DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's submission filed on 11 May 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 8, 11, 18, and 20 are currently amended; no claims are cancelled; claims 2-7, 9, 10, 12-17, and 19 are previously presented; no claims have been added. Claims 1-20 are pending and ready for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8, filed 11 May 2026, with respect to “The Title” have been fully considered and the examiner notes the applicant has made the appropriate corrections to overcome the objection.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8, 11-14, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 20180115220 A1, in view of Paz et al. (US 2022/0376825 A1), hereafter referred Paz. A machine translation of KR 20180115220 A1 is provided and hereby referred as Park.
Regarding claim 1, Park teaches a communication method, comprising:
sending, by a first communication device, first information to a second communication device, wherein the first information comprises transmission indication information and at least one first code block group (CBG) of a first transport block (TB), and the transmission indication information indicates a length of the first TB (Park, Fig. 3, p. 24; the base station can transmit information indicating the maximum number of code block groups per transport block to the UE through an upper layer signaling, e.g. RRC signaling. The base station may transmit DCI including scheduling information on the data channel to the terminal, where the DCI may include transmission indication information for a code block group for retransmission of a data channel).
Park does not expressly teach the at least one first CBG being initially transmitted by the first communication device to the second communication device, wherein, when the at least one first CBG is a part of CBGs of the first TB, the transmission indication information also indicates the location of the at least one first CBG in the first TB.
However, Paz teaches the at least one first CBG being initially transmitted by the first communication device to the second communication device (Paz, Fig. 3, [0060]-[0073]; the base station may transmit data in one or more TBs such as TB 150 that include a first CB 322 and a second CB 324 which may be associated with CBG 330), wherein, when the at least one first CBG is a part of CBGs of the first TB, the transmission indication information also indicates the location of the at least one first CBG in the first TB (Paz, Fig. 13, [0066]-[0073]; the base station may transmit control information to the UE indicating a location of at least one interleaved region within the TB where the at least one interleaved region includes or corresponds to the CBG, where the control information is included in a DCI message).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Park to include the above recited limitations as taught by Paz in order to increase spectral diversity of code blocks (Paz, [0084]).
Regarding claim 11, Park teaches a communication method, comprising:
receiving, by a second communication device, first information sent by a first communication device, wherein the first information comprises transmission indication information and at least one first CBG of a TB, and the transmission indication information indicates a length of the TB (Park, Fig. 3, p. 24; the base station can transmit information indicating the maximum number of code block groups per transport block to the UE through an upper layer signaling, e.g. RRC signaling. The base station may transmit DCI including scheduling information on the data channel to the terminal, where the DCI may include transmission indication information for a code block group for retransmission of a data channel).
Park does not expressly teach the at least one first CBG being initially transmitted by the first communication device to the second communication device, wherein, when the at least one first CBG is a part of CBGs of the first TB, the transmission indication information also indicates the location of the at least one first CBG in the first TB.
However, Paz teaches the at least one first CBG being initially transmitted by the first communication device to the second communication device (Paz, Fig. 3, [0060]-[0073]; the base station may transmit data in one or more TBs such as TB 150 that include a first CB 322 and a second CB 324 which may be associated with CBG 330), wherein, when the at least one first CBG is a part of CBGs of the first TB, the transmission indication information also indicates the location of the at least one first CBG in the first TB (Paz, Fig. 13, [0066]-[0073]; the base station may transmit control information to the UE indicating a location of at least one interleaved region within the TB where the at least one interleaved region includes or corresponds to the CBG, where the control information is included in a DCI message).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Park to include the above recited limitations as taught by Paz in order to increase spectral diversity of code blocks (Paz, [0084]).
Regarding claim 20, Park teaches a communication apparatus, comprising a processor and a memory, the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor is configured to execute the computer program stored in the memory, to enable the communication apparatus (Park, p. 24; Park teaches a base station is performing the step below. The examiner contends that a processor, a memory, and a computer program that are recited above amounts to general elements of a computer and are inherent in a base station) to:
send first information to a second communication device, wherein the first information comprises transmission indication information and at least one first code block group (CBG) of a transport block (TB), and the transmission indication information indicates a length of the TB (Park, Fig. 3, p. 24; the base station can transmit information indicating the maximum number of code block groups per transport block to the UE through an upper layer signaling, e.g. RRC signaling. The base station may transmit DCI including scheduling information on the data channel to the terminal, where the DCI may include transmission indication information for a code block group for retransmission of a data channel).
Park does not expressly teach the at least one first CBG being initially transmitted by the first communication device to the second communication device, wherein, when the at least one first CBG is a part of CBGs of the first TB, the transmission indication information also indicates the location of the at least one first CBG in the first TB.
However, Paz teaches the at least one first CBG being initially transmitted by the first communication device to the second communication device (Paz, Fig. 3, [0060]-[0073]; the base station may transmit data in one or more TBs such as TB 150 that include a first CB 322 and a second CB 324 which may be associated with CBG 330), wherein, when the at least one first CBG is a part of CBGs of the first TB, the transmission indication information also indicates the location of the at least one first CBG in the first TB (Paz, Fig. 13, [0066]-[0073]; the base station may transmit control information to the UE indicating a location of at least one interleaved region within the TB where the at least one interleaved region includes or corresponds to the CBG, where the control information is included in a DCI message).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Park to include the above recited limitations as taught by Paz in order to increase spectral diversity of code blocks (Paz, [0084]).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Park in view of Paz teaches the method according to claim 1 and the method according to claim 11 above. Further, Park teaches wherein the transmission indication information comprises information indicating that the at least one first CBG is all or a part of CBGs of the first TB (Park, Fig. 3, p. 24; the transmission indication information for the code block group may be indicated by a bitmap consisting of bits as many as the maximum number of code block groups per TB, where how each bit of the bitmap is set such that a code block group indicated by the bit set to 0 indicates the code block group is not transmitted through the data channel).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Park in view of Paz teaches the method according to claim 1 and the method according to claim 11 above. Further, Park teaches wherein
when the at least one first CBG is all CBGs of the first TB, the transmission indication information comprises information that indicates the length of the first TB and/or modulation and coding scheme information (Park, Fig. 3, p. 24; the base station can transmit information indicating the maximum number of code block groups per transport block to the UE through an upper layer signaling, e.g. RRC signaling. The base station may transmit DCI including scheduling information on the data channel to the terminal, where the DCI may include transmission indication information for a code block group for retransmission of a data channel); or
when the at least one first CBG is a part of the CBGs of the first TB, the transmission indication information comprises information about the location of the at least one first CBG in the first TB.
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Park in view of Paz teaches the method according to claim 1 and the method according to claim 11 above. Further, Park teaches wherein the transmission indication information comprises a first bitmap, bits in the first bitmap are in a one-to-one correspondence with CBGs comprised in the first TB, and the bits in the first bitmap indicate whether the corresponding CBGs in the first TB are comprised in the at least one first CBG (Park, Fig. 3, p. 24; the transmission indication information for the code block group may be indicated by a bitmap consisting of bits as many as the maximum number of code block groups per TB, where how each bit of the bitmap is set such that a code block group indicated by the bit set to 0 indicates the code block group is not transmitted through the data channel).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Park in view of Paz teaches the method according to claim 1 and the method according to claim 11 above. Further, Park teaches wherein a length of a TB and/or a modulation and coding scheme corresponding to the at least one first CBG are/is the same as a length of the first TB and/or a modulation and coding scheme that indicated during initial transmission of the first TB (Park, Fig. 3, p. 24; the base station can transmit information indicating the maximum number of code block groups per transport block to the UE through an upper layer signaling, e.g. RRC signaling. The base station may transmit DCI including scheduling information on the data channel to the terminal, where the DCI may include transmission indication information for a code block group for retransmission of a data channel).
Claims 5-7, 9, 10, 15-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Paz as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of LG Electronics: “Considerations on CBG retransmission for NR, 3GPP Draft; R1-1717967 NR CBG Retransmission_final, 3GPP, Mobile Competence Centre; vol. RAN WG1, no. Prague, CZ; 20171009-20171013 8 October 2017, hereafter referred LG. LG was cited by applicant’s IDS filed 30 September 2024.
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Park in view of Paz teaches the method according to claim 1 and the method according to claim 11 above. Park in view of Paz does not expressly teach wherein the transmission indication information comprises a first field; and when the first field is a first value, the at least one first CBG is a part of CBGs of the first TB; or when the first field is any value in a preset value set, the at least one first CBG is all the CBGs of the first TB, wherein the preset value set does not comprise the first value.
However, LG teaches wherein the transmission indication information comprises a first field; and when the first field is a first value, the at least one first CBG is a part of CBGs of the first TB; or when the first field is any value in a preset value set, the at least one first CBG is all the CBGs of the first TB, wherein the preset value set does not comprise the first value (LG, p. 2, lines 13-29; on the CBG mode 1, firstly 1-bit flag (denoted as TB/CBG flag) is included in the DCI for indication of whether whole TB is (re)transmitted or partial TB (in CBG level) is retransmitted via the scheduled PDSCH).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Park in view of Paz to include the above recited limitations as taught by LG in order to reduce DCI overhead (LG, p. 2, lines 13-29).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Park in view of Paz further in view of LG teaches the method according to claim 5 and the method according to claim 15 above. Park in view of Paz does not expressly teach wherein when the first field is any value in the preset value set, the first field indicates corresponding modulation and coding scheme information.
However, LG teaches wherein when the first field is any value in the preset value set, the first field indicates corresponding modulation and coding scheme information (LG, p.2, lines 13-29; in case when the TB/CBG-flag in the DCI indicates whole TB transmission, function or interpretation of NDI, MCS/TBS, and other DCI fields (e.g. RV, HARQ process ID, resource allocation) is the same with the case not configured with CBG based retransmission (i.e. TB level scheduling), and neither CBGTI nor CBG FI is included in the DCI in this case and the NDI represents the sequence number).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Park in view of Paz to include the above recited limitations as taught by LG in order to reduce DCI overhead (LG, p. 2, lines 13-29).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Park in view of Paz further in view of LG teaches the method according to claim 5 and the method according to claim 15 above. Park in view of Paz does not expressly teach wherein the transmission indication information further comprises a second field; and when the first field is the first value, the second field indicates the location of the at least one first CBG in the first TB; or when the first field is any value in the preset value set, the second field indicates the length of the first TB.
However, LG teaches wherein the transmission indication information further comprises a second field; and when the first field is the first value, the second field indicates the location of the at least one first CBG in the first TB; or when the first field is any value in the preset value set, the second field indicates the length of the first TB (LG, p.2, lines 13-29; in case when the TB/CBG-flag in the DCI indicates whole TB transmission, function or interpretation of NDI, MCS/TBS, and other DCI fields (e.g. RV, HARQ process ID, resource allocation) is the same with the case not configured with CBG based retransmission (i.e. TB level scheduling), and neither CBGTI nor CBG FI is included in the DCI in this case and the NDI represents the sequence number).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Park in view of Paz to include the above recited limitations as taught by LG in order to reduce DCI overhead (LG, p. 2, lines 13-29).
Regarding claim 9, Park in view of Paz teaches the method according to claim 1 above. Park in view of Paz does not expressly teach wherein the first information further comprises CBG feedback information indicating whether a CBG in a second TB previously sent by the second communication device is correctly received.
However, LG teaches wherein the first information further comprises CBG feedback information indicating whether a CBG in a second TB previously sent by the second communication device is correctly received (LG, p. 2, lines 13-29; on the CBG mode 1, firstly, 1-bit flag (denoted as TB/CBG-flag) is included in the DCI for indication of whether whole TB is (re)transmitted or partial TB (in CBG level) is retransmitted via the scheduled PDSCH).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Park in view of Paz to include the above recited limitations as taught by LG in order to reduce DCI overhead (LG, p. 2, lines 13-29).
Regarding claims 10 and 19, Park in view of Paz teaches the method according to claim 1 and the method according to claim 11 above. Park in view of Paz does not expressly teach wherein the first information further comprises a sequence number of the first TB, and the sequence number of the first TB indicates whether the first TB is the same as or different from a third TB previously sent by the first communication device to the second communication device.
However, LG teaches wherein the first information further comprises a sequence number of the first TB, and the sequence number of the first TB indicates whether the first TB is the same as or different from a third TB previously sent by the first communication device to the second communication device (LG, p.2, lines 13-29; in case when the TB/CBG-flag in the DCI indicates whole TB transmission, function or interpretation of NDI, MCS/TBS, and other DCI fields (e.g. RV, HARQ process ID, resource allocation) is the same with the case not configured with CBG based retransmission (i.e. TB level scheduling), and neither CBGTI nor CBGFI is included in the DCI in this case. On the other hand, in case when TB/CBG-flag indicates partial TB retransmission, following approach is used for reduction of unnecessary DCI overhead: 1) 1-bit NDI field is used as 1-0bit CBGFI, 2) L-bit MCS/TBS field is split with two parts: Part 1 (M-bit) is used to indicate the modulation order while Part 2 (K-bit) is used as CBGTI where L=M+K and TBS indication is not necessary in this case since TBS can be provided to the UE in advance by the DCI with TB/CBG-flag indicating whole TB transmission).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Park in view of Paz to include the above recited limitations as taught by LG in order to reduce DCI overhead (LG, p. 2, lines 13-29).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2416
/NOEL R BEHARRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2416