Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because claim 9 could include a signal per se (see [0065] PG PUB). Examiner suggests including non-transitory computer readable storage medium.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Grant et al (2011/0021272) hereinafter, Grant
In regards to claim 1, Grant teaches a method for applying tactile dynamic effect, comprising:
A system is configured to provide haptic stimulation to a user. In one embodiment, the haptic stimulation is provided to the user in conjunction with the performance of one or more control gestures through which the user controls, for example, a game, a real world component or piece of equipment, and/or other entity. In one embodiment, the haptic stimulation is provided to the user in conjunction with control of virtual equipment by the user.(abstract)
acquiring a set relationship between object attributes and tactile dynamic effects (fig. 6 (70-76)(fig. 12 (604-608)) [0026-0030];
querying for a tactile dynamic effect corresponding to a current object attribute; and (fig. 6 (76)(fig. 12 (606))(fig. 5 (48-56)) [0033-0043]
performing vibration according to the tactile dynamic effect corresponding to the current object attribute (fig. 6 (78) and fig. 12 (610) [0046-0051]).
In regards to claim 8, Grant teaches apparatus for applying tactile dynamic effect, comprising: at least one processor; and a memory configured to store instructions executable by the at least one processor;(fig. 1 (20 and 18))
wherein the instructions cause the at least one processor to: acquire a set relationship between object attributes and tactile dynamic effects; (fig. 6 (70-76)(fig. 12 (604-608)) [0026-0030];
query for a tactile dynamic effect corresponding to a current object attribute(fig. 6 (76)(fig. 12 (606))(fig. 5 (48-56)) [0033-0043]; and
perform vibration according to the tactile dynamic effect corresponding to the current object attribute. (fig. 6 (78) and fig. 12 (610) [0046-0051]).
In regards to claim 2, Grant teaches method as described in claim 1, wherein the object attribute is an archery parameter, and the archery parameter corresponds to one tactile dynamic effect.
[0059] A "ranged combat warrior" is a character that is configured and armed for attacking enemies from a range. This may include characters armed, for example, to release projectiles such as arrows, stones, bullets, rockets, and/or other projectiles. By way of non-limiting example, user 12 may control a ranged combat warrior to fire a bow and arrow. In this example, different haptic stimulation may be determined by stimulation module 26 for notching the arrow, drawing the bow (and varying the haptic stimulation to indicate increasing string tension), releasing the string, the bowstring striking the forearm of the character upon release, and/or other portions of the control gesture associated with firing an arrow. The intensity and/or speed of an attack or projectile may be determined based on an amount of time a control gesture (or some portion thereof) is performed, the range of motion of a control gesture, a speed of motion during a control gesture, pressure of the contact between the user and a touch screen included in user interface 14, and/or other parameters of a control gesture (or some portion thereof).
In regards to claim 3, Grant teaches method as described in claim 2, wherein the archery parameter comprises a bowstring drawing degree [0059].
In regards to claim 4, Grant teaches method as described in claim 3, wherein a greater bowstring drawing degree indicates greater tactile vibration intensity corresponding to the tactile dynamic effect [0059].
In regards to claim 9, Grant teaches storage medium, comprising a program stored thereon, wherein the program, when running, is configured to control a device where the storage medium is located to perform the method for applying tactile dynamic effect as described in claim 1. (fig. 1 (18) [0026-38]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grant in view of Thorner (2003/0040361) hereinafter, Thorner.
In regards to claim 5, Grant fails to expressly teach the method as described in claim 1, wherein the object attribute is a vehicle motion parameter, and the vehicle motion parameter corresponds to a plurality of tactile dynamic effects.
However, Thorner teaches the method as described in claim 1, wherein the object attribute is a vehicle motion parameter, and the vehicle motion parameter corresponds to a plurality of tactile dynamic effects (abstract) [0026] (fig. 3 (728-734 and 200)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Grant to further include wherein the object attribute is a vehicle motion parameter, and the vehicle motion parameter corresponds to a plurality of tactile dynamic effects as taught by Thorner in order to provide realistic experience that can enhance user’s experience [0002-0015].
In regards to claim 6, Grant in view of Thorner teaches the method as described in claim 5, wherein the vehicle motion parameter comprises an engine gauge (fig. 3 (700) 724-734 and 200)) Thorner.
In regards to claim 7, Grant in view of Thorner teaches method as described in claim 6, wherein the engine gauge corresponds to a tactile dynamic effect of acceleration, a tactile dynamic effect of natural deceleration, and a tactile dynamic effect of braking [0026] (fig. 3 (700) 724-734 and 200)) Thorner .
Conclusion
/GRANT SITTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622