4, para [0110], where, “the fourth transmit power is the transmit power of the second msg3 and/or the second UCI that is calculated based on the second power control parameter in the second random access attempt, the second transmit power is an actually used transmit power at the time of sending the second msg3 and/or the second UCI”); and the second parameter for the second offset (Su: fig 4, para [0108], where, “the first transmit power is actual transmit power of a first msg3 and/or the first uplink control message (referred to as first UCI in the following)”);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use “one or more retransmissions of the Msg3 follow based on the RAR, wherein in the second type random access: first transmission of the Msg3 is performed based on the RAR” as taught by Su into the teaching of Zhou and Lei in order to enabled to increase with the random access attempt quantity (Su: para [0149]); and
neither Zhou nor Lei nor Su explicitly teach: retransmission of the Msg 3 based on the RAR does not follow , wherein transmission power of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) for the Msg 3 is determined based on a sum of a first offset and a second offset.
R2-2109443 teach: retransmission of the Msg 3 based on the RAR does not follow , wherein transmission power of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) for the Msg 3 is determined based on a sum of a first offset and a second offset (R2-219443: Section 2.2 Contention resolution timer operation: fig 4, where teach ofMsg3 PUSCH repetition).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use “retransmission of the Msg 3 based on the RAR does not follow , wherein transmission power of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) for the Msg 3 is determined based on a sum of a first offset and a second offset” as taught by R2-2109443 into the teaching of Zhou and Lei in order to enhance the coverage performance of Msg3 transmission for the UEs in the poor coverage scenarios (R2-219443: Section 2);
Regarding claim 2, Zhou modified by Lei further modified by Su teaches further modified by R2-219443: The method of claim 1, wherein the SIB 1 (Zhou: para [0150]) comprises: the first parameter for a target power level in a first container (Su: fig 4, para [0108], where, “the first transmit power is actual transmit power of a first msg3); the second parameter for a target power level in a second container (Su: fig 4, para [0139], where, “the terminal device determines P1_2 as the second transmit power, and sends the second msg3 or the second UCI by using the second transmit power”); the third parameter for a target power level in a third container (Su: fig 9, para [0156]); and the fourth parameter for a target power level in a fourth container (Su: fig 9, para [0156]).
Regarding claim 3, Zhou modified by Lei further modified by Su further modified by R2-2109443 teaches: The method of claim 2, wherein: the first container comprises one or more parameters for the first type random access in the normal uplink (Zhou: para [0181], where, the UE may determine Normal uplink (NUL) carrier); the second container comprises one or more parameters for the second type random access in the normal uplink (Zhou: para [0181], where, the UE may determine Normal uplink (NUL) carrier); the third container comprises one or more parameters for the first type random access in the supplementary uplink (Zhou: para [0181], where, the UE may determine a supplemental uplink (SUL) carrier); and the fourth container comprises one or more parameters for the second type random access in the supplementary uplink (Zhou: para [0181], where, the UE may determine a second or fourth supplemental uplink (SUL) carrier, para [0125]);.
Regarding claim 4, Zhou modified by Lei further modified by Su further modified by R2-2109443 teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein: the first parameter for the second offset is configured to be applied to both the first type random access in the normal up link (Zhou: para [0181], where, the UE may determine Normal uplink (NUL) carrier); and the second type random access in the normal uplink (Zhou: para [0181], where, the UE may determine Normal uplink (NUL) carrier).
Regarding claim 5, Zhou modified by Lei further modified by Su further modified by R2-2109443 teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein: the second parameter for the second offset is configured to be applied to both the first type random access in the supplementary uplink and the second type random access in the supplementary uplink (Zhou: para [0181], where, the UE may determine Normal uplink (NUL) carrier).
Regarding claim 6, Zhou modified by Lei further modified by Su further modified by R2-2109443 teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein, in case of the first type random access in the normal uplink and the first parameter for the second offset having not been provided, the second offset is determined based on a specific predefined integer (Su: fig 4, para [0103], where, “the transmit power of the msg3 and/or the UCI that is determined in the second random access attempt process is referred to as the second transmit power (equivalent to “second offset”)”).
Regarding claim 7, Zhou modified by Lei further modified by Su further modified by R2-2109443 teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein, in case of the second type random access in the normal uplink (Zhou: para [0181], where, the UE may determine Normal uplink (NUL) carrier); and the first parameter for the second offset having not been provided, the second offset is determined based on a specific predefined integer (Su: fig 4, para [0103], where, “the transmit power of the msg3 and/or the UCI that is determined in the second random access attempt process is referred to as the second transmit power (equivalent to “second offset”)”).
Regarding claim 8, Zhou modified by Lei further modified by Su further modified by R2-2109443 teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein, in case of the first type random access in the supplementary uplink and the second parameter for the second offset having not been provided, the second offset is determined based on a specific predefined integer (Su: fig 4, para [0103], where, “the transmit power of the msg3 and/or the UCI that is determined in the second random access attempt process is referred to as the second transmit power (equivalent to “second offset”)”).
Regarding claim 9, Zhou modified by Lei further modified by Su further modified by R2-2109443 teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein, in case of the second type random access in the supplementary uplink and the second parameter for the second offset having not been provided, the second offset is determined based on a specific predefined integer (Su: fig 4, para [0103], where, “the transmit power of the msg3 and/or the UCI that is determined in the second random access attempt process is referred to as the second transmit power (equivalent to “second offset”)”).
Regarding claim 10, Zhou modified by Lei further modified by Su further modified by R2-2109443 teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein the first type random access in the normal uplink (Lei: fig 12, para [0131], “where the first type of RACH message or the second type of RACH message can be transmitted on a regular (e.g., normal) or a supplementary uplink carrier signaled by the PDCCH”) is performed in case that: a reference signal received power (RSRP) of a synchronization signal block (SSB) is greater than or equal to the first threshold; and the RSRP of the SSB is greater than the second threshold for the normal uplink (R2-219443: Summary, Proposal 4, where, “Different from the RSRP threshold used to determine the necessity of Msg3 repetition, rsrp-ThresholdSSB is used to select SSB and associated RACH resources. For Msg3 repetition capable UEs, if network can configure a separate rsrp-ThresholdSSB for Msg3 repetition, then UE has more chance to select "good" beams to trigger Msg3 repetition. An example is given in [7], as shown below”).
Regarding claims 11-13, Zhou modified by Lei further modified by Su further modified by R2-2109443 teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein the second type random access in the normal uplink is performed in case that: a reference signal received power (RSRP) of a synchronization signal block (SSB) is greater than or equal to the first threshold (R2-219443: Summary, Proposal 4, where, “Different from the RSRP threshold used to determine the necessity of Msg3 repetition, rsrp-ThresholdSSB is used to select SSB and associated RACH resources. For Msg3 repetition capable UEs, if network can configure a separate rsrp-ThresholdSSB for Msg3 repetition, then UE has more chance to select "good" beams to trigger Msg3 repetition. An example is given in [7], as shown below”); and the RSRP of the SSB is less than the second threshold for the normal uplink (R2-219443: Section 3 Background, Agreement 1: where, “Confirm Msg3 repetition is supported on both NUL and SUL”).
Regarding claim 14, Zhou modified by Lei further modified by Su further modified by R2-2109443 teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein a number of the retransmission of the Msg3 is determined based on a specific field of an uplink grant in a specific RAR (Zhou: fig 13, para [0185], indicated scheduling grant for Msg3, where, the UE may identify the RAR based on RNTI).
.
Regarding claim 15, Zhou modified by Lei further modified by Su further modified by R2-2109443 teaches: The method of claim 14, wherein: the specific field comprises an integer; and the integer is associated with a repetition number out of n repetition numbers (SU: fig 9, para [0156]).
Regarding claim 16, Zhou modified by Lei further modified by Su further modified by R2-2109443 teaches: The method of claim 15, wherein an association between integers and the n repetition numbers is provided in the SIB1 (SU: fig 9, para [0156]).
Regarding claim 17, Zhou modified by Lei further modified by Su further modified by R2-2109443 teaches: The method of claim 14, wherein the specific RAR comprises a random access preamble identifier corresponding to a transmitted preamble (Zhou: fig 13A, para [0185], where, “The Msg 1 1311 may include and/or be referred to as a preamble (or a random access preamble). The Msg 2 1312 may include and/or be referred to as a random access response (RAR)”).
Regarding claim 18, the claim related to a method and a second base station includes features identical to the subject matter mentioned in the rejection to claim 1 above. The claims are mere reformulation of claim 1 in order to define the corresponding information processing by a terminal, and the rejection to claim 1 is applied hereto.
Regarding claim 19, the claim related to a method and a second base station includes features identical to the subject matter mentioned in the rejection to claim 1 above. The claims are mere reformulation of claim 1 in order to define the corresponding information processing method of the second base station, and the rejection to claim 1 is applied hereto.
Regarding claim 20, the claim related to a method and a second base station includes features identical to the subject matter mentioned in the rejection to claim 1 above. The claims are mere reformulation of claim 1 in order to define the corresponding information processing of a base station device, and the rejection to claim 1 is applied hereto.
Conclusion
/NIZAM U AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461