DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Campbell (Pub. No.: US 2010/0097239 A1).
With respect to claim 1:
Campbell discloses a communication system installed in a vehicle comprising a processor (fig. 3, item 122); a display (fig. 3, items 108 and 124); and a connection to a remote transceiver (fig. 3, item 116 is a remote source that includes transceiver having a communication link 118); wherein said display mounted to a vehicle (parag. 0041); wherein said display is outward from said vehicle (fig. 1, item 106 and fig. 5); wherein said transceiver receives a voice message and communicates said voice message to said processor wherein said processor translates said voice message into a textual form and displays said textual form on said display (para. 0112-0114) and further wherein said display is visible to another outside of said vehicle (para. 0112-0114 and fig. 2).
With respect to claim 15:
Campbell discloses a communication system installed in a vehicle comprising: a processor (Fig. 3, item 122); a display (fig. 3, items 108, 124); and a transceiver (fig. 3, item 116 which has transceiver as in parag. 0059); wherein said display having a mounting mounted to a vehicle (fig. 1, item 106); wherein said display is outward from said vehicle (fig. 1); wherein said transceiver receives a voice message and communicates said voice message to said processor; wherein said processor translates said voice message into a textual form and displays said textual form on said display ((para. 0112-0114); wherein said transceiver receives said voice message through a wireless Bluetooth channel (fig. 3, item 116 which has a transceiver communicate over communication link 118 which is a Bluetooth); and further wherein said display is visible to another outside of said vehicle (fig. 1with the display on 106 visible from outside).
With respect to claim 20:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated; Campbell further discloses in parag. 0045 receiving a request, signals, files, commands, messages either voice or text (which can be a beacon) from remote source 116 over communication link 118 which is a Bluetooth or short range as in parag. 0047).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-14, 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell (Pub. No.: US 2010/0097239 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Seymour (Pub. No.: US 2002/0178993 A1).
With respect to claim 2:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated; Campbell does not explicitly disclose wherein said mounting having a self-installed adhesive for attachment to a window of said vehicle.
Seymour discloses mounting having a self-installed adhesive for attachment to a window of said vehicle (parag. 0132).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Seymour into the teaching of Campbell in order to provide a display device particularly suitable for use on moving vehicles.
With respect to claim 3:
Campbell discloses the communication system installed in a vehicle of claim 2, wherein said transceiver receives said voice message from a smartphone (parag. 0068 discloses item 116 to be a cellphone).
With respect to claims 4, 17:
Campbell discloses the communication system installed in a vehicle of claim 2, wherein said transceiver receives said voice message from an in-car entertainment console of said vehicle (fig. 5 with cellphone 116 receiving from car entertainment parag. 0040, fig. 5)
With respect to claim 5:
Campbell discloses the communication system installed in a vehicle of claim 3, wherein said display is an illuminated display (fig. 5, item 108).
With respect to claims 6, 18:
Campbell discloses the communication system installed in a vehicle of claim 1, wherein said another is a pedestrian outside of said vehicle and proximal to said vehicle (fig. 3, item 116 is a remote device which can be a pedestrian).
With respect to claims 7, 19:
Campbell discloses the communication system installed in a vehicle of claim 1, wherein said another is a motorist driving another vehicle proximal to said vehicle (fig. 3 shows a item 106 which is a device inside a vehicle and a remote source 116 which can be a motorist driving another vehicle).
With respect to claim 8:
Campbell discloses the communication system installed in a vehicle of claim 1, wherein said processor having a speech-to-text conversion processor (fig. 3, item 122).
With respect to claim 9:
Campbell discloses the communication system installed in a vehicle of claim 2, wherein said display having a timer control module for displaying said translated text message for a predetermined period of time (parag. 0049 discloses a display driver that is responsible to control anything on the display including timing for output).
With respect to claim 10:
Campbell discloses the communication system installed in a vehicle of claim 9, wherein said predetermined period of time is from 5 seconds to 30 seconds (parag. 0049 discloses a display driver).
With respect to claim 11:
Campbell discloses the communication system installed in a vehicle of claim 10, wherein said translated text message is cleared after said predetermined period of time has expired (fig. 3, item 124 is a display driver that controls the display on and off).
With respect to claim 12:
Campbell discloses the communication system installed in a vehicle of claim 11, wherein said communication system having a power supply module for receiving electrical power from a 12V vehicle battery (fig. 21, item 2106 has power management).
With respect to claim 13:
Campbell discloses the communication system installed in a vehicle of claim 12, wherein said processor is selected from a group consisting of a single-core processor, a single-processor with software multithread execution capability, a multi-core processor, multi-core processor with software multithread execution capability, a multi-core processor with hardware multithread technology, a parallel platform, and a parallel platform with distributed shared memory (parag. 0122 discloses single core processor).
With respect to claim 14:
Campbell discloses the communication system installed in a vehicle of claim 12, wherein said window is selected from a group consisting of a vehicle front window, a vehicle side window, and a vehicle rear window (fig. 1).
With respect to claim 16:
Seymour in view of Campbell discloses the communication system installed in a vehicle of claim 15, wherein said mounting having a self-installed adhesive for attachment to a window of said vehicle; and further wherein said window is selected from a group consisting of a vehicle front window, a vehicle side window, and a vehicle rear window (Seymour discloses self-adhesive mounted on a window parag. 0132 and Campbell discloses in fig. 1 several areas of window that the device can be mounted).
Conclusion
/AJIBOLA A AKINYEMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649