Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Examiner was only able to find this limited discussion of “interactive behavior parameters” [0030] In an embodiment of the present disclosure, the corresponding relationship between object attributes and tactile dynamic effects may be set in advance. The object attributes may be interactive behavior parameters. When the interactive behavior parameters change, the tactile dynamic effects in the corresponding relationship also change, so that rich, three-dimensional and realistic tactile experience can be achieved.
Applicant contends:
However, Examiner looked at Applicant’s specification for explanation of what constitutes a “parameter”.
[0030] In an embodiment of the present disclosure, the corresponding relationship between object attributes and tactile dynamic effects may be set in advance. The object attributes may be interactive behavior parameters. When the interactive behavior parameters change, the tactile dynamic effects in the corresponding relationship also change, so that rich, three-dimensional and realistic tactile experience can be achieved.
[0031] In an embodiment of the present disclosure, the object attribute is an archery parameter, the archery parameter corresponds to one tactile dynamic effect, and the archery parameter includes a bowstring drawing degree.
It appears to the examiner the parameter merely includes a bowstring drawing degree. Examiner understands for example if the draw degree is 30 degrees the haptic will be 10 and if the draw degrees is more, say 35 then the haptic will be 15. It appears to the Examiner that parameter state is the simple event-based response. Examiner was unable to find support in the Application’s specification which would indicate the parameter is anything more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grant et al (2011/0021272) hereinafter, Grant further in view of Wu et al 2019/0324540, hereinafter, Wu.
In regards to claim 1, Grant teaches a method for applying tactile dynamic effect, comprising:
A system is configured to provide haptic stimulation to a user. In one embodiment, the haptic stimulation is provided to the user in conjunction with the performance of one or more control gestures through which the user controls, for example, a game, a real world component or piece of equipment, and/or other entity. In one embodiment, the haptic stimulation is provided to the user in conjunction with control of virtual equipment by the user.(abstract)
acquiring a set corresponding relationship between object attributes and tactile dynamic effects (fig. 6 (70-76)(fig. 12 (604-608)) [0026-0030];
Grant fails to expressly teach wherein the object attributes are interactive behavior parameters.
However, Wu teaches wherein the object attributes are interactive behavior parameters (abstract, [0015-016]) Wu)
One illustrative system disclosed herein includes a computing device that comprises a memory and a processor in communication with the memory. The processor generates an interactive user interface and obtains an input parameter and a haptic parameter via the interactive user interface. The processor maps the input parameter to the haptic parameter using a mapping algorithm and designs a dynamic haptic effect based at least in part on mapping the input parameter to the haptic parameter. The processor can then generate a plurality of dynamic haptic effects for a plurality of user devices based at least in part on the designed dynamic haptic effect.(abstract)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Grant to further include wherein the object attributes are interactive behavior parameters as taught by Wu in order to the capability of providing haptic feedback that corresponds to the content provided to the user or haptic feedback that varies over time (e.g., varies over time in accordance with the content provided to the user).[003-005]
Therefore, Grant in view of Wu teaches wherein the object attributes are interactive behavior parameters, and when the interactive behavior parameter value changes, the tactile dynamic effect in the corresponding relationship also changes; (abstract, [0015-016]) Wu) in view of (fig. 6 (76)(fig. 12 (606))(fig. 5 (48-56)) [0033-0043]Grant
querying for a tactile dynamic effect corresponding to a current interactive behavior parameter value ; and (fig. 6 (76)(fig. 12 (606))(fig. 5 (48-56)) [0033-0043]Grant
performing vibration according to the tactile dynamic effect corresponding to the current interactive behavior parameter value (fig. 6 (78) and fig. 12 (610) [0046-0051] Grant).
In regards to claim 8, Grant teaches apparatus for applying tactile dynamic effect, comprising: at least one processor; and a memory configured to store instructions executable by the at least one processor;(fig. 1 (20 and 18))
wherein the instructions cause the at least one processor to: acquire a set corresponding relationship between object attributes and tactile dynamic effects; (fig. 6 (70-76)(fig. 12 (604-608)) [0026-0030];
Grant fails to expressly teach wherein the object attributes are interactive behavior parameters.
However, Wu teaches wherein the object attributes are interactive behavior parameters (abstract, [0015-016])
One illustrative system disclosed herein includes a computing device that comprises a memory and a processor in communication with the memory. The processor generates an interactive user interface and obtains an input parameter and a haptic parameter via the interactive user interface. The processor maps the input parameter to the haptic parameter using a mapping algorithm and designs a dynamic haptic effect based at least in part on mapping the input parameter to the haptic parameter. The processor can then generate a plurality of dynamic haptic effects for a plurality of user devices based at least in part on the designed dynamic haptic effect.(abstract)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Grant to further include wherein the object attributes are interactive behavior parameters as taught by Wu in order to the capability of providing haptic feedback that corresponds to the content provided to the user or haptic feedback that varies over time (e.g., varies over time in accordance with the content provided to the user).[003-005]
Therefore, Grant in view of Wu teaches wherein the object attributes are interactive behavior parameters, and when the interactive behavior parameter value changes, the tactile dynamic effect in the corresponding relationship also changes; (abstract, [0015-016]) Wu) in view of (76)(fig. 12 (606))(fig. 5 (48-56)) [0033-0043] Grant
query for a tactile dynamic effect corresponding to a current object attribute(fig. 6 (76)(fig. 12 (606))(fig. 5 (48-56)) [0033-0043] Grant; and
perform vibration according to the tactile dynamic effect corresponding to the current object attribute. (fig. 6 (78) and fig. 12 (610) [0046-0051] Grant).
In regards to claim 2, Grant in view of Wu teaches method as described in claim 1, wherein the object attribute is an archery parameter, and the archery parameter corresponds to one tactile dynamic effect.
[0059] A "ranged combat warrior" is a character that is configured and armed for attacking enemies from a range. This may include characters armed, for example, to release projectiles such as arrows, stones, bullets, rockets, and/or other projectiles. By way of non-limiting example, user 12 may control a ranged combat warrior to fire a bow and arrow. In this example, different haptic stimulation may be determined by stimulation module 26 for notching the arrow, drawing the bow (and varying the haptic stimulation to indicate increasing string tension), releasing the string, the bowstring striking the forearm of the character upon release, and/or other portions of the control gesture associated with firing an arrow. The intensity and/or speed of an attack or projectile may be determined based on an amount of time a control gesture (or some portion thereof) is performed, the range of motion of a control gesture, a speed of motion during a control gesture, pressure of the contact between the user and a touch screen included in user interface 14, and/or other parameters of a control gesture (or some portion thereof).
In regards to claim 3, Grant in view of Wu teaches method as described in claim 2, wherein the archery parameter comprises a bowstring drawing degree [0059].Grant
In regards to claim 4, Grant in view of Wu teaches method as described in claim 3, wherein a greater bowstring drawing degree indicates greater tactile vibration intensity corresponding to the tactile dynamic effect [0059].Grant
In regards to claim 9, Grant in view of Wu teaches storage medium, comprising a program stored thereon, wherein the program, when running, is configured to control a device where the storage medium is located to perform the method for applying tactile dynamic effect as described in claim 1. (fig. 1 (18) [0026-38] Grant
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grant in view of Wu in view of Thorner (2003/0040361) hereinafter, Thorner.
In regards to claim 5, Grant and Wu fail to expressly teach the method as described in claim 1, wherein the object attribute is a vehicle motion parameter, and the vehicle motion parameter corresponds to a plurality of tactile dynamic effects. Examiner notes [0067] of Wu.
However, Thorner teaches the method as described in claim 1, wherein the object attribute is a vehicle motion parameter, and the vehicle motion parameter corresponds to a plurality of tactile dynamic effects (abstract) [0026] (fig. 3 (728-734 and 200)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Grant and Wu to further include wherein the object attribute is a vehicle motion parameter, and the vehicle motion parameter corresponds to a plurality of tactile dynamic effects as taught by Thorner in order to provide realistic experience that can enhance user’s experience [0002-0015].
In regards to claim 6, Grant and Wu in view of Thorner teaches the method as described in claim 5, wherein the vehicle motion parameter comprises an engine gauge (fig. 3 (700) 724-734 and 200)) Thorner.
In regards to claim 7, Grant in view of Thorner teaches method as described in claim 6, wherein the engine gauge corresponds to a tactile dynamic effect of acceleration, a tactile dynamic effect of natural deceleration, and a tactile dynamic effect of braking [0026] (fig. 3 (700) 724-734 and 200)) Thorner .
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GRANT SITTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622