DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are subject to examination and rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yan (US PGPub 2024/0196442).
Regarding claims 1 and 18-20, Yan teaches a method performed by a wireless device (Yan, see abstract, This application provides a random access method and apparatus), the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station, a system information block 1 (SIB1) (Yan, see paragraph 0137, The network device sends a synchronization signal, system information, and/or random access configuration information to the terminal device), wherein the SIB1 comprises one or more first threshold values (Yan, see paragraph 0232, a Msg3 repetition threshold may be configured for the terminal device, and the terminal device determines the sending manner of the Msg3 based on the Msg3 repetition threshold); and
performing a first type random access or a second type random access based on a first threshold value of the one or more first threshold values (Yan, see paragraph 0149, When the RSRP is less than a first threshold, the terminal device determines the first random access preamble group from the at least two random access preamble groups, where the first random access preamble group is associated with the sending manner in which the terminal device repeatedly sends the Msg3),
wherein in the first type random access: first transmission of a Msg3 is performed based on a random access response (RAR); and one or more retransmissions of the Msg3 follow based on the RAR (Yan, see paragraph 0233, the terminal device detects downlink reference signal received power RSRP. When the terminal device supports repeated sending of the Msg3 and expects to repeatedly send the Msg3, and the RSRP is less than the Msg3 repetition threshold, the terminal device determines that the sending manner of the Msg3 is that the Msg3 is repeatedly sent),
wherein in the second type random access: first transmission of the Msg3 is performed based on the RAR; and retransmission of the Msg 3 based on the RAR does not follow (Yan, see paragraph 0233, Otherwise, the terminal device determines that the sending manner of the Msg3 is that the Msg3 is not repeatedly sent),
wherein transmission power of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) for the Msg 3 is determined based on a power offset (Yan, see paragraph 0180, msg3-DeltaPreamble corresponds to the message 3 and a preamble power offset),
wherein the power offset is an offset between the Msg3 transmission and a preamble transmission (Yan, see paragraph 0180, msg3-DeltaPreamble corresponds to the message 3 and a preamble power offset),
wherein the power offset is determined based on a power offset parameter of a first container in case that: the first type random access is performed (Yan, see figure 11B and paragraph 0262, the terminal device determines the random access preamble group or the random access opportunity group based on whether the Msg3 is repeatedly sent (and/or the number of times of repeatedly sending the Msg3), and then determines the random access preamble from the random access preamble group or the random access opportunity group, where the random access preamble is used by the terminal device to perform random access); and
the power offset parameter of the first container is present in the first container (Yan, see figure 11B and paragraph 0180, messagePowerOffsetGroupB corresponds to a message power offset of the group B), and
wherein the power offset is determined based on a power offset parameter of a second container in case that: the second type random access is performed (Yan, see figure 11B and paragraph 0262, the terminal device determines the random access preamble group or the random access opportunity group based on whether the Msg3 is NOT repeatedly sent, and then determines the random access preamble from the random access preamble group or the random access opportunity group, where the random access preamble is used by the terminal device to perform random access); and
the power offset parameter of the second container is present in the second container (Yan, see figure 11B and paragraph 0180, messagePowerOffsetGroupB corresponds to a message power offset of the group B).
Regarding claim 2, Yan teaches wherein:
the first container comprises one or more parameters for the first type random access (Yan, see figure 11B and paragraph 0180, messagePowerOffsetGroupB corresponds to a message power offset of the group B); and
the second container comprises one or more parameters for the second type random access (Yan, see figure 11B and paragraph 0180, messagePowerOffsetGroupB corresponds to a message power offset of the group B).
Regarding claim 3, Yan teaches wherein the first container and the second container are comprised in the SIB1 (Yan, see paragraph 0180, For the four-step random access, if the random access preamble group B is configured, a potential Msg3 size is greater than ra-Msg3SizeGroupA, and a path loss is less than PCMAX-preambleReceivedTargetPower-msg3-DeltaPreamble-messagePowerOffsetGroupB, the random access preamble group B is selected).
Regarding claim 4, Yan teaches wherein the power offset is determined based on the power offset parameter of the second container in case that:
the first type random access is performed (Yan, see figure 11B and paragraph 0262, the terminal device determines the random access preamble group or the random access opportunity group based on whether the Msg3 is repeatedly sent (and/or the number of times of repeatedly sending the Msg3), and then determines the random access preamble from the random access preamble group or the random access opportunity group, where the random access preamble is used by the terminal device to perform random access); and
the power offset parameter of the first container is absent in the second container (Yan, see figure 11B and paragraph 0180, messagePowerOffsetGroupB corresponds to a message power offset of the group B).
Regarding claim 5, Yan teaches wherein the power offset is determined based on a specific predefined value in case that:
the first type random access is performed (Yan, see figure 11B and paragraph 0262, the terminal device determines the random access preamble group or the random access opportunity group based on whether the Msg3 is repeatedly sent (and/or the number of times of repeatedly sending the Msg3), and then determines the random access preamble from the random access preamble group or the random access opportunity group, where the random access preamble is used by the terminal device to perform random access);
the power offset parameter of the first container is absent in the second container (Yan, see figure 11B and paragraph 0180, messagePowerOffsetGroupB corresponds to a message power offset of the group B); and
the power offset parameter of the second container is absent in the second container (Yan, see figure 11B and paragraph 0180, messagePowerOffsetGroupB corresponds to a message power offset of the group B).
Regarding claim 6, Yan teaches wherein the first type random access is performed in case that a reference signal received power (RSRP) of a synchronization signal block (SSB) is less than the first threshold value (Yan, see paragraph 0161, It should be understood that the SSB threshold and the CSI-RS threshold may be pre-configured by the network device for the terminal device. The SSB threshold may be denoted as rsrp-ThresholdSSB, and the CSI-RS threshold may be denoted as rsrp-ThresholdCSI-RS).
Regarding claim 7, Yan teaches wherein the second type random access is performed in case that a reference signal received power (RSRP) of a synchronization signal block (SSB) is greater than or equal to the first threshold value (Yan, see paragraph 0180, For the four-step random access, if the random access preamble group B is configured, a potential Msg3 size is greater than ra-Msg3SizeGroupA, and a path loss is less than PCMAX-preambleReceivedTargetPower-msg3-DeltaPreamble-messagePowerOffsetGroupB, the random access preamble group B is selected).
Regarding claim 8, Yan teaches wherein a preamble is transmitted in a physical random access channel (PRACH) occasion that is determined based on a PRACH configuration index of the first container in case that the first type random access is performed (Yan, see paragraph 0282, Optionally, the random access time resource in the resources is indicated by an independent random access resource configuration index prach-ConfigurationIndex).
Regarding claim 9, Yan teaches wherein a preamble is transmitted in a physical random access channel (PRACH) occasion that is determined based on a PRACH configuration index of the second container in case that the second type random access is performed (Yan, see paragraph 0282, Optionally, the random access time resource in the resources is indicated by an independent random access resource configuration index prach-ConfigurationIndex).
Regarding claim 10, Yan teaches wherein a preamble is transmitted with transmission power determined based on a target power level parameter of the first container in case that the first type random access is performed (Yan, see paragraph 0180, For the four-step random access, if the random access preamble group B is configured, a potential Msg3 size is greater than ra-Msg3SizeGroupA, and a path loss is less than PCMAX-preambleReceivedTargetPower-msg3-DeltaPreamble-messagePowerOffsetGroupB, the random access preamble group B is selected).
Regarding claim 11, Yan teaches wherein a preamble is transmitted with transmission power determined based on a target power level parameter of the second container in case that the second type random access is performed (Yan, see paragraph 0180, For the four-step random access, if the random access preamble group B is configured, a potential Msg3 size is greater than ra-Msg3SizeGroupA, and a path loss is less than PCMAX-preambleReceivedTargetPower-msg3-DeltaPreamble-messagePowerOffsetGroupB, the random access preamble group B is selected).
Regarding claim 12, Yan teaches wherein the RAR is received based on a parameter indicating length of a time interval of the first container in case that the first type random access is performed (Yan, see paragraph 0029, the terminal device may determine the relative threshold based on the maximum number of times of repeatedly sending the message 3, the number of random access preambles in the random access preamble group, or the number of random access preambles in the random access opportunity group).
Regarding claim 13, Yan teaches wherein a number of the retransmission of the Msg3 is determined based on a specific field of an uplink grant in a specific RAR (Yan, see paragraph 0123, The RAR includes at least one of the following information: an index (random access preamble identity, RAPID) of the Msg1, an uplink scheduling grant (uplink grant), timing advance (timing advance), a temporary cell-radio network temporary identifier (TC-RNTI), and the like).
Regarding claim 14, Yan teaches wherein:
the specific field comprises an integer (Yan, see paragraph 0029, the terminal device may determine the relative threshold based on the maximum number of times of repeatedly sending the message 3, the number of random access preambles in the random access preamble group, or the number of random access preambles in the random access opportunity group); and
the integer is associated with a repetition number out of n repetition numbers (Yan, see paragraph 0029, the terminal device may determine the relative threshold based on the maximum number of times of repeatedly sending the message 3, the number of random access preambles in the random access preamble group, or the number of random access preambles in the random access opportunity group).
Regarding claim 15, Yan teaches wherein an association between integers and the n repetition numbers are provided in the SIB1 (Yan, see paragraph 0029, the terminal device may determine the relative threshold based on the maximum number of times of repeatedly sending the message 3, the number of random access preambles in the random access preamble group, or the number of random access preambles in the random access opportunity group).
Regarding claim 16, Yan teaches wherein the specific RAR comprises a random access preamble identifier corresponding to a transmitted preamble (Yan, see paragraph 0029, the terminal device may determine the relative threshold based on the maximum number of times of repeatedly sending the message 3, the number of random access preambles in the random access preamble group, or the number of random access preambles in the random access opportunity group).
Regarding claim 17, Yan teaches wherein:
the first threshold is determined based on a parameter for a normal uplink in case that random access is to be performed in the normal uplink (Yan, see paragraph 0154, when an SUL resource is configured for the terminal device, and RSRP is less than an SUL threshold, the terminal device selects the SUL as a carrier used for current random access. Otherwise, the terminal device selects an NUL as a carrier used for current random access. It should be understood that the SUL threshold may be pre-configured by the network device for the terminal device, and the SUL threshold may be denoted as rsrp-ThresholdSSB-SUL); and
the first threshold is determined based on a parameter for a supplementary uplink in case that random access is to be performed in the supplementary uplink (Yan, see paragraph 0154, when an SUL resource is configured for the terminal device, and RSRP is less than an SUL threshold, the terminal device selects the SUL as a carrier used for current random access. Otherwise, the terminal device selects an NUL as a carrier used for current random access. It should be understood that the SUL threshold may be pre-configured by the network device for the terminal device, and the SUL threshold may be denoted as rsrp-ThresholdSSB-SUL).
Conclusion
/CHONG G KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2443
/NICHOLAS R TAYLOR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2443